DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed 03/25/2026.
Claims 15-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 21 and 24-26 are amended.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are pending.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Note: Applicant is relegated to a single invention per application and subject to further restriction.
101
The limitations do not recite any additional elements. The disclosure does not provide an algorithm for “generating” offer content, it explains that offer content is determined or selected. According to the disclosure(¶ 31, 41, 81), “In some embodiments, upon detecting a transaction for a foreign travel event, the transaction service 215 can select offer content 227 that includes one or more payment instrument options that can be configured based at least in part on the transaction data and the user profile 224 of the purchasing user…. The transaction service 215 can determine offer content 227 for the purchasing user based at least in part on a context associated with the travelers involved with the foreign travel event and a user profile 224 of the purchasing user (e.g., payment instruments 230). After the offer content 227 has been determined, the transaction service 215 can transmit a notification to the client device 103 of the purchasing user. ”
According to the disclosure(¶ 49), “the issuer system 301 (e.g., the transaction service 215 in the computing environment 203 or a separate entity) can write the issuance of the verifiable credential to the distributed ledger 209. Upon writing the verifiable credential 236 to the distributed ledger 209, the issuer system 301 can transmit the verifiable credential 236 to the recipient client device 103.” The writing of the data to the distributed ledger, applying BRI, given the disclosure only make a single mention of it, can mean, sending, or storing the data, which are insignificant extra-solution activity of a generic device and not additional elements. The rejection is maintained.
112
Due to Applicant’s amendments, prior 112 rejections are withdrawn.
103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (101 Analysis: Step 1). Even if the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (101 Analysis: Step 2a(Prong 1), and if so, Identify whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluate those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. (101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 2). If additional elements does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception, claim still requires an evaluation of whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. If the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (there is an inventive concept in the claim), the claim is eligible. If the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more (there is no inventive concept in the claim), the claim is ineligible. (101 Analysis: Step 2b).
The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter: a) Mathematical concepts b) Certain methods of organizing human activity and c) Mental processes
Analysis
In the instant case, claims 1 and 21 are directed to an article of manufacture, and claim 8 is directed to a method.
Step 2a.1– Identifying an Abstract Idea
The claims recite the steps of “receiving transaction data… identifying transaction… retrieving traveler data… generating offer content … receive an acceptance … receive identity or contact information … write an issuance … receive the verifiable credential… verify the verifiable credential… and deliver a supplemental payment instrument….” The recited limitations fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, specifically, fundamental economic principles, for example, offers for transactions and verifying a user for a payment card. Accordingly, the claims recites an abstract idea.
See MPEP 2106.
Step 2a.2 – Identifying a Practical Application
The claim does not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The disclosure does not provide an algorithm for “generating” offer content, it explains that offer content is determined or selected. According to the disclosure(¶ 31, 41, 81), “In some embodiments, upon detecting a transaction for a foreign travel event, the transaction service 215 can select offer content 227 that includes one or more payment instrument options that can be configured based at least in part on the transaction data and the user profile 224 of the purchasing user…. The transaction service 215 can determine offer content 227 for the purchasing user based at least in part on a context associated with the travelers involved with the foreign travel event and a user profile 224 of the purchasing user (e.g., payment instruments 230). After the offer content 227 has been determined, the transaction service 215 can transmit a notification to the client device 103 of the purchasing user. ”
According to the disclosure(¶ 49), “the issuer system 301 (e.g., the transaction service 215 in the computing environment 203 or a separate entity) can write the issuance of the verifiable credential to the distributed ledger 209. Upon writing the verifiable credential 236 to the distributed ledger 209, the issuer system 301 can transmit the verifiable credential 236 to the recipient client device 103.” The writing of the data to the distributed ledger, applying BRI, given the disclosure only make a single mention of it, can mean, sending, or storing the data, which are insignificant extra-solution activity of a generic device and not additional elements.
Accordingly, even in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment do not amount to practical applications. The claim in directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2b
The claim limitations recite “receiving transaction data… identifying transaction… retrieving traveler data… generating offer content … receive an acceptance … receive identity or contact information … write an issuance … receive the verifiable credential… verify the verifiable credential… and deliver a supplemental payment instrument…” are not additional elements and they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. This is also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs, court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner, as it is here. Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible.
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of a fundamental economic practice as performed by a generic computer. The claims do not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The elements used to perform the claimed judicial exception amount to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a network, and/or merely uses a network as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment.
