DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… computer system comprising a plurality of Non-Uniform Memory Access (NUMA) nodes … executing a database management system on the plurality of NUMA nodes …” because Thompson does not disclose “database management system” as Thompson’s computer processing system do not run any database management system (DBMS) when configured to transfer data between two databases and Thompson’s computer processing system do not manage overall operation of a database; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, Thompson’s computer processing system manages the transferring of data between two databases by managing to acquire data from one database and transferring the acquired data to another database; therefore, Thompson’s computer processing system does perform database management (Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0033]; and [0055]-[0062]).
As applicant appears to be applying the above arguments for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 9 and 17, the examiner will also apply the above response for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 9 and 17.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… allocating a first NUMA node in the plurality of NUMA nodes … the one or more processing functions are configured to run solely on the first NUMA node where the single buffer memory is allocated …” because Thompson’s does not teach/suggest the staging area and/or data processing functions are restricted to a single NUMA node out of a plurality of NUMA nodes; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, the examiner is equivocating Thompson’s computer processing system/node (Fig. 1, ref. 104) the claimed single NUMA node as Thompson’s Figure 5 suggests the computer processing system/node (Fig. 1, ref. 104) operate with NUMA computer architectures, and Thompson further discloses the computer processing system/node including staging area (112) storing data to be processed by the computer processing system/node (Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0033]; and [0055]-[0062]). Therefore, Thompson does teach/suggest the single NUMA node (e.g. computer processing system (104)) with the staging area (112), and the computer processing system (104) processing of data stored at computer processing system’s staging area (112) (i.e. associated with processing function run solely on the NUMA node wherein the single buffer is located). Lastly, the examiner is relying on Gottipati, not Thompson, for the teaching/suggesting of the allocation operations ([0040]) (Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0025]; [0034]-[0045]; and [0052]).
As applicant appears to be applying the above arguments for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 9 and 17, the examiner will also apply the above response for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 9 and 17.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the dependent claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… performing a checksum error analysis on the first or second subset of the plurality of data page …” because it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement these claimed features; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, as Gottipati teaches/suggests the use of checksum ([0026]), wherein the use of checksum for error detection/analysis is obvious/well-known to one of ordinary skilled in the art (https://web.archive.org/web/20230922175818/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Checksum).
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the dependent claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… decrypting one or more of the first or second subsets of the plurality of data pages …” because it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement these claimed features; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, as Gottipati teaches/suggests receiving encrypted data ([0033]), data received by the computer processing would have decrypt the received encrypted data accordingly.
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 12-13, 17-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US Pub.: 2015/0052157) in view of Gottipati et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0028470), Dixon et al. (US Patent 5,568,443), and Wei (US Pub.: 2002/0154640).
As per claim 1, Thompson teaches/suggests a method of performed by a computer system comprising a plurality of Non-Uniform Memory Access (NUMA) nodes, the method comprising: executing a database management system on the plurality of NUMA nodes, the database management system being configured to manage a database comprising data ([0025]-[0026]; [0059]-[0061]); and operating at a time of performing copy of the database to a computer readable storage medium (e.g. associated with transferring from source database(s) to destination/target database: [0025]-[0026]): operating with a single buffer memory (e.g. associated with temporary storage location: [0025]-[0026]) on a first NUMA node in the plurality of NUMA nodes, the single buffer memory operating accordingly ([0025]-[0026]; [0059]-[0061]); retrieving a first subset of data into first and executing one or more processing functions on the first subset in the first (e.g. associated with retrieving first subset of data from source database to be transferred to destination database while first subset of data was stored in temporary storage location, wherein the temporary stored data can be processed/formatted/parsed: [0025]-[0026]; [0033]); and copying the first subset from the first to the computer readable storage medium (e.g. associated with transferring first subset of data that was stored in temporary storage location to destination database: [0025]-[0026]); and retrieving a second subset of data into second and executing the one or more processing functions on the second subset in the second (e.g. associated with retrieving second subset of data from source database to be transferred to destination database while second subset of data was stored in temporary storage location, wherein the temporary stored data can be processed/formatted/parsed: [0025]-[0026]; [0033]), wherein the one or more processing functions are configured to run solely on the first NUMA node where the single buffer memory is ([0025]-[0026];[0033]; [0059]-[0061]) (Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0033]; and [0055]-[0062]).
Thompson does not teach the method comprising:
having a plurality of pages; and
performing a backup of data to a backup storage:
allocating buffer, the buffer being divided into a first half and a second half;
operating with the plurality of data pages in association with the first half and operating with the first half; and
in response to determining that the first half has become full:
operating with the first half in association with the backup storage; and
in parallel with the copying, operating with the plurality of data pages in association with the second half and operating with the second half,
being allocated.
Gottipati teaches/suggests a method comprising: performing a backup of data to a backup storage ([0023]-[0025]); allocating buffer ([0040]); operating in association with the backup storage ([0023]-[0025]); and being allocated ([0040]) (Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0025]; [0034]-[0045]; and [0052])
Dixon teaches/suggests a method comprising: having a plurality of pages (col. 6, ll. 14-35); and the buffer being divided into a first and a second (e.g. associated with first portion and second portion of FIFO architecture: Fig. 3; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 6, l. 35); operating with the plurality of data pages in association with the first and operating with the first (e.g. associated with FIFO storing/writing data in first portion of FIFO architecture: Fig. 3; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 6, l. 35); and operating with the first half (e.g. associated with first portion of FIFO architecture: Fig. 3; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 6, l. 35); and in parallel with the copying, operating with the plurality of data pages in association with the second and operating with the second (e.g. associated with FIFO architecture that after storing/writing data in first portion, subsequent data is stored in second portion and data in first portion would be forwarded/read accordingly, wherein dual port FIFO architecture allow simultaneous/parallel read/write access via corresponding ports: Fig. 3; col. 1, ll. 16-22; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 6, l. 35) (Fig. 3-4; col. 1, ll. 16-22; and col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35).
