DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 01/30/2026 Claims 1-20 are pending for this examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 11/30/2023.
Oath/Declaration
The oath or declaration filed on10/18/2023 is acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/26/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse Species I (Fig 3), directed to an embodiment as depicted in FIGS. 1-6, with claims 1-11 and 19-20, in the “Response to Election / Restriction Filed” filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged and entered.
This office action considers claims 1-20 are thus pending for prosecution, of which, non-elected claims 12-18 are withdrawn, and elected claims 1-11 and 19-20 are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felsl et al (US 2012/0098097 A1; hereafter Felsl) in view of Sugawara (US 2013/0001703 A1; hereafter Sugawara).
Regarding claim 1. Felsl discloses a semiconductor module comprising:
a plurality of SiC chips (Fig [1-2], IGBT 100 and 200, Para [ 0030-0031]) electrically connected in parallel (Para [ 0037]) and each having a MOSFET and a parasitic transistor that are formed therein (Para [ 0060] discloses “circuit diagrams of the IGBT 100 and 200. Both IGBTs include a MOSFET M.sub.1 and M.sub.2, respectively, a collector-side transistor T.sub.1 and T.sub.2, respectively, and a parasitic transistor T.sub.p1 and T.sub.p2, respectively.”); and
a control unit (circuitry, e.g. for a given inductive load, Para [ 0042]) which controls switching of the MOSFET in each of the plurality of SiC chips (Para [ 0042]), wherein for all of the plurality of SiC chips, at least in a state where the parasitic transistor is turned on, the control unit controls (Para [ 0042]).
But Felsl does not disclose explicitly controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugawara discloses controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0180-0181] discloses “The turn-on time and the turn-off time of the combined switching device according to the third embodiment are 205 ns and 350 ns).
Since Felsl and Sugawara are both from the similar field of endeavor, and Sugawara discloses switching time when the MOSFET switch is changed from a turn-on state to a turn-off state. Therefore, the purpose disclosed by Sugawara would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Felsl. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl in light of Sugawara teaching “controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0180-0181] discloses “The turn-on time and the turn-off time of the combined switching device according to the third embodiment are 205 ns and 350 ns)” for further advantage such as high-speed operation of the combined switching device can be realized.
Regarding claim 3. Felsl and Sugawara discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1, Felsl further disclose wherein even in a state where the parasitic transistor is turned off, the control unit (Para [ 0042]).
But Felsl does not disclose explicitly controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugawara discloses controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0180-0181]).
Since Felsl and Sugawara are both from the similar field of endeavor, and Sugawara discloses switching time when the MOSFET switch is changed from a turn-on state to a turn-off state. Therefore, the purpose disclosed by Sugawara would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Felsl. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl in light of Sugawara teaching “controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0180-0181])” for further advantage such as high-speed operation of the combined switching device can be realized.
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felsl et al (US 2012/0098097 A1; hereafter Felsl) in view of Sugawara (US 2013/0001703 A1; hereafter Sugawara) as applied claims above and further in view of FUJIMOTO et al (US 2019/0198620 A1; hereafter FUJIMOTO).
Regarding claim 2. Felsl and Sugawara discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1, Felsl further discloses wherein the parasitic transistor of each of the plurality of SiC chips is not turned on in a region (Para [ 0042]).
But Felsl and Sugawara does not disclose explicitly where a current density of a main current flowing through the MOSFET corresponding is 6000 A/cm2 or less.
In a similar field of endeavor, FUJIMOTO discloses where a current density of a main current flowing through the MOSFET corresponding is 6000 A/cm2 or less (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl and Sugawara in light of FUJIMOTO teaching “where a current density of a main current flowing through the MOSFET corresponding is 6000 A/cm2 or less (Abstract)” for further advantage such as having low ON voltage, high-speed characteristics.
Regarding claim 19. Felsl and Sugawara in light of FUJIMOTO discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 2, Felsl further disclose wherein even in a state where the parasitic transistor is turned off, the control unit (Para [ 0042]).
