DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed 08/26/2025.
Claims 15-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 21-23, 25 and 26 are amended.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are pending.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Note: Applicant is relegated to a single invention per application and subject to further restriction. Claim 1 discusses new subject matter involving authorization codes and embedded parameters for prepopulated data not discussed in claims 8 or 21.
101
Applicant argues “claims 1-14 and 21-26 are integrated into a practical application because the claims are directed to a technological improvement for technical problems for detecting a transaction for an international travel event and advances a client device to a user interface for configuring a payment instrument for the international travel event… The various embodiments of the present disclosure relate to configuring a payment instrument for making foreign purchases in a destination country
of an international traveler. ” Examiner disagrees.
The claims recite that the “transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country… retrieving, by the computing device, traveler data”, the remaining claim limitations are not directed towards “technological improvement for technical problems for detecting a transaction for an international travel event and advances a client device to a user interface for configuring a payment instrument for the international travel event… or configuring a payment instrument for making foreign purchases in a destination country of an international traveler.” The elements argued would themselves be abstract and not a technological improvement for technical problems as current economic practices already facilitate this occurrence for the international traveler.
Furthermore, an email message with a hyperlink reads on the limitation, “generating, by the computing device, a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, the deep link being associated with a client application executed on a client device;”, the step performed is the generation of a notification not the deep link, the deep link is in the message, much like a URL in an email. The rejection is maintained.
112
Due to Applicant’s amendments, prior 112 rejections are withdrawn.
103
Anderson discloses generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, the deep link comprising with an embedded parameter for pre-populating data into a user interface; and (¶ 333, 398-404, 422-426, 634, 1248)
Anderson- In embodiments the Ad Widge site is pre-populated with a list of various types of businesses, service providers, etc. similar to those in phonebooks, which may aid the user in building a list of specific entities or classes of entities from which the user may want to receive ads….So for instance, Ad Widge can populate the ads the user sees when watching TV… For each category list topic Ad Widge collects (links to) ads related to that topic. When advertisers create an ad they also include metadata for the ad that includes category tags/keywords. Once the ad (with metadata tags) has been created and placed online the Ad Widge (uTag tag-based) search engine crawls to find tagged ads and delivers them to the Ad Widge Ad Topic profile. (¶ 398, 422,1248)
transmit the notification with the deep link to the client device associated with the device identifier, the deep link being selected causes the client device to execute a client application, the deep link directing the client application to display the user interface and prep-populate data into the user interface based at least in part on the embedded parameter (¶ 373, 423-436, 454-457, 726, 761-768, 817-820, 842, 852, 861, 987, 1840, 1917).
Anderson - Let's say a user wanted to see ads for a delivery pizza parlors, the user scrolls down to pizza in the Ad Categories list in Ad Widge. Ad Widge collects ads (based on tag keywords) from various pizza parlors and present the results in a manner described below. The user clicks on the data tile (Tilz) featuring the pizza parlor they would like to see ads for …When users receive ads on their mobile device they can be viewed using several different information display and navigation facilities such as Spherez (multi-faceted spheres onto which Tilz are mapped)… Users can then click on the Tilz of the ad they wish to view and it will be delivered to the device of their choice: mobile device, TV computer, car radio, etc. … The ParaSites widget can generally pull content from most Websites' publicly accessible Webpage. When a ParaSites widget user clicks on a particular section of a Website, the ParaSites widget creates a generic template for that Website and pulls the selected content into that template (if the Website allows such data/content to be copied or utilized in that fashion). .. If, however, the user wants to view content not stored locally in their ParaSite, they can, in embodiments, click on a ParaSites link to be taken to the full content on the conventional version of that Website (when Internet connectivity is available)….indeed users can tap on various portions of the Tilz to discover further information available (in a manner similar to hypertext links on Web pages) (¶ 373, 423, 726, 768, 987)
Cheong teaches generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, (column 17, line 24-33, column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65, column 24, line 30-61);
Cheong- The notification may include an explanation of the offer to receive a certain quantity of distributed ledger data. The notification may also include an interactive option, and/or a notice to click on a link or go to a certain mobile application to access the interactive option. The interactive option may include a option to accept or not accept the transfer of the distributed ledger data….preferential quantity of distributed ledger data to transfer to certain selected users (and/or candidate user) based on a specified condition (e.g., the provider is an electronics retailer, and offers double quantity of distributed ledger data to users who are female, aged between 30-35 years of age, etc.), example embodiments of the quantifier 153 d may be configurable or configured to allocate and/or provisionally assign/reserve such quantities to such users who meet the specified conditions upon receiving the selected users from the attribute processor 153 a, location processor 153 b, contextual information processor 153 c, and/or user selector 153 e… the user selector 153 e may be configurable or configured to select one or more final users (or candidate users or selected users) who will be offered distributed ledger data (e.g., via a notification, as sent by the communicator 154, having an interactive option to accept or not accept the offer, perform or not perform a certain action, etc.), along with a quantity of distributed ledger data to be transferred to each of the one or more final users. (column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (101 Analysis: Step 1). Even if the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (101 Analysis: Step 2a(Prong 1), and if so, Identify whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluate those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. (101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 2). If additional elements does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception, claim still requires an evaluation of whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. If the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (there is an inventive concept in the claim), the claim is eligible. If the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more (there is no inventive concept in the claim), the claim is ineligible. (101 Analysis: Step 2b).
