DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant's election without traverse of claims 1-16 and 18-27 in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claim 17 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claim Objections
At the following locations, indicated by the notation [claim(s), line(s)], please make the following changes to provide better clarity, proper grammar, or proper antecedent basis:
[1, 16-17] change “the light extracting structure” to “a light extracting structure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (US 2012/0133575) (hereafter Hasegawa), in view of Shiratori (US 2015/0060811) (hereafter Shiratori).
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa discloses a light-emitting apparatus comprising:
an insulating layer 10 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0083, wherein “An interlayer insulating film made of SiN and a planarizing film made of an acrylic resin were formed thereon in the stated order to form the substrate 10”);
a light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1; and see paragraph 0021, wherein “Each of the organic light-emitting devices is provided between an anode electrode 11 and a cathode electrode 18“) disposed on a main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) of the insulating layer 10 (Fig. 1), the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) containing a light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021, wherein “a pattern layer 14 including a red-light-emitting layer”); and a lens 20a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0029) disposed above the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1), a photoluminescence (PL) spectrum of the light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1) having a first peak with a wavelength λPL (see paragraph 0094, wherein “the maximum peak wavelength λ of the spectrum of the light emitted from the organic light-emitting device”; see “Enhancing wavelength 620 nm” in TABLE 5) in a visible light range (see paragraph 0037, wherein “wavelength of visible light (λ =350 nm or longer and 780 nm or shorter)”).
Hasegawa does not disclose the light-emitting element having a resonator structure;
the resonator structure satisfies Exp. (1),
|λEL - λPL| < |λon - λPL| (1)
where λon is a resonance peak wavelength of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in a direction perpendicular to the main surface and λEL is a peak wavelength of electroluminescence radiated via the light extracting structure.
Shiratori discloses the light-emitting element (“emitting layer” in paragraph 0010) having a resonator structure (“resonance structure” in paragraph 0010);
the resonator structure (“resonance structure” in paragraph 0010) satisfies Exp. (1),
|λEL - λPL| < |λon - λPL| (1) (see paragraph 0010, wherein “satisfy a relationship of light emitting peak wavelength λSIN > output wavelength λSOUT > resonance peak wavelength λSC such that |λSOUT – λSIN| < |λSC – λSIN|)
where λon is a resonance peak wavelength (“resonance peak wavelength λSC“ in paragraph 0010) of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in a direction perpendicular to the main surface and λEL is a peak wavelength (“output wavelength λSOUT“ in paragraph 0010) of electroluminescence radiated via the light extracting structure
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form the light-emitting element having a resonator structure; the resonator structure satisfies Exp. (1), |λEL - λPL| < |λon - λPL| (1) where λon is a resonance peak wavelength of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in a direction perpendicular to the main surface and λEL is a peak wavelength of electroluminescence radiated via the light extracting structure, as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 2, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein, in the PL spectrum, the first peak is a maximum intensity peak (see paragraph 0094, wherein “the maximum peak wavelength λ of the spectrum of the light emitted from the organic light-emitting device”; see “Enhancing wavelength 620 nm 520 nm 460 nm” in TABLE 5) in the visible light range (see paragraph 0037, wherein “wavelength of visible light (λ =350 nm or longer and 780 nm or shorter)”).
Regarding claim 3, Hasegawa in view of Shiratori discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, however Hasegawa does not disclose the PL peak wavelength λPL is a wavelength of a peak closest to the λon among the PL peak wavelengths.
