DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgment has been made to the amendment received on 07/10/2026. Claims 1-2 and 4-12 and 15-20 are pending in this application. Claims 3, 13 and 14 are canceled claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over et al Derakhshandeh et al (US20210159207A1) in view of Yoo et al (US 20190043831A1) and Huang et al (US20040070079A1).
Re claim 1 Derakhshandeh teaches a semiconductor package (fig 5) [comprising: a first semiconductor chip (1, fig [0046], wherein the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) [0031] extends in each of first (z-axis) and second directions (x-axis) that intersect each other;
a second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) [0046] stacked on the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) [0046] in a third direction (y-direction) perpendicular to each of the first (x-axis) and second directions (z-axis), wherein the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) includes a first area (middle area, fig 5) and a second area (corner area) that is adjacent to and extends around the first area (middle area, fig 5);
a bump structure (10/6, 11/12, fig 3 and 5) [0046] between the first (1, fig 5) and second semiconductor chips (20, fig 5); and
wherein the bump structure (10/6, 1/12 13, fig 5) includes a first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) overlapping the first area (middle area, fig 5) in the third direction (y-direction), and a second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) overlapping the second area (corner area) in the third direction (y axis),
wherein the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) and the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) are spaced apart from each other (fig 5), and
wherein a thickness of the second bump structure (thickness of 11 fig 5) in the third direction (y-direction) is larger (see fig 5) than a thickness (thickness of 10, fig 5) of the first bump structure (10/6, fig 3 and 5) in the third direction (y-axis).
wherein the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) includes a first solder bump (10, fig 5) between a first-first wiring pad (bottom 6, fig 5) of the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) and a first-second wiring pad (top 6, fig 5) of the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5),
wherein the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [0046] includes a second solder bump (11, fig 5) [0033] between a second-first wiring pad (bottom 12, fig 5) of the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) and a second-second wiring pad (top 12, fig 5) [0046] of the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) [0047],
Derakhshandesh does not teach a conductive material layer between the first and second semiconductor chips, wherein the conductive material layer is on the bump structure.
Yoo teaches a conductive material layer (170, fig 1) [0031] between the first and second semiconductor chips (between 131 and 133, fig 1) [0031], wherein the conductive material layer is on the bump structure (141/116, fig 1) [0016, 0026].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Yoo into the structure of Derakhshandesh to include a conductive material lay between the first and second semiconductor chips, wherein the conductive material layer is on the bump structure as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh based in teaching Yoo in the above manner for the purpose of improving the reliability of the device [0034].
Derakhshandesh and Yoo do not teach the second-first wiring pad of the first semiconductor chip includes a plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads that are spaced apart from each other, and wherein the second solder bump is between the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads.
Huang teaches the second-first wiring pad (all 81, fig 9) of the first semiconductor chip (75, fig 9) includes a plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads (all 81, fig 9) [0035] that are spaced apart from each other (80 is located between left and right 81, fig 9), and wherein the second solder bump (80, fig 9)[0035] is between the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads (all 81, fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Huang into the structure of Derakhshandesh and Yoo to include the second-first wiring pad of the first semiconductor chip includes a plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads that are spaced apart from each other, and wherein the second solder bump is between the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh and Yoo based on the teaching of Huang in the above manner for the purpose of providing new and improved solder bump pads which contribute to stronger mechanical association between the solder bump pads and solder bumps on a chip [0008].
Re claim 2 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teaches, the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a maximum width of the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [Derakhshandesh, 0046] in the first direction (x-axis) is greater than a maximum width of the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) [Derakhshandesh 0046] in the first direction (x-axis).
Re claim 4 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1 a thickness of the second solder bump (11, fig 3) in the third direction (y-direction) is larger than a thickness of the first solder bump (10, fig 3) [Derakhshandesh] in the third direction.
Re claim 6 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, each of the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads (left and right top 12, fig 5) [0034] has a rectangular shape (see fig5 in a plan view of the semiconductor package (fig5) Derakhshandesh, 0034].
Re claim 7 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5)[ Derakhshandesh, , 0032] is electrically connected to the first and second semiconductor chips (fig 5) Derakhshandesh, 0033], and wherein the second bump structure (12, fig 5) [0033] is electrically insulated (dummy contact) [Derakhshandesh 0033] from the first and second semiconductor chips (fig 5) [Derakhshandesh, 0033].
