DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions - NO TRAVERSE
A restriction requirement was mailed on 12/10/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A in the reply filed on 12/18/25 is acknowledged. Claims 5-10 and 14-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0097047 A1 (“Jung”).
Jung teaches, for example:
Jung teaches:
1. An organic light-emitting display device (see e.g. Fig. 3) comprising:
a substrate 100 including a display area (e.g. active area AA, and possibly including subsets thereof or additional areas therearound, see e.g. Fig. 2B) having a plurality of sub-pixels (“sub-pixel” has not been defined, but the specification makes it clear that the display can emit multiple colors by use of color filters over certain light-emitting regions, and such light-emitting regions may reasonably be considered as subpixels, see e.g. para 83), and a non-display area (including areas such as pad area PA, see e.g. Fig. 2B);
an auxiliary line (e.g. “lower low-voltage line (VSS) 121”) on the substrate between the plurality of sub-pixels (see e.g. Figs. 2B and 3);
an auxiliary line connection part (e.g. comprising “upper low-voltage line (VSS) 122” and “auxiliary electrode 170”) connected to the auxiliary line;
a passivation layer (e.g. “passivation layer 175”) on the auxiliary line connection part, the passivation layer configured to expose a part of the auxiliary line connection part in a contact area (see e.g. region near “contact space C” in “sixth contact hole CH6” in Fig. 3);
an interlayer insulation layer (e.g. “insulating interlayer 140”) between the auxiliary line and the passivation layer (140 is between parts of 122/170 and parts of 175 at least at certain angles, see e.g. Fig. 3);
a planarization layer (e.g. “planarization layer 178”) on the passivation layer, the planarization layer having an end that further protrudes toward the contact area than an end of the passivation layer (see portion of 178 in the circled region of annotated Fig. 3 below); and
a plurality of organic light-emitting elements (comprising e.g. “anode 180”, “organic emitting layer 210”, and “cathode 220”) on the planarization layer and on the plurality of sub-pixels,
wherein the auxiliary line connection part comprises:
a first auxiliary line connection part (e.g. 121) below the interlayer insulation layer, the first auxiliary line connection part connected to the auxiliary line (see e.g. Fig. 3); and
a second auxiliary line connection part (e.g. 122 combined with 170) between the interlayer insulation layer and the passivation layer (see e.g. Fig. 3),
the second auxiliary line connection part connected to the first auxiliary line connection part (see e.g. Fig. 3),
wherein a cathode electrode (e.g. “cathode electrode 220”) of each of the plurality of organic light-emitting elements is in contact with the auxiliary line connection part in the contact area (see e.g. Fig. 3).
11. The organic light-emitting display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a buffer layer (e.g. “buffer layer 125”) on the substrate, wherein the auxiliary line is between the substrate and the buffer layer (see e.g. Fig. 3), and wherein the first auxiliary line connection part is between the buffer layer and the interlayer insulation layer (see e.g. Fig. 3).
12. The organic light-emitting display device of claim 11, further comprising:
a plurality of transistors (see e.g. “thin film transistor” comprising 126, 130, 150, 160, see e.g. para 45 and Fig. 3) on the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the first auxiliary line connection part comprises a same material as a gate electrode of each of the plurality of transistors (see e.g. para 53 and 55), wherein the second auxiliary line connection part comprises a same material as a source electrode and a drain electrode of each of the plurality of transistors (see e.g. para 53 and 55).
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 10-2018-0013225 (“LG”) (see 4/19/24 IDS and applicant-submitted NPL copy) (also see machine-generated translation provided by the office with this action).
