DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Claims 1 and 9 have been amended.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1-16 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
3. 35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
4. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a “method,” which is a process, and thus one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101).
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “[(d)] generating . . . a first plurality of generation indices based on a plurality of features of the learning data,” “[(f)] determining . . . model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models,” “[(g)] performing . . . model selection to select models of a predetermined number having highest model accuracy from the first plurality of machine learning models,” “[(h)] performing . . . indices generation to generate a second plurality of generation indices based on a second plurality of features,” “[(i)] performing . . . model accuracy determination to determine model accuracy for each of the second plurality of machine learning models,” “[(k)] iteratively performing . . . model accuracy determination until a machine learning model having a model accuracy that surpasses and accuracy threshold is generated,” and “[(l)] selecting the machine learning model having highest model accuracy from the second plurality of machine learning models for deployment.” These activities of “[(d)] generating,” [(f)] determining,” “[(g), (i)] performing,” “[(k)] iteratively performing,” and “[(l)] selecting,” can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III), which is one of the groupings of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)). The claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(h)] performing . . . indices generation,” such that “[(h.1)] wherein the second plurality of features is derived by performing genetic crossover of the features from generation indices that are associated with the models of the predetermined number,” and “[(h.2)] wherein the performing the genetic crossover comprises providing a list of input features to be used at each operation during optimization processing, a number of iterations per trial, and a number of results inherited for subsequent optimization process, and adjusting crossover rates used in the genetic crossover so that features resulting in more accurate models are inherited more frequently in next-generation features,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified judicial exception include “a processor,” which is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea that do not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites additional elements of “a first plurality of machine learning models,” and “a second plurality of machine learning models,” which are generic computer components used to implement the abstract idea, and does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Also, these limitations generally link the use of the judicial exception to the particular technological environment or field of use pertaining to generation and selection of “models,” (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites limitations of “[(e)] generating a first plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the first plurality of generation indices,” “[(i)] performing machine learning model generation to generate a second plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the second plurality of feature,“ and “[(k)] iteratively performing model selection, indices generation by performing genetic crossover with features from indices of preceding iteration, machine learning model generation, . . .” These limitations recite the use of generic components (a first plurality of machine learning models, a second plurality of machine learning models) to implement the abstract idea, and do not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites more specifics or details of the additional element of “[(e), (i)] generating . . . models trained,” “[(e.1)] wherein each of the first plurality of machine learning models is trained with a respective generation index of the first plurality of generation indices,” and “[(i.1)] wherein each of the second plurality of machine learning models is trained with a unique combination of features from the second plurality of features,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the additional element. The claim also recites the additional elements of “[(a)] obtaining . . . learning data to be used in machine learning model training,” “[(b)] performing, by the processor, data validation and generating configuration files required for a deep framework,” and [(c)] organizing, by the processor, the learning data for training, evaluation, and testing,” which are pre-processing, insignificant extra-solution activities of mere data gathering and data preparation, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites more details or specifics to the additional element of “[(b)] performing . . . data validation,” “[(b.1)] wherein the deep framework builds deep learning models for production without requiring generation of additional code,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include “a processor,” which is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea that do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites additional elements of “a first plurality of machine learning models,” and “a second plurality of machine learning models,” which are generic computer components used to implement the abstract idea, and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Also, these limitations generally link the use of the judicial exception to the particular technological environment or field of use pertaining to generation and selection of “models,” (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites limitations of “[(e)] generating a first plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the first plurality of generation indices,” “[(i)] performing machine learning model generation to generate a second plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the second plurality of feature,“ and “[(k)] iteratively performing model selection, indices generation by performing genetic crossover with features from indices of preceding iteration, machine learning model generation, . . .” These limitations recite the use of generic components (a first plurality of machine learning models, a second plurality of machine learning models) to implement the abstract idea, and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites more specifics or details of the additional element of “[(e), (i)] generating . . . models trained,” “[(e.1)] wherein each of the first plurality of machine learning models is trained with a respective generation index of the first plurality of generation indices,” and “[(i.1)] wherein each of the second plurality of machine learning models is trained with a unique combination of features from the second plurality of features,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the additional element. The claim also recites the additional elements of “[(a)] obtaining . . . learning data to be used in machine learning model training,” “[(b)] performing, by the processor, data validation and generating configuration files required for a deep framework,” and [(c)] organizing, by the processor, the learning data for training, evaluation, and testing,” which are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of storing, formatting, and retrieving information in memory, (MPEP § 2106.05(d) sub II.iv), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites more details or specifics to the additional element of “[(b)] performing . . . data validation,” “[(b.1)] wherein the deep framework builds deep learning models for production without requiring generation of additional code,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Therefore, claim 1 is subject matter ineligible.
Claim 9 recites a “non-transitory computer readable medium,” which is a product, and thus one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101).
