DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: I
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6: Compounds 1 to 80 have poor resolution.
Regarding claim 20: Compounds 1 to 80 have poor resolution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1. Claim 1 recites “the at least one functional layer includes: a first compound represented by Formula 1; and at least one of a second compound represented by Formula HT and a third compound represented by Formula ET” in lines 6-9.
Claim 1 is unclear because the aforementioned claim language may be interpreted as the following:
The at least one functional layer includes a first compound represented by Formula 1 and at least one of a second compound represented by Formula HT
The at least one functional layer includes a first compound represented by Formula 1 and at least one of a third compound represented by Formula ET.
The at least one functional layer includes a first compound represented by Formula 1, at least one of a second compound represented by Formula HT, and a third compound represented by Formula ET.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation and examiner has interpreted the claim language as any of the interpretations described above.
Regarding claims 2-11. Claims 2-11 are rejected due to their dependency upon indefinite claim 1.
Regarding claim 13. Claim 13 recites the limitation "Y" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation and examiner has interpreted the claim language as Y1 and Y2 are each independently any functional group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-15, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thirion (WO 2021/013993 A1) in view of Breuning (US 2011/0297925 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thirion teaches an optoelectronic device, wherein the device is an OLED (reading on the claimed “light emitting element”) comprising an anode and cathode (reading on the claimed “first electrode and second electrode facing the first electrode) and optionally one or more layers selected from the group of a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer, wherein different layers may be merged and the OLED may comprise more than one layer of each layer type (reading on the claimed “at least one functional layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode”) (Thirion, page 99).
Thirion also teaches that in one embodiment the light emitting layer comprises a composition comprising one or more boron-based organic molecules according to the invention (reading on the claimed “the at least one functional layer includes a first compound”) and at least one host compound (reading on the claimed “at least one of a second compound and a third compound”) (Thirion, page 93-94).
Thirion further teaches a plurality of boron-based compounds useful in the emitting layer of optoelectronic devices represented by Formula I (shown below), wherein RI to RVIII may be hydrogen and RV may be a C3-C15 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties (Thirion, page 2 to page 4).
Thirion also teaches a specific compound, Example 1 (shown below), wherein RI to RIV and RVI to RVIII are each independently hydrogen, and RV is a C3 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a C6 aryl group. Specifically, RV is a triazine moiety wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a phenyl group (Thirion, page 134).
Thirion fails to teach a specific compound wherein RV is a heptazine derivative represented by Formula 2 of instant claim 1.
However, Thirion further teaches a plurality of examples of C3-C15 heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing groups, including 1,3,5-triazine and heptazine, as well as a plurality of specific examples of organic molecules according to Formula I, wherein RV is an electron withdrawing group (Thirion, page 76 to page 79). Specifically, Thirion teaches the specific example shown below, wherein RV is represented by heptazine (Thirion, page 79).
Thirion includes each element claimed with the only difference between the claimed invention and Thirion being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select heptazine to represent RV in Formula I of Thirion, because one would have been choosing from a list of suitable heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing properties and suitable as the RV group in Formula I of Thirion and taught by Thirion, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a heteroaryl group suitable as RV in Formula I of Thirion and possessing the benefits taught by Thirion in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Particularly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine moiety in Example 1 of Thirion for heptazine, because Thirion teaches heptazine may suitably be selected as RV. This substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as an emitter in the light emitting layer of the device of Thirion and possess the benefits taught by Thirion of higher efficiency or higher color purity (Thirion, page 1). See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Furthermore, Breuning teaches a plurality of heptazine compounds bonded to aryl and heteroaryl groups (Breuning, page 4 to page 11). Breuning teaches these materials are particularly suitable as matrix materials for emitting compounds, in particular for phosphorescent compounds, for use in an emitting layer (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0076). Additionally, Breuning teaches that these compounds have very high photostability, and are therefore highly suitable for use in organic electroluminescent devices (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine group in Example 1 of Thirion for a heptazine group, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Thirion in view of Breuning to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Modified Example 1, as described above reads on instant Formula 1 of instant claim 1, wherein instant Formula 1 Cy is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, X is N(Rx), Rx is a group represented by instant Formula 1a, X1 to X4 are each independently hydrogen, a and b are each independently 4, c and d are each independently 5, e is 1, X5 is represented by instant Formula 2, Lx is a direct linkage, Y1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Y2 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and –* represents a bond to a neighboring atom in instant Formula 1.