The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter: a) Mathematical concepts b) Certain methods of organizing human activity and c) Mental processes
Analysis
In the instant case, claims 1 and 21 are directed to an article of manufacture, and claim 8 is directed to a method.
Step 2a.1– Identifying an Abstract Idea
The claims recite the steps of “receiving transaction data… identifying transaction… retrieving traveler data… generating offer content …generating a notification … and transmitting a notification ….” The recited limitations fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, specifically, fundamental economic principles, for example, offers for transactions. Accordingly, the claims recites an abstract idea.
See MPEP 2106.
Step 2a.2 – Identifying a Practical Application
The claim does not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The disclosure does not provide an algorithm for “generating” offer content, it explains that offer content is determined or selected. According to the disclosure(¶ 31, 41, 81), “In some embodiments, upon detecting a transaction for a foreign travel event, the transaction service 215 can select offer content 227 that includes one or more payment instrument options that can be configured based at least in part on the transaction data and the user profile 224 of the purchasing user…. The transaction service 215 can determine offer content 227 for the purchasing user based at least in part on a context associated with the travelers involved with the foreign travel event and a user profile 224 of the purchasing user (e.g., payment instruments 230). After the offer content 227 has been determined, the transaction service 215 can transmit a notification to the client device 103 of the purchasing user. ”
Accordingly, even in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment do not amount to practical applications. The claim in directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2b
The claim limitations recite “receive”, “identify”, “retrieve”, “generate”, “transmit” are not additional elements and they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. This is also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs, court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner, as it is here. Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible.
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of a fundamental economic practice as performed by a generic computer. The claims do not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The elements used to perform the claimed judicial exception amount to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a network, and/or merely uses a network as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment.
Dependent claims 2, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 22, 25 and 26 discuss functions in more descriptive detail of the steps geared toward the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide the significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
Claims 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 14, 23, 24 provide descriptive language surrounding the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide the significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Therefore, based on case law precedent, the claims are claiming subject matter similar to concepts already identified by the courts as dealing with abstract ideas. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561, U.S. 593, 611 (2010)).
The claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The claim as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claim does not affect an improvement to another technology or technical filed; the claim does not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claim does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 USC 101 based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 22-26 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “identify a transaction in the transaction data based at least in part on an eligibility criterion and an authorization code that indicates the transaction is a pending transaction, the eligibility criterion being used to identify that the transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country”. According to the disclosure(¶ 15), “In some examples, the transaction notification 106 can be generated based at least in part on from a pending charge (e.g., from an authorization code, etc.) generated from a POS device.” This is only mention of the “authorization code” in the entirety of the disclosure and it has nothing to do with edibility criterion or identifying the authorization code. The disclosure does not provide support for the limitation “identify a transaction in the transaction data based at least in part on an eligibility criterion and an authorization code that indicates the transaction is a pending transaction, the eligibility criterion being used to identify that the transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country”. Dependent claims 2-7 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US20120190386) (“Anderson”), and further in view of Cheong (US 11475432) (“Cheong”).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a computing device comprising a processor and a memory; and machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least: receive transaction data associated with a user profile, the user profile being associated with a device identifier of a client device(¶ 207, 317, 318, 720-723, 844, 1513, 1538-1547, 1608-1611);
Anderson- Web Cred for devices. Utilizing the device's unique ID/serial number or even the device's chip's defect pattern, Web Cred creates a unique “fingerprint” for each digital device. Thus, when a user is conducting a transaction, the device “fingerprint” can be utilized to authenticate that user A is conducting a transaction with device D, which is in fact owned by user A… FIG. 10 illustrates several sample user profiles including the user's movie profile 1009, wine profile 1010, travel profile 1011, groceries profile 1012, and other profiles 1013… A user's profiles 1008, are then presented to the Ad Widge client/server software 1014 which in embodiments may include profile matching algorithm facilities 1015, user profile database/storage facilities 1016, ad profile creation facilities 1017, ad profile management facilities 1018, ad serving/provisioning facilities 1019, ad storage facilities 1020, transaction facilities 1021, payment facilities 1022 (¶ 317, 318, 1538)
identify a transaction in the transaction data based at least in part on an eligibility criterion and an authorization code that indicates the transaction is a pending transaction, the eligibility criterion being used to identify that the transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country (¶ 207, 317, 318, 480-482, 720, 1293, 1349, 1538-1544, 1613-1618, 1698-1700, 1750-1756);
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure(¶ 15), “In some examples, the transaction notification 106 can be generated based at least in part on from a pending charge (e.g., from an authorization code, etc.) generated from a POS device. ”
Anderson- If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission… Motran socializes transactions (for example, say a user spent a lot of time putting together a great itinerary for a trip to Ireland: flights, hotels, restaurants, etc. With Motran the user can share this Vacation Transaction with the user's friends, in realtime or asynchronously when one indicates they are headed to Europe in general or Ireland in specific. All saved in a cool Tilz (Facility 30) format. User gets paid; Instead of an online site making money off a user's purchase history being shared, say, with the user's friends, with Motran the user gets paid to allow access to the user's shopping profile, and gets commissions on recommended purchases…Companies can offer to sponsor coupons, discounts, and offers made to customers. For instance, a hotel and an airline can team up to make joint travel offers. So if a user flies Virgin Atlantic, the user could get a 10% coupon from any downtown London Marriott hotel. Additionally conventional art payment processing and credit card companies such as Visa, MasterCard and AMEX could choose to issue branded coupons via Coupon Widge. A Visa “40 cents off Cheer” coupon can be thought of as the first 40 cents toward a transaction that Visa might be processing anyway. Smart back-of-the-register-receipt coupons. A user's coupon profile CloudCasts to the point of sale (POS) receipt printer, which coupons the user would like to receive. (¶ 1293, 1613, 1754)
retrieve traveler data associated with the transaction from a travel computing system based at least in part on a network identifier associated with the travel computing system (¶ 207, 317, 318, 1538-1544, 1750-1767);
Anderson- If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission…Motran is barcode (Facility 31), Net Dotz (Facility 27), and RFID (Facility 33) compatible….User gets paid; Instead of an online site making money off a user's purchase history being shared, say, with the user's friends, with Motran the user gets paid to allow access to the user's shopping profile, and gets commissions on recommended purchases (¶ 1613, 1754, 1756)
generate offer content based at least in part on a comparison between the traveler data and the user profile (¶ 207, 317, 318, 1296-1299, 1538-1544, 1613-1616, 1750-1760);
Claim Interpretation - According to the disclosure(¶ 31, 41), “In some embodiments, upon detecting a transaction for a foreign travel event, the transaction service 215 can select offer content 227 that includes one or more payment instrument options that can be configured based at least in part on the transaction data and the user profile 224 of the purchasing user…. The transaction service 215 can determine offer content 227 for the purchasing user based at least in part on a context associated with the travelers involved with the foreign travel event and a user profile 224 of the purchasing user (e.g., payment instruments 230). After the offer content 227 has been determined, the transaction service 215 can transmit a notification to the client device 103 of the purchasing user. ” For the purpose of claim interpretation, “Generating” means to select or determine.