Re claim 8 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the conductive material layer (170, fig 1) [Yoo, 0031] includes a resin layer (polymer resin, thermosetting resin, a thermo-plastic resin,) [Yoo, 0031 and a filler (conductive particles comprise Ni, Au, Ag, or Cu in the resin layer (fig 1) [Yoo 0031].
Re claim 9 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) [Derakhshandesh 0033] includes a first wiring structure (top 5-BEOL and 4-FEOL, shown in fig2B) [0033] and the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) Derakhshandesh, 0033] includes a second wiring structure (5 and 4, fig 5)
wherein the first and second wiring structures (top andbottom BEOL/FEOL are electrically connected to the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) Derakhshandesh, 0031 0033] and wherein the first and second wiring structures are electrically insulated [0033] from the second bump structure (11/12 dummy structure, fig.5) [Derakhshandesh,003
Re claim 11 Derakhshandesh teach a semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5),
wherein the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5)[0046] extends in each of first (x-axis) and second directions (z-axis) that intersect each other;
a second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) [0046] stacked on the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) [0046] in a third direction (y-axis) perpendicular to each of the first (x-axis) and second directions (z-axis),
wherein the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) includes a first area (middle area) and a second area (corner area, fig 5) that is adjacent to and extends around the first area (around middle area);
a bump structure (10/6 and 11/12, fig 5) [0046] between the first (1, fig 5) and second semiconductor chips (20, fig 5) [0046] and
wherein the bump structure (10/6 and 13) includes: a connection bump structure (10/6, fig 5) overlapping the first area (middle area) in the third direction (y-axis) and electrically connected to the first (1, fig 5) and second semiconductor chips (20, fig 5); and
a dummy bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [0046] overlapping the second area (corner area, fig 5) in the third direction (y-axis) and electrically insulated [0033] from the first (1, fig 5) and second semiconductor chips (20, fig 5),
wherein the connection bump structure (10/6, fig 5) and the dummy bump structure (11/12, fig 5) are spaced apart from each other (see fig 5), and wherein a thickness of the dummy bump structure (11, fig 5) in the third direction (y-axis) is larger than a thickness of the connection bump structure (10/6, fig 5) [0046] in the third direction (y-direction).
wherein the dummy bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [0046] includes a first solder bump (11, fig 5) between a first-first wiring pad (bottom 12, fig 5) on the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) and a first-second wiring pad (top 12, fig 5) on the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) [0045],
wherein the connection bump structure (10/6, fig 5) includes a second solder bump (10, fig 5) [0046] between a second-first wiring pad (bottom 6, fig 5) on the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) and a second-second wiring pad (top 6, fig 5) on the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) [0045],
Derakhshandesh does not teach a conductive material layer between the first and second semiconductor chips, wherein the conductive material surrounds a portion of the bump structure.
Yoo teaches a conductive material layer (anisotropic conductive adhesive or an isotropic conductive adhesive-170, fig 1) [0031] between the first and second semiconductor chips (between 131 and 133, fig 1) [0031], wherein the conductive material layer (170, fig 1) surrounds a portion of the bump structure ( 116/141, fig 1) [0016 0026].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Yoo into the structure of Derakhshandesh to include a conductive material layer between the first and second semiconductor chips, wherein the conductive material surrounds a portion of the bump structure as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh based in teaching Yoo in the above manner for the purpose of improving reliability of the device [0034].
Derakhshandesh and Yoo do not teach the first-first wiring pad on the first semiconductor chip includes a plurality of first-first wiring sub-pads spaced apart from each other and wherein the first solder bump is between the first-first wiring sub-pads that are spaced apart from each other in the first direction.
Huang teaches the first-first wiring pad (all 81, fig 9) [0035] on the first semiconductor chip (75, fig 9) [0035] includes a plurality of first-first wiring sub-pads (left/ right 81, fig 9) [0035] spaced apart from each other (fig, 9)and wherein the first solder bump (right 80, fig 9) is between the first-first wiring sub-pads (left/right 81, fig 9) [0035] that are spaced apart from each other (see fig 9) in the first direction (horizontal).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Huang into the structure of Derakhshandesh and Yoo to include the first-first wiring pad on the first semiconductor chip includes a plurality of first-first wiring sub-pads spaced apart from each other and wherein the first solder bump is between the first-first wiring sub-pads that are spaced apart from each other in the first direction as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh and Yoo based on the teaching of Huang in the above manner for the purpose of providing new and improved solder bump pads which contribute to stronger mechanical association between the solder bump pads and solder bumps on a chip [0008].