Shiratori discloses the PL peak wavelength λPL (“light emitting peak wavelength λSIN” in paragraph 0010) is a wavelength of a peak closest to the λon (“resonance peak wavelength λSC“ in paragraph 0010) among the PL peak wavelengths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form the PL peak wavelength λPL is a wavelength of a peak closest to the λon among the PL peak wavelengths, as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses a light-emitting apparatus comprising:
an insulating layer 10 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0083, wherein “An interlayer insulating film made of SiN and a planarizing film made of an acrylic resin were formed thereon in the stated order to form the substrate 10”);
a light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1; and see paragraph 0021, wherein “Each of the organic light-emitting devices is provided between an anode electrode 11 and a cathode electrode 18“) disposed on a main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) of the insulating layer 10 (Fig. 1), the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) containing a light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021, wherein “a pattern layer 14 including a red-light-emitting layer”); and
a lens 20a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0029) disposed above the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1), a photoluminescence (PL) spectrum of the light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1) having a first peak with a wavelength λPL (see paragraph 0094, wherein “the maximum peak wavelength λ of the spectrum of the light emitted from the organic light-emitting device”; see “Enhancing wavelength 620 nm 520 nm 460 nm” in TABLE 5) in a visible light range (see paragraph 0037, wherein “wavelength of visible light (λ =350 nm or longer and 780 nm or shorter)”),
Hasegawa does not disclose the light-emitting element having a resonator structure;
the resonator structure satisfies Exp. (2),
|λoff - λPL| < |λon - λPL| (2)
where λon is a resonance peak wavelength of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in a direction perpendicular to the main surface and λoff is a resonance peak wavelength of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in the direction perpendicular to the main surface due to refraction in the light extracting structure.
Shiratori discloses the light-emitting element (“emitting layer” in paragraph 0010) having a resonator structure (“resonance structure” in paragraph 0010);
the resonator structure (“resonance structure” in paragraph 0010) satisfies Exp. (2),
|λoff - λPL| < |λon - λPL| (2) (see paragraph 0010, wherein “satisfy a relationship of light emitting peak wavelength λSIN > output wavelength λSOUT > resonance peak wavelength λSC such that |λSOUT – λSIN| < |λSC – λSIN|)
where λon is a resonance peak wavelength (“resonance peak wavelength λSC“ in paragraph 0010) of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in a direction perpendicular to the main surface and λoff is a resonance peak wavelength (“output wavelength λSOUT“ in paragraph 0010) of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in the direction perpendicular to the main surface due to refraction in the light extracting structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form the light-emitting element having a resonator structure; the resonator structure satisfies Exp. (2), |λoff - λPL| < |λon - λPL| (2) where λon is a resonance peak wavelength of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in a direction perpendicular to the main surface and λoff is a resonance peak wavelength of an interference spectrum that reinforces light emitted in the direction perpendicular to the main surface due to refraction in the light extracting structure, as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 5, Hasegawa in view of Shiratori discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 4, however Hasegawa does not disclose the PL spectrum of the light-emitting material has a second peak with an emission intensity lower than the first peak and having a wavelength λPL2, and wherein Exp. (3) is satisfied, |λoff - λPL| ≤ |λon - λPL2| (3).
Shiratori discloses the PL spectrum of the light-emitting material (“emitting layer” in paragraph 0010) has a second peak with an emission intensity lower than the first peak (“light emitting peak wavelength λSIN” in paragraph 0010) and having a wavelength λPL2 (see peak wavelength of “COMPARATIVE EXAMPLE 1” in Fig. 7), and wherein Exp. (3) is satisfied, |λoff - λPL| ≤ |λon - λPL2| (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form the PL spectrum of the light-emitting material has a second peak with an emission intensity lower than the first peak and having a wavelength λPL2, and wherein Exp. (3) is satisfied, |λoff - λPL| ≤ |λon - λPL2| (3), as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 6, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 5, wherein, in the PL spectrum, the first peak is a maximum intensity peak (see paragraph 0094, wherein “the maximum peak wavelength λ of the spectrum of the light emitted from the organic light-emitting device”; see “Enhancing wavelength 620 nm” in TABLE 5) in the visible light range (see paragraph 0037, wherein “wavelength of visible light (λ =350 nm or longer and 780 nm or shorter)”), and wherein the second peak (see 520 nm in TABLE 5) is a second highest intensity peak after the first peak (see 620 nm in TABLE 5).
Regarding claim 7, Hasegawa in view of Shiratori discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 4, however Hasegawa does not disclose the PL peak wavelength λPL is a wavelength of a peak closest to the λon among the PL peak wavelengths.
