DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 – 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6 March 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, as presented in at least Fig. 3a & 3b, in the reply filed on 6 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “no additional search or examination will be imposed by present examination of the non-elected claims 4-6, i.e., the non-elected Species II”, as stated on Pag. 6 of the aforementioned remarks, which Applicant supports with an argument regarding the working principle of the claimed quantum chip being unaffected by the presence or absence of the claimed “via holes”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and does not find the above persuasive because the claimed “via holes”, which distinguish the nonelected species from the elected species, are elements found in a separate CPC area, i.e. H10W 20/0238, compared to the CPC are in which the elected species may be found, i.e. H10N 60, and H10N 69. Further, the Examiner has provided an explanation of the burden of search in the previous Office Action on Pag. 2. Further still, Applicant’s argument does not regard a burden of search as described by MPEP 808.02.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
With regard to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG (CN 215008192 U), Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Regarding Claim 1,
The feature “signal connector” is recited. However, no such feature is shown in the drawings.
Regarding Claim 7,
The feature “superconducting element” is recited. However, no such feature is shown in the drawings.
Regarding Claim 9,
The features “the second base is flipped onto the package substrate, and the first base is flipped onto the second base” are recited. However, no such features are shown in the drawings.
Regarding Claim 10,
The features “a plurality of package substrates are provided, and wherein the plurality of package substrates are stacked upon each other, and the lead-out segment of each of the package substrates is electrically connected to the connecting segment corresponding to the lead-out segment” are recited. However, no such features are shown in the drawings.
Regarding Claim 11,
The feature “signal connector” is recited. However, no such feature is shown in the drawings.
Regarding Claim 12,
The features “An electronic device, comprising: a package assembly; a signal connector, wherein the signal connector is installed on the package assembly; and the quantum device according to claim 1, wherein the quantum device is provided in the package assembly, and the lead-out signal line is electrically connected to the signal connector” are recited. However, no such features are shown in the drawings.
Therefore, the above feature(s) must be shown or canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: QUANTUM DEVICE WITH FLIP-CHIP BALL GRID ARRAY.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 7, & 9 – 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ROBERTS (US 20190273197 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
ROBERTS discloses:
A quantum device (Fig. 3: 130), comprising:
a quantum chip (Fig. 2: 111; Fig. 3: 100; Par. 55), wherein
a signal transmission element (STE) and
(Fig. 2: 112, 114, or 124, respectively; denoted above and hereinafter as STE)
a connecting segment (CSG) electrically connected to the signal transmission element
(Fig. 2: 120, 122, or 126, respectively; denoted above and hereinafter as CSG)
(STE) are formed on the quantum chip (111);
(As seen in Fig. 2)
a package substrate (Fig. 3: 134), wherein
a lead-out segment (Fig. 3: 150) and
a lead-out signal line (Fig. 3: 152; Par. 58) configured to be electrically connected to a signal connector (Fig. 3: 158) are formed on the package substrate (134), and
the lead-out signal line (152) is electrically connected to the lead-out segment (150); and
a ball grid array (Fig. 3: 156) configured to electrically connect the connecting segment (Fig. 2: CSG; Fig. 3: 140; Par. 57) to the lead-out segment (150) corresponding to each other.
(As seen in Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 2,
ROBERTS discloses:
The quantum device according to claim 1,
wherein a surface of the connecting segment (140) in contact with the ball grid array (156) is higher than a surface of the quantum chip (100).
(As seen in Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 3,
ROBERTS discloses:
The quantum device according to claim 2,
wherein the surface of the connecting segment (140) in contact with the ball grid array (156) is a flat plane or an arc-shaped convex surface.
(As seen in Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 7,
ROBERTS discloses:
The quantum device according to claim 1, wherein the quantum chip (111) comprises:
a first base (BSE1), wherein
(Fig. 2: 111 inside dashed box; denoted above and hereinafter as BSE1)
a first segment (SGT1) of the signal transmission element (STE), and
(Fig. 2: portion of STE strictly inside BSE1; denoted above and hereinafter as SGT1.)
a qubit (Fig. 2: 102) and a read resonant cavity (Fig. 2: 118) coupled to each other are formed on the first base (BSE1), and
the first segment (SGT1) is coupled to the qubit (102) or the read resonant cavity (118);
(As seen in Fig. 2)
a second base (BSE2), wherein
(Fig. 3: 132 & Fig. 2: 111 outside dashed box; denoted above and hereinafter as BSE2.)
a second segment (SGT2) of the signal transmission element (STE) is formed on the second base (BSE2); and
(Fig. 2: portion of STE strictly inside BSE2; denoted above and hereinafter as SGT2.)
a superconducting element (SCE) configured to electrically connecting the first segment (SGT1) to the second segment (SGT2).
(Fig. 2: portion of STE in both BSE1 & BSE2, crossing dashed box; denoted above and hereinafter as SCE.)
(Par. 37, 48, & 50 teach the entirety of STE—and, thus, portion SCE—may be made of superconducting materials.)
Regarding Claim 9,
ROBERTS discloses:
The quantum device according to claim 7, wherein
the second base (BSE2) is flipped onto the package substrate (134), and
the first base (BSE1) is flipped onto the second base (BSE2).
The language, term, or phrase "the second/first base is flipped onto the package substrate/second base" is directed towards the process of making “the quantum device”. It is well settled that "product by process" limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also, In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161; In re Wethheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289; and particularly In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product, per se, which must be determined in a "product by process" claim not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or otherwise. The above case law further makes clear that applicant has the burden of showing that the method language necessarily produces a structural difference. As such, the language “the second/first base is flipped onto the package substrate/second base” only requires “the second/first base is on the package substrate/second base”, which does not distinguish the instant invention from the known invention of ROBERTS, who teaches the structure as claimed.