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “[(d)] generating . . . a first plurality of generation indices based on a plurality of features of the learning data,” “[(f)] determining . . . model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models,” “[(g)] performing . . . model selection to select models of a predetermined number having highest model accuracy from the first plurality of machine learning models,” “[(h)] performing . . . indices generation to generate a second plurality of generation indices based on a second plurality of features,” “[(i)] performing . . . model accuracy determination to determine model accuracy for each of the second plurality of machine learning models,” “[(k)] iteratively performing . . . model accuracy determination until a machine learning model having a model accuracy that surpasses and accuracy threshold is generated,” and “[(l)] selecting the machine learning model having highest model accuracy from the second plurality of machine learning models for deployment.” These activities of “[(d)] generating,” [(f)] determining,” “[(g), (i)] performing,” “[(k)] iteratively performing,” and “[(l)] selecting,” can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III), which is one of the groupings of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)). The claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(h)] performing . . . indices generation,” such that “[(h.1)] wherein the second plurality of features is derived by performing genetic crossover of the features from generation indices that are associated with the models of the predetermined number,” and “[(h.2)] wherein the performing the genetic crossover comprises providing a list of input features to be used at each operation during optimization processing, a number of iterations per trial, and a number of results inherited for subsequent optimization process, and adjusting crossover rates used in the genetic crossover so that features resulting in more accurate models are inherited more frequently in next-generation features,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 9 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified judicial exception include “a processor,” which is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea that do not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites additional elements of “a first plurality of machine learning models,” and “a second plurality of machine learning models,” which are generic computer components used to implement the abstract idea, and does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Also, these limitations generally link the use of the judicial exception to the particular technological environment or field of use pertaining to generation and selection of “models,” (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites limitations of “[(e)] generating a first plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the first plurality of generation indices,” “[(i)] performing machine learning model generation to generate a second plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the second plurality of feature,“ and “[(k)] iteratively performing model selection, indices generation by performing genetic crossover with features from indices of preceding iteration, machine learning model generation, . . .” These limitations recite the use of generic components (a first plurality of machine learning models, a second plurality of machine learning models) to implement the abstract idea, and do not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites more specifics or details of the additional element of “[(e), (i)] generating . . . models trained,” “[(e.1)] wherein each of the first plurality of machine learning models is trained with a respective generation index of the first plurality of generation indices,” and “[(i.1)] wherein each of the second plurality of machine learning models is trained with a unique combination of features from the second plurality of features,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the additional element. The claim also recites the additional elements of “[(a)] obtaining . . . learning data to be used in machine learning model training,” “[(b)] performing, by the processor, data validation and generating configuration files required for a deep framework,” and [(c)] organizing, by the processor, the learning data for training, evaluation, and testing,” which are pre-processing, insignificant extra-solution activities of mere data gathering and data preparation, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites more details or specifics to the additional element of “[(b)] performing . . . data validation,” “[(b.1)] wherein the deep framework builds deep learning models for production without requiring generation of additional code,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Therefore, claim 9 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include “a processor,” which is a generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea that do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites additional elements of “a first plurality of machine learning models,” and “a second plurality of machine learning models,” which are generic computer components used to implement the abstract idea, and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Also, these limitations generally link the use of the judicial exception to the particular technological environment or field of use pertaining to generation and selection of “models,” (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites limitations of “[(e)] generating a first plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the first plurality of generation indices,” “[(i)] performing machine learning model generation to generate a second plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the second plurality of feature,“ and “[(k)] iteratively performing model selection, indices generation by performing genetic crossover with features from indices of preceding iteration, machine learning model generation, . . .” These limitations recite the use of generic components (a first plurality of machine learning models, a second plurality of machine learning models) to implement the abstract idea, and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites more specifics or details of the additional element of “[(e), (i)] generating . . . models trained,” “[(e.1)] wherein each of the first plurality of machine learning models is trained with a respective generation index of the first plurality of generation indices,” and “[(i.1)] wherein each of the second plurality of machine learning models is trained with a unique combination of features from the second plurality of features,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the additional element. The claim also recites the additional elements of “[(a)] obtaining . . . learning data to be used in machine learning model training,” “[(b)] performing, by the processor, data validation and generating configuration files required for a deep framework,” and [(c)] organizing, by the processor, the learning data for training, evaluation, and testing,” which are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of storing, formatting, and retrieving information in memory, (MPEP § 2106.05(d) sub II.iv), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites more details or specifics to the additional element of “[(b)] performing . . . data validation,” “[(b.1)] wherein the deep framework builds deep learning models for production without requiring generation of additional code,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Therefore, claim 9 is subject matter ineligible.
Claims 2, 3, and 4 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. Claims 10, 11, and 12 depend directly or indirectly from claim 9. The claims recite more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(d)] generating . . . a first plurality of generation indices,” (claims 2 and 10: “[(d.1)] wherein the first plurality of generation indices comprises generation indices specifying the plurality of features of the learning data”; claims 3 and 11: “[(d.2)] wherein the first plurality of generation indices further comprises at least one of generation indices specifying structure of machine learning model to be generated, generation indices specifying training method of machine learning model associated with a feature, or generation indices specifying model type of machine learning model to be generated”; claims 4 and 12: “[(d.2)] wherein the first plurality of generation indices further comprises at least one of generation indices specifying number of intermediary layers to be included in a machine learning model, generation indices specifying number of nodes to be included in each of the intermediary layers, or generation indices specifying node connection of the number of nodes’), and accordingly, are simply more specific to the abstract idea. The abstract idea of these claims are not integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(d)), because the claims recite no more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 2-4 and 10-12 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 5 depends directly or indirectly from claim 1. Claim 13 depends directly or indirectly from claim 9. The claims recite more specifics or details to the abstract idea of “[(f)] determining . . . model accuracy,” (claims 5 and 13: [(f.1)] wherein determining model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models comprises evaluating model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models using the evaluation data”), and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. Also, the claim recites more specifics or details to the additional elements of “[(a)] obtaining . . . learning data,” (claims 5 and 13: “[(a.1)] wherein the learning data is split into training data and evaluation data”), and the additional element of “[(e)] generating the first plurality of machine learning models,” (claims 5 and 13: “[(e.1)] wherein generating the first plurality of machine learning models comprises training the first plurality of machine learning models with the training data and the plurality of features of the learning data”), which are each merely more specific to the respective additional element. The abstract idea of these claims are not integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(d)), because the claims recite no more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 5 and 13 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claims 6-8 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. Claims 14-16 depend directly or indirectly from claim 9. The claims recite more details or specifics of the additional element of “[(a)] obtaining learning data,” (claims 6 and 14: “wherein the plurality of features of the learning data are statistical features of the learning data”; claims 7 and 15: “[(a.1)] wherein the learning data comprises one of integers, floating-point numbers, or strings”; claims 8 and 16: “[(a.1)] wherein the learning data comprises integers . . . .”), and accordingly, are merely more specific to the additional element. Also, the claims recite more details or specifics of the abstract idea of “[(d)] generating a first plurality of generation indices,” (claims 8 and 16: “[(d.1)] wherein . . . and the first plurality of generation indices is generated based on contiguity of the learning data”), and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. The abstract idea of these claims are not integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(d)), because the claims recite no more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 6-8 and 14-16 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
6. Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Published Application 20180314938 to Andoni et al [hereinafter Andoni ‘938].
