DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/1 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. (US 2018/0301509 A1, hereafter Ishii) in view of Tsuchiya (US 2011/0147889 A1).
Regarding claim 1, in Fig. 7 Ishii teaches image sensor (600, [0095]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (100, [0030]) comprising a first surface (see annotated Fig. 7), a second surface (see annotated Fig. 7), and a photoelectric conversion region (110, [0101]);
a buried gate structure (TGE, [0107]) disposed in a buried gate trench (see annotated Fig. 7) and extending into the semiconductor substrate (100) from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate;
a floating diffusion region (631, [0111]) disposed on one side of the buried gate structure (TGE) in the semiconductor substrate (100); and
a contact (BCP1, [0049]) extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (100).
Ishii fails to disclose a contact pad disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (100) above the floating diffusion region (631) and comprising polysilicon and an intermediate layer disposed on the contact pad and comprising a metal silicide.
However, Tsuchiya teaches in Fig. 23B a device in which a polysilicon contact pad (38a, [0125]) and metal silicide layer (39a, [0125]) are formed above a diffusion region. The contact pad is used to increase the overlap margin, and the silicide is added to lower contact resistance [0090]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image sensor of Ishii to include the contact pad and silicide layer of Tsuchiya in order to get the expected result of electrical contact between the floating diffusion region and the contact.
Regarding claim 10, Ishii in view of Tsuchiya teach the image sensor of claim 1. Ishii further teaches a low-doping region (135, [0038]) disposed between the floating diffusion region (631, [0111]) and the buried gate structure (TGE, [0107]) and around the floating diffusion region (631) in the semiconductor substrate (100, [0030]),
wherein the floating diffusion region (631) comprises a first type of impurity having a first type of impurity concentration [0044] and the low-doping region (135) comprises a first type of impurity having a second type of impurity concentration lower than the first type of impurity concentration.
The low doping region 135 is taught to have a lower concentration than floating diffusion region 131 [0044], which is taught to be the same as floating diffusion region 631 [0111].
Regarding claim 13, Ishii in view of Tsuchiya teach the image sensor of claim 1. Ishii further teaches a pixel separation structure (141/143, [0047]) disposed in a pixel trench passing through the semiconductor substrate 100, [0030]); a planar gate structure (see annotated Fig. 7) disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (see annotated Fig. 7); and a color filter (CF1, [0071]) disposed on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate (see annotated Fig. 7).
8. Claim(s) 2-3, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Tsuchiya, and in further view of Lee et al. (US 2005/0218476 A1, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Ishii in view of Tsuchiya teach the image sensor of claim 1. Ishii in view of Tsuchiya fail to teach an etch stop layer disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate and covering an upper surface of the buried gate structure, wherein the etch stop layer surrounds a side wall of the contact pad.
However, Lee teaches an integrated process in an etch stop layer (18, [0039]) is deposited over the entirety of exposes surfaces (which would include covering the buried gate structure of Ishii). This deposition is done before an etching step in Fig. 4 and creation of the contact pad (22 of Fig. 6, [0043]). The result in Fig. 6 is a contact pad with the etch stop layer surrounding the side wall of the contact pad. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ishii in view of Tsuchiya to deposit an etch stop layer as Lee does in order to form the contact pad.
Regarding claim 3, Ishii in view of Tsuchiya teach the image sensor of claim 2. Lee further shows in Fig. 6 the contact pad (22 of Fig. 6, [0043]) has an upper surface disposed at a higher level than an upper surface of the etch stop layer (18, [0039]).
Regarding claim 20, in Fig. 7 Ishii teaches image sensor (600, [0095]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (100, [0030]) comprising a first surface (see annotated Fig. 7) and a second surface (see annotated Fig. 7), and further comprising a photoelectric conversion region (110, [0101]);
a pixel separation structure (141/143, [0047]) disposed in a pixel trench passing through the semiconductor substrate (100) to define a plurality of pixels;
a buried gate structure (TGE, [0107]) disposed in a buried gate trench (see annotated Fig. 7) extending into the semiconductor substrate (100) from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (100);
a floating diffusion region (631, [0111]) comprising a first type of impurity (N-type doping in [0038]) and disposed on one side of the buried gate structure (TGE) in the semiconductor substrate (100);
a low-doping region (135, [0038]) comprising the first type of impurity and disposed between the floating diffusion region (631) and the buried gate structure (TGE) and disposed around the floating diffusion region in the semiconductor substrate; and
a contact (BCP1, [0049]) extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (100).
Ishii fails to disclose a contact pad disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (100) above the floating diffusion region (631) and comprising polysilicon and an intermediate layer disposed on the contact pad and comprising a metal silicide.