Shiratori discloses the PL peak wavelength λPL (“light emitting peak wavelength λSIN” in paragraph 0010) is a wavelength of a peak closest to the λon (“resonance peak wavelength λSC“ in paragraph 0010) among the PL peak wavelengths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form the PL peak wavelength λPL is a wavelength of a peak closest to the λon among the PL peak wavelengths, as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 8, Hasegawa in view of Shiratori discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, however Hasegawa does not disclose the λon is longer than the PL peak wavelength λPL.
Shiratori discloses the λon (“resonance peak wavelength λSC“ in paragraph 0010) is longer than the PL peak wavelength λPL. (“light emitting peak wavelength λSIN” in paragraph 0010)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form the λon is longer than the PL peak wavelength λPL, as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 9, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the light extracting structure 19 (Fig. 1) includes an inclined portion inclined with respect to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1), and wherein the inclined portion refracts light 22 (Fig. 1) traveling in a direction inclined with respect to the main surface in the direction perpendicular to the main surface.
Regarding claim 10, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 9, wherein the inclined portion (see Radiation angle in TABLE 1) has an inclination angle of 9° or more and 60° or less with respect to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 9, wherein an emission angle Θeml (see Radiation angle in TABLE 1) of light refracted in a frontal direction at the inclined portion of the light extracting structure with respect to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) of an emission layer of the light-emitting element is larger than 0° and less than 30°.
Regarding claim 12, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 9, wherein the emission angle Θeml (see Radiation angle in TABLE 1) of the light refracted in the frontal direction at the inclined portion of the light extracting structure with respect to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) of the emission layer of the light-emitting element is 5° or more and 20° or less.
Regarding claim 13, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) includes: an electrode 11 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021) that supplies electrical charge to the light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021); and a pixel separating layer 12 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021) covering one end and another end of the electrode 11 (Fig. 1), and wherein, in a cross section perpendicular to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) of the substrate 10 (Fig. 1), a middle point of the light extracting structure 19 (Fig. 1) and a middle point between the one end and the other end of the pixel separating layer 12 (Fig. 1) in a direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1) parallel to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) are not superposed on each other in plan view.
Regarding claim 14, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the display area (region covered by 20a in Fig. 1) includes a first area (region covered by third 20a from the left corner of Fig. 1) including a central portion of the display area and a second area (region covered by second 20a and fourth 20a from the left corner of Fig. 1) outside the first area (region covered by third 20a from the left corner of Fig. 1), wherein the first area (region covered by third 20a from the left corner of Fig. 1) includes a third light-emitting element 15 (Fig. 1), and the second area (region covered by second 20a and fourth 20a from the left corner of Fig. 1) includes a fourth light-emitting element (14 and 16 in Fig. 1), and wherein a distance between the middle point of the light extracting structure in the fourth light-emitting element (14 and 16 in Fig. 1) and the middle point between the one end and the other end of the pixel separating layer 12 (Fig. 1) is larger than a distance between the middle point of the light extracting structure 19 (Fig. 1) in the third light-emitting element 15 (Fig. 1) and the middle point between the one end and the other end of the pixel separating layer 12 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 13, further comprising: a light-emitting portion 14 (Fig. 1) containing the light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021, wherein “a pattern layer 14 including a red-light-emitting layer”), wherein, when, in the cross section perpendicular to the main surface of the substrate 10 (Fig. 1), the middle point of the light extracting structure and the middle point between the one end and the other end of the pixel separating layer 12 (Fig. 1) in the direction parallel to the main surface are not superposed on one another in plan view, an optical distance (see Optical distance in TABLE 1) of the λoff is a distance between a curve far from the light-emitting portion of a curve of the lens and the light-emitting portion 14 (Fig. 1) in the cross section.
Regarding claim 16, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising: a second light-emitting element (11, 15, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) with a resonator structure different from the resonator structure of the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1), wherein the second light-emitting element (11, 15, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) reinforces light with a wavelength different (see paragraph 0021) from the wavelength of the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Hasegawa in view of Shiratori discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, however Hasegawa does not disclose a second light-emitting element different from the light-emitting element, wherein the second light-emitting element does not satisfy Exp. (1).