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Andoni ‘938 teaches [a] method for optimizing machine learning model generation (Andoni ‘938, Abstract, teaches “he method also includes generating an input data set of the AMB engine based on application of one or more rules to the one or more data sources. The method further includes, based on the input data set and the machine learning problem type, initiating execution of the AMB engine to generate a neural network configured to model at least a portion of the input data set”) of claim 1, and [a] non-transitory computer readable medium configured to execute machine readable instructions stored in a storage, for optimizing machine learning model generation (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0114 teaches “a computer-readable storage device stores instructions that, when executed, cause a computer to perform operations including, based on a fitness function”) of claim 9, comprising:
[(a)] obtaining, by a processor (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0115 teaches “a method includes receiving, at a processor of a computing device, input that identifies one or more data sources [(that is, by a processor)]”), learning data to be used in machine learning model training (Andoni ‘938 ¶¶ 0021-22 teaches “[t]he genetic algorithm 110 and the backpropagation trainer 180 may cooperate to automatically generate a neural network model of a particular data set, such as an illustrative input data set 102. . . . The system 100 may provide an automated model building process that enables even inexperienced users to quickly and easily build highly accurate models based on a specified data set [(that is, the “specified data set” and/or “input data set 102” is obtaining, by a processor, learning data to be used in machine learning model training)]”);
[(b)] performing, by the processor, data validation and generating configuration files (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0043 teaches “a data profiler 320 that examines data fields (e.g., columns) and determines various information regarding the data fields based on application of one or more rules 328 [(that is, “examines data fields” is performing . . . data validation)]; Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0116 teaches “an automated model building (AMB) pre-processor configured to receive input that identifies one or more data sources and to determine, based on the input, a machine learning problem type of a plurality of machine learning problem types supported by an AMB engine [(that is, to “determine a machine learning problem” is generating configuration files)]”) required for a deep framework (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0088 teaches “the system 100 may represent a single automated model building framework that is capable of generating neural networks [(that is, a deep framework)] for at least regression problems, classification problems, and reinforcement learning problems”),
[(b.1)] wherein the deep framework (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0043 teaches “a single automated model building framework [(that is, the deep framework )]”) builds deep learning models for production without requiring generation of additional code (in view of the single automated model building framework,” Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0004 further teaches that “an ‘automated model building engine’ may be one or more devices, modules, or components configured to determine at least one machine learning solution (e.g., neural network) that models all or a portion of an input data set. The ability to automatically initialize a model building engine based on provided data sources without a priori knowledge of the type of machine learning problem to be solved enables data-driven model creation for multiple types of problems, . . . . In the example in which the automated model building engine utilizes a genetic algorithm and selective backpropagation, such a combination may enable generating a neural network that models a particular data set [(that is, the “automated model building framework” inherently generates a neural network without requiring generation of additional code)] with acceptable accuracy and in less time than using genetic algorithms or backpropagation alone”; Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0022 teaches “automated data-driven model building process that enables even inexperienced users to quickly and easily build highly accurate models based on a specified data set [(that is, “inexperienced users” inherently deploy the “automated model building framework” to builds deep learning models for production without requiring generation of additional code)]”);
[(c)] organizing, by the processor, the learning data for training, evaluation, and testing (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0049 teaches “For example, the combined data source [(that is, learning data)] may be divided into training [(that is, organizing . . . the learning data for training)] and testing sets [(that is, organizing . . . the learning data for . . . evaluation, and testing)], which may potentially include multiple testing sets for crossfold validation. Thus, it is to be understood that although the input data set 102 is shown in FIG. 1 as a single data set, the input data set 102 may represent one or more training sets and one or more testing sets [(that is, organizing . . . the learning data for training, evaluation, and testing)]”);
[(d)] generating, by the processor, a first plurality of generation indices based on a plurality of features of the learning data (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0024 teaches “[t]he input set 120 and the output set 130 may each include a plurality of models, where each model includes data representative of a neural network. For example, each model may specify a neural network by at least a neural network topology, a series of activation functions, and connection weights [(that is, “topology,” “activation functions,” and “connection weights” are a plurality of features of the learning data)]. The topology of a neural network may include a configuration of nodes of the neural network and connections between such nodes. The models may also be specified to include other parameters, including but not limited to bias values/functions and aggregation functions [(that is, “configurations of nodes and connections” is generating, by the processor, a first plurality of generation indices based on a plurality of features of the learning data)] ”;
[Examiner notes that the plain meaning of the claim term “generation indices” is a configuration file specifying a type and a behavior of a model to be generated, in which the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term covers the teachings of at least the “neural network topology” of Andoni ‘938];
as an example, Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0005 teaches for “a home with four temperature sensors that periodically collect temperature readings in the living room (L), the dining room (D), the master bedroom (M), and the guest bedroom (G), respectively. In this example, a [specified] data set may include four columns, where each column corresponds to temperature readings from a particular sensor in a particular room, and where each row corresponds to a particular time at which the four sensors took a temperature reading [(that is, “temperature readings” are examples of a plurality of features of the learning data)]”;);
[(e)] generating a first plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the first plurality of generation indices (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0020 & Fig. 1 teaches “the system 100 includes a genetic algorithm 110 and a backpropagation trainer 180 [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:
Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0006 teaches a “genetic algorithm may start with a population of random models that each define a neural network with different topology, weights and activation functions [(that is, “a population of random models” is generating a first plurality of machine learning models)]”; Andoni‘ ‘938 ¶ 0034 teaches “[t]he backpropagation trainer 180 may utilize a portion, but not all of the input data set 102 to train the connection weights of the trainable model 122, thereby generating a trained model 182 [(that is, trained with the learning data and the first plurality of generation indices)]”),
[(e.1)] wherein each of the first plurality of machine learning models is trained with a respective generation index of the first plurality of generation indices (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0006 teaches “[o]ver the course of several epochs (also known as generations), the models may be evolved using biology-inspired reproduction operations, such as crossover (e.g., combining characteristics of two neural networks), mutation (e.g., randomly modifying a characteristic of a neural network), stagnation/extinction (e.g., removing neural networks whose accuracy has not improved in several epochs), and selection (e.g., identifying the best performing neural networks via testing [(wherein each of the first plurality of machine learning models is trained with a respective generation index of the first plurality of generation indices)]”);
[(f)] determining, by the processor, model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0028 teaches “fitness function 140 is based on a frequency and/or magnitude of errors produced by testing a model on the input data set 102 [(that is, determining, by the processor, model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models)]”);
