DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a pressure relief valve communicate with the outside” in line 2 of the claim should read “a pressure relief valve to communicate with the outside”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “an end cover mechanism” in claim 4, “a conveying mechanism” in claim 5, and “a material delivery mechanism” in claim 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
In regard to this application, the limitation “an end cover mechanism” has been interpreted to mean any covering structure that differentiates the outside of the pressure vessel from the inside of the pressure vessel as defined in paragraph [0013] of the current application. The limitation “a conveying mechanism” has been interpreted to mean any structure capable of moving the target workpiece into and out of the pressure vessel as defined. The limitation “a material delivery mechanism” has been interpreted to mean any structure capable of moving the target workpiece proximate to the opening of the pressure vessel including a base and transfer holder structure as defined in paragraph [0015] of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao (CN 1786629 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a pressure vessel apparatus (seal pressure vessel, paragraph [0004]), comprising: a plurality of cavities (two or more freezing chambers, paragraph [0007]), each of the cavities being configured to hold a workpiece inside (Figure 1 shelves “4” of items “5” arranged in cylindrical body “2”); and a control valve connected between at least two of the cavities to control internal communication and non-communication between the cavities connected to the control valve (each chamber is connected to the other by pipes with valves, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Gao teaches a pressurization valve configured to communicate with an air source; wherein at least one of the cavities communicates with the pressurization valve (pipe connects outlet of the air compressor to the two chambers and pipe connecting the inlet of the chamber has a valve, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, Gao teaches a pressure relief valve to communicate with the outside; wherein at least one of the cavities communicates with the pressure relief valve (pipe connects inlet of the air compressor to the two chambers and pipe connecting the outlet of the chamber has a valve, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Gao teaches an end cover mechanism (compartment with a door, paragraph [0014]); wherein: at least one end of each of the cavities in a preset direction is provided with an opening (cylindrical body and elliptical end caps at both ends. One end cap is welded to the body and the other is a door, paragraph [0012]); and the end cover mechanism is configured to control the opening to open or close (door is closed, paragraph [0012], and door is opened to retrieve items, paragraph [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Jiang (CN 114524259 A).
Regarding claim 5, Gao teaches all aspects of the current invention except a conveying mechanism, the conveying mechanism being at least partially located in at least one of the cavities and configured to drive the workpiece to be fed or discharged via the opening. However, Jiang teaches a conveying mechanism, the conveying mechanism being at least partially located in at least one of the cavities and configured to drive the workpiece to be fed or discharged via the opening (loading and unloading device is located between the pressure vessel and the external equipment, paragraph [n0025], and object can be picked up and placed into the loading structure of the pressure vessel, paragraph [n0029]).
Gao and Jiang are considered to be analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of pressure processing vessels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pressure vessel taught by Gao with the conveying mechanism taught by Jiang because Jiang teaches such a structure makes the vessel particularly suitable for loading and unloading vehicles carrying batteries (paragraph [n0024]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gao and Jiang teaches wherein the conveying mechanism is provided with a limiting part, the limiting part being configured to limit the workpiece in the preset direction (the moving slider causes the stop block to move downward relative to the fixed seat until the stop block releases and blocks the object carried by the support plate, paragraph [n0045], Jiang).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gao and Jiang teaches wherein: the conveying mechanism comprises a first driver (rotation driver, paragraph [n0040], Jiang), a driving member (rotating end of the rotation driver is connected to the first bevel gear, paragraph [n0040], Jiang), a driven member (first bevel gear is used to mesh with the second bevel gear, paragraph [n0040], Jiang), and a conveying member (second bevel gear drives all rollers to rotate, paragraph [n0040], Jiang), wherein the driving member and the driven member are space apart along the preset direction (Figure 2 first bevel gear “17” in material handling device “1” and Figure 3 second bevel gear “356” in pressure vessel “31”, Jiang); the conveying member loops around the driving member and the driven member; and the first driver is configured to drive the driving member to rotate (rotary driver is activated to drive the first and second bevel gear to drive all rollers to rotate and move the objects, paragraph [n0042], Jiang).
Regarding claim 8, Gao teaches wherein the end cover mechanism comprises: an end cover (cylindrical body and elliptical end caps at both ends. One end cap is welded to the body and the other is a door, paragraph [0012]), but does not teach a second driver in driving connection with the end cover and configured to drive the end cover to close the opening or move away from the opening; and a locking structure, wherein the end cover closes the opening, the locking structure is configured to lock or unlock the end cover and the cavity. However, Jiang teaches a second driver in driving connection with the end cover and configured to drive the end cover to close the opening or move away from the opening (an opening and closing drive mechanism used to drive the pressure cap to open or close the opening of the pressure tank, paragraph [n0006]); and a locking structure (rotating locking ring locks the pressure cover, paragraph [n0027]), wherein the end cover closes the opening, the locking structure is configured to lock or unlock the end cover and the cavity (when the opening and closing drive mechanism drives the pressure cover to close, the locking drive mechanism drives the locking ring to rotate, paragraph [n0027]).