Anderson- Dotz Guides are customized and personalized. Whether the Tilz is for a product manual or is a travel guide to a foreign country, user #1's Tilz will be different from user #2's Tilz, as per each user's profile… If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission… Since it may be the case that a few years elapse from the time the viewer watches that show until they travel to Ireland, updates to the Tilz (so the information remains current) could be offered for free or for a subscription fee (a revenue source for several parties including the hotel/pub/etc. in Ireland, (¶ 1297, 1613)
generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, the deep link comprising with an embedded parameter for pre-populating data into a user interface; and (¶ 333, 398-404, 422-426, 634, 1248)
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure (¶ 42)- “in some examples, the notification can include a deep link for advancing the particular user interface 109 associated with the offer content 227. A deep link can be a type of hyperlink that directs a computing device to a specific client application location (e.g., a specific user interface of the client application).”
Anderson- In embodiments the Ad Widge site is pre-populated with a list of various types of businesses, service providers, etc. similar to those in phonebooks, which may aid the user in building a list of specific entities or classes of entities from which the user may want to receive ads….So for instance, Ad Widge can populate the ads the user sees when watching TV… For each category list topic Ad Widge collects (links to) ads related to that topic. When advertisers create an ad they also include metadata for the ad that includes category tags/keywords. Once the ad (with metadata tags) has been created and placed online the Ad Widge (uTag tag-based) search engine crawls to find tagged ads and delivers them to the Ad Widge Ad Topic profile. (¶ 398, 422,1248)
transmit the notification with the deep link to the client device associated with the device identifier, the deep link being selected causes the client device to execute a client application, the deep link directing the client application to display the user interface and prep-populate data into the user interface based at least in part on the embedded parameter (¶ 373, 423-436, 454-457, 726, 761-768, 817-820, 842, 852, 861, 987, 1840, 1917).
Anderson - Let's say a user wanted to see ads for a delivery pizza parlors, the user scrolls down to pizza in the Ad Categories list in Ad Widge. Ad Widge collects ads (based on tag keywords) from various pizza parlors and present the results in a manner described below. The user clicks on the data tile (Tilz) featuring the pizza parlor they would like to see ads for …When users receive ads on their mobile device they can be viewed using several different information display and navigation facilities such as Spherez (multi-faceted spheres onto which Tilz are mapped)… Users can then click on the Tilz of the ad they wish to view and it will be delivered to the device of their choice: mobile device, TV computer, car radio, etc. … The ParaSites widget can generally pull content from most Websites' publicly accessible Webpage. When a ParaSites widget user clicks on a particular section of a Website, the ParaSites widget creates a generic template for that Website and pulls the selected content into that template (if the Website allows such data/content to be copied or utilized in that fashion). .. If, however, the user wants to view content not stored locally in their ParaSite, they can, in embodiments, click on a ParaSites link to be taken to the full content on the conventional version of that Website (when Internet connectivity is available)….indeed users can tap on various portions of the Tilz to discover further information available (in a manner similar to hypertext links on Web pages) (¶ 373, 423, 726, 768, 987)
Cheong teaches generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, (column 17, line 24-33, column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65, column 24, line 30-61);
Cheong- The notification may include an explanation of the offer to receive a certain quantity of distributed ledger data. The notification may also include an interactive option, and/or a notice to click on a link or go to a certain mobile application to access the interactive option. The interactive option may include a option to accept or not accept the transfer of the distributed ledger data….preferential quantity of distributed ledger data to transfer to certain selected users (and/or candidate user) based on a specified condition (e.g., the provider is an electronics retailer, and offers double quantity of distributed ledger data to users who are female, aged between 30-35 years of age, etc.), example embodiments of the quantifier 153 d may be configurable or configured to allocate and/or provisionally assign/reserve such quantities to such users who meet the specified conditions upon receiving the selected users from the attribute processor 153 a, location processor 153 b, contextual information processor 153 c, and/or user selector 153 e… the user selector 153 e may be configurable or configured to select one or more final users (or candidate users or selected users) who will be offered distributed ledger data (e.g., via a notification, as sent by the communicator 154, having an interactive option to accept or not accept the offer, perform or not perform a certain action, etc.), along with a quantity of distributed ledger data to be transferred to each of the one or more final users. (column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson and Cheong in order to manage distributed ledger related data including offers (Cheong; column 1, line 20-23, column 18, line 60-67).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 22, Anderson discloses wherein retrieving the traveler data associated with the transaction further comprises: identifying, by the computing device, a merchant identifier in the transaction data; determining, by the computing device, the network identifier based at least in part on the merchant identifier; and transmitting, by the computing system, a data request to the travel computing device based at least in part on the network identifier (¶ 711-716, 1315, 1371, 1439-1441, 1695-1698, 1703-1709, 1756-1760).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 23, Anderson discloses wherein generating the offer content further causes computing device to at least to determine that a user name associated with the user profile is included in the traveler data (¶ 236, 330, 560, 1135, 1332, 1379, 1421, 1582, 1886).
