DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3 and 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0344416 A1 [Allcock] in view of Day, Matthew L., et al. "A micro-optical module for multi-wavelength addressing of trapped ions." Quantum Science and Technology 6.2 (2021): 024007, hereinafter Day.
Regarding Claim 1:
Allcock teaches a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions (para 7), the micro-fabricated device comprising:
a first substrate having a main surface (see annotated Fig. 2B (210));
a structured first metal layer disposed over the main surface of the first substrate, the structured first metal layer comprising electrodes of at least one ion trapping zone configured to trap an ion in a space above the structured first metal layer (Fig. 2B (230)); and
a dielectric element fixedly attached to the first substrate (Fig. 2b (220)), wherein the dielectric element comprises at least one waveguide (Fig. 2B (206)) configured to direct laser light towards an ion trapped in the at least one ion trapping zone (para 76).
However, Allcock does not specify that the waveguide is short-pulse-laser direct written (SPLDW) waveguide. Day teaches using a femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide, i.e. a SPLDW waveguide, to apply laser light to trapped ions (sections 2.1-2.2 discussing the formation of the waveguide, section 4 discussing its use with an ion trap.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the generic waveguide of Allcock with the femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide of Day. One would have been motivated to do so since would allow for the routing and focusing of multiple laser beams to various trapping sights within the ion trap. See Day abstract, section 5.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric element is glass, quartz glass, alkali-free glass, borosilicate glass, sapphire, or fused silica. Day Section 2.2, last paragraph.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, but fails to teach that the at least one SPLDW waveguide extends in a plane which is substantially parallel to the main surface of the first substrate. However, Day shows a waveguide oriented with a trench of a micro-ion tap. See Fig. 2c. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to reorient the waveguide of Allcock to move parallel to the trench, like the waveguide of Day. This would have been obvious because merely changing the orientation of a portion of the waveguide would offer no change in the function of the apparatus, and it would simplify the adjustment to the laser interrogation position along the axis facing into Allcock Fig. 2B.
Regarding Claim 5:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one optical fibre configured to guide the laser light, the at least one optical fibre being fixedly connected to an input of the at least one SPLDW waveguide. Day Fig. 2a.
Regarding Claim 6:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second substrate spaced apart from the first substrate (see annotated Fig. 2B (210)),
wherein the at least one ion trapping zone is located in a space between the first substrate and the second substrate (Allcock Fig. 2B (202) is an ion so trapped), and
wherein the dielectric element forms a spacer structure between the first substrate and the second substrate (as shown in Allcock Fig. 2B (202) where the dielectric spaces one element (210) from the other).
Regarding Claim 7:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric element comprises a plurality of SPLDW waveguides configured to direct laser light towards the same ion trapped in the ion trapping zone. Day Fig. 2a is an SPLDW waveguide array, i.e., it is multiple waveguides in that it remaps a plurality of input lights to a plurality of output positions.
Regarding Claim 8:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric element comprises a plurality of SPLDW waveguides configured to direct laser light towards at least a first ion trapped in the ion trapping zone and a second ion trapped in another ion trapping zone. Day Fig. 2a is an SPLDW waveguide array, i.e., it is multiple waveguides in that it remaps a plurality of input lights to a plurality of output positions. As shown, the different lasers are directed to different ions at A and B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mehta, Karan K., et al. "Integrated optical addressing of an ion qubit." Nature nanotechnology 11.12 (2016): 1066-1070.
McGuinness, Hayden J., et al. "Integrated photonics for trapped ion quantum information experiments at Sandia National Laboratories." Quantum Nanophotonic Materials, Devices, and Systems 2022. Vol. 12206. SPIE, 2022.
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881