Dependent claims 2, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 22, 25 and 26 discuss functions in more descriptive detail of the steps geared toward the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide the significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
Claims 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 14, 23, 24 provide descriptive language surrounding the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide the significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Therefore, based on case law precedent, the claims are claiming subject matter similar to concepts already identified by the courts as dealing with abstract ideas. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561, U.S. 593, 611 (2010)).
The claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The claim as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claim does not affect an improvement to another technology or technical filed; the claim does not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claim does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 USC 101 based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 22-26 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 21 recite a computing device performing the claimed limitations. For example, “ A system, comprising: a computing device comprising a processor and a memory; and machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least:… receiving transaction data… identifying transaction… retrieving traveler data… generating offer content … receive an acceptance … receive identity or contact information … write an issuance … receive the verifiable credential… verify the verifiable credential… and deliver a supplemental payment instrument….” According to the disclosure(Figure 3; ¶ 45-76), “The recipient user can use the verifiable credential to verify his or her identity to a verifier system 302 … the issuer system 301 (e.g., the transaction service 215 in the computing environment 203 or a separate entity) can write the issuance of the verifiable credential to the distributed ledger 209. … the verifier system 302 can verify the user identity 242 of the recipient user at the distributed ledger 209. The verifier system 302 can verify the verifiable credential 236 is authorized to access the payment instrument 230. Upon verifying the user identity 242, the verifier system 302 can deliver the payment instrument 230 to the recipient user… the transaction service 215 can determine which option has been accepted by the client device 103.” The disclosure does not have written description for a single “computing device” capable of performing all the claimed limitations. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 22-26 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-14, 21, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR20200129748) (“Kim”), and further in view of Cheong (US 11475432) (“Cheong”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a computing device comprising a processor and a memory; and machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least:
receive transaction data associated with a user profile, the user profile being associated with a device identifier of a client device (¶ 6-12, 21, 32-36, 43- 49, 54-56, 66, 84-87, 92, 93, 119, 124);
Kim – The user may be, for example, a foreigner who has visited the country. … A system for payment using an issued card according to an embodiment disclosed in this document transfers a specified amount according to a remittance request from a user from a first account in a first country to a second account in a second country, and the A second account is opened at a designated bank, and a card using the second account as a payment account is issued to the user through a designated card company in the second country, and payment using the issued card at an affiliated store of the designated card company…For example, the relay server 200 may issue a card in a designated country through the card company server 400 according to a user's request. The user may be, for example, a person (eg, a foreigner) having difficulty issuing a card in a country where a card company and a bank in which a payment account for the issued card is opened are established… the international remittance unit 210 may deposit the amount requested by the user into the first account in the first country. According to an embodiment, the international remittance unit 210 may convert money transferred to the first account into a currency of a second country through a bank server (¶ 6, 32, 47, 56)
identify a transaction in the transaction data based at least in part on an eligibility criterion and a pending charge, the eligibility criterion being used to identify that the transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country (¶ 31-33, 39-43, 58-60, 66-68, 72, 76, 84, 89);
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure(¶ 15), “In some examples, the transaction notification 106 can be generated based at least in part on from a pending charge (e.g., from an authorization code, etc.) generated from a POS device. ”
Kim – According to an embodiment, a user may request a card issuance through the user terminal 100 after entering the country for issuing a card….for example, the relay server 200 may transmit money to the designated country through the bank server 300 according to a user's request. According to an embodiment, the relay server 200 may transmit money to at least one designated account through the bank server 300…The at least one designated account may be, for example, an integrated payment account opened in a country where cards are issued for payment of a plurality of users… the card issuing unit 220 may receive a card issuance request from a user. According to an embodiment, the card issuing unit 220 may check the amount of remittance deposited to the second account of the designated country… the card issuing unit 220 may map the user's identification information and the confirmed remittance amount. According to an embodiment, the card issuing unit 220 transmits the identification information mapped to the remittance amount to a card company server (for example, the card company server 400 of FIG. 1), so that the card company server issues a card to the user. (¶ 31, 58, 84)
