DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0344416 A1 [Allcock] in view of Day, Matthew L., et al. "A micro-optical module for multi-wavelength addressing of trapped ions." Quantum Science and Technology 6.2 (2021): 024007, hereinafter Day.
Regarding Claim 1:
Allcock teaches a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions (para 7), the micro-fabricated device comprising:
a first substrate having a main surface (see annotated Fig. 2B (210));
a structured first metal layer disposed over the main surface of the first substrate, the structured first metal layer comprising electrodes of at least one ion trapping zone configured to trap an ion in a space above the structured first metal layer (Fig. 2B (230)); and
a dielectric element fixedly attached to the first substrate (Fig. 2b (220)), wherein the dielectric element comprises at least one waveguide (Fig. 2B (206)) configured to direct laser light towards an ion trapped in the at least one ion trapping zone (para 76).
However, Allcock does not specify that the waveguide is short-pulse-laser direct written (SPLDW) waveguide. Day teaches using a femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide, i.e. a SPLDW waveguide, to apply laser light to trapped ions (sections 2.1-2.2 discussing the formation of the waveguide, section 4 discussing its use with an ion trap.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the generic waveguide (206) of Allcock with the femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide of Day. One would have been motivated to do so since would allow for the routing and focusing of multiple laser beams to various trapping sights within the ion trap. See Day abstract, section 5.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric element is glass, quartz glass, alkali-free glass, borosilicate glass, sapphire, or fused silica. Day Section 2.2, last paragraph.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, but fails to teach that the at least one SPLDW waveguide extends in a plane which is substantially parallel to the main surface of the first substrate. However, Day shows a waveguide oriented with a trench of a micro-ion tap. See Fig. 1a, c, as described in section 2.1-2.2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to reorient the waveguide of Allcock to move parallel to the trench, like the waveguide of Day. This would have been obvious because merely changing the orientation of a portion of the waveguide would offer no change in the function of the apparatus, and it would simplify the adjustment to the laser interrogation position along the axis facing into Allcock Fig. 2B.
Regarding Claim 5:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one optical fibre configured to guide the laser light, the at least one optical fibre being fixedly connected to an input of the at least one SPLDW waveguide. Day Fig. 2a.
Regarding Claim 6:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second substrate spaced apart from the first substrate (see annotated Fig. 2B (210)),
wherein the at least one ion trapping zone is located in a space between the first substrate and the second substrate (Allcock Fig. 2B (202) is an ion so trapped), and
wherein the dielectric element forms a spacer structure between the first substrate and the second substrate (as shown in Allcock Fig. 2B (202) where the dielectric spaces one element (210) from the other).
Regarding Claim 7:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric element comprises a plurality of SPLDW waveguides configured to direct laser light towards the same ion trapped in the ion trapping zone. Day Fig. 2a is an SPLDW waveguide array, i.e., it is multiple waveguides in that it remaps a plurality of input lights to a plurality of output positions.
Regarding Claim 8:
The above modified invention teaches the micro-fabricated device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric element comprises a plurality of SPLDW waveguides configured to direct laser light towards at least a first ion trapped in the ion trapping zone and a second ion trapped in another ion trapping zone. Day Fig. 2a is an SPLDW waveguide array, i.e., it is multiple waveguides in that it remaps a plurality of input lights to a plurality of output positions. As shown, the different lasers are directed to different ions at A and B.
Regarding Claim 16:
Allcock teaches a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions (para 7), the micro-fabricated device comprising:
a first substrate having a main surface (see annotated Fig. 2B (210) is the substrate, the interior surface thereof facing the other (210) is the main surface);
a structured first metal layer disposed over the main surface of the first substrate, the structured first metal layer comprising electrodes of at least one ion trapping zone configured to trap an ion in a space above the structured first metal layer (Fig. 2B (230)); and
a dielectric element fixedly attached to the first substrate (Fig. 2b (220)), wherein the dielectric element comprises at least one waveguide (Fig. 2B (206)) configured to direct laser light towards an ion trapped in the at least one ion trapping zone (para 76).
However, Allcock does not specify that the waveguide is short-pulse-laser direct written (SPLDW) waveguide, or that the at least one SPLDW waveguide extends in a plane which is substantially parallel to the main surface of the first substrate
Day teaches using a femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide, i.e. a SPLDW waveguide, to apply laser light to trapped ions (sections 2.1-2.2 discussing the formation of the waveguide, section 4 discussing its use with an ion trap.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the generic waveguide (206) of Allcock with the femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide of Day. One would have been motivated to do so since would allow for the routing and focusing of multiple laser beams to various trapping sights within the ion trap. See Day abstract, section 5
Further, Day shows a waveguide oriented with a trench of a micro-ion tap. See Fig. 1a, c, as described in section 2.1-2.2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to reorient the waveguide of Allcock to move parallel to the trench, like the waveguide of Day. This would have been obvious because merely changing the orientation of a portion of the waveguide would offer no change in the function of the apparatus, and it would simplify the adjustment to the laser interrogation position along the axis facing into Allcock Fig. 2B.
