DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant’s Amendment filed 03/30/2026 has been reviewed and placed of record in the file.
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims, filed 03/30/2026, have been considered but they are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0268424 A1 (the ‘424 reference, now of record).
The reference discloses in Fig. 11 and related text an integrated circuit (IC) structure as claimed.
Referring to claim 1, the ‘424 reference discloses an integrated circuit (IC) structure, comprising:
a fin structure (comprising fins 20’s, Fig. 11, para [10] (paragraph(s) [0010])) disposed over a substrate (12, para [9]), wherein the fin structure (20’s) includes first and second segments (left segment and right segment of fins 20’s of a high voltage (HV) transistor (~14) in HV transistor region 14 (para [9])) and a bottom surface between the first and second segments, and the bottom surface includes a plurality of recesses (32, 38, para [14, 16]);
a dielectric material (30, 36, para [14, 16]) disposed between the first and second segments (said left segment and said right segment of fins 20’s) of the fin structure (20’s), wherein the dielectric material is disposed on the bottom surface and in the plurality of recesses; and
a gate structure (58/46, para [20, 24]) disposed over the first segment of the fin structure, wherein the gate structure (58/46) covers a top surface and side surfaces of the first segment of the fin structure (20’s), and the gate structure (58/46), the first segment of the fin structure, and the second segment of the fin structure form a field-effect transistor (~14).
Referring to claim 2, the reference further discloses a source (60, para [24-26]) disposed in the first segment (said left segment of fins 20’s) of the fin structure and a drain (60) disposed in the second segment (said right segment of fins 20’s) of the fin structure (20’s).
Referring to claim 3, the reference further discloses that the bottom surface and the dielectric material (30, 36, closest to the gate 58 in the HV transistor region 14) are disposed between the source (60) and the drain (60).
Referring to claim 16, the ‘424 reference discloses a method, comprising:
forming a fin structure (comprising fins 20’s, Fig. 1, para [10]) from a substrate (12, para [9]);
forming a plurality of openings (not labeled, Fig. 2, para [13]) in the fin structure to form a plurality of segments, wherein each opening has a bottom surface (generally indicated at 28 (~28), Fig. 2);
depositing a mask layer (not shown, Figs. 3-4, para [15]) in the opening (~28);
patterning the mask layer (“patterned resist”, para [15]);
transferring a pattern of the mask layer to the bottom surface to modify the bottom surface (to become trench 34, Fig. 4, para [15]) in each opening (said not labeled);
depositing a dielectric material (36, para [16]) in the openings and on the modified bottom surface (that of 34) in each opening; and
forming a gate structure (58/46, Fig. 11, para [20, 24]) cover a top surface and side surfaces of the fin structure (20’s), and the gate structure (58/46) and two (left segment and right segment of fins 20’s of a high voltage (HV) transistor (~14) in HV transistor region 14 (para [9])) of the plurality of segments of the fin structure form a field- effect transistor (~14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0268424 A1 (the ‘424 reference) in view of Tsuda U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180342526, both of record.
Referring to claim 4, the ‘424 reference discloses the fin structure (20’s) as detailed above for claim 1, but does not disclose that the fin structure has a height ranging from about 100 nm to about 120 nm.
Tsuda, in disclosing an integrated circuit comprising a fin structure F (Fig. 17), discloses that the fin structure has a height ranging from about 100 nm to about 250 nm (para [102]), thereby teaching that about 100 nm to about 250 nm is a range of height suitable for the fins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reference’s fin structure 20 having a height ranging from about 100 nm to about 250 nm. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in view of the teachings in Tsuda that about 100 nm to about 250 nm – overlapping and meeting the claim range of about 100 nm to about 120 nm - is a range of height suitable for the fins.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 8-15 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 5-7 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious an integrated circuit (IC) structure and a method with all exclusive limitations as recited in claims 5, 6, 8 and 17-20;
which may be characterized (claim 5) in that the plurality of recesses define a plurality of fins, and each fin has a height ranging from about 5 nm to about 20 nm, (claim 6) the gate structure comprises first, second, third, and fourth segments, the first and second segments of the gate structure are disposed over the first segment of the fin structure, and the third and fourth segments of the gate structure are disposed over the second segment of the fin structure, (claim 8) in that the first STI feature is disposed on a first bottom surface of the substrate, and in that the first bottom surface comprises a first plurality of bumps, (claim 17) the transferring the pattern of the mask layer to the bottom surface comprises forming a plurality of recesses in the bottom surface, (claim 18) in that the transferring the pattern of the mask layer to the bottom surface comprises forming a plurality of protrusions in the bottom surface, (claim 19) the transferring the pattern of the mask layer to the bottom surface comprises forming a plurality of bumps in the bottom surface, and (claim 20) in that each opening includes a first portion having a first width and a second portion located below the first portion, and the second portion has a second width substantially greater than the first width.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
05-19-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818