DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 08/31/2026 The previous 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-17, and 19-20 from which claims 16-17and 19-20 have been withdrawn remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (KR20180003775A), in view of Lee (KR102036331B1), in view of Arno et al. (US 20140224125 A1, herein after referred to as Arno), and in further view of Favero (US 20140216105 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches an air dryer system (hybrid type adsorption type air dryer system 1 Fig. 1) comprising: a first adsorption tower (first tower 110 Fig. 1) and a second adsorption tower (second tower 110a Fig. 1) each comprising an adsorbent (paragraph [0035]) therein and configured to dehumidify compressed air (compressed air A Fig. 2 and paragraph [0067]) flowing into an inside of the first adsorption tower and the second adsorption tower (corresponds to the inside of first tower 110 and second tower 110a Fig. 2) by using the adsorbent (paragraph [0067]) or regenerate the adsorbent by using the dehumidified compressed air (paragraph [0071] and Fig. 2); a plurality of pneumatic valves (Fig. 1) installed in a plurality of air passages (Fig. 1) connected to the first adsorption tower and the second adsorption tower (Fig. 1), the plurality of pneumatic valves being configured to be opened and closed to change a flow path of the compressed air (Figs. 2-7); a blower (blower 153 Fig. 1); and a heater (heater 143 Fig. 3) disposed at a rear end of the blower (Fig. 3); wherein the plurality of pneumatic valves comprises: a first pneumatic valve (first control valve 115a Fig. 1) and a second pneumatic valve (second control valve 115b Fig. 1) configured to be opened and closed so that the compressed air flows into the first adsorption tower (paragraph [0067]) or the second adsorption tower (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0099]); a fifth pneumatic valve (valve 117a Fig. 1) and a sixth pneumatic valve (valve 117b Fig. 1) configured to be opened and closed so that air (the air generated by blower 153 Fig. 3) flows into the first adsorption tower (Fig. 7) or the second adsorption tower (Fig. 1); a seventh pneumatic valve (valve 117c Fig. 2) and an eighth pneumatic valve (valve 117d Fig. 2) configured to be opened and closed so that the dehumidified compressed air in the first adsorption tower (Fig. 2) or the second adsorption tower (Fig. 7) is discharged outside (Figs. 2 and 7); a ninth pneumatic valve (valve 157 Fig. 2) and an eleventh pneumatic valve (valve 155 Fig. 2) configured to be opened and closed so that the air transferred from the blower passes or does not pass through the heater (paragraph [0056] and Figs. 3-4 of Hwang).
Hwang teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the plurality of pneumatic valves being configured to be opened and closed to change a flow path of each of the compressed air and outside air; the blower configured to introduce the outside air into the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower; the heater configured to heat the outside air transferred from the blower; the plurality of pneumatic valves comprises: a third pneumatic valve and a fourth pneumatic valve configured to be opened and closed so that the outside air flowing from the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower is discharged to the atmosphere”.
However, Lee teaches a plurality of pneumatic valves (Fig. 1 where the illustrated valves correspond to the plurality of pneumatic valves of Hwang) being configured to be opened and closed to change a flow path of each of a compressed air (paragraph [0018] where the path of the disclosed compressed air corresponds to the flow path of Hwang) and outside air (paragraph [0020]); a blower (blower 20 Fig. 2 corresponds to the blower of Hwang) configured to introduce the outside air into a first adsorption tower (paragraph [0020] where first dry tower 10 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first adsorption tower of Hwang) or a second adsorption tower (paragraph [0020] where second dry tower 10’ Fig. 1 corresponds to the second adsorption tower of Hwang); a heater (air heating unit 30 Fig. 2 corresponds to the heater of Hwang) configured to heat the outside air transferred from the blower (paragraph [0009]); the plurality of pneumatic valves comprises: a third pneumatic valve (left exhaust valve 40a Fig. 3) and a fourth pneumatic valve (right exhaust valve 40a Fig. 3) configured to be opened and closed so that the outside air flowing from the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower is discharged to the atmosphere (paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Hwang to include “the plurality of pneumatic valves being configured to be opened and closed to change a flow path of each of the compressed air and outside air; the blower configured to introduce the outside air into the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower; the heater configured to heat the outside air transferred from the blower; the plurality of pneumatic valves comprises: a third pneumatic valve and a fourth pneumatic valve configured to be opened and closed so that the outside air flowing from the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower is discharged to the atmosphere” in view of the teachings of Lee to optionally use outside air in the regeneration process.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein a temperature sensor is disposed in an air passage through which the outside air passes and is discharged to the atmosphere; the fifth pneumatic valve and the sixth pneumatic valve configured to be opened and closed so that the outside air flows into the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower; and a tenth pneumatic valve configured to be opened and closed so that the dehumidified compressed air in the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower is or is not recirculated to the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower wherein based on a temperature of the air discharged to the atmosphere sensed by the temperature sensor, the blower is configured to stop operating, the ninth pneumatic valve is configured to close, and the tenth pneumatic valve is configured to open so that a non-purge regeneration by the outside air switches to a purge regeneration by the dehumidified compressed air”.
