DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2023 and 3/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 recites “the each of the vertical metal segments”. For examination purposes and consistency with claim 1, “the each of the vertical metal segments” in line 5 will be interpreted to read as “each of the vertical metal segments”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8; 10-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YU (US 2015/0340329 A1, hereafter Yu).
Re claim 1, Yu discloses in FIGS. 1-11 a method comprising:
forming a first non-conductive layer (26; [0021]) over a top side (upper surface) semiconductor die (100; [0014]);
patterning (FIG. 1) the first non-conductive layer (26) to form an opening (26a; [0021]) exposing a top surface (upper plane) of a bond pad (22; [0021]) of the semiconductor die (100);
forming (FIG. 2) a metal trace (Cu, Al or Cu alloy 28; [0023]) of a redistribution layer (RDL: PPI; [0023]) over a portion (around 26a) of the first non-conductive layer (26) and exposed top surface (upper plane) of the bond pad (22); and
forming (FIG. 3) a surrounding bump metallization (SBM) structure (32; [0025] and [0027]) on a portion (28P; [0023]) of the metal trace (Cu, Al or Cu alloy 28), the SBM structure (32) including a plurality of (at least 2; [0025]) vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) surrounding a central opening (32G; [0025]).
Re claim 2, Yu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising placing a ball connector (34 in FIG. 4; [0028]) into the central opening (32G) of the SBM structure (32) such that the plurality (at least 2) of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) substantially surround (within 32G) the ball connector (34).
Re claim 4, Yu discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising reflowing ([0029]) the ball connector (34) such that conductive material (solder; [0029]) of the ball connector (34) wets to (contacts) the entire (all of) inner sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of the plurality (at least two) of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) of the SBM (32).
Re claims 5-7, Yu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) of plurality (at least two) of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) is separated from a neighboring (adjacent) vertical metal wall segment (right/left 32) by a respective gap (32G/32E; [0035] and [0040]), the gap (32G/32E) having a predetermined lateral dimension (W2; [0035] and [0040]); wherein the predetermined lateral dimension (W2) of the gap (32G/32E) is substantially 10 microns or greater (150-450 µm; [0035]); and wherein the gap (32G/32E) extends vertically (upwardly) from the portion (28P) of the metal trace (28) to a top (upper plane) of the plurality (at least two) of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32).
Re claim 8, Yu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein forming the SBM structure (32) includes forming the plurality (at least two) of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) as electroplated copper pillars (as in 28; [0023] and [0027]).
Re claim 10, Yu discloses in FIG. 6 a semiconductor device comprising:
a first non-conductive layer (26; [0021]) over a top side (upper surface)
semiconductor die (100; [0014]), an opening (26a; [0021]) in the first non-conductive layer
(26) exposes a top surface (upper plane) of a bond pad (22; [0021]) of the semiconductor die (100);
a metal trace (Cu, Al or Cu alloy 28; [0023]) of a redistribution layer (RDL: PPI; [0023]) formed over a portion (around 26a) of the first non-conductive layer (26) and exposed top surface (upper plane) of the bond pad (22); and
a surrounding bump metallization (SBM) structure (32; [0025] and [0027]) formed on a portion (28P; [0023]) of the metal trace (Cu, Al or Cu alloy 28), the SBM structure (32) including a plurality of (at least 2; [0025]) vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) surrounding a central opening (32G; [0025]).
Re claim 11, Yu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the plurality of vertical metal wall segments of the SBM structure are formed as electroplated copper pillars (see claim 8).
Re claim 13, Yu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 10, further comprising a reflowed ball connector surrounded by the plurality of vertical metal wall segments such that conductive material of the ball connector is wetted to the inner sidewalls of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments and to the portion of the metal trace (see claims 2 and 4).
Re claim 15, Yu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein each vertical metal wall segment of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments is separated from a neighboring vertical wall segment by way of a gap, the gap having a predetermined lateral dimension (see claims 5-6).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al (US 6,841,872 B1, hereafter Ha).
Re claim 16, Ha discloses in FIGS. 4A-4K a method comprising:
forming a first non-conductive layer (105; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) over a top side (upper surface) a semiconductor die (100; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33);
patterning (FIG. 4B; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) the first non-conductive layer (105) to form an opening exposing a top surface (upper plane) of a bond pad (103; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) of the semiconductor die (100);
forming (FIG. 4D) a metal trace (left 107; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) of a redistribution layer (RDL; 1st metal pattern; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) over a portion (upper surface) of the first non-conductive layer (105) and exposed top surface (upper plane) of the bond pad (103);
forming (FIG. 4H) a surrounding bump metallization (SBM) structure (left side 109; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) on a portion (upper surface) of the metal trace (left 107), the SBM structure (left side 109) including a plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left side left/middle/right 109) surrounding a central opening (space at left side middle 109 between left side left/right 109), each vertical metal wall segment (left side left/middle/right 109) separated (isolated) from a neighboring (adjacent) vertical wall segment (109) by way of a vertical gap (unlabeled longitudinal space);
forming (FIG. 4I) a second non-conductive layer (135; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) over the first non-conductive layer (105) and exposed portions (upper plane beside left side left/middle/right 109 and between adjacent left side left/middle/right 109) of the metal trace (left 107); and
patterning (FIG. 4J; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) the second non-conductive layer (135) such that a top surface (upper plane) of the metal trace (left 107) is exposed in the central opening (space at left side middle 109 between left side left/right 109) of the SBM structure (left side 109).