Re claim 12. Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teach the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein a maximum width of the dummy bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [Derakhshandesh, 0046] in the first direction (x-axis) is larger than a maximum width of the connection bump structure (10/6, fig 5) [0046] in the first direction (x-axis) [Derakhshandesh ,0046].
Re claim 15 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo teach the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein a thickness of the first solder bump (thickness of 11, fig 5) [0033] in the third direction (y-axis) is larger than a thickness of the second solder bump (thickness of 10, fig 5) in the third direction (y-axis)
Re claim 16 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo the semiconductor package of claim 11,
wherein the conductive material layer (170, fig 1) [Yoo, 0031] includes a resin layer (polymer resin, thermosetting resin, a thermo-plastic resin,) [Yoo, 0031] and a filler (conductive particles comprise Ni, Au, Ag, or Cu in the resin layer (fig 1) [Yoo 0031].
Re claim 18. A semiconductor package (fig 5) [0033,0046] comprising:
a substrate (2, fig 5) [0033] wherein the substrate (2, fig 5) [0033] extends in each of first (x-axis) and second directions (z-axis) that intersect each other;
a first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) [0033] stacked on the substrate (2, fig 5) in a third direction (y-axis) perpendicular to each of the first (x-axis) and second directions (z-axis);
a second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) stacked on the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) in the third direction (y-axis), wherein the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) includes a first area (middle area) and a second area (corner area) that is adjacent to and extends around the first area (corner area surrounds middle area, fig 5) ;
a bump structure (10/6, 11/12, fig 5) [0033] that is configured to bond the first
semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) [0033] and the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) [0033] to each other between the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) and the second semico nductor chip (20, fig 5) [0033]; and
wherein the first semiconductor chip (1, fig [0033] includes a through -via extending (15, fig 5) [0046] through at least a portion (middle portion of 1, fig 5) of the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5), wherein the through-via electrically connects the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5)
[0046] and the substrate (2, fig 5) [0046-0047] to each other,
wherein the bump structure (10/6, 11/12, fig 5) [0033] includes a first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) overlapping the first area (middle area, fig 5) [0033] in the third direction (y-axis), and a second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [0046, 0047] overlapping the second area (corner area, fig 5) in the third direction (y-axis),
wherein a thickness of the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) in the third direction (y-axis) is different (smaller) from a thickness of the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [0033] in the third direction (y-axis).
wherein the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) includes a first solder bump (10, fig 5) between a first-first wiring pad (bottom 6, fig 5) of the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) and a first-second wiring pad (top 6, fig 5) of the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5),
wherein the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [0046] includes a second solder bump (11, fig 5) [0033] between a second-first wiring pad (bottom 12, fig 5) of the first semiconductor chip (1, fig 5) and a second-second wiring pad (top 12, fig 5) [0046] of the second semiconductor chip (20, fig 5) [0047],
Derakhshandesh does not teach a conductive material layer between and second semiconductor chips, wherein the conductive material surrounds a portion of the bump structure.
Yoo teaches a conductive material layer (170, fig 1) [0031] between and second semiconductor chips (between 131 and 133, fig 1), wherein the conductive material (170, fig 1)
[00131] surrounds a portion (around 141 and 116) of the bump structure (141/116, fig 1) [0016/0026].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Yoo into the structure of Derakhshandesh to include a conductive material layer between and second semiconductor chips, wherein the conductive material surrounds a portion of the bump structure as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh based in teaching Yoo in the above manner for the purpose of improving the reliability of the device [0034].
Derakhshandesh and Yoo do not teach the second-first wiring pad of the first semiconductor chip includes a plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads that are spaced apart from each other, and wherein the second solder bump is between the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads.