Furthermore, Thirion teaches compound MAT2 (shown below) as a suitable host in the device of Thirion (Thirion, page 150, OLED D1). Host compound MAT2 reads on instant Formula ET, wherein Z1 to Z3 are each independently N, R33 and R35 are each independently a substituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and R34 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 3, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as described above regarding claim 1, wherein the first compound is represented my modified Example 1 which reads on instant Formula 1-1c, wherein instant Formula 1-1c, Cy is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Lx3 is a direct linkage, Xa is N(Rx1), Rx1 is a group represented by instant Formula 1b, X14 is hydrogen, i is 5, X11 to X13 are each independently hydrogen, f and g are each independently 4, h is 5, Y1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Y2 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and j and h’ are not required.
Regarding claim 4, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as described above regarding claim 1, wherein the first compound is represented by instant Formula 1-2a, wherein instant Formula 1-2a, X1 to X5 and a to e are the same as described above in claim 1 regarding modified Example 1, and Xb, Xc, a1, a2, and c1 are not required.
Regarding claim 5, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as described above regarding claim 1, wherein the group represented by instant Formula 2 is represented by instant Formula 2-1, wherein instant Formula 2-1, Rx2 and Rx3 are each independently hydrogen, k and l are each independently 5, Lx and –* are the same as described above in claim 1 regarding modified Example 1, and Ar2 to Ar5 are not required.
Regarding claim 6, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as described above regarding claim 1, wherein the at least one functional layer comprises modified Example 1, which is the same as instant compound 1 (shown below).
Regarding claim 7, Thirion teaches the light element of claim 1, as described above regarding claim 1, wherein at least one functional layer comprises an emission layer; a hole transport region disposed between the first electrode and the emission layer; and an electron transport region disposed between the emission layer and the second electrode (Thirion, page 100), and the emission layer includes a first compound (Thirion, modified Example 1 as described above regarding claim 1); and at least one of the second compound and the third compound (Thirion, compound MAT2, page 150) (Thirion, page 93 to page 94).
Regarding claim 8, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 7, as described above regarding claim 7.
Since the prior art combination teaches substantially the same light emitting element as disclosed by Applicant, the property of the emission layer to emit delayed fluorescence is considered to naturally flow from the product of the prior art combination, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition of claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be present. Applicant bears the responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 9, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 7, as described above regarding claim 7.
Since the prior art combination teaches substantially the same light emitting element as disclosed by Applicant, the property of the emission layer to emit blue light is considered to naturally flow from the product of the prior art combination, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition of claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be present. Applicant bears the responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 10, Thirion teaches compound MAT4 (shown below) as a suitable host in the device of Thirion (Thirion, page 152, OLED D3). Thirion also teaches that MAT2 is suitable as a co-host with MAT2 (described above regarding claim 1) in the emission layer of OLED D3 of Thirion (Thirion, page 152, OLED D3). Host compound MAT4 reads on instant Formula HT, wherein L1 is a direct linkage, Ar1 is a substituted heteroaryl group having 5 ring-forming carbon atoms, Y is a direct linkage, Z is C(Rz), Rz is hydrogen, R31 is hydrogen, n31 is 4, R32 is hydrogen, n32 is 3, and Ry1 to Ry4 are not required.
Therefore, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, wherein the at least one functional layer comprises the first compound, the second compound, and the third compound.
Regarding claim 12, Thirion teaches an optoelectronic device, wherein the device is an OLED (reading on the claimed “light emitting element”) comprising an anode and cathode (reading on the claimed “first electrode and second electrode facing the first electrode) and optionally one or more layers selected from the group of a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer, wherein different layers may be merged and the OLED may comprise more than one layer of each layer type (reading on the claimed “an emission layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode”) (Thirion, page 99).
Thirion also teaches that in one embodiment the light emitting layer comprises a composition comprising one or more boron-based organic molecules according to the invention (reading on the claimed “the emission layer includes a polycyclic compound”) (Thirion, page 93-94).
Thirion further teaches a plurality of boron-based compounds useful in the emitting layer of optoelectronic devices represented by Formula I (shown below), wherein RI to RVIII may be hydrogen and RV may be a C3-C15 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties (Thirion, page 2 to page 4).
