DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The first and second direction as recited in the claims is interpreted to mean a direction (X,Y,Z) perpendicular to the crease of the folded or bent portion.
Claim 2 recites “a tab of the first electrode plate is located at an edge of the first electrode plate except for a bent portion” which is understood to mean that the tab is located at an edge and is not located in the bent portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 8, 10, 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the end" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the tab of the first electrode plate” and “the tab of the second electrode plate” in line 1 which both lack antecedent basis in the claim. The claim is dependent on claim 1, but tabs are not introduced until claim 2.
Claim 5 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the surface of the bent portion facing away from the first electrode plate” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the surface of the inert zone” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites “the edge of the second electrode plate that is provided with no tab” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites “the shell” and “the bent portion” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 19 recites “the edge of the second electrode plate that is provided with no tab” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamafuku et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2019096466A) in view of Okuda et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2013143225A).
Regarding claim 1, Yamafuku et al. discloses a battery cell (storage element 1, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), comprising: a shell (case 3 and/or insulating member 6, Figs. 1-2 and 5); and an electrode assembly arranged in the shell (Fig. 2) as shown below:
Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate (first electrode 21) and a second electrode plate (second electrode 22) having an opposite polarity to the first electrode plate (para. [0027]); the first electrode plate is repeatedly folded in a first direction such that the first electrode plate comprises a plurality of first stack sections connected and stacked in sequence, and the second electrode plate is folded once in a second direction such that the second electrode plate comprises two second stack sections connected to each other, the second direction being perpendicular or parallel to the first direction (is parallel, Fig. 6 and Fig. 12) as shown below:
Yamafuku et al. discloses the second stack sections and the first stack sections are stacked alternately in sequence (Fig. 5 and Fig. 6).
Yamafuku et al. does not expressly disclose a bent portion of the second electrode plate is in contact with an inner wall of the shell.
However, Okuda et al. discloses a battery cell with a shell (case 20) and teaches placing bent portions (bent portions 31 and 32) in contact with the shell (para. [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein a bent portion of the second electrode plate is in contact with an inner wall of the shell.
The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to place the bent portion in contact with the inner wall of the shell in order to allow for conductive heat transfer to keep the battery cell cool (Okuda et al., para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein a tab of the first electrode plate is located at an edge of the first electrode plate except for a bent portion; and/or (and) a tab of the second electrode plate is located at an edge of the second electrode plate except for the bent portion (Fig. 4) as shown below:
Regarding claim 3, Yamafuku et al. discloses the second direction is parallel to the first direction (shown above for claim 1), the tab of the first electrode plate is located at the edge of the first electrode plate adjacent to the bent portion (Fig. 4, shown above for claim 2), and the tab of the second electrode plate is located at the edge of the second electrode plate adjacent to the bent portion (Fig. 4, shown above for claim 2).
It is noted that Yamafuku et al. does not expressly disclose the first optional limitation: “the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, the tab of the first electrode plate is located at the edge of the first electrode plate adjacent to the bent portion, and the tab of the second electrode plate is located at the end of the second electrode plate away from the bent portion”.
Regarding claim 4, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the tab of the first electrode plate and the tab of the second electrode plate are located on the same side or on two opposite sides (same side – Fig. 4 as shown above for claim 2, all the tabs are located on the uppermost side).
Regarding claim 5, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the tab of the first electrode plate and the tab of the second electrode plate are located on the same side (Fig. 4, as shown above for claim 2), and the tab of the first electrode plate and the tab of the second electrode plate are arranged staggered in the first direction (the positive tabs 224 are arranged on the left side in the first/folding direction and the negative tabs 235 are arranged on the right side in the first/folding direction, Fig. 4) as shown below:
Regarding claim 6, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein at least one of the two second stack sections of the second electrode plate is provided with a tab.
Regarding claim 7, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the bent portion of the second electrode plate is insulated from or electrically connected (Yamafuku et al. discloses it is insulated) to the inner wall of the shell in that Yamafuku et al. discloses the bent portion comprises a separator section (separator 25) which has an insulating property (para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the second electrode plate has an inert zone (containing no active material), the inert zone comprises the bent portion of the second electrode plate, and the inert zone is coated with no active material (the active layer 222 is not present in the bent portion, Fig. 5, para. [0050], the bent portion is part of a separator which is made from an insulating material, pars. [0053]-[0054]) as indicated below (Fig. 5):
Regarding claim 10, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the surface of the inert zone of the second electrode plate facing the first electrode plate is provided with an insulating material (the active layer 222 is not present on either side of the bent portion, Fig. 5, para. [0050], the bent portion is part of a separator which is made from an insulating material, pars. [0053]-[0054]) as indicated below (Fig. 5):
Regarding claim 15, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the first electrode plate is a negative electrode plate (para. [0027]), and the second electrode plate is a positive electrode plate (para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 16, Yamafuku et al. discloses a battery (para. 104) comprising:
a packaging box (Fig. 23); and the battery cell of claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1 above),
wherein the battery cell is arranged in the packaging box (Fig. 23) as shown below:
Regarding claim 18, Yamafuku et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a battery cell (storage element 1, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), comprising: providing a first electrode plate (first electrode 21), and repeatedly folding the first electrode plate (para. [0001]) in a first direction such that the first electrode plate comprises a plurality of first stack sections connected and stacked in sequence (Fig. 12) as shown above for claim 1; providing a second electrode plate (second electrode 22) having an opposite polarity to the first electrode plate (para. [0027]), and folding the second electrode plate once in a second direction (para. [0019]) such that the second electrode plate comprises two second stack sections connected to each other (Fig. 12 and as shown above for claim 1), the second direction being perpendicular or parallel to the first direction (parallel as shown above for claim 1); inserting the second electrode plate into the first electrode plate (as indicated by arrows in Fig. 4) such that the second stack sections and the first stack sections are stacked alternately in sequence (Figs. 4-5 and 12) as shown below:
Yamafuku et al. discloses obtaining an electrode assembly comprising the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3); and assembling the electrode assembly into the shell (Fig. 2).