However, Arno teaches wherein a temperature sensor (bottom desiccant bed temperature sensors 62 and 64 Figs. 4-5) is disposed in an air passage (corresponds to the passage in which airflows 90, 92, and 96 flow Figs. 4-5) through which outside air (ambient air 53 Fig. 4 corresponds to the outside air of Lee) passes and is discharged to the atmosphere (paragraph [0052] and Fig. 4 where it is disclosed that the air is exhausted through exhaust muffler 66); a fifth pneumatic valve (right check valve 74 Figs. 4-5 corresponds to the fifth pneumatic valve of Hwang) and a sixth pneumatic valve (left check valve 74 Figs. 4-5 corresponds to the sixth pneumatic valve of Hwang) configured to be opened and closed so that the outside air flows into a first adsorption tower (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0049] where tower ‘B’ corresponds to the first adsorption tower of Hwang) or a second adsorption tower (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0049] where tower ‘A’ corresponds to the second adsorption tower of Hwang); and a tenth pneumatic valve (dry purge valve 78 Fig. 5) configured to be opened and closed so that dehumidified compressed air (the dehumidified compressed air that circulates in dried compressed air pathways 89 and dry purge pathways 77 Fig. 5 as described in paragraph [0052] corresponds to the dehumidified compressed air of Hwang) in the first adsorption tower (Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0049] and [0052]) or the second adsorption tower (paragraphs [0049] and [0052] and Fig. 5) is or is not recirculated to the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower (paragraphs [0049] and [0052] and Figs. 4-5); wherein based on a temperature of the air (corresponds to the temperature associated with the disclosed “low heating period 37 in paragraph [0051] and Fig. 1) discharged to the atmosphere sensed by the temperature sensor (paragraph [0051]), a blower (blower 54 Figs. 4-5 corresponds to the blower of Hwang) is configured to stop operating (paragraph [0051] and Fig. 1), a ninth pneumatic valve (blower check valve 70 Fig. 5 corresponds to the ninth pneumatic valve of Hwang) is configured to close (Fig. 5), and the tenth pneumatic valve is configured to open (Fig. 5) so that a non-purge regeneration (corresponds to the purge operation illustrated in Fig. 4) by the outside air switches to a purge regeneration (disclosed “dry purge” in paragraph [0052]) by the dehumidified compressed air (Fig. 5) to save considerable energy and cycling wear and tear on the equipment (paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein a temperature sensor is disposed in an air passage through which the outside air passes and is discharged to the atmosphere; the fifth pneumatic valve and the sixth pneumatic valve configured to be opened and closed so that the outside air flows into the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower; and a tenth pneumatic valve configured to be opened and closed so that the dehumidified compressed air in the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower is or is not recirculated to the first adsorption tower or the second adsorption tower wherein based on a temperature of the air discharged to the atmosphere sensed by the temperature sensor, the blower is configured to stop operating, the ninth pneumatic valve is configured to close, and the tenth pneumatic valve is configured to open so that a non-purge regeneration by the outside air switches to a purge regeneration by the dehumidified compressed air” in view of the teachings of Arno to save considerable energy and cycling wear and tear on the equipment.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the temperature sensor is disposed in the air passage through which the outside air passes through the third pneumatic valve and the fourth pneumatic valve”.
However, Favero teaches wherein a temperature sensor (temperature sensor T3 Fig. 3 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Arno) is disposed in an air passage (exhaust conduit 14 Fig. 3 corresponds to the air passage of Arno) through which outside air (the gas flowing through exhaust conduit 14 Fig. 3 corresponds to the outside air of Lee) passes through a third pneumatic valve (shut-off valve 130d Fig. 3 corresponds to the third pneumatic valve of Lee) and a fourth pneumatic valve (shut-off valve 130c Fig. 3 corresponds to the fourth pneumatic valve of Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the temperature sensor is disposed in the air passage through which the outside air passes through the third pneumatic valve and the fourth pneumatic valve” in view of the teachings of Arno to use less part by providing a single temperature sensor.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the temperature of the air discharged to the atmosphere reaching 65°C to 75°C”.
However, Arno does disclose shutting off the blower when the temperature of the air discharged to the atmosphere reaches a value of 200°F/93°C before (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, “the temperature of the air discharged to the atmosphere reaching 65°C to 75°C” is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is the temperature of the air reaching “65°C to 75°C”.