Thirion also teaches a specific compound, Example 1 (shown below), wherein RI to RIV and RVI to RVIII are each independently hydrogen, and RV is a C3 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a C6 aryl group. Specifically, RV is a triazine moiety wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a phenyl group (Thirion, page 134).
Thirion fails to teach a specific compound wherein RV is a heptazine derivative represented by Formula 2 of instant claim 1.
However, Thirion further teaches a plurality of examples of C3-C15 heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing groups, including 1,3,5-triazine and heptazine, as well as a plurality of specific examples of organic molecules according to Formula I, wherein RV is an electron withdrawing group (Thirion, page 76 to page 79). Specifically, Thirion teaches the specific example shown below, wherein RV is represented by heptazine (Thirion, page 79).
Thirion includes each element claimed with the only difference between the claimed invention and Thirion being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select heptazine to represent RV in Formula I of Thirion, because one would have been choosing from a list of suitable heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing properties and suitable as the RV group in Formula I of Thirion and taught by Thirion, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a heteroaryl group suitable as RV in Formula I of Thirion and possessing the benefits taught by Thirion in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Particularly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine moiety in Example 1 of Thirion for heptazine, because Thirion teaches heptazine may suitably be selected as RV. This substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as an emitter in the light emitting layer of the device of Thirion and possess the benefits taught by Thirion of higher efficiency or higher color purity (Thirion, page 1). See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Furthermore, Breuning teaches a plurality of heptazine compounds bonded to aryl and heteroaryl groups (Breuning, page 4 to page 11). Breuning teaches these materials are particularly suitable as matrix materials for emitting compounds, in particular for phosphorescent compounds, for use in an emitting layer (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0076). Additionally, Breuning teaches that these compounds have very high photostability, and are therefore highly suitable for use in organic electroluminescent devices (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine group in Example 1 of Thirion for a heptazine group, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Thirion in view of Breuning to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Modified Example 1, as described above reads on instant Formula 1 of instant claim 12, wherein instant Formula 1 Cy is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, X is N(Rx), Rx is a group represented by instant Formula 1a, X1 to X4 are each independently hydrogen, a and b are each independently 4, c and d are each independently 5, e is 1, X5 is represented by instant Formula 2, Lx is a direct linkage, Y1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Y2 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and –* represents a bond to a neighboring atom in instant Formula 1.
Regarding claim 13, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 12, as described above regarding claim 12, wherein the polycyclic compound is represented by instant Formula 1-1c, wherein instant Formula 1-1c, Cy is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Lx3 is a direct linkage, Xa is N(Rx1), Rx1 is a group represented by instant Formula 1b, X14 is hydrogen, i is 5, X11 to X13 are each independently hydrogen, f and g are each independently 4, h is 5, Y1 and Y2 are each independently an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and j and h’ are not required.
Regarding claim 14, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 12, as described above regarding claim 12, wherein the polycyclic compound is represented by instant Formula 1-2a, wherein instant Formula 1-2a, X1 to X5 and a to e are the same as described above regarding claim 12, and Xb, Xc, a1, a2, and c1 are not required.
Regarding claim 15, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 12, as described above regarding claim 12, wherein Z is a group represented by instant Formula 4, wherein instant Formula 4, Y1 and Y2 are each independently an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms and
represents a bond to Ly in Formula 3.
Regarding claim 16, Thirion further teaches a plurality of boron-based compounds useful in the emitting layer of optoelectronic devices represented by Formula I (shown below), wherein RI to RVIII may be hydrogen and RV may be a C3-C15 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties (Thirion, page 2 to page 4).
Thirion also teaches a specific compound, Example 1 (shown below), wherein RI to RIV and RVI to RVIII are each independently hydrogen, and RV is a C3 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a C6 aryl group. Specifically, RV is a triazine moiety wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a phenyl group (Thirion, page 134).
Thirion fails to teach a specific compound wherein RV is a heptazine derivative represented by Formula 2 of instant claim 1.
However, Thirion further teaches a plurality of examples of C3-C15 heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing groups, including 1,3,5-triazine and heptazine, as well as a plurality of specific examples of organic molecules according to Formula I, wherein RV is an electron withdrawing group (Thirion, page 76 to page 79). Specifically, Thirion teaches the specific example shown below, wherein RV is represented by heptazine (Thirion, page 79).