Re claim 17, Ha discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising placing (FIG. 4K) a ball connector (111; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) into the central opening (space at left side middle 109 between left side left/right 109) of the SBM structure (left side 109) such that the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left side left/middle/right 109) substantially surround (within the space at left side middle 109 between left side left/right 109) the ball connector (111).
Re claim 18, Ha discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising reflowing (FIG. 4K; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) the ball connector (111) such that conductive material (solder paste; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) of the ball connector (111) wets (connects electrically; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) to the entire inner (all of) inner sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left side left/middle/right 109) of the SBM structure (left side 109) and to the portion (upper surface) of the metal trace (left 107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3; 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of CHEN et al (US 2013/0221522 A1, hereafter Chen) and NOH (US 2019/0096836 A1, hereafter Noh).
Re claims 3; 12 and 14, Yu discloses the method of claim 2; and the device of claim 10, wherein a horizontal width or diameter (W2; [0035] and [0040]) of the central opening (32G/32E) is substantially 10 microns or greater (150-450 µm; [0035]).
But, fails to disclose wherein a height dimension of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) is approximately in a range of 40% to 60% of a largest diameter of the ball connector (34); wherein a height dimension of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) is substantially in a range of 40% to 60% of the horizontal width or diameter (W2) of the central opening (32G/32E); and wherein a height dimension of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) is at least 50% of a maximum height dimension of the reflowed ball connector (34).
However,
A. Chen discloses in FIG. 4A a device comprising a reflowed ball connector (401; [0034]-[0035]) with a largest diameter of 246 µm ([0035]) and a maximum height dimension of 216 µm ([0035]).
And,
B. Noh discloses in FIG. 1 a device comprising a height dimension (Hc; [0033]) of a plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right Cu 230; [0029]) is approximately in a range of 40% to 60% (50% to 70%; [0033]) of a height (Hb; [0033]) of a bump connector (220; [0033]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and the device of Yu by using the reflowed ball connector largest diameter of 246 µm and the maximum height dimension of 216 µm, as disclosed by Chen, to determine the minimal pitch required to prevent shorting (Chen; [0038]), and by using the height dimension of a plurality of vertical metal wall segments to approximately in a range of 40% to 60% (50% to 70%) of a height of a bump connector, as disclosed by Noh, with Chen, to maintain an adhesion force between the ball connector and a package substrate (Noh; [0006]), wherein a height dimension of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) is approximately in a range of 40% to 60% of a largest diameter of the ball connector (34); wherein a height dimension of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) is substantially in a range of 40% to 60% of the horizontal width or diameter (W2) of the central opening (32g/32e); and wherein a height dimension of the plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) is at least 50% of a maximum height dimension of the reflowed ball connector (34).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Ha.
Re claim 9, Yu discloses the method of claim 1.
But, fails to disclose the method further comprising: forming a second non-conductive layer over the first non-conductive layer (26) and exposed portions of the metal trace (Cu, Al or Cu alloy 28); and patterning the second non-conductive layer such that a top surface of the metal trace (Cu, Al or Cu alloy 28) is exposed in the central opening (32g) of the SBM structure (32).
However,
Ha discloses in FIGS. 4A-4K a method comprising:
forming (FIG. 4I) a second non-conductive layer (135; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) over the first non-conductive layer (105) and exposed portions (upper plane beside left side left/middle/right 109 and between adjacent left side left/middle/right 109) of the metal trace (left 107); and
patterning (FIG. 4J; col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 33) the second non-conductive layer (135) such that a top surface (upper plane) of the metal trace (left 107) is exposed in the central opening (space at left side middle 109 between left side left/right 109) of the SBM structure (left side 109).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yu by adding the forming a second non-conductive layer over the first non-conductive layer and exposed portions of the metal trace; and patterning the second non-conductive layer such that a top surface of the metal trace is exposed in the central opening of the SBM structure of Ha, thereby improving adhesion strength between the ball connector and a package body. As a result, the ball connector is prevented from separating from the package body, thereby improving reliability of the semiconductor package (col. 5, lines 33-42).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Yu.
Re claims 19-20, Na discloses the method of claim 16.
But, fails to disclose wherein the vertical gap (unlabeled longitudinal space) is formed having a predetermined lateral dimension, the predetermined lateral dimension substantially 10 microns or greater; and wherein the plurality of vertical metal wall segments of the SBM structure are formed as electroplated copper pillars.
However,
Yu discloses wherein a vertical gap (32G/32E) is formed having a predetermined lateral dimension (W2), the predetermined lateral dimension substantially 10 microns or greater (see claims 5-6); and wherein a plurality of vertical metal wall segments (left/right 32) of a SBM structure (32) are formed as electroplated copper pillars (see claim 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ha by using the vertical gap formed having a predetermined lateral dimension, the predetermined lateral dimension substantially 10 microns or greater; and wherein the plurality of vertical metal wall segments of the SBM structure are formed as electroplated copper pillars of Yu, in order to form positioning members configured to limit bump movement after the bump is disposed over the RDL so as to retain the bump at a predetermined position (Yu; Abstract).
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892