DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-6, drawn to an apparatus, classified in H01J37/321.
II. Claims 7-10, drawn to method, classified in H01L21/3065.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions II and I are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process such as a deposition method, or a chamber cleaning method.
During a telephone conversation between examiner Allan W. Olsen and attorney Il Nam Koh on 07/15/2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-6. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collins et al., US 7,291,545.
With respect to independent claim 1, Collins et al. shows the invention as claimed including an inductively coupled plasma etching apparatus comprising: a reaction chamber 8010 having an inner space to which a gas source 8045 is provided; an upper coil part 8050/8052 configured to induce an electric field into the inner space of the reaction chamber and form an inductively coupled plasma from the gas source by the electric field; a mounting part 8025 which faces the upper coil part and on which an object 8030 to be etched by the inductively coupled plasma is disposed; and a lower electrode part (part coupled to RF power 8065) provided on a lower side of the mounting part; (see, for example, Fig. 79 and its description, Fig. 79 is shown below).
With respect to the lower electrode part inducing at least any one of ions and
neutral active species forming the inductively coupled plasma and involved in etching toward the object to be etched disposed on the mounting part, and wherein a frequency of the lower electrode part is lower than a frequency of the upper coil part, it should be noted that such limitations are directed to method limitations instead of apparatus limitations, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The lower electrode part of the apparatus of Collins et al. is capable of inducing at least any one of ions and neutral active species forming the inductively coupled plasma and involved in etching toward the object to be etched disposed on the mounting part, wherein a frequency of the lower electrode part being lower than a frequency of the upper coil part, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should be noted that Collins et al. clearly discloses that the frequency of the lower electrode part is lower than the frequency of the upper coil part (see, for example col. 38-line 3 to col. 40-line 32).
Regarding claim 2, Collins et al. further discloses a radio frequency power supply source 8055/8057 for applying radio frequency power to the upper coil part; a low frequency power supply source 8065 for applying low frequency power to the lower electrode part; a radio frequency power matching part 8060/8062 provided in a power supply line between the radio frequency power supply source and the upper coil part; and a low frequency power matching part 8070 provided in a power supply line between the low frequency power supply source and the lower electrode part; (see, for example, Fig. 79 and its description, Fig. 79 is shown above).
With respect to the lower frequency power supply source applying the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The lower frequency power supply source of the apparatus of Collins et al. is capable of applying the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should be noted that Collins et al. does teach that the low frequency power supply source applies the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse (see, for example, col. 40-line 33 to col. 41-line 29).
Concerning claim 5, it should further be noted that the apparatus of Collins et al. comprises a dielectric 8015 disposed under the upper coil part; and a pressure adjustment part 8035/8037 configured to adjust a pressure of the inner space of the reaction chamber.
Regarding claim 6, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The apparatus of Collins et al. is capable of being used for an etching method, wherein a pattern which is formed on the object to be etched as the object is etched has the claimed critical dimension (CD) ratio between the claimed top layer and the claimed bottom layer, and is vertically etched at the claimed pattern size in a direction from the top layer to the bottom layer, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koshimizu, US 5,935,373.
With respect to independent claim 1, Koshimizu shows the invention as claimed including an inductively coupled plasma etching apparatus comprising: a reaction chamber 102a having an inner space to which a gas source 158 is provided; an upper coil part 112 configured to induce an electric field into the inner space of the reaction chamber and form an inductively coupled plasma from the gas source by the electric field; a mounting part 106 which faces the upper coil part and on which an object W to be etched by the inductively coupled plasma is disposed; and a lower electrode part (part coupled to RF power 150) provided on a lower side of the mounting part; (see, for example, Figs. 1-2 and their descriptions, Fig. 1 is shown below).
With respect to the lower electrode part inducing at least any one of ions and
neutral active species forming the inductively coupled plasma and involved in etching toward the object to be etched disposed on the mounting part, and wherein a frequency of the lower electrode part is lower than a frequency of the upper coil part, it should be noted that such limitations are directed to method limitations instead of apparatus limitations, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The lower electrode part of the apparatus of Koshimizu is capable of inducing at least any one of ions and neutral active species forming the inductively coupled plasma and involved in etching toward the object to be etched disposed on the mounting part, wherein a frequency of the lower electrode part being lower than a frequency of the upper coil part, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should be noted that Koshimizu clearly discloses that the lower electrode part of the apparatus induce the active species toward the object to be etched and uses a bias power at the lower frequency of 2 MHz which is a lower frequency than a frequency of 13.56 MHz used to ignite an inductive coil (see, for example col. 5-lines 21-26).
Regarding claim 2, Koshimizu further discloses a radio frequency power supply source 118 for applying radio frequency power to the upper coil part; a low frequency power supply source 150 for applying low frequency power to the lower electrode part; a radio frequency power matching part 114a/114b provided in a power supply line between the radio frequency power supply source and the upper coil part; and a low frequency power matching part 146 provided in a power supply line between the low frequency power supply source and the lower electrode part; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown above).