Thirion includes each element claimed with the only difference between the claimed invention and Thirion being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select heptazine to represent RV in Formula I of Thirion, because one would have been choosing from a list of suitable heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing properties and suitable as the RV group in Formula I of Thirion and taught by Thirion, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a heteroaryl group suitable as RV in Formula I of Thirion and possessing the benefits taught by Thirion in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Particularly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine moiety in Example 1 of Thirion for heptazine, because Thirion teaches heptazine may suitably be selected as RV. This substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as an emitter in the light emitting layer of the device of Thirion and possess the benefits taught by Thirion of higher efficiency or higher color purity (Thirion, page 1). See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Furthermore, Breuning teaches a plurality of heptazine compounds bonded to aryl and heteroaryl groups (Breuning, page 4 to page 11). Breuning teaches these materials are particularly suitable as matrix materials for emitting compounds, in particular for phosphorescent compounds, for use in an emitting layer (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0076). Additionally, Breuning teaches that these compounds have very high photostability, and are therefore highly suitable for use in organic electroluminescent devices (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine group in Example 1 of Thirion for a heptazine group, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Thirion in view of Breuning to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Modified Example 1, as described above reads on instant Formula 1 of instant claim 16, wherein instant Formula 1 Cy is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, X is N(Rx), Rx is a group represented by instant Formula 1a, X1 to X4 are each independently hydrogen, a and b are each independently 4, c and d are each independently 5, e is 1, X5 is represented by instant Formula 2, Lx is a direct linkage, Y1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Y2 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and –* represents a bond to a neighboring atom in instant Formula 1.
Regarding claim 17, Thirion teaches the polycyclic compound of claim 16, as described above regarding claim 16, wherein instant Formula 1 is represented by instant Formula 1-1c, wherein instant Formula 1-1c Cy is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Lx3 is a direct linkage, Xa is N(Rx1), Rx1 is a group represented by Formula 1b, X14 is hydrogen, i is 5, X11 to X13 are each independently hydrogen, f and g are each independently 4, h is 5, Y1 and Y2 are each independently an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and j and h’ are not required.
Regarding claim 18, Thirion teaches the polycyclic compound of claim 16, as described above regarding claim 16, wherein instant Formula 1 is represented by instant Formula 1-2a, wherein instant Formula 1-2a, X1 to X5 and a to e are the same as described above regarding claim 16, and Xb, Xc, a1, a2, and c1 are not required.
Regarding claim 19, Thirion teaches the polycyclic compound of claim 16, as described above regarding claim 16, wherein the group represented by instant Formula 2 is represented by instant Formula 2-1, wherein instant Formula 2-1, Rx2 and Rx3 are each independently hydrogen, k and l are each independently 5, Lx and –* are the same as described above regarding claim 16, and Ar2 to Ar5 are not required.
Regarding claim 20, Thirion teaches the polycyclic compound of claim 16, as described above regarding claim 16, wherein the polycyclic compound represented by instant Formula 1, modified Example 1, is the same as instant compound 1.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thirion (WO 2021/013993 A1) in view of Breuning (US 9,066,410 B2) and further in view of Sharifidehsari (WO 2022/058521 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Thirion teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as described above regarding claim 1.
Thirion also teaches an embodiment wherein the light emitting layer of an organic light-emitting diode comprises a composition consisting of an organic molecule according to the invention, at least one host compound, at least one further host with a differing chemical structure, and at least one further emitter molecule (Thirion, page 96 to page 97). Thirion further teaches the emitter molecule may be a phosphorescence emitter molecule (Thirion, page 104) but fails to teach a specific phosphorescent emitter molecule that reads on instant Formula PS of instant claim 2.
Sharifidehsari teaches a plurality of organometallic compounds suitable as phosphorescence emitters in the light emitting layer of light emitting devices (Sharifidehsari, page 119 to page 132). Sharifidehsari also teaches that the phosphorescent materials utilize the intramolecular spin-orbit interaction caused by metal atoms to obtain light emission from triplets (Sharifidehsari, page 119) and function as energy pumps by transferring energy to a fluorescent emitter (Sharifidehsari, page 2).
Sharifidehsari further teaches a specific phosphorescent emitter, shown below, hereinafter referred to as Compound 4 (Sharifidehsari, page 126).