But Felsl does not disclose explicitly controls, to 0.9 μs or less, the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugawara discloses controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0180-0181]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl and FUJIMOTO in light of Sugawara teaching “controls to 0.9 μs or less, a turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0180-0181])” for further advantage such as high-speed operation of the combined switching device can be realized.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felsl et al (US 2012/0098097 A1; hereafter Felsl) in view of Sugawara (US 2013/0001703 A1; hereafter Sugawara) as applied claims above and further in view of CHOI et al (US 2014/0175901 A1; hereafter CHOI).
Regarding claim 4. Felsl and Sugawara discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1, Felsl further discloses wherein in a state where the parasitic transistor is turned off, the control unit controls (Para [ 0042]).
But Felsl and Sugawara does not disclose explicitly control unit controls to a value larger than 0.9 μs, the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding.
In a similar field of endeavor, CHOI discloses control unit controls to a value larger than 0.9 μs, the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl and Sugawara in light of CHOI teaching “control unit controls to a value larger than 0.9 μs, the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0046])” for further advantage such as improving insertion loss characteristics by varying a resistance value.
Regarding claim 5. Felsl and Sugawara in light of CHOI discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 4, Felsl further discloses wherein the control unit collectively controls the turn-off times of the MOSFETs of all of the plurality of SiC chips (Para [0030-0032, 0042]).
Regarding claim 6. Felsl and Sugawara in light of CHOI disclose the semiconductor module according to claim 4, Felsl further discloses wherein depending on a state of the parasitic transistor of each of the plurality of SiC chips, the control unit individually controls the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [0030-0032, 0042]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felsl et al (US 2012/0098097 A1; hereafter Felsl) in view of Sugawara (US 2013/0001703 A1; hereafter Sugawara) as applied claims above and further in view of Krug (US 2022/0416766 A1; hereafter Krug).
Regarding claim 7. Felsl and Sugawara in light of CHOI disclose the semiconductor module according to claim 4, But Felsl and Sugawara in light of CHOI does not disclose explicitly further comprising:
a current sensing unit which senses a main current flowing through the MOSFET of at least one of the plurality of SiC chips, wherein the control unit controls the turn-off time of the MOSFET of the at least one of the plurality of SiC chips based on a waveform of the main current sensed by the current sensing unit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Krug discloses a current sensing unit which senses a main current flowing through the MOSFET of at least one of the plurality of SiC chips ( Fig [1,5], current sensing unit 202A ( Para [ 0022-0027]) , wherein the control unit (Controller 106, Para [ 0025-0027]) controls the turn-off time of the MOSFET of the at least one of the plurality of SiC chips based on a waveform of the main current sensed by the current sensing unit (Fig [1,5], Para [ 0022-0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl, Sugawara and CHOI in light of Krug teaching “a current sensing unit which senses a main current flowing through the MOSFET of at least one of the plurality of SiC chips ( Fig [1,5], current sensing unit 202A ( Para [ 0022-0027]) , wherein the control unit (Controller 106, Para [ 0025-0027]) controls the turn-off time of the MOSFET of the at least one of the plurality of SiC chips based on a waveform of the main current sensed by the current sensing unit (Fig [1,5], Para [ 0022-0026])” for further advantage such as determine the voltage drop over the power switch based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal.
Regarding claim 8. Felsl, Sugawara and CHOI in light of Krug discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 7, Krug discloses wherein the control unit controls the turn-off time of the MOSFET (Fig [1,5], Para [ 0022-0026]) of the at least one of the plurality of SiC chips based on a slope of a rising edge of the waveform of the main current sensed by the current sensing unit (Fig [1,5], Para [ 0022-0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl, Sugawara and CHOI in light of Krug teaching “wherein the control unit controls the turn-off time of the MOSFET (Fig [1,5], Para [ 0022-0026]) of the at least one of the plurality of SiC chips based on a slope of a rising edge of the waveform of the main current sensed by the current sensing unit (Fig [1,5], Para [ 0022-0026])” for further advantage such as determine the voltage drop over the power switch based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felsl et al (US 2012/0098097 A1; hereafter Felsl) in view of Sugawara (US 2013/0001703 A1; hereafter Sugawara) as applied claims above and further in view of TANIOKA et al (US 2017/0250254 A1; hereafter TANIOKA).