With respect to the lower frequency power supply source applying the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The lower frequency power supply source of the apparatus of Koshimizu is capable of applying the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should be noted that Koshimizu does teach that the low frequency power supply source applies the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse (see, for example, col. 5-lines 33-41 and col. 6, lines 24-46).
Concerning claim 5, it should further be noted that the apparatus of Koshimizu comprises a dielectric 108 disposed under the upper coil part; and a pressure adjustment part 162 configured to adjust a pressure of the inner space of the reaction chamber (see, for example, col. 5, lines 46-52).
Regarding claim 6, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The apparatus of Koshimizu is capable of being used for an etching method, wherein a pattern which is formed on the object to be etched as the object is etched has the claimed critical dimension (CD) ratio between the claimed top layer and the claimed bottom layer, and is vertically etched at the claimed pattern size in a direction from the top layer to the bottom layer, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar, US 2007/0072435.
With respect to independent claim 1, Kumar shows the invention as claimed including an inductively coupled plasma etching apparatus comprising: a reaction chamber 100 having an inner space to which a gas source 120 is provided; an upper coil part 110 configured to induce an electric field into the inner space of the reaction chamber and form an inductively coupled plasma from the gas source by the electric field; a mounting part 124 which faces the upper coil part and on which an object 122 to be etched by the inductively coupled plasma is disposed; and a lower electrode part (part coupled to RF power 140) provided on a lower side of the mounting part; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
With respect to the lower electrode part inducing at least any one of ions and
neutral active species forming the inductively coupled plasma and involved in etching toward the object to be etched disposed on the mounting part, and wherein a frequency of the lower electrode part is lower than a frequency of the upper coil part, it should be noted that such limitations are directed to method limitations instead of apparatus limitations, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The lower electrode part of the apparatus of Kumar is capable of inducing at least any one of ions and neutral active species forming the inductively coupled plasma and involved in etching toward the object to be etched disposed on the mounting part, wherein a frequency of the lower electrode part being lower than a frequency of the upper coil part, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should be noted that Kumar clearly discloses that the frequency of the lower electrode part is lower than the frequency of the upper coil part (see, for example paragraphs 0022-0023).
Regarding claim 2, Kumar further discloses a radio frequency power supply source 112 for applying radio frequency power to the upper coil part; a low frequency power supply source 140 for applying low frequency power to the lower electrode part; a radio frequency power matching part 114 provided in a power supply line between the radio frequency power supply source and the upper coil part; and a low frequency power matching part 142 provided in a power supply line between the low frequency power supply source and the lower electrode part; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown above).
With respect to the lower frequency power supply source applying the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The lower frequency power supply source of the apparatus of Kumar is capable of applying the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should be noted that Kumar does teach that the low frequency power supply source applies the low frequency power to the lower electrode part as a pulse (see, for example, paragraphs 0023-0024 and 0045).
Concerning claim 5, it should further be noted that the apparatus of Kumar comprises a dielectric 108 disposed under the upper coil part; and a pressure adjustment part 162/164 configured to adjust a pressure of the inner space of the reaction chamber.
Regarding claim 6, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The apparatus of Kumar is capable of being used for an etching method, wherein a pattern which is formed on the object to be etched as the object is etched has the claimed critical dimension (CD) ratio between the claimed top layer and the claimed bottom layer, and is vertically etched at the claimed pattern size in a direction from the top layer to the bottom layer, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al., US 7,291,545 in view of Smythe et al., US 2021/0381107 or Lang et al., US 6,709,715.
Regarding claims 3-4, Collins is applied as above but does not expressly disclose that the apparatus comprises the claimed gas supply unit. Smythe et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a gas supply unit configured to provide the gas source into the inner space of a reaction chamber 120, wherein the gas supply unit includes: a liquid source storage part 102 configured to store a liquid source which is in a liquid state at normal temperature (see, for example, paragraphs 0020-0021); a heating part 106 configured to surround the liquid source storage part and heat the liquid source stored in the liquid source storage part to form the gas source from the liquid source; a carrier gas 108 for carrying the gas source; a flow rate adjustment part 110 configured to adjust a flow rate of at least one of the gas source and the carrier gas; and a gas source supply part 112/148 configured to supply the gas source carried by the carrier gas into the inner space of the reaction chamber; and wherein the gas supply unit includes a gas source storage part 138 configured to store a gas source which is in a gaseous state at normal temperature; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Also with respect to claims 3-4, Lang et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a gas supply unit configured to provide the gas source into the inner space of a reaction chamber 30, wherein the gas supply unit includes: a liquid source storage part 10 configured to store a liquid source which is in a liquid state at normal temperature; a heating part 15/306 configured to surround the liquid source storage part and heat the liquid source stored in the liquid source storage part to form the gas source from the liquid source; a carrier gas (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 4) for carrying the gas source; a flow rate adjustment part 20 configured to adjust a flow rate of at least one of the gas source and the carrier gas; and a gas source supply part (pipe supplying the gas) configured to supply the gas source carried by the carrier gas into the inner space of the reaction chamber; and wherein the gas supply unit includes a gas source storage part (sources of O2, Ar, N2, or H2 shown in Fig. 1 after valve 20 and before reaction chamber 30) configured to store a gas source which is in a gaseous state at normal temperature; (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 4 and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 4 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Collins et al. as to further comprise the claimed gas supply unit because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently use liquid material as the processing source(s), and thereby optimize the capability of the apparatus and versatility of the methods being performed within the apparatus.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshimizu, US 5,935,373 in view of Smythe et al., US 2021/0381107 or Lang et al., US 6,709,715.