(As BSE2 comprises 132, BSE2 is clearly on 134, as seen in Fig. 3. Also, as BSE1 comprises a portion of 111—and, thus, a portion of 100—BSE1 is clearly on 132. Therefore, BSE1 is clearly on BSE2, as seen in Fig. 3.)
Regarding Claim 10,
ROBERTS discloses:
The quantum device according to claim 1,
wherein a plurality of package substrates (Fig. 10: 1326 & 1332) are provided, and
(Par. 110 discloses “1326 and 1332 may take the form of…130 [e.g. Fig. 3]…and may include a SC qubit device die 132 coupled to a package substrate 134”.)
wherein the plurality of package substrates (1326 & 1332) are stacked upon each other, and
(As seen in Fig. 10)
the lead-out segment (Fig. 3: 150) of each of the package substrates (1326 & 1332) is electrically connected to the connecting segment (Fig. 3: 140) corresponding to the lead-out segment (Fig. 3: 150).
(As 1326 and 1332 may both take the form of 130 in Fig. 3, these limitations are satisfied.)
Regarding Claim 11,
ROBERTS discloses:
A manufacturing method for a quantum device (Fig. 3: 130), comprising:
providing a quantum chip (Fig. 2: 111; Fig. 3: 100; Par. 55), wherein
a signal transmission element (STE, as defined for Claim 1) and
a connecting segment (CSG, as defined for Claim 1) electrically connected to the signal transmission element (STE) are formed on the quantum chip (111);
(As seen in Fig. 2)
providing a package substrate (Fig. 3: 134), wherein
a lead-out segment (Fig. 3: 150) and
a lead-out signal line (Fig. 3: 152; Par. 58) configured to be electrically connected to a signal connector (Fig. 3: 158) are formed on the package substrate (134), and
the lead-out signal line (152) is electrically connected to the lead-out segment (150); and(As seen in Fig. 3)
forming a ball grid array (Fig. 3: 156) to electrically connect the connecting segment (CSG) to the lead-out segment (150) corresponding to the connecting segment (CSG).
(As seen in Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 12,
ROBERTS discloses:
An electronic device, comprising:
a package assembly (Fig. 10: 1300);
a signal connector (Fig. 3: 158; Fig. 10: 1318; Par. 63 & 107: “second level interconnects”), wherein
the signal connector (1318) is installed on the package assembly (1300); and
(As seen in Fig. 10)
the quantum device according to claim 1 (Fig. 3: 130; Fig. 10: 1320; Par. 107), wherein
the quantum device (Fig. 3: 158; Fig. 10: 1320) is provided in the package assembly (Fig. 10: 1300), and
(As seen in Fig. 10)
the lead-out signal line (Fig. 3: 152) is electrically connected to the signal connector (Fig. 3: 158).
(As seen in Fig. 3)
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG (CN 215008192 U).
Regarding Claim 1,
YANG discloses:
A quantum device, comprising:
a quantum chip (Fig. 1a/3a: 1), wherein
a signal transmission element (Fig. 1a: one of 12, 13, or 14) and
a connecting segment (Fig. 1a/3b: 15) electrically connected to the signal transmission element (one of 12, 13, or 14) are formed on the quantum chip (1);
(As seen in Fig. 1a)
a package substrate (Fig. 2/3b: 2), wherein
a lead-out segment (Fig. 2/3b: 21) and
a lead-out signal line (Fig. 2: 22) configured to be electrically connected to a signal connector (Fig. 2: 23) are formed on the package substrate (2), and
the lead-out signal line (22) is electrically connected to the lead-out segment (21); and
(As seen in Fig. 2)
a ball grid array (Fig. 3b: 3) configured to electrically connect the connecting segment (15) to the lead-out segment (21) corresponding to each other.
(As seen in Fig. 3b)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROBERTS in view of McRAE “Thin film metrology and microwave loss characterization of indium and aluminum/indium superconducting planar resonators”, 2018.
Regarding Claim 8,
ROBERTS does not disclose:
The quantum device according to claim 7, wherein
the superconducting element (SCE) is made of indium.
However, ROBERTS does disclose in Par. 50 that the claimed superconducting element may be made of any of a number of listed superconducting materials, e.g. aluminum, niobium, etc. And ROBERTS further discloses “other suitable superconductors and alloys of superconductors may be used as well”. But ROBERTS fails to explicitly disclose indium as a possible superconducting material for the superconducting element.
McRAE discloses:
the superconducting element is made of indium.
(See Abstract & Results, regarding thermally evaporated “TE” indium without annealing or HF treatments.)
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ROBERTS with those of McRAE such that the superconducting element—and other portions of the claimed signal transmission element—of ROBERTS is made of thermally evaporated indium, as taught by McRAE, as both ROBERTS and McRAE regard qubit devices and the superconducting interconnections therein. Further, the superconducting interconnect materials of both ROBERTS and McRAE are recognized in the art for the same purpose of carrying/transmitting/driving/etc. microwave resonance signals for the associated qubit (ROBERTS Par. 41 – 51; McRAE Abstract/Introduction), MPEP 2144.06. Further still, McRAE teaches thermally evaporated indium functions particularly well for this purpose, showing low two-level state losses compared to other materials studied, (McRAE Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/K.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898