Yamafuku et al. does not expressly disclose making the bent portion of the second electrode plate in contact with an inner wall of the shell.
However, Okuda et al. discloses a battery cell with a shell (case 20) and teaches placing bent portions (bent portions 31 and 32) in contact with the shell (para. [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein the method includes making the bent portion of the second electrode plate in contact with an inner wall of the shell.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to place the bent portion in contact with the inner wall of the shell in order to allow for conductive heat transfer to keep the battery cell cool (Okuda et al., para. [0032]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamafuku et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2019096466A) in view of Okuda et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2013143225A) as applied to claim 1 above and with or without Kitaoka et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP H0917441A) or Ju et al. (US 20240097177A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the surface of the bent portion of the second electrode plate facing away from the first electrode plate faces the direction of gravity in that the cell or battery could be positioned or installed such that the surface faces the direction of gravity to meet the claim limitation.
Otherwise, Kitaoka et al. discloses a battery cell having first and second electrode plates (cathode plate 1A and anode plate 1B) and Kitaoka et al. discloses folding the electrodes such that they are perpendicular and wherein a bent portion of one electrode (electrode 1A) facing from the other electrode (electrode 1B) faces the direction of gravity (Fig. 1) such as at locations circle below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein the electrodes are folded in directions which are perpendicular to each other resulting in the surface of the bent portion of the second electrode plate which faces away from the first electrode plate facing in the direction of gravity.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize perpendicular folding as an efficient manufacturing process (Kitaoka et al., para. [0015]).
Otherwise, Ju et al. discloses an electrode assembly (Abstract) having first and second electrode plates (first electrode 110 and second electrode 120, either of which may be positive or negative, para. [0046]) and Ju et al. teaches folding the electrodes such that they are perpendicular (Fig. 9) and where the assembly may be arranged such that a bent portion (non-coating portion 121 or 111) of either electrode faces the direction of gravity as indicated below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein the electrodes are folded in directions which are perpendicular to each other resulting in the surface of the bent portion of the second electrode plate which faces away from the first electrode plate facing in the direction of gravity.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known configuration for an electrode assembly.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamafuku et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2019096466A) in view of Okuda et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2013143225A) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Zhang et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed CN 113571762A) and Song et al. (US 20110151323A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yamafuku et al. does not explicitly discloses wherein the first electrode plate and/or the second electrode plate are/is provided with a folding guide portion.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a battery cell (para. [0001]) having first and second electrodes (unit 1 and unit 2, Fig. 3) and Zhang et al. teaches a folding guide portion (crease 102, Fig. 1, crease 202, Fig. 2).
Further, Song et al. discloses a battery with positive and negative electrodes (Abstract) and further teaches using a folding guide portion (fold lines 215, 225 and/or 225a, Fig. 2 and Fig. 8, para. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein the first electrode plate and/or the second electrode plate are/is provided with a folding guide portion, for guiding the folding of the first electrode plate and/or the second electrode plate.
The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a folding guide portion in order to facilitate folding such as to reduce instances of misfolding during manufacture.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teaching of the above-cited references for claim 11 disclose wherein the folding guide portion comprises a crease or an indentation (Zhang et al., crease 102, Song et al., Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Yamafuku et al. does not expressly disclose a folding guide.
However, Zhang et al. or Song et al. who both teach a folding guide as discussed above for claim 11, further teach the folding guide portion is perpendicular to a width direction of the electrode plate as shown below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein the folding guide portion is perpendicular to a width direction of the first electrode plate and/or the second electrode plate.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to place the folding guide directly along the fold resulting in the folding guide portion being perpendicular to a width direction.
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamafuku et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2019096466A) in view of Okuda et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2013143225A) as applied to claim 1 or claim 18 above and in further view of Yanagi et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2015185359A).
Regarding claim 14, Yamafuku et al. does not expressly disclose separators which are separate from the electrode plates.