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure(¶ 42), “ A deep link can be a type of hyperlink that directs a computing device to a specific client application location (e.g., a specific user interface of the client application). ”
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 24, Anderson discloses wherein the embedded parameter comprises user data, wherein upon activation of the deep link, the user data is prepopulated into a data field of the user interface when displayed on the client device (¶ 541, 829-831, 850, 919, 1072, 1073, 1248, 1328, 1565, 1658, 1816).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 25, Anderson discloses receiving, by the computing device, an acceptance of the offer content from the client device; transmitting, by the computing device, to the client device a user interface for receiving a set of payment restrictions for a supplemental payment instrument; and generating, by the computing device, the supplemental payment instrument to be associated with a payment instrument of the user profile (¶ 221-226. 700-710, 896, 940, 1163-165, 1349-1354, 1698).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 26, Anderson discloses initiating, by the computing device, a delivery of the supplemental payment instrument to a recipient user by initiating a registration of the recipient user for storing a recipient user identity; issuing, by the computing device, a verifiable credential for a decentralized identifier assigned to the recipient user identity; and (¶ 1322, 1349-1354, 1547, 1659, 1698). Cheong teaches storing, by the computing device, the verifiable credential with a distributed ledger (column 7, line 1-8, column 9, line 35-64, column 11, line 4-35, column 14, line 15-19, column 18, line 39-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson and Cheong in order to manage distributed ledger related data including offers (Cheong; column 1, line 20-23, column 18, line 60-67).
Regarding claims 7, and 14, Anderson discloses wherein the supplemental payment instrument is a digital payment instrument or a physical payment card (¶ 1349-1354, 1659, 1698, 1703).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson discloses receiving, by a computing device, transaction data associated with a user profile (¶ 207, 317, 318, 720-723, 844, 1513, 1538-1547, 1608-1611);
Anderson- Web Cred for devices. Utilizing the device's unique ID/serial number or even the device's chip's defect pattern, Web Cred creates a unique “fingerprint” for each digital device. Thus, when a user is conducting a transaction, the device “fingerprint” can be utilized to authenticate that user A is conducting a transaction with device D, which is in fact owned by user A… FIG. 10 illustrates several sample user profiles including the user's movie profile 1009, wine profile 1010, travel profile 1011, groceries profile 1012, and other profiles 1013… A user's profiles 1008, are then presented to the Ad Widge client/server software 1014 which in embodiments may include profile matching algorithm facilities 1015, user profile database/storage facilities 1016, ad profile creation facilities 1017, ad profile management facilities 1018, ad serving/provisioning facilities 1019, ad storage facilities 1020, transaction facilities 1021, payment facilities 1022 (¶ 317, 318, 1538)
identifying, by the computing device, a transaction in the transaction data based at least in part on an eligibility criterion, the eligibility criterion being used to identify that the transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country (¶ 207, 317, 318, 480-482, 720, 1538-1544, 1613-1618, 1750-1756);
Anderson- If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission… Motran socializes transactions (for example, say a user spent a lot of time putting together a great itinerary for a trip to Ireland: flights, hotels, restaurants, etc. With Motran the user can share this Vacation Transaction with the user's friends, in realtime or asynchronously when one indicates they are headed to Europe in general or Ireland in specific. All saved in a cool Tilz (Facility 30) format. User gets paid; Instead of an online site making money off a user's purchase history being shared, say, with the user's friends, with Motran the user gets paid to allow access to the user's shopping profile, and gets commissions on recommended purchases (¶ 1613, 1754)
retrieving, by the computing device, traveler data associated with the transaction from a travel computing system based at least in part on a network identifier associated with the travel computing system (¶ 207, 317, 318, 1538-1544, 1750-1767);
Anderson- If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission…Motran is barcode (Facility 31), Net Dotz (Facility 27), and RFID (Facility 33) compatible….User gets paid; Instead of an online site making money off a user's purchase history being shared, say, with the user's friends, with Motran the user gets paid to allow access to the user's shopping profile, and gets commissions on recommended purchases (¶ 1613, 1754, 1756)
generating, by the computing device, offer content based at least in part on a comparison between the traveler data and the user profile (¶ 207, 317, 318, 1296-1299, 1538-1544, 1613-1616, 1750-1760);
Anderson- Dotz Guides are customized and personalized. Whether the Tilz is for a product manual or is a travel guide to a foreign country, user #1's Tilz will be different from user #2's Tilz, as per each user's profile… If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission… Since it may be the case that a few years elapse from the time the viewer watches that show until they travel to Ireland, updates to the Tilz (so the information remains current) could be offered for free or for a subscription fee (a revenue source for several parties including the hotel/pub/etc. in Ireland, (¶ 1297, 1613)
generating, by the computing device, a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, the deep link being associated with a client application executed on a client device; and (¶ 333, 422-426, 563, 578, 817)
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure (¶ 42)- “in some examples, the notification can include a deep link for advancing the particular user interface 109 associated with the offer content 227. A deep link can be a type of hyperlink that directs a computing device to a specific client application location (e.g., a specific user interface of the client application).”