retrieve traveler data associated with the transaction from a travel computing system based at least in part on a network identifier associated with the travel computing system (¶ 43, 60, 76, 84);
Kim – the relay server 200 may map the identification information (ID) of the user requesting the card issuance to the amount of remittance. For example, the relay server 200 may check the remittance amount of the user who has requested the card issuance, and map the identification information of the user requesting the card issuance with the confirmed remittance amount….The payment approval request may include, for example, identification information (ID) of a card (or cardholder), payment amount information, and signature information. According to an embodiment, the payment terminal 500 may include a device installed at an affiliated store of a designated card company, such as a point of sales (POS) device, to pay the price for providing a product or service… the card payment unit 230 may receive a withdrawal request for withdrawing payment from a card company server. For example, the card payment unit 230 may receive the withdrawal request together with payment information. The payment information may include, for example, identification information of a user of a card used for payment, and information on a payment amount. (¶ 43, 60, 84)
receive identity or contact information from the client device (¶ 29-33, 61, 86);
Kim – the user terminal 100 may receive personal information for service subscription and passport information required for card issuer authentication. According to an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a user input for issuing a card. For example, the user terminal 100 may receive a request for remittance to a designated country and a user input for requesting issuance of a card… the card payment unit 230 may determine whether to allow withdrawal based on the payment information in response to the withdrawal request or the confirmation request. For example, the card payment unit 230 may determine whether or not to allow withdrawal of the payment amount based on a payment limit corresponding to the user's identification information of the card used for payment. (¶ 29, 61)
receive the verifiable credential from the client device (¶ 29-33, 61, 84-86);
Kim – the user terminal 100 may receive personal information for service subscription and passport information required for card issuer authentication. According to an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a user input for issuing a card. For example, the user terminal 100 may receive a request for remittance to a designated country and a user input for requesting issuance of a card…the relay server 200 may receive a card issuance request from the user terminal 100. According to an embodiment, a user may request a card issuance through the user terminal 100 after entering the country for issuing a card. The user terminal 100 may be, for example, a personal terminal (eg, a smartphone) as well as a public terminal (eg, the kiosk 100 ′ of FIG. 3 )… the relay server 200 may map the identification information (ID) of the user requesting the card issuance to the amount of remittance. (¶ 29, 84, 85)
verify the verifiable credential; and (¶ 22, 33, 80-88);
Kim – when a national of a country with a low card penetration rate visits a country where card payment is common, the payment system does not open a separate account required for card payment, but only authenticates using an ID card such as a passport… the relay server 200 can secure transparency of international remittance and use the authentication information when identity authentication is required to issue a card. (¶ 22, 80)
deliver a supplemental payment instrument corresponding to the offer content to the client device based at least in part on the verifiable credential(¶ 22, 33-35, 45, 50, 51, 87, 88, 93, 119);
Kim –the payment system can provide a convenient service for issuing a mobile card or a physical card directly to a corresponding foreigner through a personal terminal (eg, a smartphone) or a public terminal (eg, a kiosk)… or example, the card issuing unit 120 ′ may issue a physical card corresponding to the user's identification information (ID)… the kiosk 100 ′ may display a quick response (QR) code for issuing a mobile card on the screen display unit 110 ′. The user may scan the QR code displayed on the screen display unit 110 ′ using a personal terminal (eg, a smartphone) to obtain a mobile card. (¶ 22, 50, 51)
Kim does not disclose generate offer content based at least in part on a comparison between the traveler data and the user profile; receive an acceptance of the offer content from the client device; write an issuance of a verifiable credential to a distributed ledger.
Cheong teaches generate offer content based at least in part on a comparison between the traveler data and the user profile (column 9, line 9-49, column 17, line 24-33, column 20, line 36-65, column 24, line 14-61);
Claim Interpretation - According to the disclosure(¶ 31, 41), “In some embodiments, upon detecting a transaction for a foreign travel event, the transaction service 215 can select offer content 227 that includes one or more payment instrument options that can be configured based at least in part on the transaction data and the user profile 224 of the purchasing user…. The transaction service 215 can determine offer content 227 for the purchasing user based at least in part on a context associated with the travelers involved with the foreign travel event and a user profile 224 of the purchasing user (e.g., payment instruments 230). After the offer content 227 has been determined, the transaction service 215 can transmit a notification to the client device 103 of the purchasing user. ” The disclosure does not provide description of generating an offer, just that one is presented to be selected or offer content is determined. For the purpose of claim interpretation, “Generating” means to select or determine.