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. a predetermined temperature of the exhaust air at which the blower is turned off, was disclosed in the prior art by Arno, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide “the temperature of the air discharged to the atmosphere reaching 65°C to 75°C”.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the first adsorption tower is used for dehumidifying the compressed air (Fig. 2 of Hwang), the first pneumatic valve and the seventh pneumatic valve are opened (Fig. 2 of Hwang) and the second pneumatic valve, the third pneumatic valve (paragraph [0027] of Lee where it is disclosed that “exhaust valve 40a is kept in a closed state while any one of the dry towers is drying the compressed air”), the fifth pneumatic valve, and the eighth pneumatic valve are closed (Fig. 2 of Hwang where second, fifth, and eighth pneumatic valves are shown closed).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the second adsorption tower is used for dehumidifying the compressed air (Fig. 6 of Hwang), the second pneumatic valve and the eighth pneumatic valve are opened (Fig. 6 of Hwang) and the first pneumatic valve, the fourth pneumatic valve (paragraph [0027] of Lee where it is disclosed that “exhaust valve 40a is kept in a closed state while any one of the dry towers is drying the compressed air”), the sixth pneumatic valve, and the seventh pneumatic valve are closed (Fig. 6 of Hwang where first, sixth, and seventh pneumatic valves are shown closed).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the second adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by the outside air (Fig. 4 of Hwang where the air generated by blower 153 corresponds to the outside air of Lee), the sixth pneumatic valve (Fig. 4 of Hwang) and the fourth pneumatic valve (referring paragraph [0027] of Lee, a person skilled in the art would recognize that exhaust valve 40a of second dry tower 10’ is kept in an opened state since the adsorbent in second dry tower 10’ is being dried) are opened and the fifth pneumatic valve, the eighth pneumatic valve, the second pneumatic valve (Fig. 4 of Hwang), and the third pneumatic valve are closed (referring paragraph [0027] of Lee, a person skilled in the art would recognize that exhaust valve 40a of first dry tower 10 is kept in a closed state since the compressed air in first dry tower 10 is being dried).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the second adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by heating by the outside air (Fig. 3 of Hwang where the air generated by blower 153 corresponds to the outside air of Lee), the eleventh pneumatic valve is opened and the ninth pneumatic valve is closed (Fig. 3 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the second adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by cooling by the outside air (Fig. 4 of Hwang where the air generated by blower 153 corresponds to the outside air of Lee), the ninth pneumatic valve is opened and the eleventh pneumatic valve is closed (Fig. 4 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the first adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by the outside air (Fig. 7 of Hwang where the air generated by blower 153 corresponds to the outside air of Lee), the third pneumatic valve is opened (referring paragraph [0027] of Lee, a person skilled in the art would recognize that exhaust valve 40a of first dry tower 10 is kept in an opened state since the adsorbent in first dry tower 10 is being dried) and the first pneumatic valve (Fig. 7 of Hwang) and the fourth pneumatic valve are closed (referring paragraph [0027] of Lee, a person skilled in the art would recognize that exhaust valve 40a of second dry tower 10’ is kept in a closed state since the compressed air in second dry tower 10’ is being dried).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the first adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by heating by the outside air (referring to paragraph [0036] of Hwang, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the scenario illustrated in Fig. 3 can be accomplished with the roles of first tower 110 and second tower 110a being reversed i.e. the compressed air being dehumidified in second tower 110a while the adsorbent being regenerated in first tower 110), the eleventh pneumatic valve is opened and the ninth pneumatic valve is closed (with the roles of first tower 110 and second tower 110a being reversed as explained previously, a person skilled in the art would then recognize that valve 155 of Hwang would be opened while valve 157 of Hwang would be closed in the process).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the first adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by cooling by the outside air (Fig. 7 of Hwang where the air generated by blower 153 corresponds to the outside air of Lee), the ninth pneumatic valve is opened and the eleventh pneumatic valve is closed (Fig. 7 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the second adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by the compressed air (Fig. 5 of Arno where tower ‘A’ corresponds to the second adsorption tower of Hwang), the tenth pneumatic valve, the sixth pneumatic valve (Fig. 5 of Arno where purge check valve 74 associated with tower ‘A’ corresponds to the sixth pneumatic valve of Hwang), and the fourth pneumatic valve (referring paragraph [0027] of Lee, a person skilled in the art would recognize that exhaust valve 40a of second dry tower 10’ is kept in an opened state since the adsorbent in second dry tower 10’ is being dried) are opened and the ninth pneumatic valve (Fig. 5 of Arno where blower check valve 70 corresponds to the ninth pneumatic valve of Hwang), the eleventh pneumatic valve (repressurization valve 79 Fig. 5 of Arno corresponds to the eleventh pneumatic valve of Hwang), the fifth pneumatic valve (Fig. 5 of Arno where purge check valve 74 associated with tower ‘B’ corresponds to the fifth pneumatic valve of Hwang), the eighth pneumatic valve (Fig. 5 of Arno where outlet check valve 76 associated with tower ‘A’ corresponds to the eighth pneumatic valve of Hwang), the second pneumatic valve (Fig. 5 of Arno where inlet valve 72 associated with tower ‘A’ corresponds to the second pneumatic valve of Hwang), and the third pneumatic valve are closed (Fig. 5 of Arno where exhaust valve 73 associated with tower ‘B’ corresponds to the third pneumatic valve of Hwang).