DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15, 17-20, 22-23, withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 11, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim(s) 1-11, 16, 21 and 24 in the reply filed on September 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 16, 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elzinga et al (US 20150080265 A1).
In regard to claims 1 and 21, Elzinga et al discloses a composition comprising terpene formulations ([0016]). Elzinga et al discloses that “[t]he terpene formulations may comprise one or more selected from a list comprising alpha-bisabolol, borneol, camphene, camphor, beta-caryophyllene, delta-3-carene, caryophyllene oxide, alpha-cedreen, beta-eudesmol, fenchol, geraniol, guaiol, alpha-humulene, isoborneol, limonene, linalool, menthol, myrcene, nerol, cis-ocimene, trans-ocimene, alpha-phellandrene, alpha-pinene, beta-pinene, sabinene, alpha-terpinene, alpha-terpineol, terpinolene, alpha-guaiene, elemene, farnesene, germacrene B, guaia-1(10),11-diene, trans-2-pinanol, Selina-3,7(11)-diene, eudesm-7(11)-en-4-ol, and valencene ([0016]).
As disclosed by Elzinga et al, examples of Sesquiterpenes are:
Sesquiterpenes: caryophyllene; beta-caryophyllene, caryophyllene oxide, humulene, alpha-humulene, alpha-bisabolene; beta-bisabolene; santalol; selinene; nerolidol, bisabolol; alpha-cedrene, beta-cedrene, beta-eudesmol, eudesm-7(11)-en-4-ol, selina-3,7(11)-diene, guaiol, valencene, alpha-guaiene, beta-guaiene, delta-guaiene, guaiene, farnesene, alpha-farnesene, beta-farnesene, elemene, alpha-elemene, beta-elemene, gamma-elemene, delta-elemene, germacrene, germacrene A, germacrene B, germacrene C, germacrene D, germacrene E. ([0009]).
Elzinga et al discloses the composition further comprising a modifier such as ester and/or ketone [0024].
Therefore, Elzinga et al discloses the terpene formulation comprising:
myrcene;
ester and/or ketone;
sesquiterpenes (beta-caryophyllene, alpha-humulene, beta-eudesmol, guaiol, elemene, farnesene, germacrene B, etc);
sesquiterpene oxide (caryophyllene oxide).
In regard to the concentrations and ratios of the listed compounds as recited in claims 1-9, 11 and 21, Elzinga et al discloses:
[0020] In another embodiment, the invention provides a composition comprising beta-caryophyllene at about 10-30 wt %, limonene at about 5-45 wt %, and myrcene at about 5-30 wt %; and wherein the sum of all terpenes in the composition is 100 wt %.
[0021] In an embodiment, the present disclosure provides a composition comprising a terpene formulation, wherein the terpene formulation consists of beta-caryophyllene, limonene, myrcene, and at least one other terpene, wherein the composition does not contain 3,3'-dihydroxy-5,4'-dimethoxybibenzyl, wherein the terpene formulation is the only source of terpenes in the composition, and wherein the beta-caryophyllene, limonene, and myrcene together comprise at least 25% (wt./vol.) of the terpene formulation, or at least 30%, at least 35%, at least 40%, at least 45%, at least 50%, at least 55%, at least 60%, at least 65%, at least 70%, at least 75%, at least 80%, at least 85%, at least 90%, of the terpene composition.
[0023] In an embodiment, the invention provides a composition wherein myrcene is present at about 20-95 wt %; and alpha-pinene is present at about 5-35 wt %; and wherein the sum of all terpenes in the composition is 100 wt %.
Elzinga et al discloses an embodiment, where the content of myrcene is bout 5-30 wt % and the content of sesquiterpenes (i.e. beta-caryophyllene) is about 10-30 wt % ([0020]).
Elzinga et al is silent as to the concentration of sesquiterpene oxide (caryophyllene oxide) or esters/ketones. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to vary relative content of terpene composition based on the desired aroma profile and the intended use of the composition.
Further in regard to the concentration recitations, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Further, regarding the concentration ranges as examined above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In regard to the recitation of the “hop essence formulation” recited in the preamble of the claims 1 and 21, it appears that this limitation is directed to the initial raw material from which at least part of the composition is derived. Claim 11 also recites “hop components”. This limitation could be also interpreted as a composition having resemblance to hop aroma regardless of the nature of compounds included in such composition. In any case, Elzinga et al discloses “a process for generating a library of prepared terpene compositions, the process comprising: obtaining a sample; analyzing a chemical profile of the sample to identify terpenes in the sample; quantifying the terpenes identified; and preparing a blend of terpenes based on those quantities” ([0067]). Elzinga et al discloses obtaining a sample from Humulus Lupulus (i.e. hops) ([0067]). Hence, Elzinga et al suggests terpenes obtained from hops.
Claims 1 and 21 also recite the limitation of “water soluble” in the preamble of claims. Elzinga et al is silent as to the terpene composition being soluble in water. However, Elzinga et al discloses composition as claimed or similar to the composition as claimed.. Hence, the water solubility is an inherent feature of such composition. The Patent Office does not possess the facilities to make and test the referenced product, and as reasonable reading of the teachings of the reference has been applied to establish the case of obviousness, the burden thus shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
The same rationale is applied to the recitation of “clear and colorless” in claim 10.
In regard to claim 16, Elzinga et al discloses that odors were evaluated by the human panel and determined to mimic a fragrance of a plant:
[0015] The present disclosure provides a composition that contains a combination of selected terpenes. The composition has a fragrance that mimics that of a non-combusted plant product, as determinable, for example, by a human odor panel or by a synthetic nose. Human testers describe embodiments of the invention as having memorable, distinct and generally pleasant odors. One embodiment of the composition is described as having sweet citrus odors, as well as woody or earthy overtones.
In regard to claim 24, it is noted that claim 24 is a product-by-process claims.
[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.). Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes." Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffman-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009). See also Purdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, 811 F.3d 1345, 117 USPQ2d 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, in the context of an infringement analysis, a product-by-process claim is only infringed by a product made by the process recited in the claim. Id. at 1370 ( "a product in the prior art made by a different process can anticipate a product-by-process claim, but an accused product made by a different process cannot infringe a product-by-process claim" ).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791