Wei teaches/suggests a method comprising: having first half and second half (e.g. associated with level of FIFO buffer memory at half full would have corresponding first half and second half: [0041]); operating with first half and operating with first half (e.g. associated with half full level of FIFO buffer memory that corresponds to first half: [0041])); and in response to determining that the first half has become full: operating with first half (e.g. associated with outputting from FIFO buffer memory in response to the FIFO buffer memory being filled to half full level: [0041]); and operating with second half and operating with second half (e.g. associated with second half of FIFO buffer memory after the first half of FIFO buffer memory being filled: [0041]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Gottipati’s buffering operations, Dixon’s DRAM architecture and Wei’s FIFO operations into Thompson’s method for the benefit of improving data transferring efficiency (Gottipati, [0004]-[0006]), using a single memory array for a plurality of FIFO buffer memories and dual-ported memory (Dixon, col. 1, ll. 41-53), and having the FIFO buffer operating at optimum level (Wei, [0041]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 4, Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein allocating the single buffer memory comprises: associating a first buffer pointer with a beginning address of the single buffer memory; and associating a second buffer pointer with an address offset from the first buffer pointer, wherein when one of the first buffer pointer or the second buffer pointer is used to retrieve the first or second subset of the plurality of data pages, the other one of the first buffer pointer or the second buffer pointer is used to copy the first or second subset of the plurality of data pages to the backup computer readable storage medium (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0025]; [0034]-[0045]; [0052]; Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35; and Wei, [0041]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 5, Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 4 above, where Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the second buffer pointer is associated with an address offset from the first buffer pointer by half the size of the single buffer memory (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0025]; [0034]-[0045]; [0052]; Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35; and Wei, [0041]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claim 1, as claim 9 is the computer system carrying out the method of claim 1, where Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: a plurality of Non-Uniform Memory Access (NUMA) nodes (Thompson, [0061]); at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computer system to perform a method (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; [0069]-[0079]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0025]; [0034]-[0045]; [0052]; Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35; and Wei, [0041]).
As per claims 12-13, claims 12-13 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 4-5, as claims 12-13 is the computer system carrying out the method of claims 4-5.
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 1 and 9.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 4-5.
As per claim 21, Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the one or more processing functions include a checksum function for performing a checksum error analysis on the first or second subsets of the plurality of data pages (e.g. associated with use of checksum for detecting error being well-known to one of ordinary skilled in the art: Gottipati, [0026]) (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0026]; [0034]-[0045]; [0052]; Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35; and Wei, [0041]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 22, Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the one or more processing functions include a decryption function for decrypting one or more of the first or second subsets of the plurality of data pages (e.g. associated with encrypted data would have obviously been decrypted after being received for processing: Gottipati, [0033]) (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0025]; [0033]-[0045]; [0052]; Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35; and Wei, [0041]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
Claims 6-8, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US Pub.: 2015/0052157) in view of Gottipati et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0028470), Dixon et al. (US Patent 5,568,443), and Wei (US Pub.: 2002/0154640) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Finnie et al. (US Pub.: 2006/0206489).
As per claim 6, Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Thompson, Gottipati and Dixon further teach/suggest the method comprising: having a first NUMA node (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0023]; [0034]-[0045]; [0052]; and Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35), but Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei do not expressly teach the method comprising: determining a NUMA node identifier associated with NUMA node.
Finnie teach/suggest a method comprising: determining a NUMA node identifier associated with NUMA node (e.g. associated with acquiring unique identifier for NUMA mode: [0014]) (Fig. 2-3; and [0012]-[0017]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Finnie’s operations associated with NUMA node into Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Wei’s method for the benefit of improving memory access pattern (Finnie, [0009]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
As per claim 7, Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon, Wei and Finnie teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 6 above, where Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Finnie further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein determining a NUMA node identifier comprises executing a get NUMA node identifier command and receiving the NUMA node identifier, wherein an invalid command indicates that the single buffer memory resides on multiple NUMA nodes (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0023]; [0034]-[0045]; [0052]; Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35; and Finnie, Fig. 2-3; [0012]-[0017]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 8, Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon, Wei and Finnie teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 7 above, where Thompson, Gottipati, Dixon and Finnie further teach/suggest the method further comprising: binding the one or more processing function to the NUMA node identifier, and wherein said binding constrains the one or more processing function to run exclusively on the first NUMA node (Thompson, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 4-5; [0025]-[0026]; [0055]-[0062]; Gottipati, Fig. 1-2; Fig. 6; [0004]-[0007]; [0020]-[0023]; [0034]-[0045]; [0052]; Dixon, Fig. 3-4; col. 4, l. 62 to col. 7, l. 35; and Finnie, Fig. 2-3; [0012]-[0017]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claims 14-16, claims 14-16 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 6-8, as claims 14-16 is the computer system carrying out the method of claims 6-8.
As per claims 19-20, claims 19-20 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 6-8.
II. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 March 11, 2026