However, in Fig. 2B Tsuchiya teaches in Fig. 23B a device in which a polysilicon contact pad (38a, [0125]) and metal silicide layer (39a, [0125]) are formed above a diffusion region. The contact pad is used to increase the overlap margin, and the silicide is added to lower contact resistance [0090]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image sensor of Ishii to include the contact pad and silicide layer of Tsuchiya in order to get the expected result of electrical contact between the floating diffusion region and the contact.
Ishii in view of Tsuchiya fail to teach an etch stop layer disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate and covering an upper surface of the buried gate structure, wherein the etch stop layer surrounds a side wall of the contact pad.
However, Lee teaches an integrated process in an etch stop layer (18, [0039]) is deposited over the entirety of exposes surfaces (which would include covering the buried gate structure of Ishii). This deposition is done before an etching step in Fig. 4 and creation of the contact pad (22 of Fig. 6, [0043]). The result in Fig. 6 is a contact pad with the etch stop layer surrounding the side wall of the contact pad. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ishii in view of Tsuchiya to deposit an etch stop layer as Lee does in order to form the contact pad.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Tsuchiya as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Gehlen et al. (US 2022/0050506 A1, hereafter Gehlen).
Regarding claim 4, Ishii in view of Tsuchiya teach the image sensor of claim 1. Fig. 25B of Tsuchiya further discloses the contact pad (38a, [0125]) is disposed in a contact recess. While Tsuchiya does not teach a bottom surface of the contact pad is disposed at a lower level than the first surface of the semiconductor substrate, one of ordinary skill in the art would know to adjust the location of the contact pad to be embedded into the substrate as they are obvious variants of one another, as taught by Gehlen [0059]. Embedding the contact into the substrate would get the expected result of direct electrical connection between the contact and the floating diffusion region in Ishii.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Tsuchiya as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Wang et. al (US 2021/0313448 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ishii in view of Tsuchiya teach the image sensor of claim 10, wherein the floating diffusion region (631, [0111]) includes a first type impurity (N-type, [0038]), and the low-doping region (135, [0038]) includes the first type impurity [0044].
Ishii in view of Tsuchiya is silent on the exact dopants, only that they are of the N-type. However, one skilled in the art would know to use a reasonable N-type dopant, as taught to be known in the art by Wang where the first type (N-type) impurity includes at least one of phosphorus and arsenic [0038].
Regarding claim 12, Ishii in view of Tsuchiya teach the image sensor of claim 10, wherein the floating diffusion region (631, [0111]) includes a first type impurity (N-type, [0038]) and a second type of impurity, the low-doping region comprises the first type of impurity.
Ishii states that the floating diffusion region (131 which is structurally the same as 131 [0111]) is associated with the [first] conductivity type (N-Type) [0038], and not that the region solely contains these dopants. As this is in direct contact with the barrier dopant region 133 [0038] creating an N/P/N junction, diffusion of the dopants from the barrier dopant region into the floating diffusion region naturally occurs. Thus, the second type of impurity would also exist in the floating diffusion region.
Ishii in view of Tsuchiya is silent on the exact dopants for the first type and second type, only that they are of the N-type and P-type respectively. However, one skilled in the art would know to use a reasonable N-type or P-type dopant, as taught to be known in the art by Wang where the first type (N-type) impurity includes at least one of phosphorus and arsenic, and the second type of impurity (P-type) comprises germanium [0038].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,520,609 B1 in view of Tsuchiya.
For example, regarding independent claims 1, 14, and 20:
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,520,609 B1
1) An image sensor comprising:
a semiconductor substrate comprising a first surface, a second surface, and a photoelectric conversion region;
a buried gate structure disposed in a buried gate trench and extending into the semiconductor substrate from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate;
a floating diffusion region disposed on one side of the buried gate structure in the semiconductor substrate;
a contact pad disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate above the floating diffusion region and comprising polysilicon;
an intermediate layer disposed on the contact pad and comprising a metal silicide; and
a contact disposed on the intermediate layer and extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the first surface of the semiconductor substrate.
1) An image sensor comprising:
a semiconductor substrate including a first surface and a second surface, and
further including a photoelectric conversion region;
a buried gate structure disposed in a buried gate trench extending into the semiconductor substrate from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate;
a floating diffusion region including a first type impurity and disposed on one side of the buried gate structure in the semiconductor substrate;
a contact disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate above the floating diffusion region; and
a contact barrier region including a second type impurity and disposed between the contact and the floating diffusion region in the semiconductor substrate.