Cheong – the user selector 153 e may be configurable or configured to select one or more final users (or candidate users or selected users) who will be offered distributed ledger data (e.g., via a notification, as sent by the communicator 154, having an interactive option to accept or not accept the offer, perform or not perform a certain action, etc.), along with a quantity of distributed ledger data to be transferred to each of the one or more final users. (column 20, line 22-32)
receive an acceptance of the offer content from the client device (column 20, line 36-65, column 24, line 14-61);
Cheong – The notification may also include an interactive option, and/or a notice to click on a link or go to a certain mobile application to access the interactive option. The interactive option may include an option to accept or not accept the transfer of the distributed ledger data. Upon a user interacting with the interactive option so as to accept the offer for the transfer of the distributed ledger data, a response is sent, from the user computing device 110 to the communicator 154. The communicator 154 may then notify the user selector 153 e and/or record processor 153 f of the acceptance. (column 20, line 36-65)
write an issuance of a verifiable credential to a distributed ledger; (column 7, line 1-8, column 9, line 35-64, column 11, line 4-35, column 14, line 15-19, column 18, line 39-67, column 19, line 1-49, column 20, line 33-67, column 21, line 1-22, column 22, line 1-48)
Cheong – The transfer record may include, among other things, the address of the provider (sender or current owner of the distributed ledger data), the address of the final user (recipient), and quantity of the distributed ledger data to be transferred. The record processor 153 f may then be configurable or configured to send the results of the preparing of the transfer record to the recorder 155…. the recorder 155 may be configurable or configured to receive the prepared transfer record from the record processor 153 f and perform a recording of the transfer record in a distributed ledger (column 21, line 1-22)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Cheong in order to manage distributed ledger related data including location based offers for transactions (Cheong; column 1, line 20-23, column 18, line 60-67).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 25, Kim discloses receiving, by the computing device, an acceptance of the offer content from the client device; transmitting, by the computing device, to the client device a user interface for receiving a set of payment restrictions for the supplemental payment instrument; and generating, by the computing device, the supplemental payment instrument to be associated with a payment instrument of the user profile (¶ 31-33, 39-43, 58-60, 66-68, 72, 76, 84, 89).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 26, Kim discloses initiating, by the computing device, a delivery of the supplemental payment instrument to a recipient user by initiating a registration of the recipient user for storing a recipient user identity; (¶ 33-35, 45, 50, 51, 87, 88, 93, 119).
Regarding claims 7, and 14, Kim discloses wherein the supplemental payment instrument is a digital payment instrument or a physical payment card (¶ 22, 33-35, 45, 50, 51, 87, 88, 93, 119)
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Kim discloses receiving, by a computing device, transaction data associated with a user profile (¶ 6-12, 21, 32-36, 43- 49, 54-56, 66, 84-87, 92, 93, 119, 124);
Kim – The user may be, for example, a foreigner who has visited the country. … A system for payment using an issued card according to an embodiment disclosed in this document transfers a specified amount according to a remittance request from a user from a first account in a first country to a second account in a second country, and the A second account is opened at a designated bank, and a card using the second account as a payment account is issued to the user through a designated card company in the second country, and payment using the issued card at an affiliated store of the designated card company…For example, the relay server 200 may issue a card in a designated country through the card company server 400 according to a user's request. The user may be, for example, a person (eg, a foreigner) having difficulty issuing a card in a country where a card company and a bank in which a payment account for the issued card is opened are established… the international remittance unit 210 may deposit the amount requested by the user into the first account in the first country. According to an embodiment, the international remittance unit 210 may convert money transferred to the first account into a currency of a second country through a bank server (¶ 6, 32, 47, 56)
identifying, by the computing device, a transaction in the transaction data based at least in part on an eligibility criterion, the eligibility criterion being used to identify that the transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country (¶ 31-33, 39-43, 58-60, 66-68, 72, 76, 84, 89);
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure(¶ 15), “In some examples, the transaction notification 106 can be generated based at least in part on from a pending charge (e.g., from an authorization code, etc.) generated from a POS device. ”
Kim – According to an embodiment, a user may request a card issuance through the user terminal 100 after entering the country for issuing a card….for example, the relay server 200 may transmit money to the designated country through the bank server 300 according to a user's request. According to an embodiment, the relay server 200 may transmit money to at least one designated account through the bank server 300…The at least one designated account may be, for example, an integrated payment account opened in a country where cards are issued for payment of a plurality of users… the card issuing unit 220 may receive a card issuance request from a user. According to an embodiment, the card issuing unit 220 may check the amount of remittance deposited to the second account of the designated country… the card issuing unit 220 may map the user's identification information and the confirmed remittance amount. According to an embodiment, the card issuing unit 220 transmits the identification information mapped to the remittance amount to a card company server (for example, the card company server 400 of FIG. 1), so that the card company server issues a card to the user. (¶ 31, 58, 84)
