Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group II in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden. This is not found persuasive because different classification for the two claimed inventions is proof of serious burden in and of itself. As stated in MPEP 808.02, a serious burden is present when there is A) Separate classification thereof: this shows that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search. Patents need not be cited to show separate classification.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species IIB in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden. This is not found persuasive because the mutually exclusive characteristics cited in the restriction mailed 04/01/2026 would require different fields of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). Patents need not be cited to show separate classification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita (US Patent Pub 20220199824 A1) in view of Ozeki et al. (US 6765266 B2).
Regarding Claim 17, Kinoshita teaches a semiconductor power device, comprising:
a semiconductor body comprising a conductive substrate and an epitaxial layer of a first charge type grown on the conductive substrate (Fig. 2, semiconductor body 40 comprising a conductive substrate 41 and an epitaxial layer 12 (paragraph 0074 teaches 12 is epitaxially grown) of a first charge type (n type) grown on the conductive substrate);
one or more inner wells of a second charge type different from the first charge type in an active area of the semiconductor power device (Fig. 2, active area 1 having inner wells 21 and 22 of a second charge type (p type));
a termination area of the semiconductor power device separated from the inner wells and comprising a junction termination extension, JTE, border of a second charge type, and a plurality of JTE rings of the second charge type that partially overlap the JTE border (Fig. 2, a termination area 2 separated from the inner wells and have a JTE border 40b of a second charge type (P type) and a plurality of JTE rings 31 that overlap the JTE border);
wherein at least some of the inner wells of the second charge type have a dopant concentration profile in a direction perpendicular to a top surface of the semiconductor body and towards the semiconductor substrate that displays a step in dopant concentration that corresponds to an dopant concentration that is associated with a second ion implantation step for forming the JTE border, and/or, when applicable, a step in dopant concentration that corresponds to a dopant concentration that is associated with a third ion implantation for forming the plurality of JTE rings (Paragraph 0005);
and/or wherein the one or more wells of the second charge type has a depth that is greater than a depth of the JTE border, and the depth of the JTE border is greater than a depth of the plurality of JTE rings (Fig. 6, 22 has a depth greater than a depth of the JTE border 40b, and 40b has a depth greater than a depth of the plurality of JTE rings 31).
Kinoshita fails to teach the semiconductor power device having:
an outer well with the one or more inner wells, wherein the outer well partially overlaps with the JTE border, and wherein the outer well is wider than the one or more inner wells;
and wherein the semiconductor power device comprises a Merged P-i-N Schottky, MPS, diode, a MOSFET, a Schottky barrier, or a PN diode;
However, Ozeki teaches a power semiconductor device having:
an outer well, wherein the outer well partially overlaps with the JTE border, and wherein the outer well is wider than the one or more inner wells (Ozeki, Fig. 3, an outer well 14, which partially overlaps with JTE border 13 and is wider than inner well 9);
and wherein the semiconductor power device comprises a Merged P-i-N Schottky, MPS, diode, a MOSFET, a Schottky barrier, or a PN diode (Ozeki, Column 4 lines 25-30 teach the device comprises a diode);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Ozeki into the method of Kinoshita by forming the power semiconductor device wherein an outer well simultaneously formed with the one or more inner wells, wherein the outer well partially overlaps with the JTE border, and wherein the outer well is wider than the one or more inner wells, and wherein the semiconductor power device comprises a Merged P-i-N Schottky, MPS, diode, a MOSFET, a Schottky barrier, or a PN diode. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kinoshita in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the reliability of the device for withstanding surge voltage increases (Ozeki, column 6, lines 35-40).
With respect to the limitation “wherein, when the semiconductor power device comprises an MPS diode, the MPS diode comprises a current spreader of the first charge type in the active area”, because Ozeki teaches a diode that is not an MPS diode, this limitation does not require teaching.
With respect to the limitation “simultaneously formed” found in line 10 of claim 17, this is a product by process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.
Conclusion
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899