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach wherein, in a state in which the first adsorption tower is used for regeneration of the adsorbent by the compressed air (referring to paragraph [0049] of Arno, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the scenario illustrated in Fig. 5 can be accomplished with the roles of tower ‘A’ and tower ‘B’ being reversed i.e. the compressed air being dehumidified in tower ‘A’ while the adsorbent being regenerated in tower ‘B’), the tenth pneumatic valve and the third pneumatic valve are opened (with the roles of tower ‘A’ and tower ‘B’ being reversed as explained previously, a person skilled in the art would then recognize that dry purge valve 78 and exhaust valve 73 associated with tower ‘B’ of Arno would be opened) and the first pneumatic valve (with the roles of tower ‘A’ and tower ‘B’ being reversed as explained previously, a person skilled in the art would then recognize that inlet valve 72 associated with tower ‘B’ of Arno which corresponds to the first pneumatic valve of Hwang would be closed) and the fourth pneumatic valve are closed (referring paragraph [0027] of Lee, a person skilled in the art would recognize that exhaust valve 40a of second dry tower 10’ is kept in a closed state since the compressed air in second dry tower 10’ is being dried).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Lee, Arno, and Favero as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murayama et al. (US 20110306288 A1, herein after referred to as Murayama).
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a temperature/humidity converter disposed at a front end of the blower and configured to detect a state of the outside air and transmit state data to a control program”.
However, Murayama teaches further comprising a temperature/humidity converter (air temperature sensor 27 and outside air humidity sensor 28 Fig. 1) disposed at a front end of a blower (front end of fan 246 Fig. 1 where fan 246 corresponds to the blower of Hwang) and configured to detect a state of the outside air (corresponds to the outside air temperature and outside air humidity as disclosed in paragraphs [0024] and [0025]) and transmit state data (understood to be the measured outside temperature and humidity disclosed in paragraphs [0024] and [0025]) to a control program (control content setting section 293 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0026]) to include outside air data in the control process of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a temperature/humidity converter disposed at a front end of the blower and configured to detect a state of the outside air and transmit state data to a control program” in view of the teachings of Murayama to include outside air data in the control process of the system.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a temperature/humidity converter disposed at a front end of the blower”.
However, Murayama teaches further comprising a temperature/humidity converter (air temperature sensor 27 and outside air humidity sensor 28 Fig. 1) disposed at a front end of a blower (front end of fan 246 Fig. 1 where fan 246 corresponds to the blower of Hwang) to include outside air data in the control process of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a temperature/humidity converter disposed at a front end of the blower” in view of the teachings of Murayama to include outside air data in the control process of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9, that the combined prior art does not teach or suggest the added limitation “using a sensed exhaust air temperature to switch between a non-purge regeneration mode and a purge regeneration mode by stopping the blower, closing the ninth pneumatic valve, and opening the tenth pneumatic valve” as disclosed by amended claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejection of amended claim 1 is repeated below:
Arno teaches wherein based on a temperature of the air (corresponds to the temperature associated with the disclosed “low heating period 37 in paragraph [0051] and Fig. 1) discharged to the atmosphere sensed by a temperature sensor (bottom desiccant bed temperature sensors 62 and 64 Figs. 4-5 and paragraph [0051]), a blower (blower 54 Figs. 4-5) is configured to stop operating (paragraph [0051] and Fig. 1), a ninth pneumatic valve (blower check valve 70 Fig. 5 corresponds to the ninth pneumatic valve of Hwang) is configured to close (Fig. 5), and a tenth pneumatic valve (dry purge valve 78 Fig. 5) is configured to open (Fig. 5) so that a non-purge regeneration (corresponds to the purge operation illustrated in Fig. 4) by the outside air switches to a purge regeneration (disclosed “dry purge” in paragraph [0052]) by the dehumidified compressed air (Fig. 5) to save considerable energy and cycling wear and tear on the equipment (paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection are maintained.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763