Regarding claim 9. Felsl and Sugawara discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1, Felsl further discloses MOSFET of each of the plurality of SiC chips (Para [ 0030-0031, 0060-0061]).
But Felsl and Sugawara does not disclose explicitly wherein an acceptor concentration of a base region of the MOSFET is 1×1017/cm3 or more.
In a similar field of endeavor, TANIOKA discloses wherein an acceptor concentration of a base region of the MOSFET is 1×1017/cm3 or more (Para [ 0070, 0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl and Sugawara in light of TANIOKA teaching “wherein an acceptor concentration of a base region of the MOSFET is 1×1017/cm3 or more (Para [ 0070, 0078])” for further advantage such as to control resistance in the channel region to improve device performance.
Regarding claim 10. Felsl and Sugawara in light of TANIOKA discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 9, Felsl further discloses MOSFET of each of the plurality of SiC chips (Para [ 0030-0031, 0060-0061]).
But Felsl and Sugawara does not disclose explicitly wherein the acceptor concentration of the base region of the MOSFET is 8×1017/cm3 or more.
In a similar field of endeavor, TANIOKA discloses wherein the acceptor concentration of the base region of the MOSFET is 8×1017/cm3 or more (Para [ 0070, 0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl and Sugawara in light of TANIOKA teaching “wherein the acceptor concentration of the base region of the MOSFET is 8×1017/cm3 or more” for further advantage such as to control resistance in the channel region to improve device performance.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felsl et al (US 2012/0098097 A1; hereafter Felsl) in view of Sugawara (US 2013/0001703 A1; hereafter Sugawara) as applied claims above and further in view of Sandow et al (US 2022/0102478 A1; hereafter Sandow).
Regarding claim 11. Felsl and Sugawara discloses semiconductor module according to claim 1, But Felsl and Sugawara does not disclose explicitly wherein a maximum value of a contact resistance of a contact region of the MOSFET of each of the plurality of SiC chips is 9.0 or less.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sandow discloses wherein a maximum value of a contact resistance of a contact region of the MOSFET of each of the plurality of SiC chips is 9.0 or less (Para [ 0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl and Sugawara in light of Sandow teaching “wherein a maximum value of a contact resistance of a contact region of the MOSFET of each of the plurality of SiC chips is 9.0 or less (Para [ 0142])” for further advantage such as to control resistance to improve device performance.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felsl et al (US 2012/0098097 A1; hereafter Felsl) in view of Sugawara (US 2013/0001703 A1; hereafter Sugawara) and FUJIMOTO et al (US 2019/0198620 A1; hereafter FUJIMOTO) as applied claims above and further in view of CHOI et al (US 2014/0175901 A1; hereafter CHOI).
Regarding claim 20. Felsl and Sugawara in light of FUJIMOTO discloses semiconductor module according to claim 2, Felsl further disclose wherein even in a state where the parasitic transistor is turned off, the control unit (Para [ 0042]).
But Felsl and Sugawara in light of FUJIMOTO does not disclose explicitly control unit controls to a value larger than 0.9 μs, the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding.
In a similar field of endeavor, CHOI discloses control unit controls to a value larger than 0.9 μs, the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Felsl, Sugawara and FUJIMOTO in light of CHOI teaching “control unit controls to a value larger than 0.9 μs, the turn-off time of the MOSFET corresponding (Para [ 0046])” for further advantage such as improving insertion loss characteristics by varying a resistance value of a gate resistor of a metal oxide semiconductor (MOS) transistor.
Conclusion
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898