Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The examiner notes that foreign patent literature is cited in this action. Hereafter, all quotations and figure numbers refer to the foreign patent document as it appears in the translated copy provided with this action or previous actions.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 10-11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klowak (US 20160240471 A1) in view of Ecton (US 20220352076 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Klowak teaches, in figures 2A, 2B, and 2C, a “semiconductor device structure” which may be used for high power transistors (abstract, describes transistor package). The package has a transistor chip 102 with a first side and a second side opposite the first side, ‘source contact’ 112, ‘drain contact’ 114, and ‘gate contact’ 116 (electrode metallizations), see paragraph 0054. Additionally, ‘copper foil layers’ 130 (first structured metal layer) comprise a ‘drain contact area’ 134, ‘source contact area’ 132, and ‘gate contact areas’ 136, and is facing the first side of the of the power transistor chip (electrode metallizations). FIG. 2B shows a second ‘copper foil’ layer 140, which has a ‘source contact pad’ 142, ‘drain contact pad’ 144, ‘gate contact pad’ 146, and ‘source sense contact pad’ 148 (all of which can be called package terminal pads, see FIG. 2B). Further, ‘dielectric body’ 127 is between the two structured metal layers, and the structured metal layers metal layers have a plurality of vias 190 running through the insulating layer 127 connecting portions of the first structured metal layer to the terminal pads of the second structured metal layer. Finally, the source-sense terminal pad is only on the second structured metal layer, so the gate-source current path goes only to the second structured metal layer, while the drain-source current path runs through both layers (as evidenced by the metallizations for the drain and source on both structured metal layers). The combined structure of the two metallization layers and the insulating layer makes up a multi-layered laminate substrate.
Klowak does not teach that the multi-layer laminate substrate to which is mounted to the power transistor chip at the first side, such that the multi-layer laminate substrate is disposed exclusively at the first side of the power transistor chip.
Ecton teaches, in FIG. 1, a transistor package comprising “a first integrated circuit device” 270 which “may be any appropriate device . . . including, but not limited to . . . a chipset, . . . and the like” (the examiner notes that a chipset comprises at least a chip, therefore this is a chip) mounted to “substrate” 110 to which the chip is mounted at a first side, such that the substrate is disposed exclusively at a first side of the chip; [0019] states “For purposes of this disclosure, dielectric material may be incorporated into an integrated circuit package as layers of laminate film or as a resin molded over integrated circuit dice mounted on the substrate,” therefore the substrate is a multi-layered laminate substrate. The multi-layered laminate substrate comprises “conductive traces 212 (including routes and bond pads)” and “high-density conductive traces 214 (including routes and bond pads)” (see [0041], these make up a first structured metal layer) facing the first side of the chip, and a plurality of “substrate-to-board pond pads” 260 (see [0042]) which make up a second structured metal layer, each pad of the second structured metal layer being electrically connected to the first structured metal layer by vias 182 and 174 which run through the “mold material” 170 (insulating layer) that separates the first and second structure metal layers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the device taught by Klowak such that the multi-layer laminate substrate is disposed exclusively at the first side of the power transistor chip, as taught by Ecton. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so because, for example, doing so enables a flip chip configuration: “Standard flip-chip processes may be used to connect the integrated circuit devices to the substrate for robust power delivery and to the bridge within the substrate. Thus, a resulting integrated circuit package may be considerably smaller than an integrated circuit package that is only interconnected with conductive routes within the substrate” (Ecton, bottom of [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, as shown above, Klowak further teaches that the drain-source current path is on both the first and second structured metal layers, while the gate-source current path is only on the second structured metal layer.
Regarding claim 5, Klowak further teaches, in FIG. 2B, that the source sense package terminal pad and the source package terminal pad are formed by separate metal segments of the second structured metal layer.
Regarding claim 6, As shown above, Klowak teaches that the drain-source current path is on the first and second structured metal layers, and that the gate-source current path is on the second structured metal layer. Klowak does not disclose that the gate-source current path is on the first structured metal layer
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply exchange the structured metal layer in which the gate-source current path flows in the overall transistor packaging structure taught by Klowak. The examiner notes that, in this context, the elements of the ‘first structured metal layer’ taught by Klowak could be used as package terminal pads, and thus the first structured metal layer could become the second structured metal layer and vice-versa, as is appreciated by one having ordinary skill in the art. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to, for example, reduce parasitic inductance in the packaging structure by ensuring the partial separation of the gate-source and source-drain current paths, reducing parasitic inductance.
Regarding claim 10, Klowak further teaches, in FIG. 4A, a dedicated via (directly on source sense package terminal pad 448) in through which no drain-source current is flowing.
Regarding claim 11, Klowak further teaches, in FIG. 1A, that the first structured metal layer comprises a multi-finger drain segment connected to the drain electrode metallization (see FIG. 2C), and a multi-finger source-electrode metallization connected to the source electrode metallization, wherein both segments are interdigitated.
Regarding claim 15, Klowak further teaches in paragraph 0052, that the power transistor chip 102 comprises a lateral GaN power transistor.