Shiratori discloses a second light-emitting element (emitting layer in first wavelength region in paragraph 0010) different from the light-emitting element (emitting layer in second wavelength region in paragraph 0010), wherein the second light-emitting element (emitting layer in first wavelength region in paragraph 0010) does not satisfy Exp. (1) (see paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form a second light-emitting element different from the light-emitting element, wherein the second light-emitting element does not satisfy Exp. (1), as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 19, Hasegawa in view of Shiratori discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 4, however Hasegawa does not disclose a second light-emitting element different from the light-emitting element, wherein the second light-emitting element does not satisfy Exp. (2).
Shiratori discloses a second light-emitting element (emitting layer in first wavelength region in paragraph 0010) different from the light-emitting element (emitting layer in second wavelength region in paragraph 0010), wherein the second light-emitting element (emitting layer in second wavelength region in paragraph 0010) does not satisfy Exp. (2) (see paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hasegawa to form a second light-emitting element different from the light-emitting element, wherein the second light-emitting element does not satisfy Exp. (2), as taught by Shiratori, since an emission intensity of the output wavelength λSOUT (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) represented by a product of an emission intensity of the light emitting peak wavelength λSIN (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) and an emission intensity of the resonance peak wavelength λSC (Shiratori, paragraph 0010) can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 20, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 16, wherein the emission spectrum of the light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021, wherein “a pattern layer 14 including a red-light-emitting layer”) has a first half width at half maximum, wherein the second light-emitting element (11, 15, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) contains a second light-emitting material 15 (Fig. 1), wherein an emission spectrum of the second light-emitting material 15 (Fig. 1) has a second half width at half maximum, and wherein the second half width at half maximum of the second light-emitting material 15 (Fig. 1) is larger than the first half width at half maximum of the first light-emitting material 14 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 20, wherein the second light-emitting material (see paragraph 0025, wherein “a luminescent material such as a fluorescent material or a phosphorescent material can be used”) comprises a phosphorescence emitting material.
Regarding claim 22, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 2, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the light-emitting material (see paragraph 0025, wherein “a luminescent material such as a fluorescent material or a phosphorescent material can be used”) of the first light-emitting element comprises a fluorescence emitting material.
Regarding claim 23, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 2, further comprising: a second light-emitting element (11, 15, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) different from the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1); and a second light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 15 in Fig. 1) different from the light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 14 in Fig. 1) and receiving light from the second light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1), wherein, in a cross section perpendicular to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1), a distance in a direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1) parallel to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) between a middle point of a luminous region of the light-emitting element (11, 14, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) and a middle point of the light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 14 in Fig. 1) is larger than a distance in the direction parallel to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1) between a middle point of a luminous region of the second light-emitting element (11, 15, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) and a middle point of the second light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 15 in Fig. 1) in the cross section perpendicular to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 23, further comprising: a third light-emitting element (11, 16, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) different from the second light-emitting element (11, 15, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1); and a third light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 16 in Fig. 1) different from the second light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 15 in Fig. 1) and receiving light from the third light-emitting element (11, 16, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1), wherein, in a cross section perpendicular to the main surface (top surface of 10 in Fig. 1), a distance in the direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1) parallel to the main surface between a middle point of a luminous region of the second light-emitting element (11, 15, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) and a middle point of the second light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 15 in Fig. 1) is larger than a distance in the direction parallel to the main surface between a middle point of a luminous region of the third light-emitting element (11, 16, 17, and 18 in Fig. 1) and a middle point of the third light extracting structure (portion of 19 vertically above 16 in Fig. 1) in the cross section perpendicular to the main surface.
Regarding claim 25, Hasegawa further discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1; and a display control unit (“a rear monitor of a digital camera and a cellular phone display” in paragraph 0111) connected to the light-emitting apparatus.
Regarding claim 26, Hasegawa discloses an image pickup apparatus (“a rear monitor of a digital camera and a cellular phone display” in paragraph 0111) comprising: an optical part including a plurality of lenses; an image sensor that receives light passing through the optical part; and a display that displays an image captured by the image sensor, wherein the display includes the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, Hasegawa discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a display (“a rear monitor of a digital camera and a cellular phone display” in paragraph 0111) including the light-emitting apparatus according to Claim 1; a casing including the display; and a communicating portion provided at the casing and communicating with outside.
Conclusion
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813