Compound 4 reads on instant Formula PS of instant claim 2, wherein instant Formula PS, Q1 to Q4 are each independently C, C1 and C4 are each independently an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, C2 and C3 are each independently an unsubstituted heterocycle having 12 ring-forming carbon atoms, L11, L13, and L14 are each independently a direct linkage, L12 is *– O –* wherein L12 –* represents a bond to C2 and a bond to C3, e1 to e4 are 0, d1 to d4 are 0, and R41 to R49 are not required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound 4 of Sharifidehsari in the light emitting layer of the device of Thirion in view of Breuning, based on the teachings of Sharifidehsari. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a phosphorescent material in the light emitting layer that utilizes the intramolecular spin-orbit interaction caused by metal atoms to obtain light emission from triplets and function as energy pump by transferring energy to a fluorescent emitter.
Particularly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select Compound 4 of Sharifidehsari as the phosphorescent emitter compound of Sharifidehsari, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the emitting layer of the light emitting device of Thirion in view of Breuning and possessing the benefits taught by Sharifidehsari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising the phosphorescent emitter compound of Sharifidehsari in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Regarding claim 11. As described above regarding claim 2, Thirion teaches an embodiment wherein the light emitting layer of an organic light-emitting diode comprises a composition consisting of an organic molecule according to the invention, at least one host compound, at least one further host with a differing chemical structure, and at least one further emitter molecule (Thirion, page 96 to page 97). Thirion further teaches the emitter molecule may be a phosphorescence emitter molecule (Thirion, page 104),
Therefore, Thirion in view of Breuning and further in view of Sharifidehsari teaches the light emitting element of claim 2, wherein the at least one functional layer comprises the first compound, the second compound, the third compound, and the fourth compound.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thirion (WO 2021/013993 A1) in view of Breuning (US 9,066,410 B2) and further in view of Yun (US 2022/0344379 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Thirion teaches an optoelectronic device, wherein the device is an OLED (reading on the claimed “light emitting element”) comprising an anode and cathode (reading on the claimed “first electrode and second electrode facing the first electrode) and optionally one or more layers selected from the group of a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer, wherein different layers may be merged and the OLED may comprise more than one layer of each layer type (reading on the claimed “at least one functional layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode”) (Thirion, page 99).
Thirion also teaches that in one embodiment the light emitting layer comprises a composition comprising one or more boron-based organic molecules according to the invention (reading on the claimed “the at least one functional layer includes a first compound”) and at least one host compound (reading on the claimed “at least one of a second compound and a third compound”) (Thirion, page 93-94).
Thirion further teaches a plurality of boron-based compounds useful in the emitting layer of optoelectronic devices represented by Formula I (shown below), wherein RI to RVIII may be hydrogen and RV may be a C3-C15 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties (Thirion, page 2 to page 4).
Thirion also teaches a specific compound, Example 1 (shown below), wherein RI to RIV and RVI to RVIII are each independently hydrogen, and RV is a C3 heteroaryl group with electron withdrawing properties wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a C6 aryl group. Specifically, RV is a triazine moiety wherein two hydrogen atoms are each independently substituted by a phenyl group (Thirion, page 134).
Thirion fails to teach a specific compound wherein RV is a heptazine derivative represented by Formula 2 of instant claim 1.
However, Thirion further teaches a plurality of examples of C3-C15 heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing groups, including 1,3,5-triazine and heptazine, as well as a plurality of specific examples of organic molecules according to Formula I, wherein RV is an electron withdrawing group (Thirion, page 76 to page 79). Specifically, Thirion teaches the specific example shown below, wherein RV is represented by heptazine (Thirion, page 79).
Thirion includes each element claimed with the only difference between the claimed invention and Thirion being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select heptazine to represent RV in Formula I of Thirion, because one would have been choosing from a list of suitable heteroaryl groups with electron withdrawing properties and suitable as the RV group in Formula I of Thirion and taught by Thirion, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a heteroaryl group suitable as RV in Formula I of Thirion and possessing the benefits taught by Thirion in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Particularly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine moiety in Example 1 of Thirion for heptazine, because Thirion teaches heptazine may suitably be selected as RV. This substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as an emitter in the light emitting layer of the device of Thirion and possess the benefits taught by Thirion of higher efficiency or higher color purity (Thirion, page 1). See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Furthermore, Breuning teaches a plurality of heptazine compounds bonded to aryl and heteroaryl groups (Breuning, page 4 to page 11). Breuning teaches these materials are particularly suitable as matrix materials for emitting compounds, in particular for phosphorescent compounds, for use in an emitting layer (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0076). Additionally, Breuning teaches that these compounds have very high photostability, and are therefore highly suitable for use in organic electroluminescent devices (Breuning, page 33, paragraph 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 1,3,5-triazine group in Example 1 of Thirion for a heptazine group, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Thirion in view of Breuning to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Modified Example 1, as described above reads on instant Formula 1 of instant claim 21, wherein instant Formula 1 Cy is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, X is N(Rx), Rx is a group represented by instant Formula 1a, X1 to X4 are each independently hydrogen, a and b are each independently 4, c and d are each independently 5, e is 1, X5 is represented by instant Formula 2, Lx is a direct linkage, Y1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, Y2 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and –* represents a bond to a neighboring atom in instant Formula 1.