Regarding claim 16, Klowak teaches, in paragraph 0005, a GaN power device patent included as a reference for which “a breakdown voltage exceeding 1200V can be achieved.” Later, in paragraph 0007, Klowak teaches that improved interconnect and packaging schemes are required to take advantage of such a structure (and that the rest of the disclosure will do so). This therefore teaches that the aforementioned patent, included as a reference to Klowak, in combination with the aforementioned structure of claim 1, teaches a transistor chip configured to switch drain-source voltages greater than 50 V.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klowak (US 20160240471 A1) in view of in view of Ecton (US 20220352076 A1) in further view of Ueda (US 20210336017 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Klowak and Ecton teach the limitations of claim 1, as explained above. Klowak does not teach that the source sense package terminal pad and the source package terminal pad are formed by a continuous metal segment.
Ueda teaches, in FIG. 7, a “source kelvin electrode” MSS, which is formed of the same continuous metal segment as “main MOS source electrode” MSF.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the transistor package taught by Klowak such that the source sense package terminal pad and the source package terminal pad are formed of a continuous metal segment of the second structured metal layer, as taught by Ueda. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to, for example, reduce the area of etching after the deposition of the second structured metal layer, thereby reducing the risk of over-etching and increasing yield.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klowak (US 20160240471 A1) in view of Ecton (US 20220352076 A1) in further view of Suzuki (JP H08340082 A).
Regarding claim 4, as explained above, Klowak and Ecton teach the limitations of claim 1, Klowak further teaches that the drain-source current path is on both the first and second structured metal layers, while the gate-source current path is only on the second structured metal layer, as shown above. Additionally, the structures of the first and second structured metal layers (FIG. 2A and 2B) show lateral conductive paths for the source-drain and gate-source current paths to flow.
Klowak does not disclose that the drain-source and gate-source current paths go in two different lateral directions.
Suzuki teaches, in paragraph 23 of “Description of the Preferred Embodiments,” that the structure described by FIG. 1 has the property that the drain-source current foes not at all flow in the gate-source path.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the transistor package taught by Klowak such that the drain-source current path is in a lateral direction Y, which is different from a lateral direction X which the gate-source current path flows on the first and second structured metal layers. Suzuki teaches that such a setup reduces power consumption and eliminates the loss effect of switching (paragraph 23 of “Description of the Preferred Embodiments”).
Regarding claim 8, as shown above, Klowak teaches two structured metal layers, wherein the source-drain current flows on the first and second structured metal layers, and the gate-source current flows on the second structured metal layer.
Also shown above, Suzuki teaches the complete decoupling of the source-drain and gate-source current paths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to modify the transistor packaging structure taught by Klowak such that the drain-source current path is only on the second structured metal layer and that the gate-source current path is only on the first metal layer. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so by the benefits taught by Suzuki above. The examiner notes that, with only two metal layers, there are only two possibilities for routing the source-gate and gate-source currents such that they are on different layers (and thus ensuring that their current paths are decoupled).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klowak (US 20160240471 A1) in view of Ecton (US 20220352076 A1) in further view of Roberts (US 20160380090 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Klowak and Ecton teach the limitations of claim 1, and Klowak further teaches that the source package terminal is arranged along a fist side of the package, and the drain terminal is arranged along a second side.
Klowak does not teach that the gate package terminal is arranged at a corner of the first side of the package.
Roberts teaches, in FIG. 7A, a semiconductor package with a source terminal pad 762 on a first side and a drain terminal pad 764, on a second side, with a gate package terminal pad, 766, arranged at a corner of the first side of the transistor package.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Klowak with Roberts such that the package terminal pads are in the above described orientation. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to create such a terminal pad layout in order to, for example, ensure that the gate and drain terminal pads are spaced apart, decreasing parasitic inductance.
Regarding claim 13, Roberts further teaches that the source package terminal pad is arranged along a first side of the transistor package, and that the drain package terminal pad is arranged along a second side opposite the first, as shown above, and further teaches, in FIG. 7A, a gate package terminal pad arrange at a third side of the transistor package in a region spaced apart from a corner of the first or second side of the transistor package.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the transistor packaging structure taught by Klowak such that the source package terminal pad is arranged along a first side of the transistor package and the drain package terminal pad is arranged along a second side of the transistor package, and the gate package terminal pad is arranged along a third side which is spaced apart from a corner of the first or second side of the transistor package, as taught by Roberts. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to ensure that the gate and drain terminal pads are spaced apart, decreasing parasitic inductance.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klowak (US 20160240471 A1) in view of Ecton (US 20220352076 A1) in further view of McKnight (US 9589868 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Klowak teaches the limitations of claim 1, however, Klowak does not teach a mold compound covering the substrate outside of the transistor chip.
McKnight teaches, in FIG 4 (prior art), a “GaN-on-Si” die which is surrounded by a “module fill” (mold compound embedding) 209. The examiner notes that the mold compound embedding is on the “cool plate metallization” 203, and “cool plate ceramic” 201 (multilayer laminate substrate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the mold compound embedding taught by McKnight in the overall transistor package taught by Klowak. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to, for example, further protect the power chip from oxidation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new limitation “. . . the power transistor chip is connected mounted at the first side, such that the multi-layer laminate substrate is disposed exclusively at the first side of the power transistor chip . . .” required additional search and consideration as necessitated by amendment. See the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897