Regarding Claim 17:
Allcock teaches a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions (para 7), the micro-fabricated device comprising:
a first substrate having a main surface (see annotated Fig. 2B (210) is the substrate, the interior surface thereof facing the other (210) is the main surface);
a second substrate spaced apart from the first substrate (see annotated Fig. 2B (210)),
a structured first metal layer disposed over the main surface of the first substrate, the structured first metal layer comprising electrodes of at least one ion trapping zone configured to trap an ion in a space above the structured first metal layer (Fig. 2B (230)); and
a dielectric element fixedly attached to the first substrate (Fig. 2b (220)) and forming a spacer structure between the first substrate and the second substrate (as shown in Allcock Fig. 2B (202) where the dielectric spaces one element (210) from the other).
wherein the dielectric element comprises at least one waveguide (Fig. 2B (206)) configured to direct laser light towards an ion trapped in the at least one ion trapping zone (para 76);
wherein the at least one ion trapping zone is located in a space between the first substrate and the second substrate (Allcock Fig. 2B (202) is an ion so trapped);
However, Allcock does not specify that the waveguide is short-pulse-laser direct written (SPLDW) waveguide, or that the at least one SPLDW waveguide extends in a plane which is substantially parallel to the main surface of the first substrate
Day teaches using a femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide, i.e. a SPLDW waveguide, to apply laser light to trapped ions (sections 2.1-2.2 discussing the formation of the waveguide, section 4 discussing its use with an ion trap.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the generic waveguide (206) of Allcock with the femtosecond-laser direct written waveguide of Day. One would have been motivated to do so since would allow for the routing and focusing of multiple laser beams to various trapping sights within the ion trap. See Day abstract, section 5
Further, Day shows a waveguide oriented with a trench of a micro-ion tap. See Fig. 1a, c, as described in section 2.1-2.2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to reorient the waveguide of Allcock to move parallel to the trench, like the waveguide of Day. This would have been obvious because merely changing the orientation of a portion of the waveguide would offer no change in the function of the apparatus, and it would simplify the adjustment to the laser interrogation position along the axis facing into Allcock Fig. 2B.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the instant claims are not obvious over Allcock in view of Day. In particular applicant asserts that the proposed modification “overlooks key teaching of the respective references that would discourage a person of ordinary skill in the art from making the Office’s proposed modification.” Arguments 5/18/26, pg 6. This is not persuasive. Applicant misconstrues the construction process and teachings of Allcock and suggests that there is something unique about the waveguide of Allcock that would teach away from its modification. There is nothing unique about the waveguide of Allcock, rather Allcock uses a generic waveguide (para 76) set into a semiconductor wafer (para 65), presumably in a generic Photonic chip fashion. Allcock proposes a wafer, including its waveguide, attached to printed 3D trap electrodes – not, as alleged by applicant, a 3D printed wafer with specialized waveguides. The modification proposed above with respect to Day would simply replace the generic waveguide with another waveguide that is described in the context of a 3D ion trap.
Further, applicant quotes a portion of Day and argues that Day “is silent with respect to wafer level integration, clearly indicating that such an application relating to the disclosed arrangement is not considered or contemplated.” Arguments 5/18/26, pg 8, emphasis in original. From this, applicant argues that Allcock’s teaching of an integrated wafer-level solution are in direct conflict with Day’s teaching of separate components, and thus it would not be obvious to combine the references. This is not persuasive. First, applicant’s assertion as to Day’s teaching of separate components is, at best, false. This is evident in Day section 2.1, which states
The individual elements are intended to be in direct contact with each other, as well as being bonded together to ensure long-term stability. The module was developed specifically for an ion microtrap with a 3D electrode geometry; all beams are intended to propagate through the microtrap aperture (see cross section in figure 1(c)). A micromachined spacer will be required to ensure a 2 mm working distance from the ions and facilitate bonding the module to the microtrap chip.
Second, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the advantages provided by the waveguides of Day in the context of ion traps are explicitly noted, and would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to make the proposed modification.
With respect to claim 4, applicant again asserts that the wafer of Allcock is fabricated via layered fabrication, and thus the proposed changes would significantly increase the complexity of construction. This is not persuasive. The wafer (220) of Allcock is a silicon wafer (para 65) and its various elements are integrated therein by traditional CMOS techniques (paras 76, 220), not whatever unusual scheme is proposed by applicant. The dielelectric structure is printed on top of it, but the wafer itself is not printed.
Further applicant argues re-orienting the waveguide with respect to the thickness of the wafer would render the wafer unsuitable. This is not persuasive. The claims requires that the waveguide be parallel a main surface. The main surface is a 2D plane. There are infinitely many parallel directions to a 2D plane. Applicant argues against one particular direction without acknowledging any of the others. Noting this, the proposed modification does not require some ridiculously thick wafer, it simply orients the waveguides along one of the infinitely many lines parallel to the plane defined by the main surface. Further, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the case at hand, one of ordinary skill would have more than enough suggestion to integrate the waveguide of Day into Allcock in a direction parallel to the main surfaces for at least the distance necessary to achieve the propagation and control taught by Day.
Finally, applicant argues that the wafer of Allcock is not between the first and second substrate. This is not persuasive. It is unclear what definition of “between” the applicant is proposing, but the applicant is reminded that the office is obligated to interpret claims with their broadest reasonable interpretation. MPEP 2111. Words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. MPEP 2111.01. In the case at hand, the specification offers no particular guidance as to the meaning of the word “between,” so “between” is understood by its ordinary and customary meaning given to it by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. In the instant case, “between” would mean something like occupying an interval that separates two things. In the context of the claim, it is clear that the portion of the wafer (220) that sits in the interval (Fig. 2b (W)) separating the two substrates is between the two substrates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mehta, Karan K., et al. "Integrated optical addressing of an ion qubit." Nature nanotechnology 11.12 (2016): 1066-1070.
McGuinness, Hayden J., et al. "Integrated photonics for trapped ion quantum information experiments at Sandia National Laboratories." Quantum Nanophotonic Materials, Devices, and Systems 2022. Vol. 12206. SPIE, 2022.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881