DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Chang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,094,701 B2), hereafter “Chang ‘701”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons below.
Claims of Chang ‘701
Claims of the Instant Application
(Claim 1): A layout structure of a storage cell, comprising: a transistor, formed in a semiconductor substrate; a plurality of fuses, formed in at least one conductive layer on the semiconductor substrate, for coupling a connecting terminal of the transistor; a bit line, arranged to couple the plurality of fuses; and a word line, arranged to couple a control terminal of the transistor.
Although Chang ‘701 does not explicitly teach forming a transistor on a semiconductor substrate, forming a transistor in a semiconductor substrate necessarily forms it on the semiconductor substrate.
Although Chang ‘701 does not explicitly teach a first fuse and a second fuse, “a plurality of fuses” at minimum includes a first fuse and a second fuse.
Although Chang ‘701 does not explicitly teach a first conductive layer, “at least one conductive layer” at minimum includes a first conductive layer.
Although Chang ‘701 does not explicitly teach a gate, the Examiner takes Official Notice that “a control terminal of a transistor” is understood in the art as a gate structure.
(Claim 16): A method of forming a storage cell, comprising: forming a transistor on a semiconductor substrate; forming a first fuse and a second fuse in a first conductive layer over the semiconductor substrate; forming a bit line to couple to the first fuse and the second fuse; and forming a word line to couple to a gate of the transistor.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0001568 A1), hereafter “Wang”.
As to claim 1, Wang teaches:
Forming a transistor 101 on a semiconductor substrate 104. See Wang, FIG. 1.
Forming a plurality of fuses 102/136 in at least one conductive layer (the at least one conductive layer comprising 134 or 134/304 in FIG. 3) on the semiconductor substrate to couple a connecting terminal 108 of the transistor. Wang teaches a plurality of fuses in FIG. 8 and each one of them is formed like FIG. 1 or FIG. 3. Id. at FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 8.
Forming a bit line (128/“Bit Line”) to couple the plurality of fuses. Id. at FIG. 1, FIG. 8.
Forming a word line (129/”Word Line”) to couple a control terminal 110 of the transistor.
As to claim 2, Wang teaches the plurality of fuses are connected in series between the bit line and the connecting terminal of the transistor. Id. at FIG. 8.
As to claim 3, Wang teaches forming a first fuse 136/832 having a first conductive pad 114 coupled to the connecting terminal 108 of the transistor; and forming a second fuse 136/842 having a first conductive pad 114 coupled to a second conductive pad of the first fuse, wherein a second conductive pad of the second fuse is coupled to the bit line. Id.
As to claim 5, Wang teaches the first and second fuse 832, 842 formed similarly such that they are disposed in a same conductive layer (134 or 134/304) on the semiconductor substrate.
Claims Allowable If Rewritten in Independent Form
Claims 4, 6, 7, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 4, Wang does not teach a second conductive layer different from the irst conductive layer.
As to claim 6, Wang does not teach a third fuse.
As to claims 17, 18, and 20, Chang ‘701 does not teach the claimed limitations.
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 8-15 are indicated as being allowable.
As to claim 8, Chang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0345827 A1), hereafter Chang, teaches forming a transistor 106/107 on a semiconductor substrate; forming a first fuse (103 or 105) in a first conductive layer M0 over the semiconductor substrate; forming a second fuse (102 or 104) in a second conductive layer M2 over the first conductive layer (the Examiner notes the second fuse is not required to be formed directly over the first conductive layer); forming a word line (paragraph [0019]) to couple to a gate of the transistor. See Chang, FIG. 1A, FIG. 1B.
However, Chang does not teach “forming a bit line to couple to the first fuse and the second fuse”. Although Chang teaches multiple bit lines BL0-BL3, the Examiner notes that claim 8 specifies a singular bit line coupling to two fuses. The parallel layout of Chang FIG. 1A instead depicts a single bit line coupled to a single fuse, e.g. each fuse of 102-105, so that two bit lines are couples to two fuses.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The following prior art was not relied upon but is made of record:
Liaw (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0135746 A1)
Conclusion
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893