Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by German Patent Publication (202017004575) to Rosin.
Regarding independent claim 1, Rosin discloses a. a body (1) formed from a compressible material (sponge; see attached English translation),
b. the body (1) including an upper section (See annotated FIG. one on the next page), a lower section (See annotated FIG. one on the next page), and a perimeter surface (See numeral 2) extending from the upper section (See annotated FIG. one on the next page) into the lower section (See annotated FIG. one on the next page);
c. the lower section (See annotated FIG. one on the next page) includes a first jaw (See annotated figure showing left jaw) and a second jaw (See annotated figure showing right jaw); and
d. the upper section includes a plurality of slots (See annotated FIG. showing slots one on the next page) extending from the perimeter surface into the first jaw and the second jaw (See annotated figure showing right jaw).
Regarding claim 2, Rosin discloses that the body (1) is generally oval shaped (See annotated FIG. above).
Regarding claim 3, Rosin discloses that the first jaw (See left jaw annotated FIG. above) and the second jaw (See annotated right FIG. above) extend at an angle from each other from an intersection (See line at 2) in the upper section into the lower section.
Regarding claim 6, Rosin discloses that (See left jaw annotated FIG. above) and the second jaw (See annotated right FIG. above) include lower end flat surfaces (See annotated FIG. above) for resting on a counter.
Regarding claim 7, Rosin discloses that the perimeter surface (See outer contour of surface in FIG. 1) includes rounded outside edges.
Regarding claim 8, Rosin discloses that the body (1) is integral (See FIG. 1).
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent (7,124,465) to Kaminstein in view of U.S. Patent Publication (2015/0034122) to Mottola et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Kaminstein teaches a. a body (10) formed from a compressible material (See Col. 2 lines 60-65 and FIG. 3),
b. the body (10) including an upper section (24), a lower section (14), and a perimeter surface (12) extending from the upper section (24) into the lower section (14);
c. the lower section (14) includes a first jaw (13) and a second jaw (15) (See Col. 3 lines 1-15 and FIG. 3); and
Except, Kaminstein is silent regarding that the upper section (24) includes a plurality of slots extending from the perimeter surface into the first jaw and the second jaw. However, Mottola et al. teaches a cleaning device (100) having a body (105). The body (105) is an absorbent body and includes in the upper section a plurality of slots (110a, 110b). Mottola et al. teaches that the slots (110a, 110b) offers the ability to clean devices or utensils (See paragraph [0020] of Mottola et al. and FIG. 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Kaminstein with Mottola et al. to include slots (110a, 110b) in the upper section (24) in order to provide the ability to clean devices or utensils.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German Patent Publication (202017004575) to Rosin.
Regarding claim 4, Rosin is silent regarding that the angle is in a range from 35 degrees to 45 degrees. However, absent criticality in the specification this 10 degree range would have been obvious to modify the angle in Rosin to be at least 35 degrees would have been obvious to try since such modification in order to adjust the sponge for various surfaces.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German Patent Publication (202017004575) to Rosin in view of U.S. Patent (8,001,645) to Kaufman et al.
Regarding claim 5, Rosin is silent regarding the compressible material is a polyurethane foam. However, Kaufman et al. teaches a cleaning tool (10) for medical devices. The cleaning tool includes a sponge (14) that is made of polymeric material such as polyurethane foam. Kaufman et al. teaches that the sponge (14) is useful in cleaning and disinfecting. Since Rosin teaches a sponge for cleaning, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Rosin with Kaufman et al. to include the sponge (1) made for polyurethane foam since such is useful for cleaning and disinfecting.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German Patent Publication (202017004575) to Rosin in view of WIPO Patent Publication (2019/092556) to Ichikawa et al.
Regarding claim 9, Rosin is silent regarding that the first slot and the second slot are surface treated with one of silicone or vinyl. However, Ichikawa et al. teaches a cleaning pad (2) that is used for cleaning surfaces. Ichikawa et al. teaches that a preferred fibers for cleaning is vinyl (See page 2 lines 5-15 of Ichikawa et al.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Rosin with Ichikawa et al. to include a vinly as an effective cleaning tool.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723