DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 8 in the reply filed on 04 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 and 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Issari et al. (WO 2021/225778), as cited on the IDS, in view of Tapio et al. (WO 2020/121278).
Regarding claims 1-6; Issari et al. teaches a composition comprising a photocrosslinker of Formula I:
Wherein R is H, a C1-C30 alkyl, or a halogen, R1 is H or CH3, and X when present is a C1 to C30 alkyl group [00043-00045]. Issari et al. teaches the composition further comprising a co-initiator [0050].
Issari et al. teaches the composition may further comprise a filler [00054], however fails to explicitly teach inorganic fine particles. Tapio et al. teaches a hot melt pressure sensitive adhesive composition comprising fillers, such as metal particles [p12, line1-11]. Issari et al. and Tapio et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hot melt pressure sensitive adhesives suitable for use in producing tapes. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the metal particles fillers, as taught by Tapio et al., to the composition of Issari et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to modify cohesive strength and stiffness, as suggested by Tapio et al. [p12, line3-5].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Issari et al. (WO 2021/225778), as cited on the IDS, in view of Tapio et al. (WO 2020/121278).
Regarding claim 8; Issari et al. teaches a composition comprising a photocrosslinker of Formula I:
Wherein R is H, a C1-C30 alkyl, or a halogen, R1 is H or CH3, and X when present is a C1 to C30 alkyl group [00043-00045]; which reads on the claimed compound wherein Ara01 and Ara02 is an aromatic group having 6 carbons, Ra01 is a radically polymerizable group, Xa01 is O, ma1 is 1 and ma2 is 0. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); see MPEP §2123.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767