DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Each independent claim (claims 1, 8, and 15) has been amended to recite “wherein the saddle bracket is movable in three degrees of freedom such that one degree of freedom is a linear axis and the remaining degrees of freedom are rotational parallel axes”. The aforementioned limitation is not described in the specification and, therefore, represents new matter. The specification only describes two degrees of freedom; sleeve 101 permits a full 360 degrees of rotation and slots 104 allow for linear movement. A second rotational degree of freedom is not disclosed.
Claims 1 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the base" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “the base plate”, as best understood by Examiner.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “non-conventionally sized construction materials” is vague because it does not clearly define dimensions of the construction materials. Claims 14 and 19 contain similar errors.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the base" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “the base plate”, as best understood by Examiner.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “the bracket is configured to a round shaped pier” renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is unclear what the bracket is configured to do relative to a round shaped pier. The aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “the bracket is configured to accommodate a round shaped pier”, as best understood by Examiner.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase “standard sized shipping container” is vague because it does not clearly define dimensions of the container. Examiner has interpreted a “standard size” as a container having dimensions that are whole numbers (i.e. a 4 inch by 4 inch container).
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the base" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “the base plate”, as best understood by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomchesson et al. (US 2016/0186403) in view of Kim (KR 20110005392).
Regarding claim 1, Tomchesson discloses a rotating linear adjustment bracket (RLAB) for use in providing connective support between building construction materials and a ground mounted pier comprising: a cylindrical sleeve (coupling member 340); a base plate (unlabeled horizontal bottom plate of base 335) mounted on top of the sleeve; at least one gusset (unlabeled gusset attached to the bottom side of unlabeled plate associated with support 335 and to the sleeve 340 as shown in Fig. 13) bridging the base to the cylindrical sleeve; and a saddle bracket (330) attached to the base plate for connecting construction materials (object 305) to the base plate, wherein the saddle bracket (330) is moveable in two degrees of freedom (saddle bracket 330 may move linearly in a horizontal direction by adjusting pins 365 in slots 345; coupling member 340 is rotatable about a vertical rotational axis) (Figs. 11 - 15; paragraphs 0040 - 0043). Tomchesson fails to disclose the bracket is moved in a third degree of freedom, wherein the third degree of freedom is a rotational axis that is parallel to the rotational axis as disclosed by Tomchesson. Kim teaches a linearly rotatable bracket (the bracket can move linearly and rotatably relative to the base plate), wherein the bracket (connecting part 30) is linearly rotatable (part 30 can move linearly along slot 301 and the part 30 is rotatable about guide piece 204/302) (Figs. 2 and 3; pages 7 and 8 of the attached translation of the description). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above to include the linearly rotatable bracket as taught by Kim to allow the bracket to be stably installed by correcting a pier that deviates from a central axis due to obstacles such as rocks or uneven soil into which the pier is installed.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, the embodiment of Fig. 13 as disclosed by Tomchesson teaches all of the claim limitation(s) except at least one of screws, clamps, adhesives are used to join the RLAB to a pier. The embodiment of Fig. 22A teaches a bolt (148, which is functionally equivalent to a screw) to join a pile cap (lower body 2230) to a pier (145) (Figs. 22A and 22B; paragraphs 0068 and 0071). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the coupling comprising a sleeve as disclosed by the embodiment of Fig. 13 of Tomchesson to include a screw connection between the sleeve and the pier (pile assembly 300) as taught by the embodiment of Figs. 22A and 22B of Tomchesson to provide a more secure but releasable connection between the bracket and the pier.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 17 and 18, Tomchesson further fails to specify the size of the lumber to be accommodated by the saddle bracket. Examiner takes the position that the size of the lumber to be accommodated by the saddle bracket lacks criticality in the claims and is a design consideration within the skill of the art. A change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Tomchesson further discloses the saddle bracket is configured to accommodate a round shaped pier (145) (Figs. 11 and 13; paragraph 0027). Examiner notes that paragraph 0027 of Tomchesson discloses extension 145 may have a circular shape.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Tomchesson further discloses the saddle bracket (330) is configured to accommodate a standard sized shipping container (Figs. 11 - 14).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 19, Tomchesson further discloses the saddle bracket (330) is configured as an adapter for accommodating a non-conventionally sized shipping container (Figs. 12 - 14).
Regarding claim 8, Tomchesson discloses a bracket for use in providing connective support between building construction materials and a ground mounted pier comprising: a cylindrical sleeve (140); a base plate (335) mounted on top of the sleeve; at least one gusset (unlabeled gusset attached to the bottom side of unlabeled base 335 and to the sleeve 140 as shown in Fig. 13) bridging the base to the cylindrical sleeve; a saddle bracket (330) attached to the base plate for connecting the construction materials (object 305) to the base plate; and wherein the saddle bracket (330) is moveable in two degrees of freedom (saddle bracket 330 may move linearly in a horizontal direction by adjusting pins 365 in slots 345; coupling member 340 is rotatable about a vertical rotational axis) (Figs. 11 - 15; paragraphs 0040 - 0043). Tomchesson fails to disclose the bracket is moved in a third degree of freedom, wherein the third degree of freedom is a rotational axis that is parallel to the rotational axis as disclosed by Tomchesson. Kim teaches a linearly rotatable bracket (the bracket can move linearly and rotatably relative to the base plate), wherein the bracket (connecting part 30) is linearly rotatable (part 30 can move linearly along slot 301 and the part 30 is rotatable about guide piece 204/302) (Figs. 2 and 3; pages 7 and 8 of the attached translation of the description). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above to include the linearly rotatable bracket as taught by Kim to allow the bracket to be stably installed by correcting a pier that deviates from a central axis due to obstacles such as rocks or uneven soil into which the pier is installed.
Regarding claim 15, Tomchesson discloses a bracket for use in providing connective support between building construction materials and a ground mounted pier comprising: a cylindrical sleeve (140) for mounting in the ground; a base plate (335) mounted on top of the sleeve having a slot therein (345); at least one gusset (unlabeled gusset attached to the bottom side of unlabeled plate associated with support 335 and to the sleeve 340 as shown in Fig. 13) bridging the base to the cylindrical sleeve; a saddle bracket (330) attached to the base plate (335) for connecting the construction materials (305) to the base plate; and wherein the saddle bracket (330) is moveable in two degrees of freedom (saddle bracket 330 may move linearly in a horizontal direction by adjusting pins 365 in slots 345; coupling member 340 is rotatable about a vertical rotational axis) (Figs. 11 - 15; paragraphs 0040 - 0043). Tomchesson fails to disclose the bracket is moved in a third degree of freedom, wherein the third degree of freedom is a rotational axis that is parallel to the rotational axis as disclosed by Tomchesson. Kim teaches a linearly rotatable bracket (the bracket can move linearly and rotatably relative to the base plate), wherein the bracket (connecting part 30) is linearly rotatable (part 30 can move linearly along slot 301 and the part 30 is rotatable about guide piece 204/302) (Figs. 2 and 3; pages 7 and 8 of the attached translation of the description). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above to include the linearly rotatable bracket as taught by Kim to allow the bracket to be stably installed by correcting a pier that deviates from a central axis due to obstacles such as rocks or uneven soil into which the pier is installed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 19 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
1/29/2026