DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following claim(s) is/are pending in this office action: 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10, 12, 15-16, 18-19
The following claim(s) is/are amended: 1, 3, 8, 10, 16
The following claim(s) is/are cancelled: 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13-14, 17, 20
The following claim(s) is/are new: -
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10, 12, 15-16, 18-19 is/are rejected. This rejection is FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 6/11/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant’s Invention as Claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10, 12, 15-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGee (US Pub. 2016/0378993) in view of Nickolov (US Pub. 2017/0034023) and further in view of Alsharif (US Pub. 2021/0037038).
With respect to Claim 1, McGee teaches a system, comprising: a computing device comprising a processor and a memory; and a set of machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least: (para. 27; processor, memory and instructions)
collect a list of available updates from a device management system; (para. 50; system tracks updates including actual or expected release date of update. See also Nickolov, paras. 314-324; system tracks software packages including version and list of CVEs which have been fixed for the package. Paras. 587-591; system monitors for detection of release of OS or software version. Para. 218; system outputs available packages. Para. 603; notification of new component version ability.)
query the device management system to obtain device information of a client device; (para. 33; user selects a class of devices like a Samsung galaxy 6. The class has the same components and software. Paras. 34-35; system accesses a database that stores data based on product line or vulnerability.)
determine a first common platform enumeration (CPE) of a current version of the one or more applications; (para. 36; system determines vulnerability for the class of products based on CPE ID. para. 50; database includes entries with version numbers of products.)
determine a second CPE that reflects the one or more applicable updates having been applied to the current version of the one or more applications on the client device; (para. 36; database entries identified based on CPE ID. para. 50; database includes updates and whether a security vulnerability is resolved in the update. Para. 50; version status includes whether update was applied or not.)
perform a first reverse lookup in a vulnerability database for a first one or more common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) associated with the current version of the one or more applications on the client device based on the first CPE of the current version; (para. 37; system identifies CVE IDs for the product. Para. 47; search by CVE ID. Examiner asserts this teaches a reverse lookup, but to the extent a reverse lookup is not taught it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to perform a reverse lookup in order to determine vulnerabilities for a product despite the database not being ordered by CVE.)
But McGee does not explicitly teach comparing versions.
Nickolov, however, does teach determine one or more applicable updates for one or more applications on the client device based at least in part on the list of available updates and the device information; (Although this is not explicitly disclosed in McGee, para. 50, Examiner asserts McGee, para. 50 suggests applicable updates because it tracks “a product identifier indicating the product line being updated.” Further, Examiner cites Nickolov, paras. 314-324; system tracks software packages including version and list of CVEs which have been fixed for the package. Paras. 587-591; system monitors for detection of release of OS or software version. Para. 952; System presents available versions for a package to user.)
perform a second reverse lookup in the vulnerability database for a second one or more CVE associated with the one or more applicable updates of the one or more applications based on the second CPE; (para. 311, 405; CVEs that have been fixed in a package. paras. 402-405; system tracks CVEs in relation to software versions. Further, application of a known technique to similar elements for expected benefits or predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2143(C) and (D). Here McGee previously taught identifying CVE associated with a current version of applications, which renders obvious identifying CVE associated with an updated version of an application obvious as it provides expected results and benefits. Examiner also cites McGee, para. 37; system identifies CVE IDs for the product. Para. 47; search by CVE ID.)
compare the first one or more CVE of the current version of the one or more applications on the client device with the second one or more CVE associated with the one or more applicable updates of the one or more applications; (Fig. 8, paras. 558-559, 599-600, 610-612, 1134; system includes recommendation and conditional updating procedure which monitors and performs updates based on scoring of components, including vulnerability scoring. Fig. 21, paras. 618-625, 794, 810-819; system recommends action such as upgrading package to new version. Fig. 16, para. 458, 708-710, 725, 744, 754-760; System provides comparison information for updating. Comparison information may include package vulnerabilities. Fig. 35, paras. 927-935; system displays vulnerabilities for each update package including severity. Para. 1076; system determines a fix is available for a vulnerability. See also McGee, para. 41, 55; security vulnerability is fixed in a patch, which is a CVE comparison between versions.)
generate a vulnerability report that contains one or more identified vulnerabilities and impacts of the one or more identified vulnerabilities on the one or more applications as determined from the comparison between the first one or more CVE of the current version of the one or more applications on the client device and the second one or more CVE associated with the one or more applicable updates of the one or more applications. (paras. 335-338; system tracks vulnerabilities and vulnerability score. Fig. 35, paras. 927-935; system displays CVE identifier and CVSS score along with a description of the vulnerabilities for a given program version. The score and description are impacts of the vulnerabilities. Fig. 44, paras. 1048-1085; System displays vulnerabilities and whether fixes are available. See also McGee, para. 30, 42; system generates reports of vulnerabilities in the product line.)
generate a recommendation based at least in part on the determined risk of the one or more applicable updates; (Fig. 8, paras. 558-559, 599-600, 610-612; system includes recommendation and conditional updating procedure which monitors and performs updates based on scoring of components, including vulnerability scoring. See also McGee, para. 42-43, 49, 58; System reports severity such as trivial, minor, moderate, severe classifications. The system may also derive a security posture score. Fig. 21, paras. 618-625, 810-819; system recommends action such as upgrading package to new version.)
generate a workflow containing at least one mitigation action based on the vulnerability report and the recommendation; and execute the at least one mitigation action of the workflow on the client device. (paras. 428-431, 438-441, 614-618, 645-650; system may automatically make changes or may inform user and ask user for consent to proceed with configuration changes. paras. 618-625; system recommends action such as upgrading package to new version. Para. 444; changes may be provided through a workflow management system. Para. 1134; manual or automated approval of a configuration change workflow.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of McGee with the comparison of current to available update versions in order to determine which version is more secure and improve security by using the more secure version.