Regarding claims 3-4, Koshimizu is applied as above but does not expressly disclose that the apparatus comprises the claimed gas supply unit. Smythe et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a gas supply unit configured to provide the gas source into the inner space of a reaction chamber 120, wherein the gas supply unit includes: a liquid source storage part 102 configured to store a liquid source which is in a liquid state at normal temperature (see, for example, paragraphs 0020-0021); a heating part 106 configured to surround the liquid source storage part and heat the liquid source stored in the liquid source storage part to form the gas source from the liquid source; a carrier gas 108 for carrying the gas source; a flow rate adjustment part 110 configured to adjust a flow rate of at least one of the gas source and the carrier gas; and a gas source supply part 112/148 configured to supply the gas source carried by the carrier gas into the inner space of the reaction chamber; and wherein the gas supply unit includes a gas source storage part 138 configured to store a gas source which is in a gaseous state at normal temperature; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Also with respect to claims 3-4, Lang et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a gas supply unit configured to provide the gas source into the inner space of a reaction chamber 30, wherein the gas supply unit includes: a liquid source storage part 10 configured to store a liquid source which is in a liquid state at normal temperature; a heating part 15/306 configured to surround the liquid source storage part and heat the liquid source stored in the liquid source storage part to form the gas source from the liquid source; a carrier gas (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 4) for carrying the gas source; a flow rate adjustment part 20 configured to adjust a flow rate of at least one of the gas source and the carrier gas; and a gas source supply part (pipe supplying the gas) configured to supply the gas source carried by the carrier gas into the inner space of the reaction chamber; and wherein the gas supply unit includes a gas source storage part (sources of O2, Ar, N2, or H2 shown in Fig. 1 after valve 20 and before reaction chamber 30) configured to store a gas source which is in a gaseous state at normal temperature; (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 4 and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 4 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Koshimizu as to further comprise the claimed gas supply unit because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently use liquid material as the processing source(s), and thereby optimize the capability of the apparatus and versatility of the methods being performed within the apparatus.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar, US 2007/0072435 in view of Smythe et al., US 2021/0381107 or Lang et al., US 6,709,715.
Regarding claims 3-4, Kumar is applied as above but does not expressly disclose that the apparatus comprises the claimed gas supply unit. Smythe et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a gas supply unit configured to provide the gas source into the inner space of a reaction chamber 120, wherein the gas supply unit includes: a liquid source storage part 102 configured to store a liquid source which is in a liquid state at normal temperature (see, for example, paragraphs 0020-0021); a heating part 106 configured to surround the liquid source storage part and heat the liquid source stored in the liquid source storage part to form the gas source from the liquid source; a carrier gas 108 for carrying the gas source; a flow rate adjustment part 110 configured to adjust a flow rate of at least one of the gas source and the carrier gas; and a gas source supply part 112/148 configured to supply the gas source carried by the carrier gas into the inner space of the reaction chamber; and wherein the gas supply unit includes a gas source storage part 138 configured to store a gas source which is in a gaseous state at normal temperature; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Also with respect to claims 3-4, Lang et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a gas supply unit configured to provide the gas source into the inner space of a reaction chamber 30, wherein the gas supply unit includes: a liquid source storage part 10 configured to store a liquid source which is in a liquid state at normal temperature; a heating part 15/306 configured to surround the liquid source storage part and heat the liquid source stored in the liquid source storage part to form the gas source from the liquid source; a carrier gas (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 4) for carrying the gas source; a flow rate adjustment part 20 configured to adjust a flow rate of at least one of the gas source and the carrier gas; and a gas source supply part (pipe supplying the gas) configured to supply the gas source carried by the carrier gas into the inner space of the reaction chamber; and wherein the gas supply unit includes a gas source storage part (sources of O2, Ar, N2, or H2 shown in Fig. 1 after valve 20 and before reaction chamber 30) configured to store a gas source which is in a gaseous state at normal temperature; (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 4 and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 4 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kumar as to further comprise the claimed gas supply unit because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently use liquid material as the processing source(s), and thereby optimize the capability of the apparatus and versatility of the methods being performed within the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hama et al. (US 5,525,159) is cited for its teachings of a gas unit including a liquid source.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
September 18, 2026