retrieving, by the computing device, traveler data associated with the transaction from a travel computing system based at least in part on a network identifier associated with the travel computing system (¶ 43, 60, 76, 84);
Kim – the relay server 200 may map the identification information (ID) of the user requesting the card issuance to the amount of remittance. For example, the relay server 200 may check the remittance amount of the user who has requested the card issuance, and map the identification information of the user requesting the card issuance with the confirmed remittance amount….The payment approval request may include, for example, identification information (ID) of a card (or cardholder), payment amount information, and signature information. According to an embodiment, the payment terminal 500 may include a device installed at an affiliated store of a designated card company, such as a point of sales (POS) device, to pay the price for providing a product or service… the card payment unit 230 may receive a withdrawal request for withdrawing payment from a card company server. For example, the card payment unit 230 may receive the withdrawal request together with payment information. The payment information may include, for example, identification information of a user of a card used for payment, and information on a payment amount. (¶ 43, 60, 84)
receiving identity or contact information from the client device (¶ 29-33, 61, 86);
Kim – the user terminal 100 may receive personal information for service subscription and passport information required for card issuer authentication. According to an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a user input for issuing a card. For example, the user terminal 100 may receive a request for remittance to a designated country and a user input for requesting issuance of a card… the card payment unit 230 may determine whether to allow withdrawal based on the payment information in response to the withdrawal request or the confirmation request. For example, the card payment unit 230 may determine whether or not to allow withdrawal of the payment amount based on a payment limit corresponding to the user's identification information of the card used for payment. (¶ 29, 61)
receiving the verifiable credential from the client device (¶ 29-33, 61, 84-86);
Kim – the user terminal 100 may receive personal information for service subscription and passport information required for card issuer authentication. According to an embodiment, the user terminal 100 may receive a user input for issuing a card. For example, the user terminal 100 may receive a request for remittance to a designated country and a user input for requesting issuance of a card…the relay server 200 may receive a card issuance request from the user terminal 100. According to an embodiment, a user may request a card issuance through the user terminal 100 after entering the country for issuing a card. The user terminal 100 may be, for example, a personal terminal (eg, a smartphone) as well as a public terminal (eg, the kiosk 100 ′ of FIG. 3 )… the relay server 200 may map the identification information (ID) of the user requesting the card issuance to the amount of remittance. (¶ 29, 84, 85)
verifying the verifiable credential; and (¶ 22, 33, 80-88);
Kim – when a national of a country with a low card penetration rate visits a country where card payment is common, the payment system does not open a separate account required for card payment, but only authenticates using an ID card such as a passport… the relay server 200 can secure transparency of international remittance and use the authentication information when identity authentication is required to issue a card. (¶ 22, 80)
delivering a supplemental payment instrument corresponding to the offer content to the client device based at least in part on the verifiable credential (¶ 22, 33-35, 45, 50, 51, 87, 88, 93, 119);
Kim –the payment system can provide a convenient service for issuing a mobile card or a physical card directly to a corresponding foreigner through a personal terminal (eg, a smartphone) or a public terminal (eg, a kiosk)… or example, the card issuing unit 120 ′ may issue a physical card corresponding to the user's identification information (ID)… the kiosk 100 ′ may display a quick response (QR) code for issuing a mobile card on the screen display unit 110 ′. The user may scan the QR code displayed on the screen display unit 110 ′ using a personal terminal (eg, a smartphone) to obtain a mobile card. (¶ 22, 50, 51)
Kim does not disclose generating, by the computing device, offer content based at least in part on a comparison between the traveler data and the user profile; receiving an acceptance of the offer content from a client device; writing an issuance of a verifiable credential to a distributed ledger.
Cheong teaches generating, by the computing device, offer content based at least in part on a comparison between the traveler data and the user profile (column 9, line 9-49, column 17, line 24-33, column 20, line 36-65, column 24, line 14-61);
Claim Interpretation - According to the disclosure(¶ 31, 41), “In some embodiments, upon detecting a transaction for a foreign travel event, the transaction service 215 can select offer content 227 that includes one or more payment instrument options that can be configured based at least in part on the transaction data and the user profile 224 of the purchasing user…. The transaction service 215 can determine offer content 227 for the purchasing user based at least in part on a context associated with the travelers involved with the foreign travel event and a user profile 224 of the purchasing user (e.g., payment instruments 230). After the offer content 227 has been determined, the transaction service 215 can transmit a notification to the client device 103 of the purchasing user. ” For the purpose of claim interpretation, “Generating” means to select or determine.