[(g)] performing, by the processor, model selection to select models of a predetermined number having highest model accuracy from the first plurality of machine learning models (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0104 teaches “[w]hen the termination criterion is satisfied, at 1220, the method 1200 may include selecting and outputting a fittest model, at 1222 [(that is, select models of a predetermined number)]”; Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0033 teaches “the trainable model 122 may represent an advancement with respect to the fittest models of the input set 120 [(that is, performing, by the processor, model selection to select models of a predetermined number having highest model accuracy from the first plurality of machine learning models)]”);
[(h)] performing, by the processor, indices generation to generate a second plurality of generation indices based on a second plurality of features (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0023 teaches “each iteration of the search process (also called an epoch or generation of the genetic algorithm) may have an input set (or population) 120 and an output set (or population) 130. The input set 120 of an initial epoch of the genetic algorithm 110 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. After that, the output set 130 of one epoch may be the input set 120 of the next (non-initial) epoch, as further described herein [(that is, “each epoch or generation of the genetic algorithm” is inherently, and necessarily, performing, by the processor, indices generation to generate a second plurality of generation indices based on a second plurality of features)]”),
[(h.1)] wherein of the second plurality of features is derived by performing genetic crossover of the features from generation indices that are associated with the models of the predetermined number (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0075 & Fig. 10 teaches “genetically combining models may include crossover operations in which a portion of one model is added to a portion of another model [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:
Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0032 teaches, in Fig. 1 above, that “crossover operation 160 and the mutation operation 170 is highly stochastic under certain constraints and a defined set of probabilities optimized for model building, which produces reproduction operations that can be used to generate the output set 130, or at least a portion thereof, from the input set 120 [(that is, wherein of the second plurality of features is derived by performing genetic crossover of the features from generation indices that are associated with the models of the predetermined number)]”);
[(h.2)] wherein the performing the genetic crossover comprises providing a list of input features to be used at each operation during optimization processing (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0008 teaches “[t]he processor may also select a subset of data structures based on their respective fitness values [(that is, a list of input features)] and may perform at least one of a crossover operation . . . with respect to at least one data structure of the subset to generate a trainable data structure”; Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0032 teaches the “crossover operation 160 . . . is highly stochastic under certain constraints and a defined set of probabilities optimized for model building [(that is, “subset of data structures” and “defined set of optimized probabilities” is the performing the genetic crossover comprises providing a list of input features to be used at each operation during optimization processing)]”), a number of iterations per trial (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0038 teaches “each iteration of the search process (also called an epoch or generation of the genetic algorithm) may have an input set (or population) 120 and an output set (or population) 130; Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0038 teaches ”the user may provide input to limit a number of epochs that will be executed by the genetic algorithm 110 [(that is, wherein the performing the genetic crossover comprises . . . a number of iterations per trail)]”), and a number of results inherited for subsequent optimization process (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0032 teaches the “crossover operation 160 . . . produces reproduction operations that can be used to generate the output set 130, or at least a portion thereof, from the input set 120 [(that is, “generate the output set” is wherein the performing the genetic crossover comprises . . . a number of results inherited for subsequent optimization process)]”), and
[(h.3)] adjusting crossover rates used in the genetic crossover so that features resulting in more accurate models are inherited more frequently in next-generation features (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0038 teaches “the user may specify a time limit indicating an amount of time that the genetic algorithm 110 has to generate the model, and the genetic algorithm 110 may determine a number of epochs that will be executed based on the specified time limit [(that is, “determine a number of epochs per specified time limit” is adjusting crossover rates used in the genetic crossover)]”; Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0006 teaches a “[t]raining a model that is generated by breeding the best performing population members of an epoch may serve to reinforce desired ‘genetic traits’ (e.g., neural network topology, activation functions, connection weights, etc.), and introducing the trained model back into the genetic algorithm may lead the genetic algorithm to converge to an acceptably accurate solution (e.g., neural network) faster, for example because desired ‘genetic traits’ are available for inheritance in later epochs of the genetic algorithm [(that is, “desired genetic traits” being features resulting in more accurate models are inherited more frequently in next generation features)]”);
[(i)] performing machine learning model generation to generate a second plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the second plurality of features (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0008 teaches “the processor may further provide the trainable data structure to an optimization trainer that is configured to train the trainable data structure based on a portion of the input data set to generate a trained structure and to provide the trained data structure as input to a second iteration of the recursive search that is subsequent to the first iteration [(that is, performing machine learning model generation to generate a second plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the second plurality of features)]”),
[(i.1)] wherein each of the second plurality of machine learning models is trained with a unique combination of features from the second plurality of features (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0076 & Fig. 9 teaches “the ‘overall elite’ models 860, 862, and 864 may be genetically combined to generate the trainable model 122 [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:
Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0076 teaches “[t]he backpropagation trainer 180 may train connection weights of the trainable model 122 based on a portion of the input data set 102 [(that is, wherein each of the second plurality of machine learning models is trained with a unique combination of features from the second plurality of features)]”);
[(j)] performing, by the processor, model accuracy determination to determine model accuracy for each of the second plurality of machine learning models (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0087 teaches “one iteration of the genetic algorithm 110 may include both genetic operations and evaluating the fitness of every model and species. Training trainable models generated by breeding the fittest models of an epoch may improve fitness of the trained models without requiring training of every model of an epoch [(that is, “evaluating the fitness” is performing, by the processor, model accuracy determination to determine model accuracy for each of the second plurality of machine learning models)]”);
[(k)] iteratively performing model selection, indices generation by performing genetic crossover with features from indices of preceding iteration, machine learning model generation, and model accuracy determination until a machine learning model having a model accuracy that surpasses an accuracy threshold is generated (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0006 teaches “[t]he genetic algorithm may start with a population of random models that each define a neural network with different topology, weights and activation functions. Over the course of several epochs (also known as generations) [(that is, “epochs” or “generations” are iteratively performing model selection)], the models may be evolved using biology-inspired reproduction operations, such as crossover (e.g., combining characteristics of two neural networks) [(that is, indices generation by performing genetic crossover with features from indices of preceding iteration)], . . . and selection (e.g., identifying the best performing neural networks via testing). In addition, the best performing models of an epoch may be selected for reproduction to generate a trainable model”); and
[(l)] selecting the machine learning model having the model accuracy that surpasses the accuracy threshold for deployment (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0085 teaches the “[o]peration at the system 100 may continue iteratively until specified a termination criterion, such as a . . . threshold fitness value (of an overall fittest model) is satisfied [(that is, accuracy threshold)]. When the termination criterion is satisfied, an overall fittest model of the last executed epoch may be selected and output as representing a neural network that best models the input data set 102 [(that is, selecting the machine learning model having he model accuracy that surpasses the accuracy threshold for deployment)]”).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
10. Claims 2-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20180314938 to Andoni et al. [hereinafter Andoni ‘938] in view of US Published Application 20210035025 to Kalluri et al. [hereinafter Kalluri].