LG teaches, for example:
LG teaches:
1. An organic light-emitting display device (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4I) comprising:
a substrate (e.g. 101) including a display area having a plurality of sub-pixels (see e.g. the “active region” having light-emitting elements 130 having “sub-pixels… arranged in a matrix form to display an image”), and a non-display area (see e.g. Fig. 1 and associated text; in Fig. 1, the display is shown in top view, having an area with pads for providing various signals, which is a “non-display” area since light is not emitted from this area);
an auxiliary line (e.g. “first low potential power line 162”) on the substrate between the plurality of sub-pixels;
an auxiliary line connection part (e.g. a combination of “second low potential power line 164” and “auxiliary electrode 168”) connected to the auxiliary line;
a passivation layer (e.g. “first bank 146”, which is made of an insulating material that “passivates” and is thus reasonably interpreted as a “passivation layer”) on the auxiliary line connection part, the passivation layer configured to expose a part of the auxiliary line connection part in a contact area (see e.g. Fig. 4I);
an interlayer insulation layer (e.g. “passivation layer 118”, which is between various layers – and thus “interlayer” – and is made of an insulating material, so it is reasonably interpreted as an “interlayer insulating layer”) between the auxiliary line and the passivation layer;
a planarization layer (e.g. “second bank 148”, which is a layer across the device that has a planar top surface, and is thus reasonably interpreted as a “planarization layer”) on the passivation layer, the planarization layer having an end that further protrudes toward the contact area than an end of the passivation layer (see Fig. 4I, wherein in “undercut region UC” there is a void where nothing, including layer 134, is not formed); and
a plurality of organic light-emitting elements (e.g. “light emitting element 130” comprising “organic light emitting layer 134”) on the planarization layer and on the plurality of sub-pixels,
wherein the auxiliary line connection part comprises:
a first auxiliary line connection part (e.g. 164) below the interlayer insulation layer, the first auxiliary line connection part connected to the auxiliary line; and
a second auxiliary line connection part (e.g. 168) between the interlayer insulation layer and the passivation layer, the second auxiliary line connection part connected to the first auxiliary line connection part,
wherein a cathode electrode (e.g. “cathode electrode 136”) of each of the plurality of organic light-emitting elements is in contact with the auxiliary line connection part in the contact area.
2. The organic light-emitting display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a dummy organic layer (see portion of 134 that is formed directly on 168 in the hole 138b in the process of forming 134, see e.g. Figs. 3B, 4A, and 4I) on the auxiliary line connection part,
wherein the dummy organic layer is spaced apart from an organic layer of each of the plurality of organic light-emitting elements (see e.g. Figs. 3B, 4A, and 4I).
11. The organic light-emitting display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a buffer layer (e.g. “interlayer insulating layer 116” which is insulating and thus “buffering”, so is reasonably interpreted as a “buffer layer”) on the substrate,
wherein the auxiliary line is between the substrate and the buffer layer, and wherein the first auxiliary line connection part is between the buffer layer and the interlayer insulation layer (see e.g. Fig. 4I).
13. The organic light-emitting display device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel, and the auxiliary line and the auxiliary line connection part are between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel (see e.g. the “active region” having light-emitting elements 130 having “sub-pixels… arranged in a matrix form to display an image” along with Figs. 1 and 4I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2018-0013225 (“LG”) (see 4/19/24 IDS and applicant-submitted NPL copy) (also see machine-generated translation provided by the office with this action).
Re claim 3, LG teaches and/or would have suggested as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention: the organic light-emitting display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein in the contact area, the cathode electrode is in contact with the dummy organic layer, the auxiliary line connection part, a side surface of the passivation layer, and a bottom surface of the planarization layer that protrudes further than the passivation layer (see e.g. Fig. 4I, wherein 136 fills the hole 138b and parts of the undercut region UC, see “On the other hand, the cathode electrode 136, which is formed by diffracting in the vertical, horizontal, and inclined directions, has better step coverage than the organic light emitting layer 134 and is also formed in the undercut UC region.” While in Fig. 4I it is not shown on the bottom of 148, the drawing is rather schematic, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the teachings herein and from knowledge in the prior art that in real devices, the UC region shown in Fig. 4I would not have such straight lines and perfect angles, and that 136 may certainly contact the bottom surface of 148 in the region UC).
It has been established that “the [obviousness] analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim” because the Office or “a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int’ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). It is also well settled that a reference stands for all of the specific teachings thereof as well as the inferences one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably been expected to draw therefrom. See In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264-65 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape (the cathode touching the bottom surface of the passivation layer) is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical. It has been found that mere changes in the shape of an object, lacking any convincing proof of criticality or unobviousness thereof, is not sufficient for patentability. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). To overcome a prima facie case of obviousness, Applicant must show factual evidence that the particular range is critical or achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.
Claim(s) 4 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not explicitly teach, or reasonably suggest as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, an invention having all of the limitations of claim 4, including:
a bank comprising an inorganic material, the bank configured to cover the planarization layer and an end of an anode electrode of each of the plurality of organic light-emitting elements, wherein an end of the planarization layer protrudes further than an end of the bank in the contact area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, because it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, but which is not relied upon specifically in the rejections above, is listed on the Notice of References Cited.
/Kevin Parendo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896