DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 13, in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-12 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN111916840 herein after referred to as ‘840.
Regarding claim 1, ‘840 teaches a battery cell fitting device wherein the battery cell fitting device comprises a first transfer plate 12 and a first rotating plate 14, which are considered to be the instantly claimed first support assembly. The first rotating plate 14 is configured to fix a sub battery cell and to rotate around a first rotation axis. A second transfer plate 13 and a second rotating plate 15 are considered to constitute the second support assembly wherein the second rotating plate 15 is configured to fix a sub battery cell and rotate around a second rotation axis. The first rotation axis is parallel to the second rotation axis. A second positioning mechanism and a compression assembly (considered to be constitute the third support assembly) are configured to fix a tab and an end cap. The second positioning mechanism comprises a top cap base 51 (considered to be the instantly claimed support seat) and a compression assembly (considered to be the instantly claimed shaping piece) being movably arranged relative to the top cap base 51. A mounting base 11, the first transfer plate 12, the first rotating plate 14, the second transfer plate 13, and the second rotating plate 15 are movably arranged on the mounting base 11 in a first direction and respectively are arranged on two sides of the second positioning mechanism in the first direction. The second positioning mechanism is movably arranged on the mounting base 11 in a third direction (0044-0127 and figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111916840 herein after referred to as ‘840.
Regarding claim 13, ‘840 teaches the battery cell fitting device, as discussed above.
‘840 does not explicitly teach the battery cell fitting device being included in a battery production line.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize the battery cell fitting device of ‘840 in a battery production line as the battery cell fitting would be a useful part of the battery production and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized using it as part of the battery production without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
‘840 teaches the battery cell fitting device, as discussed above.
‘840 neither teaches nor renders obvious the fixing bracket wherein the third support assembly being movably disposed on the fixing bracket along a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 July 16, 2026