14) An image sensor comprising:
a semiconductor substrate comprising a first surface, a second surface, and a photoelectric conversion region;
a buried gate structure disposed in a buried gate trench and extending into the semiconductor substrate from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate;
a floating diffusion region comprising a first type of impurity and disposed on one side of the buried gate structure in the semiconductor substrate;
a contact disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate above the floating diffusion region;
a contact pad disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate above the floating diffusion region;
an intermediate layer disposed on the contact pad and comprising a metal silicide;
a contact disposed on the intermediate layer and extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the first surface of the semiconductor substrate; and
a contact barrier region comprising a second type of impurity, different from the first type of impurity, and disposed under the contact pad and between the contact and the floating diffusion region.
14) An image sensor comprising:
a semiconductor substrate including a first surface and a second surface, and
further including a photoelectric conversion region;
a buried gate structure disposed in a buried gate trench and extending into the semiconductor substrate from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate;
a floating diffusion region including a first type impurity and disposed on one side of the buried gate structure in the semiconductor substrate;
a contact disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate above the floating diffusion region; and
a contact barrier region including a second type impurity, different from the first type impurity, and disposed between the contact and the floating diffusion region in the semiconductor substrate.
20) An image sensor comprising:
a semiconductor substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface, and further comprising a photoelectric conversion region;
a pixel separation structure disposed in a pixel trench passing through the semiconductor substrate to define a plurality of pixels;
a buried gate structure disposed in a buried gate trench extending into the semiconductor substrate from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate;
a floating diffusion region comprising a first type of impurity and disposed on one side of the buried gate structure in the semiconductor substrate;
a low-doping region comprising the first type of impurity and disposed between the floating diffusion region and the buried gate structure and disposed around the floating diffusion region in the semiconductor substrate;
an etch stop layer disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate and covering the buried gate structure;
a contact pad disposed to vertically overlap the floating diffusion region on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate and comprising a side wall surrounded by the etch stop layer;
an intermediate layer disposed on the contact pad and comprising a metal silicide;
a contact disposed on the intermediate layer and extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the first surface of the semiconductor substrate; and
an interlayer insulating film disposed on the etch stop layer and surrounding the contact.
20) An image sensor comprising:
a semiconductor substrate including a first surface and a second surface, and
further including a photoelectric conversion region;
a pixel separation structure disposed in a pixel trench passing through the semiconductor substrate to define a plurality of pixels;
a buried gate structure disposed in a buried gate trench extending into the semiconductor substrate from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate;
a floating diffusion region including a first type impurity and disposed on one side of the buried gate structure in the semiconductor substrate;
a low-doping region including the first type impurity and disposed between the floating diffusion region and the buried gate structure and disposed around the floating diffusion region in the semiconductor substrate;
a contact disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate above the floating diffusion region;
a contact barrier region including a second type impurity different from the first type impurity and disposed between the contact and the floating diffusion region in the semiconductor substrate; and
a barrier impurity region including the second type impurity and disposed in the semiconductor substrate to surround the floating diffusion region.
While U.S. Patent number 12,520,609 B1 fails to disclose an intermediate layer disposed on the contact pad and comprising a metal silicide and a contact disposed on the intermediate layer and extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the first surface of the semiconductor substrate, Tsuchiya can be combined with U.S. Patent number 12,520,609 B1 to create the full device. Tsuchiya teaches in Fig. 23B a device in which a polysilicon contact pad (38a, [0125]) and metal silicide layer (39a, [0125]) are formed above a diffusion region. The contact pad is used to increase the overlap margin, and the silicide is added to lower contact resistance [0090]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the image sensor of U.S. Patent number 12,520,609 B1 to include the contact pad and silicide layer of Tsuchiya in order to get the expected result of electrical contact between the floating diffusion region and the contact.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 14-19 would be allowed should the double patenting rejection be overcome.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 14-19 are allowable primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate or render obvious the following limitations, in combination as recited in independent claim(s) 14: “contact barrier region comprising a second type of impurity, different from the first type of impurity, and disposed under the contact pad and between the contact and the floating diffusion region”.
The closest prior art of record, Ishii teaches an image sensor with a diffusion region but fails to teach a contact barrier region with a second type of impurity, and disposed under a contact pad and between the contact and the floating diffusion region, nor could Examiner find any reason for this limitation.
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 5 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter as the prior art of record cannot anticipate or render obvious the following limitations: “a contact barrier region disposed under the contact pad”.
The closest prior art of record, Ishii teaches an image sensor with a diffusion region but fails to teach a contact barrier region with a second type of impurity, and disposed under a contact pad and between the contact and the floating diffusion region, nor could Examiner find any reason for this limitation.
Claims 6-9 are objected to by virtue of being ultimately dependent on objected claim 5.
Conclusion
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892