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Andoni ‘938 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as described above in detail.
Though Andoni ‘938 teaches input data relating to an environment of sensors, such as temperature sensors and/or a large array of sensors distributed around a wind farm; Andoni ‘938, however, does not explicitly teaches -
wherein the first plurality of generation indices comprises generation indices specifying the plurality of features of the learning data.
But Kalluri teaches -
wherein the first plurality of generation indices comprises generation indices specifying the plurality of features of the learning data (Kalluri ¶ 0092 teaches “[a]n ML system may generate a summary vector for each example in a set of training examples. The ML system may use the summary vectors, in isolation or in conjunction with other features, to train a ML model to estimate unknown labels for new examples based on learned patterns [(that is, the “summary vector” is generation indices specifying the plurality of features of the learning data)]”).
Andoni ‘938 and Kalluri are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, each of the plurality of data structures including data representative of a neural network. Kalluri teaches techniques for summarizing lists for machine learning operations. Thus, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Andoni ‘938 pertaining to an input data set and a plurality of data structures for applying a genetic algorithm to machine learning models with the machine learning model summarization lists of Kalluri.
The motivation to do so is because “[a] summary vector allows for a more memory efficient and compact characterization of a list. . . . a summary vector for a given list of items is generated as a function of the distribution of the list elements over a pre-determined set of item-clusters. . . . The result is a summary vector that has a length equal to the number of clusters in the pre-determined set of item-clusters. Thus, the summary vector is a compact representation that conveys meaningful information about the distribution of items in a list. This information may not be readily apparent from the raw feature vector values and may also be useful in a variety of ML applications.” (Kalluri ¶¶ 0033-34).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the combination of Andoni ‘938 and Kalluri teaches all of the limitations of claims 2 and 10, respectively, as described above in detail.
Kalluri teaches -
wherein the first plurality of generation indices further comprises at least one of generation indices specifying structure of machine learning model to be generated, generation indices specifying training method of machine learning model associated with a feature (Kalluri ¶ 0036 teaches “the summarization techniques” is generation indices )] are used to train ML models. An ML system may receive a set of training examples [(that is, training method)], where each example is associated with a list and a label [(that is, generation indices specifying training method of machine learning model associated with a feature)]”), or generation indices specifying model type of machine learning model to be generated.
Andoni ‘938 and Kalluri are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, each of the plurality of data structures including data representative of a neural network. Kalluri teaches techniques for summarizing lists for machine learning operations. Thus, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Andoni ‘938 pertaining to an input data set and a plurality of data structures for applying a genetic algorithm to machine learning models with the machine learning model summarization lists of Kalluri.
The motivation to do so is because “[a] summary vector allows for a more memory efficient and compact characterization of a list. . . . a summary vector for a given list of items is generated as a function of the distribution of the list elements over a pre-determined set of item-clusters. . . . The result is a summary vector that has a length equal to the number of clusters in the pre-determined set of item-clusters. Thus, the summary vector is a compact representation that conveys meaningful information about the distribution of items in a list. This information may not be readily apparent from the raw feature vector values and may also be useful in a variety of ML applications.” (Kalluri ¶¶ 0033-34).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the combination of Andoni ‘938 and Kalluri teaches all of the limitations of claims 2 and 10, respectively, as described above in detail.
Andoni ‘938 teaches -
wherein the first plurality of generation indices further comprises at least one of generation indices specifying number of intermediary layers to be included in a machine learning model, generation indices specifying number of nodes to be included in each of the intermediary layers, OR generation indices specifying node connection of the number of nodes (Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0025 & Fig. 2 teaches a “model 200 may be a data structure that includes node data 210 and connection data 220 [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:”.
Andoni ‘938 ¶ 0026 teaches “connection data 220 for each connection in a neural network may include at least one of a node pair or a connection weight. For example, if a neural network includes a connection from node N1 to node N2, then the connection data 220 for that connection may include the node pair <N1, N2>. The connection weight may be a numerical quantity that influences if and/or how the output of N1 is modified before being input at N2 [(that is, wherein the first plurality of generation indices further comprises . . . generation indices specifying node connection of the number of nodes)]”).
11. Claims 5, 7, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20180314938 to Andoni et al. [hereinafter Andoni ‘938] in view of US Published Application 20200012962 to Dent et al. [hereinafter Dent].
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Andoni ‘938 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as described above in detail.