However, Yanagi et al. teaches a battery cell (para. [0011]) wherein the electrode assembly comprises separators (separator 44, Fig. 11) where the separators separate from electrode plates (positive electrodes 20 and negative electrodes 30) and are turned over and enclose the edge of an electrode plate which is provided with no tab (the edges enclosed by the separator are free from tabs, the edge with tab 21a is not enclosed, Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein the electrode assembly comprises separators, each separator separates the first electrode plate from the second electrode plate, and two separators on two opposite sides of the same second electrode plate in a thickness direction are both turned over and enclose the edge of the second electrode plate that is provided with no tab.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use separators to prevent short-circuiting and to enclose the electrode plates on edges which lack a tab in order to prevent the tab from being covered.
Regarding claim 19, Yamafuku et al. does not expressly disclose separators which are separate from the electrode plates.
However, Yanagi et al. teaches a battery cell (para. [0011]) wherein the electrode assembly comprises separators (separator 44, Fig. 11) where the separators separate electrode plates (positive electrodes 20 and negative electrodes 30) and are turned over and enclose the edge of an electrode plate which is provided with no tab (the edges enclosed by the separator are free from tabs, the edge with tab 21a is not enclosed, Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein before the second electrode plate is folded once in the second direction, two separators are provided on two opposite sides of the second electrode plate in a thickness direction, and the two separators on the two opposite sides of the same second electrode plate in the thickness direction are both turned over and enclose the edge of the second electrode plate that is provided with no tab.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use separators to prevent short-circuiting and to enclose the electrode plates on edges which lack a tab in order to prevent the tab from being covered.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamafuku et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2019096466A) in view of Okuda et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2013143225A) as applied to claim 16 above and in further view of Zhang et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed CN 113571762A).
Regarding claim 17, Yamafuku et al. in view of Okuda et al. discloses the battery of claim 16.
Yamafuku et al. does not explicitly disclose a power consuming device.
However, Okuda et al. further teaches a power consuming device comprising a body (a vehicle equipped with the power storage device, para. [0001], such as a forklift or a hybrid vehicle, para. [0017]) and a battery wherein the battery supplies electric energy for the body (para. [0017]).
Likewise, Zhang et al. discloses a battery cell (para. [0001]) having first and second electrodes (unit 1 and unit 2, Fig. 3) and Zhang et al. teaches using the battery cell in a power consuming device comprising a body (electric vehicles, para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yamafuku et al. wherein the battery is used in a power consuming device, comprising: a body; and the battery of claim 16, wherein the battery supplies electric energy for the body.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a battery in a body for supplying energy to the body such as by powering drive wheels (hybrid or electric vehicle).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-15 and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, 16 and 18-19 of copending Application No. 18/242547 hereinafter “’547” in view of Okuda et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2013143225A).
Regarding claims 1-6, 8-15 and 18-19, the subject matter of the claims is claimed by ‘547 except that ‘547 does not claim a bent portion of the second electrode is in contact with an inner wall of the shell. However, Okuda et al. discloses a battery cell with a shell (case 20) and teaches placing bent portions (bent portions 31 and 32) in contact with the shell (para. [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the claimed invention of ‘547 wherein a bent portion of the second electrode is in contact with an inner wall of the shell in order to allow for conductive heat transfer away from the electrode.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 7 and 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, 16 and 18-19 of copending Application No. 18/242547 hereinafter “’547” in view of Okuda et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2013143225A) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Yamafuku et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2019096466A).
Regarding claim 7, ‘547 does not expressly claim the limitation of claim 7 and insomuch as the electrode would not be either electrically connected to or insulated from the wall of the shell; Yamafuku et al. discloses wherein the bent portion of the second electrode plate is insulated from the inner wall of the shell in that Yamafuku et al. discloses the bent portion comprises a separator section (separator 25) which has an insulating property (para. [0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the claimed invention of ‘547 wherein the bent portion of the second electrode plate is insulated from the inner wall of the shell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 16, ‘547 does not claim a battery.
However, Yamafuku et al. discloses a battery cell (storage element 1, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) for use in a battery (para. [0104]) with a packaging box (Fig. 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the claimed invention of ‘547 wherein the electrode assembly and battery cell is used in a battery comprising a packaging box wherein the battery cell is arranged in the packaging box.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 17, ‘547 does not claim a power consuming device.
However, Okuda et al. further teaches a power consuming device comprising a body (a vehicle equipped with the power storage device, para. [0001], such as a forklift or a hybrid vehicle, para. [0017]) and a battery wherein the battery supplies electric energy for the body (para. [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the claimed invention of ‘547 wherein the battery is used in a power consuming device, comprising: a body; and the battery of claim 16, wherein the battery supplies electric energy for the body.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kretschmar et al. (US 20140272537) discloses a battery cell having first and second electrode plates (electrodes 402 and 406) and teaches folding the electrodes such that they are perpendicular (Fig. 4) as shown below:
Jiang et al. (US 20150342050) teaches a system for folding and which may be used for battery cells (para. [0054]) and which comprises a crease as a folding guide (origami crease, Fig. 6, connection member 14, Fig. 7, para. [0043]).
/P.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774