Gao and Jiang are analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pressure vessel taught by Gao with the closing drive and locking mechanism taught by Jiang because Jiang teaches the additional drive mechanism advantageously allows for the realization of automated object transfer (paragraph [n0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Gao teaches all aspects of the current invention except a material delivery mechanism; wherein: one side of each opening is corresponding provided with the material delivery mechanism; and the material delivery mechanism is configured to deliver a to-be-processed workpiece to the opening or deliver a processed workpiece out of the opening. However, Jiang teaches a material delivery mechanism; wherein: one side of each opening is corresponding provided with the material delivery mechanism (loading and unloading robotic arm selectively extends to one side of the frame, paragraph [n0025]); and the material delivery mechanism is configured to deliver a to-be-processed workpiece to the opening or deliver a processed workpiece out of the opening (robotic arm picks up objects on the support plate and places them on external equipment or transfers objects on external equipment into the pressure vessel, paragraph [n0025]).
Gao and Jiang are analogous to the current invention as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pressure vessel taught by Gao with the loading and unloading robotic arm taught by Jiang because Jiang teaches the robotic arm advantageously can stably pick up and place objects, has a wide range of application, good versatility, and strong practicability (paragraph [n0029]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gao and Jiang teaches wherein the material delivery mechanism comprises a base (material handling device includes a base, paragraph [n0005], Jiang) and a transfer holder (material handling device includes a frame and support plate, paragraph [n0005], Jiang), one end of the base extending to the opening (Figure 1 material handling device “1” adjacent to pressure cover “32”, Jiang), and the transfer holder being slidably disposed on the base and configured to carry the workpiece (outer frame is slidably connected to the base, paragraph [n0034], and material handling device to transfer multiple objects at one time, paragraph [n0038], Jiang).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gao and Jiang teaches wherein the cavities are spaced apart side by side (Figure 2 vessels “3” are placed side by side, Jiang), and two opposite ends of each of the cavities in the preset direction are both provided with the opening (cylindrical body and elliptical end caps at both ends. One end cap is welded to the body and the other is a door, paragraph [0012], Gao), wherein the preset direction is the horizontal direction (Figure 2 door “7” is on horizontal axis of chamber “6”, Gao).
Regarding claim 13, Gao teaches all aspects of the current invention except a battery manufacturing system, comprising the pressure vessel apparatus according to claim 1. However, Jiang teaches a battery manufacturing system, comprising the pressure vessel apparatus according to claim 1 (invention for performing high pressure treatment of batteries, paragraph [n0024], and production of batteries products require pressure treatment, paragraph [n0002]).
Gao and Jiang are analogous to the current invention as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary to use the pressure vessel taught by Gao in a battery manufacturing system as taught by Jiang because Jiang teaches the pressure treatment of batteries advantageously ensures qualified products are produced (paragraph [n0002]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Jiang in view of Duan (CN 105508602 A).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gao and Jiang teaches all aspects of the current invention including the locking structure comprises a third driver (locking drive mechanism, paragraph [n0026], Jiang) and a lock ring (rotating locking ring locks the pressure cover, paragraph [n0027], Jiang), wherein the lock ring sleeves a periphery of the opening (Figure 1 lock ring “33” around opening of pressure vessel “31”), and the third driver is configured to drive the lock ring or the end cover to rotate about an axis thereof (locking drive mechanism used to drive the locking ring to rotate, paragraph [n0026], Jiang), but does not teach a first protrusion provided on an inner wall of the lock ring, and a second protrusion provided on the end cover, when the end cover closes the opening, the second protrusion is located on one side of the first protrusion facing toward the cavity; and so that the first protrusion and the second protrusion are misaligned or face toward each other in the preset direction. However, Duan teaches a first protrusion provided on an inner wall of the lock ring (Figure 4 right connecting teeth “211”), and a second protrusion provided on the end cover (Figure 3 left connecting teeth “221”), when the end cover closes the opening, the second protrusion is located on one side of the first protrusion facing toward the cavity(Figure 1 left inner edge “22” faces right inner edge “21”); and so that the first protrusion and the second protrusion are misaligned or face toward each other in the preset direction (when locking ring rotates is can position the left and right connecting teeth to achieve axial stop engagement, paragraph [0024]).
Gao, Jiang, and Duan are considered to be analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of pressure vessels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pressure vessel as taught by Gao and Jiang with the locking mechanism taught by Duan because Duan teaches such a locking structure improves the disassembly and assembly efficiency of pressure vessels (paragraph [0017]).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799