Though Andoni ‘938 teaches a backpropagation trainer may train the trainable model to generate a trained model, and that when training is complete, receiving the trained model from the backpropagation trainer (or other optimization trainer), which may be added to the input set of an epoch of the genetic algorithm, Andoni ‘938, however, does not explicitly teach –
wherein the learning data is split into training data and evaluation data;
wherein generating the first plurality of machine learning models comprises training the first plurality of machine learning models with the training data and the plurality of features of the learning data; and
wherein determining model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models comprises evaluating model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models using the evaluation data.
But Dent teaches -
wherein the learning data is split into training data and evaluation data (Dent ¶ 0027 teaches “the dataset module 114 can be configured to perform actions that prepare a training dataset 136 to be used to train a machine learning model 110, such as, but not limited to, . . . dividing datasets into training datasets and testing datasets, as well as other actions [(that is, the learning data is split into training data and evaluation data)]”);
wherein generating the first plurality of machine learning models comprises training the first plurality of machine learning models with the training data and the plurality of features of the learning data (Dent ¶ 0029 teaches “[t]he training module 116 can be used to train a machine learning model 110 to predict a target metric using one or more training datasets 136 obtained by the dataset module 114 and/or uploaded to the ML management service 112 by a user [(that is, training the first plurality of machine learning models with the training data and the plurality of features of the learning data)]”); and
wherein determining model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models comprises evaluating model accuracy for each of the first plurality of machine learning models (Dent ¶ 0023 teaches “comparing the performance of machine learning models of various types and versions, adjusting prediction drivers used by a machine learning model 110 to generate predictions of a target metric and executing scenarios based on the adjusted prediction drivers”) using the evaluation data (see above regarding Dent ¶ 0027, which teaches “dividing datasets into training datasets and testing datasets [(that is, using the evaluation data)]”).
Andoni ‘938 and Dent are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, each of the plurality of data structures including data representative of a neural network. Dent teaches selecting a model that generating a more accurate prediction of a target metric, such as via testing datasets, as compared to others machine learning models. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify Andoni ‘938 pertaining to an input data set and a plurality of data structures for applying a genetic algorithm to machine learning models with the machine learning training and model evaluation of Dent.
The motivation to do so is “to refine the data associated with the prediction drivers in order to improve the performance of the machine learning model.” (Dent ¶ 0044).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Andoni ‘938 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as described above in detail.
Though Andoni ‘938 teaches a backpropagation trainer may train the trainable model to generate a trained model, and that when training is complete, receiving the trained model from the backpropagation trainer (or other optimization trainer), which may be added to the input set of an epoch of the genetic algorithm, Andoni ‘938, however, does not explicitly teach –
wherein the learning data comprises one of integers, floating-point numbers, or strings.
But Dent teaches -
wherein the learning data comprises one of integers, floating-point numbers, or strings (Dent ¶ 0029 teaches “the training module 116 may associate a target metric with a machine learning algorithm 124 (e.g., regression, classification, clustering, etc.) to use to build a machine learning model 110. In one example, the training module 116 may use a data type (e.g., real, integer, Boolean, etc.) of a target metric to select a machine learning algorithm. Illustratively, the training module 116 may select a classification algorithm when a target metric has a string or Boolean data type, and may more specifically select a regression algorithm when a target metric has an integer or float data type [(that is, training data is in the form of the “data type of a target metric,” wherein the learning data comprises one of integers, floating-point numbers, or strings)]”).
Andoni ‘938 and Dent are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, each of the plurality of data structures including data representative of a neural network. Dent teaches selecting a model that generating a more accurate prediction of a target metric, such as via testing datasets, as compared to others machine learning models. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify Andoni ‘938 pertaining to an input data set and a plurality of data structures for applying a genetic algorithm to machine learning models with the machine learning training and model evaluation of Dent.
The motivation to do so is “to refine the data associated with the prediction drivers in order to improve the performance of the machine learning model.” (Dent ¶ 0044).
12. Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20180314938 to Andoni et al. [hereinafter Andoni ‘938] in view of US Published Application 20200104458 to Chuang et al. [hereinafter Chuang].
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Andoni ‘938 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as described above in detail.
Though Andoni ‘938 teaches a backpropagation trainer may train the trainable model to generate a trained model, and that when training is complete, receiving the trained model from the backpropagation trainer (or other optimization trainer), which may be added to the input set of an epoch of the genetic algorithm, Andoni ‘938, however, does not explicitly teach –
wherein the plurality of features of the learning data are statistical features of the learning data.
But Chuang teaches -
wherein the plurality of features of the learning data are statistical features of the learning data (Chuang ¶ 0076 teaches “the machine learning models in the model bank 410 may be trained using [the known statistical technique of] principal component analysis (PCA) [(that is, the plurality of features of the learning data are statistical features of the learning data)]”).
Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, each of the plurality of data structures including data representative of a neural network. Chuang teaches a machine learning circuitry that may implement or be trained based on a regression method with two-stage ensembles of models. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Andoni ‘938 pertaining to an input data set and a plurality of data structures for applying a genetic algorithm to machine learning model with the statistical learning data format of Chuang.
The motivation to do so is because “’[a]rtificial intelligence’ is used herein to broadly describe any computationally intelligent systems and methods that can learn knowledge (e.g., based on training data), and use such learned knowledge to adapt its approaches for solving one or more problems, for example, by making inferences based on a received input, such as the CTS layouts.” (Chuang ¶ 0042).
13. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20180314938 to Andoni et al. [hereinafter Andoni ‘938] in view of US Published Application 20200012962 to Dent et al. [hereinafter Dent], and US Patent 10713589 to Zarandioon et al [hereinafter Zarandioon].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Andoni ‘938 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as described above in detail.
Though Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, which may be a model of a neural network that models the input data set; Andoni ‘938, however, does not explicitly teach –
wherein the learning data comprises integers, and the first plurality of generation indices is generated based on contiguity of the learning data.
But Dent teaches -
wherein the learning data comprises integers strings (Dent ¶ 0029 teaches “the training module 116 may associate a target metric with a machine learning algorithm 124 (e.g., regression, classification, clustering, etc.) to use to build a machine learning model 110. In one example, the training module 116 may use a data type (e.g., real, integer, Boolean, etc.) of a target metric to select a machine learning algorithm [(that is, the learning data comprises integers)]”), . . . .