Huang teaches the second-first wiring pad (all 81, fig 9) of the first semiconductor chip (75, fig 9) includes a plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads (all 81, fig 9) [0035] that are spaced apart from each other (80 is located between left and right 81, fig 9), and wherein the second solder bump (80, fig 9)[0035] is between the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads (all 81, fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Huang into the structure of Derakhshandesh and Yoo to include the second-first wiring pad of the first semiconductor chip includes a plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads that are spaced apart from each other, and wherein the second solder bump is between the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh and Yoo based on the teaching of Huang in the above manner for the purpose of providing new and improved solder bump pads which contribute to stronger mechanical association between the solder bump pads and solder bumps on a chip [0008].
Re claim 19. Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo teach the semiconductor package of claim 18, wherein the thickness (top to bottom) of the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5)
[Derakhshandesh, 0033] in the third direction (y-axis) is larger (11 is thicker than 10) than the thickness of the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) in the third direction (y-axis), and
wherein a width (left to right) of the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) in Derakhshandesh, 0033 the first direction is greater than a width of the first bump structure (10/6) in the first direction(x-axis, see fig 5) Derakhshandesh, 0033].
Re claim 20 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo teach the semiconductor package of claim 18, wherein the first bump structure (10/6, fig 5) [Derakhshandesh 0033] is electrically connected to the first and second semiconductor chips, and
wherein the second bump structure (11/12, fig 5) [0033] is electrically insulated from the first (1, fig 5) [0033] and second semiconductor chips (20, fig 5) Derakhshandesh 0046].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derakhshandesh modified by Yoo and Huang as applied to claims 1 and 4 and further in view of Seo-1 et al (US 20170084558 A1).
Re claim 5. Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo teach the semiconductor package of claim 4,
Derakhshandesh and Yoo do not tach each of the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads has an elliptical shape or a circular shape in a plan view of the semiconductor package.
Seo-1 teaches each of the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads (left and right 110p, fig 3) [0049] has an elliptical shape or a circular shape (elliptical or circular shape, fig 3) [0049] in a plan view of the semiconductor package (fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Seo-1 into the structure of Derakhshandesh , Yoo and Huang to include each of the plurality of second-first wiring sub-pads has an elliptical
shape or a circular shape in a plan view of the semiconductor package as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh, Yoo and Huang based on the teaching of Seo-1 in the above manner in order to resist electrical or mechanical stress [0048].
Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derakhshandesh modified by Yoo and Huang as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Seo et al (US 20170338206 A1).
Re claim 10 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teach the semiconductor package of claim 1,
Derakhshandesh, Yoo and Huang do not teach a plurality of semiconductor chips on the first and second semiconductor chips and electrically connected to each other via a through-via.
Seo does teach a plurality of semiconductor chips (C3, C4, fig 7) [0026] on the first (C1, fig 7) [0026] and second semiconductor chips (C2, fig 7) [0026] and electrically connected to each other via a through-via (116, fig 7) [0036].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Seo into the structure of Derakhshandesh and Yoo and Huang to include a plurality of semiconductor chips on the first and second semiconductor chips and electrically connected to each other via a through-via as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Derakhshandesh and Yoo and Huang based on the teaching of Seo in the above manner for the purpose of improving electrical performance of the package.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derakhshandesh modified by Yoo and Huang as applied to claim 11, further in view of Watanable et al (US 20180226362A1).
Re claim 17 Derakhshandesh in view of Yoo and Huang teach the semiconductor package of claim 11,
Derakhshandesh, Yoo and Huang do not teach a plurality of alignment patterns in the first area in a plan view of the semiconductor package.
Watanable does teach a plurality of alignment patterns (AM4, fig 13) [0162, fig 13] in the first area (area of AM, fig 13) [0162, fig 13] in a plan view of the semiconductor package (fig 13).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Watanable into the structure of Derakhshandesh, Yoo and Huang to include a plurality of alignment patterns in the first area in a plan view of the semiconductor package as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been Derakhshandesh, Yoo and Huang based on the teaching of Watanable in the above manner for the purpose of achieving high accuracy alignment [0162].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-12 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al (US20220359447A1) teaches the chip package structure includes a redistribution structure and a first chip structure over the redistribution structure. The chip package structure also includes a first solder bump between the redistribution structure and the first chip structure and a first molding layer surrounding the first chip structure. The chip package structure further includes a second chip structure over the first chip structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/PRATIKSHA JAYANT LOHAKARE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/23/26