DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (US Publication No. 20130127124) in view of Hausmann et al (US Patent No. 6219219) and further in view of Gaff et al (US Publication No. 20140154819).
Regarding claim 1, Nam discloses (see for example fig. 1 shown below, para. [0040]- [0044]) a semiconductor processing chamber (SPC), comprising: a chamber body (12); a showerhead (11) positioned atop the chamber body (12); and an electrostatic chuck assembly (ESCA) disposed within an interior (10) of the chamber body (12), the electrostatic chuck assembly (ESCA) comprising: a puck (PK) comprising: a first plate (FP1) comprising an electrically insulating material (i.e., such as composed of an insulating material such as Teflon.RTM, see for example para. [0050]), the first plate (FP1) defining a substrate support surface (i.e., such as chuck assembly 18 includes an electrostatic chuck 18 which provides a substrate support surface on its top side, see for example para. [0040]); a multi-zone heating assembly (i.e., 44; such as in one embodiment there are four heating zones each of which is provided with a pair of wires, see for example fig. 3, para. [0049]) that is thermally coupled (i.e., such as various facility components coupled thereto, see for example para. [DOSS]) with the first plate (FP1); a plurality of bipolar electrodes (i.e., 46; such as clamping component 46, see for example para. [0049]) embedded within the electrically insulating material (i.e., such as composed of an insulating material such as Teflon.RTM, see for example para. [0050]); and a second plate (SP2) that defines one or more cooling channels (CCs) for a heat exchange fluid (i.e., 40/60; see for example fig. 3, para. [0051]- [0052]); a facility plate (22) disposed beneath (20); and disposed (24) beneath the facility plate (22); and a shaft (i.e., 48; such as an insulated tube 48 is provided within the second portion 26B of the hollow RF feed, see for example para. [0050]) comprising: at least one heater rod (i.e., 45; see for example fig. 2, para. [0048]) that is coupled (i.e., such as various facility components coupled thereto, see for example para. [DOSS]) with the multi-zone heating assembly (i.e., 44; such as in one embodiment there are four heating zones each of which is provided with a pair of wires, see for example fig. 3, para. [0049]); at least one cooling fluid lumen (i.e., 41; such as fluid tubes 41 and 43 for connecting to the cooling component 40 and lift pin system 42, respectively, see for example fig. 10, para. [0072]) that is fluidly coupled (i.e., such as various facility components coupled thereto, see for example para. [DOSS]) with the one or more cooling channels (CCs); and at least one power rod (i.e., 47; see for example fig. 3, para. [0048]) that is electrically coupled (i.e., such as various facility components coupled thereto, see for example para. [DOSS]) with at least one of the pluralities of bipolar electrodes (i.e., 46; such as clamping component 46, see for example para. [0049]).
Nam does not explicitly disclose at least one thermal insulator disposed beneath the second plate; a base plate.
Hausmann discloses a cathode assembly having a pedestal and a detachable susceptor (100, fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 43+); wherein at least one thermal insulator (112) disposed beneath the second plate (113); a base plate (111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the thermal insulation along with the base plate in Nam, as taught by Hausmann, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards maintaining uniform temperature control.
Neither Nam nor Hausmann explicitly discloses that the first plate is made of electrical-insulative material having bipolar electrodes.
Gaff discloses a semiconductor substrate support (i.e., see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]); wherein the first plate (i.e., such as first plate 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]) is made of electrical-insulative material (i.e., such as ceramic layer 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]) having bipolar electrodes (i.e., such as bipolar electrodes 212; for instance, the ceramic layer 204 includes one or more clamping electrodes (e.g., monopolar or bipolar) 212 for electrostatically clamping a substrate onto the substrate support assembly 200 during processing; see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]).
Also, Gaff discloses the semiconductor substrate support (i.e., see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]); wherein both of the facility plate (i.e., such as facility plate 224; see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]) and the base plate (i.e., such as base plate 210; see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]) are disposed beneath the thermal insulator (i.e., such as thermal insulator 218; see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the electrical-insulative layer in Nam, as taught by Gaff, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving the clamping/chucking process.
Regarding claim 2, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well.
Nam further discloses (see for example fig. 1 shown above, para. [0040]- [0044]); further comprising: a cooling assembly (i.e., 60/40; 62/42; see for example fig. 3, para. [0051]- [0052]) that is fluidly coupled (i.e., such as various facility components coupled thereto, see for example para. [DOSS]) with the one or more cooling channels (CCs).
Regarding claim 4, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well.
Nam further discloses (see for example fig. 1 shown above, para. [0040]- [0044]); wherein: the multi-zone heating assembly (i.e., 44; such as in one embodiment there are four heating zones each of which is provided with a pair of wires, see for example fig. 3, para. [0049]) comprises at least four heater zones (i.e., 44; such as in one embodiment there are four heating zones each of which is provided with a pair of wires, see for example fig. 3, para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well.
Hausmann further discloses (i.e., 100; see for example, fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 17+); further comprising: an edge ring (i.e., such as edge ring 130; see for example, fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 17+) seated atop a peripheral edge (i.e., such as peripheral edge 129; see for example, fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 17+) of the puck (i.e., such as puck 120; see for example, fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 11, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well. Also, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 12, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well.
Nam further discloses (see for example fig. 1 shown above, para. [0040]- [0044]); further comprising: a third plate (TP3) disposed against a lower surface (i.e., bottom face of SP2) of the second plate (SP2), wherein the lower surface (i.e., bottom face of SP2) of the second plate (SP2) defines one or more grooves (i.e., grooves within SP2) that form the one or more cooling channels (CCs) when the third plate (TP3) is positioned against the lower surface (i.e., bottom face of SP2) of the second plate (SP2).