Andoni ‘938 and Dent are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, each of the plurality of data structures including data representative of a neural network. Dent teaches an automated ML platform to train multiple machine learning models, compare the performance of the machine learning models to generate predictions of the target metric, and select a machine learning model based on performance as compared to the other machine learning models. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify Andoni ‘938 pertaining to an input data set and a plurality of data structures for applying a genetic algorithm to machine learning models with the training data types of Dent.
The motivation to do so being to tailor the training data formats to the machine learning algorithm. (see Dent ¶ 0029).
Though Andoni ‘938 and Dent teach learning data for training machine learning models, the combination of Andoni ‘938 and Dent, however, does not explicitly teach -
[wherein] . . . the first plurality of generation indices is generated based on contiguity of the learning data.
But Zarandioon teaches -
[wherein] . . . the first plurality of generation indices is generated based on contiguity of the learning data (Zarandioon 38:33-45 teaches “FIG. 19 illustrates tradeoffs associated with varying the chunk size used for filtering operation sequences on machine learning data sets, according to at least some embodiments. . . . In chunk mapping 1904A, a chunk size of S1 is used, and DS1 is consequently subdivided into four contiguous chunks starting at offsets O1, O2, O3 and O4 within the data set address space [(that is, the first plurality of generation indices is generated based on contiguity of the learning data)]”).
Andoni ‘938, Dent, and Zarandioon are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Andoni ‘938 teaches an input data set and a plurality of data structures, each of the plurality of data structures including data representative of a neural network. Dent teaches an automated ML platform to train multiple machine learning models, compare the performance of the machine learning models to generate predictions of the target metric, and select a machine learning model based on performance as compared to the other machine learning models. Zarandioon teaches varying chunk size of contiguous learning data sets. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the combination of Andoni ‘938 and Dent pertaining to an input data set and a plurality of data structures for applying a genetic algorithm to machine learning models with the contiguous learning data chunks of Zarandioon.
The motivation to do so is because “[t]he quality of the results obtained from machine learning algorithms may depend on how well the empirical data used for training the models captures key relationships among different variables represented in the data, and on how effectively and efficiently these relationships can be identified.” (Zarandioon 1:34-39).
Response to Arguments
14. Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, and responds below accordingly.
35 U.S.C. § 101
15. Under Section 101, Applicant submits that the “independent claims now recite specific technical steps including data validation, generation of configuration files required for the deep framework, and organization of data for training, evaluation, and testing.” (Response at p. 7 (citing Specification ¶ 0050)).
Under Step 2A Prong One, Applicant submits that the “amended claims also recite specific technical criteria for model selection that cannot be performed mentally. Specifically, the selection occurs ‘When generation of the new generation indices are performed iteratively a predetermined number of times, or when a predetermined condition is satisfied, e.g., when any of the maximum, the average, or the minimum accuracy of the models becomes greater than a predetermined threshold.’ This automated, iterative process for model selection and optimization represents a technical improvement that goes beyond mental processes or abstract ideas.” (Response at pp. 7-8 (citing Specification ¶ 0190)).
Under Step 2A Prong Two, Applicant submits the instant “claims go beyond merely reciting the use of generic computer components by detailing specific technical mechanisms for optimizing machine learning models.” (Response at p. 7 (citing Specification ¶ 0122)).
Also under Step 2A Prong Two, Applicant submits that “[t]hese technical improvements address specific problems in the field of machine learning model generation. Unlike conventional approaches that attempt to include all available data without optimization, ‘the tuner framework determines and selects an optimal combination of features, such that the critical information and parameters are selected, and the noise is removed.’ This selective approach to feature optimization represents a technical solution to the problem of noise and irrelevant data in machine learning models.” (Response at p. 8 (citing Specification ¶ 0128)).
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees because under Step 2A Prong One, “selecting a model” is an activity that “can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.” (2024 SME Guidelines, 89 Fed. Reg. 137 at p. 58136 (17 July 2024)).
With regard to iteratively “generating indices,” Applicant’s claim recites, inter alia,
* * *
[(h)] performing, by the processor, indices generation to generate a second plurality of generation indices based on a second plurality of features,
[(h.1)] wherein of the second plurality of features is derived by performing genetic crossover of the features from generation indices that are associated with the models of the predetermined number,
[(h.2)] wherein the performing the genetic crossover comprises providing a list of input features to be used at each operation during optimization processing, a number of iterations per trial, and a number of results inherited for subsequent optimization process, and adjusting crossover rates used in the genetic crossover so that features resulting in more accurate models are inherited more frequently in next-generation features;
* * *
(claim 1, lines 17-25 (emphasis added by Examiner highlighting amended language)).
The activity of “[(h)] performing . . . indices generation” is a mental process because it is an activity that “can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.” Moreover, the claim provides more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(h)] performing . . . indices generation” that comprises “[(h.2)] . . . providing . . . a number of iterations per trial,” and accordingly is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Moreover, the activity of repeatedly (or iteratively) performing a process remains a mental process, though fact that an processor can be used to make a process more efficient, however, does not necessarily render an abstract idea less abstract. The courts do not distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub III). To the extent Appellant has invented an improved model generation / selection system, an improved abstract idea (even if novel and nonobvious) is still an abstract idea.
Accordingly, the rejection as set out above in detail identifies the abstract idea by referring to what is recited (i.e., set forth or described) in the claim and explain why it is considered an abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.07(a)).
Under Step 2A Prong Two, Examiner has set out above in detail, the identification of any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified judicial exception; and evaluate the integration of the judicial exception into a practical application by explaining that the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application using the considerations set forth in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(a)- (c) and (e)- (h). (MPEP § 2106.07(a)).
Applicant argues “technical improvements address specific problems in the field of machine learning model generation.” Examiner agrees that under Step 2A Prong Two, “integration” may be based on the improvements in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to any other technology or technical field. (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1)). The evaluation requires, [i]n sum, that (1) the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Next, (2) if the specification sets forth such an improvement, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement.