Anderson- For each category list topic Ad Widge collects (links to) ads related to that topic. When advertisers create an ad they also include metadata for the ad that includes category tags/keywords. Once the ad (with metadata tags) has been created and placed online the Ad Widge (uTag tag-based) search engine crawls to find tagged ads and delivers them to the Ad Widge Ad Topic profile… Ad Widge collects ads (based on tag keywords) from various pizza parlors and present the results in a manner described below. The user clicks on the data tile (Tilz) featuring the pizza parlor they would like to see ads for. (¶ 422, 423)
transmitting, by the computing device, the notification with the deep link to the client device associated with the user profile, the deep link being selected causes the client device to execute the client application and directing the client application to display a user interface associated with the notification (¶ 207, 317, 318, 373, 423-436, 442, 454-457, 712, 717, 726, 761-768, 817-820, 842, 852, 861, 987, 1471, 1538-1544, 1750-1767, 1840, 1917).
Anderson - When users receive ads on their mobile device they can be viewed using several different information display and navigation facilities such as Spherez (multi-faceted spheres onto which Tilz are mapped)… Users can then click on the Tilz of the ad they wish to view and it will be delivered to the device of their choice: mobile device, TV computer, car radio, etc. … The ParaSites widget can generally pull content from most Websites' publicly accessible Webpage. When a ParaSites widget user clicks on a particular section of a Website, the ParaSites widget creates a generic template for that Website and pulls the selected content into that template (if the Website allows such data/content to be copied or utilized in that fashion). .. If, however, the user wants to view content not stored locally in their ParaSite, they can, in embodiments, click on a ParaSites link to be taken to the full content on the conventional version of that Website (when Internet connectivity is available)….indeed users can tap on various portions of the Tilz to discover further information available (in a manner similar to hypertext links on Web pages)( ¶ 373, 726, 768, 987)
Cheong teaches generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, (column 17, line 24-33, column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65, column 24, line 30-61);
Cheong- The notification may include an explanation of the offer to receive a certain quantity of distributed ledger data. The notification may also include an interactive option, and/or a notice to click on a link or go to a certain mobile application to access the interactive option. The interactive option may include a option to accept or not accept the transfer of the distributed ledger data….preferential quantity of distributed ledger data to transfer to certain selected users (and/or candidate user) based on a specified condition (e.g., the provider is an electronics retailer, and offers double quantity of distributed ledger data to users who are female, aged between 30-35 years of age, etc.), example embodiments of the quantifier 153 d may be configurable or configured to allocate and/or provisionally assign/reserve such quantities to such users who meet the specified conditions upon receiving the selected users from the attribute processor 153 a, location processor 153 b, contextual information processor 153 c, and/or user selector 153 e… the user selector 153 e may be configurable or configured to select one or more final users (or candidate users or selected users) who will be offered distributed ledger data (e.g., via a notification, as sent by the communicator 154, having an interactive option to accept or not accept the offer, perform or not perform a certain action, etc.), along with a quantity of distributed ledger data to be transferred to each of the one or more final users. (column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson and Cheong in order to manage distributed ledger related data including offers (Cheong; column 1, line 20-23, column 18, line 60-67).