Regarding claim 19, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well.
Nam further discloses (see for example fig. 1 shown above, para. [0040]- [0044]); wherein: the multi-zone heating assembly (i.e., 44; such as in one embodiment there are four heating zones each of which is provided with a pair of wires, see for example fig. 3, para. [0049]) is printed on a surface (20) of the first plate (FP1).
Regarding claim 20, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well. Also, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Claims 5-6, 10, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al (US Publication No. 20130127124) in view of Hausmann et al (US Patent No. 6219219) and in view of Gaff et al (US Publication No. 20140154819) and further in view of Singu et al (US Publication No. 20200373187).
Regarding claim 5, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff have been discussed above as well.
Nam discloses the semiconductor processing chamber (SPC) (see for example fig. 1 shown above, para. [0040]- [0044]).
Hausmann further discloses the assembly (100, fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 43+).
Gaff furthermore discloses the support (i.e., see for example fig. 2, para. [0024]- [0034]).
Neither Nam nor Hausmann nor Gaff explicitly discloses wherein the puck defines a plurality of edge purge channels.
Singu discloses workpiece susceptor body (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]); wherein the puck (i.e., such as 200; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) defines a plurality of edge purge channels (i.e., such as purging the backside of the outer edge of the workpiece may include flowing purge gas through a plurality of axial channels 252 disposed within the susceptor body, see para. [0052]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the purge gas channels in Nam, as taught by Singu, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards preventing contamination and improving temperature control of the wafer.
Regarding claim 6, Nam in view of Hausmann and in view of Gaff and further in view of Singu and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, both of the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Singu have been discussed above as well.
Singu further discloses (see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]); wherein the first plate (202) defines one or more backside gas channels (i.e., such as can include purging a backside of the outer edge of the workpiece by flowing purge gas at a second pressure from a plurality of channels within the susceptor, see para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Nam in view of Hausmann and in view of Gaff and further in view of Singu and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, both of the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Singu have been discussed above as well.
Singu further discloses (see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]); wherein the puck (200) defines a plurality of edge purge channels (i.e., such as purging the backside of the outer edge of the workpiece may include flowing purge gas through a plurality of axial channels 252 disposed within the susceptor body, see para. [0052]); each of the plurality of edge purge channels (i.e., such as purging the backside of the outer edge of the workpiece may include flowing purge gas through a plurality of axial channels 252 disposed within the susceptor body, see para. [0052]) is disposed beneath the edge ring (210); and the edge ring (210) directs a purge gas (i.e., purge gas, see para. [0053]) from the plurality of edge purge channels (252s) to an edge region (220) of the substrate support surface (202) (i.e., see for example fig. 4B, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, Nam in view of Hausmann and in view of Gaff and further in view of Singu and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, both of the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Singu have been discussed above as well.
Singu further discloses (see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]); wherein the first plate (202) defines one or more backside gas channels (i.e., such as purging the backside of the outer edge of the workpiece may include flowing purge gas through a plurality of axial channels 252 disposed within the susceptor body, see para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 14, Nam in view of Hausmann and in view of Gaff and further in view of Singu and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, both of the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Singu have been discussed above as well.
Singu further discloses (see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]); wherein the puck (200) defines a plurality of edge purge channels (i.e., such as purging the backside of the outer edge of the workpiece can include flowing purge gas through a plurality of radial channels that are positioned between the front face and the back face, see for example para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Nam in view of Hausmann and in view of Gaff and further in view of Singu and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, both of the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Singu have been discussed above as well.
Singu further discloses (see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]); wherein each of the plurality of edge purge channels (252s, 248s) comprises a radial portion (248) that extends through the base plate (i.e., between 202 and 204) and a vertical portion (252) that extends through at least a portion (i.e., between 202 and 204) of the puck (200) (i.e., such as purging the backside of the outer edge of the workpiece can include flowing purge gas through a plurality of radial channels that are positioned between the front face and the back face. The radial channels can extend from and/or be in fluid communication with at least one of the pluralities of axial channels, see for example fig. 4B, para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 18, Nam in view of Hausmann and in view of Gaff and further in view of Singu and the teachings of Nam as modified by Hausmann have been discussed above. Also, both of the teachings of Nam as modified by Gaff and the teachings of Nam as modified by Singu have been discussed above as well.
Singu further discloses (see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]); the first plate (i.e., boundary circle 236) has smaller diameter than other plates (i.e., boundary circle 210; retainer circle 214) such that purge channels (i.e., axial channels; circumferential purge channel 224) extend outward (i.e., such as a circumferential groove 236 may extend into the front face 202 to form an outer vacuum boundary, see for example para. [0039]) of substrate support surface (i.e., such as front face 202 can be configured to support a workpiece, such as a substrate (e.g., a wafer), see for example fig. 3, para. [0034] - [0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-8 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Nam nor Hausmann nor Gaff, particularly teaches wherein the cooling assembly comprises a chiller that cools a fluid to a predefined temperature and one or more valves that control flow rate of the fluid to and from the one or more cooling channels.
Hence claim 3 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Nam nor Hausmann nor Gaff, particularly teaches further comprising a heating element that actively heats the shaft.
Hence claims 7 and 16 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 8, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Nam nor Hausmann nor Gaff, particularly teaches wherein the at least one thermal insulator comprises a plurality of inner insulators and a plurality of outer insulators; each outer insulator is spaced apart from and surrounds a respective one of the inner insulators; and each outer insulator comprises a fluorine resistant material.
Hence claim 8 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 17, Nam in view of Hausmann and further in view of Gaff teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Nam nor Hausmann nor Gaff, particularly teaches further comprising an adapter plate that couples the base plate with the shaft.
Hence claim 17 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838