Applicant points to portions of the Specification regarding an improvement, including data validation for a data framework:
The example implementations are directed to methods and systems for producing artificial intelligence models while minimizing the manual human intervention that has been required in related art approaches. More specifically, the example implementations include a data framework, a deep framework, and a tuner framework. The data framework includes data validation, generation of configuration file required for the deep framework, and/organization of the data for training, evaluation and testing. The deep framework (e.g., deep learning framework) provides for building of deep learning model for production, without requiring generation of additional code. The tuner framework provides for optimization of one or more hyperparameters, and combinations thereof, with respect to the data framework, and combining of the input feature, the feature type and the model type. For example, but not by way of limitation, the present example implementations may be executed by use of TensorFlow 1.12.0 or greater, and using Python 2.7 or Python 3.X; other implementations as would be understood by those skilled in the art may also be substituted therefor, without departing from the inventive scope.
(see Response at p. 7 (citing Specification ¶ 0050) (emphasis added by Examiner)). Continuing with validating data for the framework, Applicant’s disclosure recites:
With respect to the first operation, which is the setting of input feature operation, so as to automatically extract the optimal combination of input features, the example implementations are performed as follows. Once a trial number has been testified, and optimization is enabled by setting the feature column function type to "true" so as to generate the feature functions as explained above, a determination is made as to whether a function of performing the random search input feature based on best results is set to "true". If this is the case, genetic algorithms are used to optimize combinations of input functions. Optionally, a list of input features to be used at each operation during optimization processing may be provided, as well as a number of iterations per trial, and a number of results inherited for the next hyperparameter optimization process. As a result, automatic optimization of the input features is performed.
(see Response at p. 7 (citing Specification ¶ 0122) (emphasis added by Examiner)). In relation to “performing indices generation,” the disclosure recites a “convergence” or “threshold” of obtaining models, in which that with the highest accuracy is selected:
When generation of the new generation indices are performed iteratively a predetermined number of times, or when a predetermined condition is satisfied, e.g., when any of the maximum, the average, or the minimum accuracy of the models becomes greater than a predetermined threshold, the information providing apparatus 10 selects the model with the highest accuracy as a model to be provided. The information providing apparatus 10 then provides the selected model as well as the corresponding generation index to the terminal device 3 (Step S10). As a result of such a process, the information providing apparatus 10 can generate an appropriate model generation index, and provide a model corresponding to the generated generation index, merely by enabling the user to select the learning data.
(see Response at p. 7 (citing Specification ¶ 0190) (emphasis added by Examiner)). Still with regard to pre-processing of data for the deep framework, Applicant points to input optimization as an improvement not attempted in the art:
According to the example implementations, the optimizer in the tuner framework provides for input optimization. In contrast, related art approaches do not provide permit input optimization. Instead, related art approaches attempt to gather all information into the model, and include all data, but do not provide for input optimization after the data has been split. Instead, the related art approach seeks to maximize input data. However, in the example implementation, the tuner framework determines and selects an optimal combination of features, such that the critical information and parameters are selected, and the noise is removed. For example, the genetic algorithm described herein may be employed to optimize input. Further, as also explained herein one or more of a random model and a Bayesian model are employed for hyperparameter optimization.
(see Response at p. 8 (citing Specification ¶ 0128) (emphasis added by Examiner)).
Generally, it appears that though the specification appears to set out an improvement directed to model building / selection, the Specification, however, does so in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art). Accordingly, it is unclear whether the claim considered as a whole serves to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(d)(1)).
Moreover, the claim recites the use of generic computer components (processor, genetic crossover) to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to implement the abstract idea. Additional elements also include at least “[(e)] generating a first plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the first plurality of generation indices” and “[(i)] performing machine learning model generation to generate a second plurality of machine learning models trained with the learning data and the second plurality of features, “ and “[(k)] iteratively performing model selection, indices generation by performing genetic crossover with features from indices of preceding iteration, machine learning model generation, . . .” These limitations recite the use of generic components (a first plurality of machine learning models, a second plurality of machine learning models) to implement the abstract idea, and do not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Thus, the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application using the considerations set forth in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(a)- (c) and (e)- (h). (MPEP § 2106.07(a)).
35 U.S.C. §§ 102 & 103
16. Under Section 102, Applicant submits that the “Office Action rejects claims 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as allegedly being unpatentable in view of U.S. Publication Ser. No. 2018/0300630 to Andoni et al. (‘Andoni’).” (Response at p. 8).
Applicant submits, in regard to amended claim 1, that “Andoni fails to teach, disclose, or suggest all features recited by amended independent claim 1.” (Response at pp. 8-9).
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner agrees that the amended claim overcomes the teachings of US Published Application 20180300630 to Andoni et al. [hereinafter Andoni ‘630].
In view of Applicant’s amendments, Examiner relies upon the teachings of US Published Application 20180314938 to Andoni et al. [hereinafter Andoni ‘938] in relation to Applicant’s amended claims, as set out above in detail.
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
(US Patent 5946673 to Francone et al.) teaches a learning and/or control system utilizes a compiling Genetic Programming system (CGPS) in which one or more machine code entities such as functions are created which represent solutions to a problem and are directly executable by a computer.
(US Published Application 20190228312 to Andoni et al.) teaches that anomaly detection can be used, for example, to proactively predict that a particular device is likely to fail in the future. To illustrate, an anomaly may be detected because empirically measured time-series data regarding the device is unusual and/or predicted to lead to a failure state. An accurate anomaly detection model can therefore provide significant cost savings in the field, because it is usually easier and cheaper to fix a small defect than replace an entire device after failure (which could involve global/system-wide shutdown).
(Young et al., “Optimizing Deep Learning Hyper-Parameters Through an Evolutionary Algorithm,” Research Gate (2015)) teaches a framework for optimizing the hyper-parameters of a deep network using an evolutionary algorithm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, KAKALI CHAKI can be reached on 571-272-3719. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/K.L.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122