Cheong – the user selector 153 e may be configurable or configured to select one or more final users (or candidate users or selected users) who will be offered distributed ledger data (e.g., via a notification, as sent by the communicator 154, having an interactive option to accept or not accept the offer, perform or not perform a certain action, etc.), along with a quantity of distributed ledger data to be transferred to each of the one or more final users. (column 20, line 22-32)
receiving an acceptance of the offer content from a client device (column 20, line 36-65, column 24, line 14-61);
Cheong – The notification may also include an interactive option, and/or a notice to click on a link or go to a certain mobile application to access the interactive option. The interactive option may include an option to accept or not accept the transfer of the distributed ledger data. Upon a user interacting with the interactive option so as to accept the offer for the transfer of the distributed ledger data, a response is sent, from the user computing device 110 to the communicator 154. The communicator 154 may then notify the user selector 153 e and/or record processor 153 f of the acceptance. (column 20, line 36-65)
writing an issuance of a verifiable credential to a distributed ledger (column 7, line 1-8, column 9, line 35-64, column 11, line 4-35, column 14, line 15-19, column 18, line 39-67, column 19, line 1-49, column 20, line 33-67, column 21, line 1-22, column 22, line 1-48)
Cheong – The transfer record may include, among other things, the address of the provider (sender or current owner of the distributed ledger data), the address of the final user (recipient), and quantity of the distributed ledger data to be transferred. The record processor 153 f may then be configurable or configured to send the results of the preparing of the transfer record to the recorder 155…. the recorder 155 may be configurable or configured to receive the prepared transfer record from the record processor 153 f and perform a recording of the transfer record in a distributed ledger (column 21, line 1-22)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim and Cheong in order to manage distributed ledger related data including location based offers for transactions (Cheong; column 1, line 20-23, column 18, line 60-67).
Claims 2-4, 9-11, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR20200129748) (“Kim”), in view of Cheong (US 11475432) (“Cheong”), and further in view of Anderson (US20120190386) (“Anderson”).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 22, neither Kim nor Cheong teaches wherein retrieving the traveler data associated with the transaction further comprises: identifying, by the computing device, a merchant identifier in the transaction data; determining, by the computing device, the network identifier based at least in part on the merchant identifier; and transmitting, by the computing system, a data request to the travel computing device based at least in part on the network identifier. Anderson teaches wherein retrieving the traveler data associated with the transaction further comprises: identifying, by the computing device, a merchant identifier in the transaction data; determining, by the computing device, the network identifier based at least in part on the merchant identifier; and transmitting, by the computing system, a data request to the travel computing device based at least in part on the network identifier (¶ 711-716, 1315, 1371, 1439-1441, 1695-1698, 1703-1709, 1756-1760). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim, Cheong and Anderson in order to manage location establishing service for data receipt and transmission (Anderson; ¶ 2-4).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 23, Anderson teaches wherein generating the offer content further causes computing device to at least to determine that a user name associated with the user profile is included in the traveler data (¶ 236, 330, 560, 1135, 1332, 1379, 1421, 1582, 1886).
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure(¶ 42), “ A deep link can be a type of hyperlink that directs a computing device to a specific client application location (e.g., a specific user interface of the client application). ”
Regarding claim 4, Cheong teaches wherein the machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least: generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, the deep link comprising with an embedded parameter for pre-populating data into a user interface and (column 17, line 24-33, column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65, column 24, line 30-61). Neither Kim nor Cheong teach the embedded parameter comprising user data, wherein upon activation of the deep link, the user data is prepopulated into a data field of the user interface when displayed on the client device. Anderson teaches the embedded parameter comprising user data, wherein upon activation of the deep link, the user data is prepopulated into a data field of the user interface when displayed on the client device (¶ 398, 541, 654, 829-831, 850, 919, 1072, 1073, 1248, 1328, 1565, 1658, 1816). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim, Cheong and Anderson in order to manage location establishing service for data receipt and transmission (Anderson; ¶ 2-4).
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure (¶ 42)- “in some examples, the notification can include a deep link for advancing the particular user interface 109 associated with the offer content 227. A deep link can be a type of hyperlink that directs a computing device to a specific client application location (e.g., a specific user interface of the client application).”
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Anderson teaches wherein a deep link comprises user data, wherein upon activation of the deep link, the user data is prepopulated into the user interface when displayed on the client device (¶ 541, 829-831, 850, 919, 1072, 1073, 1248, 1328, 1565, 1658, 1816).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huster (US 20150161585) teaches ecommerce transactions, loyalty rewards and device ids.
/ILSE I IMMANUEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699