Regarding claim 21, Anderson discloses receive transaction data associated with a user profile, the user profile being associated with a device identifier of a client device (¶ 207, 317, 318, 720-723, 844, 1513, 1538-1547, 1608-1611);
Anderson- Web Cred for devices. Utilizing the device's unique ID/serial number or even the device's chip's defect pattern, Web Cred creates a unique “fingerprint” for each digital device. Thus, when a user is conducting a transaction, the device “fingerprint” can be utilized to authenticate that user A is conducting a transaction with device D, which is in fact owned by user A… FIG. 10 illustrates several sample user profiles including the user's movie profile 1009, wine profile 1010, travel profile 1011, groceries profile 1012, and other profiles 1013… A user's profiles 1008, are then presented to the Ad Widge client/server software 1014 which in embodiments may include profile matching algorithm facilities 1015, user profile database/storage facilities 1016, ad profile creation facilities 1017, ad profile management facilities 1018, ad serving/provisioning facilities 1019, ad storage facilities 1020, transaction facilities 1021, payment facilities 1022 (¶ 317, 318, 1538)
identify a transaction in the transaction data based at least in part on an eligibility criterion, the eligibility criterion being used to identify that the transaction is for a foreign travel event that includes transporting a traveler from a first country to a second country (¶ 207, 317, 318, 480-482, 720, 1538-1544, 1613-1618, 1750-1756);
Anderson- If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission… Motran socializes transactions (for example, say a user spent a lot of time putting together a great itinerary for a trip to Ireland: flights, hotels, restaurants, etc. With Motran the user can share this Vacation Transaction with the user's friends, in realtime or asynchronously when one indicates they are headed to Europe in general or Ireland in specific. All saved in a cool Tilz (Facility 30) format. User gets paid; Instead of an online site making money off a user's purchase history being shared, say, with the user's friends, with Motran the user gets paid to allow access to the user's shopping profile, and gets commissions on recommended purchases…Companies can offer to sponsor coupons, discounts, and offers made to customers. For instance, a hotel and an airline can team up to make joint travel offers. So if a user flies Virgin Atlantic, the user could get a 10% coupon from any downtown London Marriott hotel. Additionally conventional art payment processing and credit card companies such as Visa, MasterCard and AMEX could choose to issue branded coupons via Coupon Widge. A Visa “40 cents off Cheer” coupon can be thought of as the first 40 cents toward a transaction that Visa might be processing anyway. Smart back-of-the-register-receipt coupons. A user's coupon profile CloudCasts to the point of sale (POS) receipt printer, which coupons the user would like to receive. (¶ 1613, 1754)
retrieve traveler data associated with the transaction from a travel computing system based at least in part on a network identifier associated with the travel computing system (¶ 207, 317, 318, 1538-1544, 1750-1767);
Anderson- If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission…Motran is barcode (Facility 31), Net Dotz (Facility 27), and RFID (Facility 33) compatible….User gets paid; Instead of an online site making money off a user's purchase history being shared, say, with the user's friends, with Motran the user gets paid to allow access to the user's shopping profile, and gets commissions on recommended purchases (¶ 1613, 1754, 1756)
generate offer content based at least in part on a comparison between the traveler data and the user profile (¶ 207, 317, 318, 1296-1299, 1538-1544, 1613-1616, 1750-1760);
Claim Interpretation - According to the disclosure(¶ 31, 41), “In some embodiments, upon detecting a transaction for a foreign travel event, the transaction service 215 can select offer content 227 that includes one or more payment instrument options that can be configured based at least in part on the transaction data and the user profile 224 of the purchasing user…. The transaction service 215 can determine offer content 227 for the purchasing user based at least in part on a context associated with the travelers involved with the foreign travel event and a user profile 224 of the purchasing user (e.g., payment instruments 230). After the offer content 227 has been determined, the transaction service 215 can transmit a notification to the client device 103 of the purchasing user. ” For the purpose of claim interpretation, “Generating” means to select or determine.