Furthermore, Thirion teaches compound MAT2 (shown below) as a suitable host in the device of Thirion (Thirion, page 150, OLED D1). Host compound MAT2 reads on instant Formula ET, wherein Z1 to Z3 are each independently N, R33 and R35 are each independently a substituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and R34 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Thirion also teaches a further embodiment relates to an OLED which is suited for the use in Ultra High Definition displays (Thirion, page 105). However, Thirion in view of Breuning fails to teach a specific display device comprising a base layer; a circuit layer disposed on the base layer; and a display element layer disposed on the circuit layer and comprising a light emitting element, wherein the light emitting element is the light emitting element of Thirion as described above.
Yun teaches a display device comprising a base layer; a circuit layer disposed on the base layer, and a display element layer disposed on the circuit layer (Yun, page 14, paragraph 0195). Yun also teaches that light emitting elements may be disposed in each pixel area of the display element layer (Yun, page 14, paragraph 0196).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the light emitting element of Thirion in view of Breuning in the display device of Yun, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Thirion in view of Breuning and further in view of Yun to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the light emitting element of Thirion in view of Breuning in the display device of Yun as Thirion suggests using OLEDs in displays such as Ultra High Definition displays. Thirion in view of Breuning fails to provide specifics regarding the layered structure of a display device as taught by Yun, however, one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Thirion in view of Breuning with the teachings of Yun, in order to make use of the light emitting element of Thirion in view of Breuning for common end use applications in a commercial setting.
Regarding claim 22, Thirion in view of Breuning and further in view of Yun teaches the display device of claim 21, as described above regarding claim 21, wherein at least one functional layer comprises an emission layer; a hole transport region disposed between the first electrode and the emission layer; and an electron transport region disposed between the emission layer and the second electrode (Thirion. page 100), and the emission layer includes a first compound (Thirion, modified Example 1 as described above regarding claim 1); and at least one of the second compound and the third compound (Thirion, compound MAT2, page 150) (Thirion, page 93 to page 94).
Regarding claim 23, the modified display device of Thirion in view of Breuning and further in view of Yun as described above regarding claim 21 reads on the display device of claim 23 but fails to read on where it further comprises a light control layer disposed on the display element layer and including a quantum dot.
Although the display device of Thirion in view of Breuning and further in view of Yun, as described above, does not comprise a light control layer, Yun teaches another embodiment of a display device comprising a light control layer disposed on the display element layer (Yun, Fig. 6B). Yun also teaches the light control layer may include a first light control layer and a second light control layer (Yun, page 20, paragraph 0275). Yun further teaches the light control layers may include color conversion layers (Yun, page 20, paragraph 0276) and that the color conversion layer may include a quantum dot (Yun, page 21, paragraphs 0286, 0287, and 0289).
Yun also teaches that green quantum dots may be used in the color conversion layers to convert the blue light emitted from a blue light emitting element into green light (Yun, page 21, paragraph 0286). Similarly, red quantum dots may be used in the color conversion layers to convert the blue light emitted from a blue light emitting element into red light (Yun, page 21, paragraph 0289).
Yun further teaches that in an embodiment, blue light having a relatively short wavelength in a visible light band may be incident onto green quantum dots and red quantum dots, so that absorption coefficients of the green quantum dots and the red quantum dots can be increased. Accordingly, the efficiency of light finally emitted by pixels can be improved, and excellent color reproduction can be ensured (Yun, page 21, paragraph 0292).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the light control layer of Yun comprising a color conversion layer and quantum dots in the modified display device of Thirion in view of Breuning and further in view of Yun as described above regarding claim 21, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Thirion in view of Breuning and further in view of Yun to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of improving the efficiency of light emitted by pixels and ensure color reproduction. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Conclusion
/K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786