But modified McGee does not explicitly teach assigning a severity level based on a vulnerability score.
Alsharif, however, does teach determine a vulnerability score for the one or more identified vulnerabilities in the vulnerability report; (Fig. 6, paras. 6, 69-71; system scores a vulnerability score for each vulnerability. See also Nickolov, para. 218, 402; score for a vulnerability.)
assign a severity level to the one or more identified vulnerabilities based on the vulnerability score; (Fig. 6, paras. 6, 71-72; System assigns a severity level such as low, medium or high for bands of vulnerability scores. See also McGee, paras. 42-43; vulnerability is classified as trivial, minor, moderate or severe based on unauthorized access permitted by the vulnerability.)
rank the one or more identified vulnerabilities based on the severity level; determine a risk of the one or more applicable updates based at least in part on ranking the one or more identified vulnerabilities; (para. 102; vulnerabilities are classified and prioritized for remediation based on the severity level. paras. 6, 14, 75-77; true risk related to severity level. See also McGee, paras. 42-43; Severity used to calculate a security posture score. Score is ranked for review. Review is used to flag for patching.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of modified McGee with the assigning a severity level based on a vulnerability score in order to prioritize remediation efforts and reduce cyberattack risk. (paras. 3, 40-41, 75)
With respect to Claim 3, modified McGee teaches the system of claim 1, and Nickolov also teaches wherein the recommendation is one of a recommendation to downgrade the one or more applications on the client device or a recommendation to upgrade the one or more applications on the client device. (Fig. 8, paras. 558-559, 599-600, 610-612; system includes recommendation and conditional updating procedure which monitors and performs updates based on scoring of components, including vulnerability scoring. Fig. 21, paras. 618-625, 810-819; system recommends action such as upgrading package to new version. Paras. 16, 366, 655-665; downgrade recommendations.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 5, modified McGee teaches the system of claim 1, and Nickolov also teaches further comprising providing the workflow in a draft mode for administrator review. (paras. 428-431, 438-441, 614-618, 645-650; system may automatically make changes or may inform user and ask user for consent to proceed with configuration changes. Para. 444; changes may be provided through a workflow management system. Para. 1134; manual or automated approval of a configuration change workflow.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 7, modified McGee teaches the system of claim 1, and McGee also teaches wherein the device information further comprises at least one or more of: endpoint device data; operating system version; application data; device type; or a software update history. (para. 33; a class of devices like a Samsung galaxy 6.)
With respect to Claim 8, it is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying. Further, McGee also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to at least: (para. 16; non-transitory medium. para. 27; processor, memory and instructions)
With respect to Claim 10, it is substantially similar to Claim 3, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
With respect to Claim 12, it is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
With respect to Claim 15, modified McGee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, and McGee also teaches wherein the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to provide a risk profile for at least one of an application, operating system, or a firmware on the client device based on the vulnerability report. (para. 33; components and software. para. 42; generation of report indicating severity of vulnerability, which is a risk profile. See also Nickolov, paras. 805-808; risk analysis of making a change. Paras. 314-320; operating system version, software package version, bios or firmware versions. Para. 402; OS, hardware/firmware, application.)
With respect to Claim 16, it is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
With respect to Claim 18, it is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
With respect to Claim 19, modified McGee teaches the method of claim 18, and Nickolov also teaches further comprising allowing administrators to review and modify the workflow. (paras. 889-890, 1128-1131; user can modify or edit recommended changes)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
Remarks
Applicant argues at Remarks, pgs. 8-10 that McGee/Nickolov do not teach the newly amended limitations. Examiner questions whether this is true, because McGee relates vulnerabilities to a severity classification and identifies the commonsense approach that severity classifications suggest a remediation order. (paras. 42-43) McGee is deficient largely in that it does not get a score for each vulnerability in order to classify the severity. Nickolov discloses vulnerabilities scores for CVE vulnerabilities using CVSS. (para. 218, 402) Examiner notes that the instant invention also posits using CVSS for vulnerability scoring. (Spec, para. 35)
Consequently, Examiner questions whether any additional teaching is required. Regardless, to compact prosecution for at least the immediate response Examiner will cite Alsharif, which relevantly (Fig. 11) discloses receiving vulnerability data, calculating a vulnerability score via CVSS, assigning a severity level based on that vulnerability score, and remediating based on the severity level.
The amended claims are taught above based on the additional reference. All claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449