Anderson- Dotz Guides are customized and personalized. Whether the Tilz is for a product manual or is a travel guide to a foreign country, user #1's Tilz will be different from user #2's Tilz, as per each user's profile… If a user watches a TV travel show about Ireland that featured information such as hotels to stay at, pubs to eat at, and sights to see, wanted such information, the user could grab the Tilz for that show, which is the profile of that show, and includes the hotel, pub and sightseeing information the user desired. Should the viewer later stay at that hotel in Ireland, the producers of that TV travel show about Ireland, may receive a commission… Since it may be the case that a few years elapse from the time the viewer watches that show until they travel to Ireland, updates to the Tilz (so the information remains current) could be offered for free or for a subscription fee (a revenue source for several parties including the hotel/pub/etc. in Ireland, (¶ 1297, 1613)
generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, the deep link being associated with a client application executed on a client device; and (¶ 333, 422-426, 563, 578, 817)
Claim Interpretation – According to the disclosure (¶ 42)- “in some examples, the notification can include a deep link for advancing the particular user interface 109 associated with the offer content 227. A deep link can be a type of hyperlink that directs a computing device to a specific client application location (e.g., a specific user interface of the client application).”
Anderson- For each category list topic Ad Widge collects (links to) ads related to that topic. When advertisers create an ad they also include metadata for the ad that includes category tags/keywords. Once the ad (with metadata tags) has been created and placed online the Ad Widge (uTag tag-based) search engine crawls to find tagged ads and delivers them to the Ad Widge Ad Topic profile… Ad Widge collects ads (based on tag keywords) from various pizza parlors and present the results in a manner described below. The user clicks on the data tile (Tilz) featuring the pizza parlor they would like to see ads for. (¶ 422, 423)
transmit the notification with the deep link to the client device associated with the device identifier, the deep link being selected causes the client device to execute the client application and directing the client application to display a user interface associated with the notification(¶ 373, 423-436, 454-457, 726, 761-768, 817-820, 842, 852, 861, 987, 1840, 1917).
Anderson - When users receive ads on their mobile device they can be viewed using several different information display and navigation facilities such as Spherez (multi-faceted spheres onto which Tilz are mapped)… Users can then click on the Tilz of the ad they wish to view and it will be delivered to the device of their choice: mobile device, TV computer, car radio, etc. … The ParaSites widget can generally pull content from most Websites' publicly accessible Webpage. When a ParaSites widget user clicks on a particular section of a Website, the ParaSites widget creates a generic template for that Website and pulls the selected content into that template (if the Website allows such data/content to be copied or utilized in that fashion). .. If, however, the user wants to view content not stored locally in their ParaSite, they can, in embodiments, click on a ParaSites link to be taken to the full content on the conventional version of that Website (when Internet connectivity is available)….indeed users can tap on various portions of the Tilz to discover further information available (in a manner similar to hypertext links on Web pages)( ¶ 373, 726, 768, 987)
Cheong teaches generate a notification that includes a deep link and the offer content, (column 17, line 24-33, column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65, column 24, line 30-61);
Cheong- The notification may include an explanation of the offer to receive a certain quantity of distributed ledger data. The notification may also include an interactive option, and/or a notice to click on a link or go to a certain mobile application to access the interactive option. The interactive option may include a option to accept or not accept the transfer of the distributed ledger data….preferential quantity of distributed ledger data to transfer to certain selected users (and/or candidate user) based on a specified condition (e.g., the provider is an electronics retailer, and offers double quantity of distributed ledger data to users who are female, aged between 30-35 years of age, etc.), example embodiments of the quantifier 153 d may be configurable or configured to allocate and/or provisionally assign/reserve such quantities to such users who meet the specified conditions upon receiving the selected users from the attribute processor 153 a, location processor 153 b, contextual information processor 153 c, and/or user selector 153 e… the user selector 153 e may be configurable or configured to select one or more final users (or candidate users or selected users) who will be offered distributed ledger data (e.g., via a notification, as sent by the communicator 154, having an interactive option to accept or not accept the offer, perform or not perform a certain action, etc.), along with a quantity of distributed ledger data to be transferred to each of the one or more final users. (column 18, line 60-67, column 19, line 1-18, column 20, line 22-65)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson and Cheong in order to manage distributed ledger related data including offers (Cheong; column 1, line 20-23, column 18, line 60-67).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huster (US 20150161585) teaches ecommerce transactions, loyalty rewards and device ids.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ILSE I IMMANUEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699