Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US 20220299887 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses, in FIG. 2, a semiconductor device comprising a lower structure with ‘cell region’ (chip region) CHR, and ‘scribe lines’ (scribe region) SL surrounding the chip region. The scribe region comprises ‘alignment key regions’ (alignment patterns), as shown in FIG. 17, a first pattern thereof includes ‘alignment key patterns’ 242, which extend in a first direction X (paragraph 0101) on the scribe lane region. Additionally, “inner fence” (sub-support pattern) 248 and the copies thereof (creating an overall support pattern) extend in a second direction (Y) intersecting the first direction and is between the first alignment keys. Han further discloses, in FIG. 17, that each of the first sub support patterns is located between two first alignment keys adjacent to one another in the second direction among the first alignment keys. The examiner notes that first sub-support patterns need not be directly between two first alignment keys adjacent to each other in the second direction among the first alignment keys (i.e., directly between such that an uncurved line may be drawn which overlaps the two first alignment keys and the first sub-support patterns in a plan view) in order to be between the two first alignment keys adjacent to each other in the second direction among the first alignment keys. See annotated FIG. 17 below.
Regarding claim 4, Han further discloses, in FIG. 2, that there is a second AKR region (with its own sub-support pattern) directly below a first AKR region in the second (Y) direction. Therefore, a second sub-support pattern in that second AKR region is between the first two alignment keys adjacent to each other among the first alignment keys, and the first sub-support pattern in that AKR region is spaces apart from the sub-support pattern in the first AKR region in the second direction (in other words, the first sub-support patterns are spaced apart from each other in the second direction).
Regarding claim 6, Han further discloses, in FIG. 17, that the first alignment keys and first sub-support patterns are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 7, Han further discloses, in FIG. 17, a second sub-support pattern (unlabeled) which is identical to the first (and is arranged along the second direction, Y) and located in the first direction with respect to the first sub-support pattern.
Regarding claim 8, Han further discloses that the first and second directions are 90 degrees from one another (see paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 13, Han further teaches, in FIG. 3, a cell contact (support pillar) CLC spaced apart from the first and second alignment patterns (as it is in the chip region CHR). The examiner notes that while the cell contact may be used as an electrical contact, its position and composition also means that it provides mechanical support to the structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20220299887 A1) in view of Tagami (US 20170062350 A1).
Han teaches, in FIG. 5, an “inner fence” 128 which extends vertically to the lower structure 112 (which can be seen to be part of the lower chip region in FIG. 3).
Han does not teach that the sub-support patterns have a circular pillar shape.
Tagami teaches, in FIGs. 8 and 9, a semiconductor structure comprising alignment marks 54, and circular “columnar” supports 54a2 which extend into a lower structure, as shown in FIG. 9
It would have been obvious… to modify the sub-support pattern such that the pattern the has a circular pillar shape and extends to the lower structure, as taught by Tagami. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to, for example, allow for force transfer directly from an upper level to the lower level, increasing overall durability, in addition, circular pillar shapes allow for easier less complex etching steps, reducing manufacturing cost.
Claim(s) 3 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20220299887 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Han further teaches, in FIG. 17, that the first sub-support pattern has a major (in other words, longer) axis in the second (Y) direction, and a minor axis in the first (X) direction. In addition, in FIG. 5, an “inner fence” 128 which extends vertically to the lower structure 112 (which can be seen to be part of the lower chip region in FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to create the sub-support pattern taught by Han such that the sub-support patterns extend vertically to the lower structure, as taught by Han in a different portion of the device. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to, for example, ensure effective force transfer from the top of the device to the lower structure, increasing durability.
Regarding claim 11, Han further teaches, in 0066, a that the fence segments of the OLP region (separate from the Key region) may be made of a conductive material (namely, metal).
It would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Han in the OLP region to the first sub-support patterns such that the sub-support patterns are made of metal (a conductive material). One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so due to the excellent durability of metal supports.
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches, in FIG. 13, sub-patterns 132y extending parallel to one another in the second (Y) direction (alignment keys) and a second support pattern comprising inner fence (support sub-pattern) 138x and its copies arranged along the first direction (X) between the second alignment keys.
It would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Han from FIG. 13 to the alignment pattern also taught by Han such that the alignment key region which is a rotation of the first alignment key pattern along a second direction, as taught by Han. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to, for example, ensure alignment along the second direction during manufacturing.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20220299887 A1) in view of Ranaweera (US 20190311995 A1).
Han teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach a stack structure of alternating conductive and interlayer insulating layers.
Ranaweera teaches, in FIG 5 and paragraph 0054, a stacked structure involving conductive layers (501, 503) and interlayer insulating layers (502, 504) on a scribe region 505.
It would have been obvious to modify the overall semiconductor device taught by Han such that the structure that is drilled down into by the scribe structure is a stack structure, as taught by Ranaweera. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so because such a structure reduces stress on the device (as Ranaweera call this stacked structure a ‘stress reduction structure’ in paragraph 0054).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20220299887 A1) in view of Kodama (US 20200294931 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches the limitations of claim 1 but does not teach that the first alignment keys include an insulating layer.
Kodama teaches, in FIG. 8 and paragraph 0111, an alignment mark 40a which comprises interlayer insulating film 43.
It would have been obvious to modify the overall semiconductor device taught by Han such that the first alignment keys include an insulating layer, as taught by Kodama. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to do so because making the alignment keys out of a conductive material would introduce additional parasitic capacitance to the device.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the errantly checked box 12(a)(3) of Office Action Summary (Form PTOL-326) of the previous office action. The examiner acknowledges that this application has not been filed as a National Stage Application under 35 U.S.C. paragraph 371 (and instead that the present application has been filed as a direct non-provisional under 35 U.S.C. paragraph 111(a) claiming foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. paragraph 119(a)). The Office Action Summary attached to this form has been corrected.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Although the first alignment key inner fences 248 is not disposed directly between two first alignment key patterns 242 adjacent to each other in the second direction Y, the first alignment key inner fences 248 are disposed between the two first alignment key patterns 242 adjacent to each other in the second direction Y, as detailed above. See MPEP 2111.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4, 6-8, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection for claim 1 (detailed above) means that claims 2, 3, and 10 (which each depend from claim 1) are not allowable for the reasons that claim 1 is allowable (as claim 1 is not presently in condition for allowance, because of the present rejection thereof under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) detailed above). See MPEP 2260.01.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection for claim 1 (detailed above) means that claims 2, 3, and 10 (which each depend from claim 1) are not allowable for the reasons that claim 1 is allowable (as claim 1 is not presently in condition for allowance, because of the present rejection thereof under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) detailed above). See MPEP 2260.01.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897