DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0395438 A1 to Kang et al., “Kang”, as evidenced by Wikipedia’s table on Work function of elements and “Measurement of work function of transition metal nitride and carbide thin films” Y. Gotoh, H. Tsuji, J. Ishikawa in J. Vac. Sci. Technol. B Microelectron. Nanometer Struct. Process. Meas. Phenom., 21 (2003), pp. 1607-1611, “Gotoh”.
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a semiconductor device (FIG. 4), comprising:
a lower structure (e.g. 150 and 152, ¶ [0042]);
a capacitor (e.g. CS1A) on the lower structure, the capacitor including a first bottom electrode (172A, ¶ [0063]), which is extended in a direction perpendicular to a bottom surface of the lower structure, and
a second bottom electrode (topmost 174A, ¶ [0064],[0065]) on the first bottom electrode (172A);
a bottom supporting pattern (192, ¶ [0051]) configured to support the first bottom electrode (172A); and
a top supporting pattern (194, ¶ [0051]) on the bottom supporting pattern configured to support the first bottom electrode (172A),
wherein the first bottom electrode includes a first material (e.g. titanium (Ti), tungsten (W), ¶ [0063]), and
the second bottom electrode (174A) includes a second material (e.g. niobium nitride ¶ [0065]).
Wikipedia evidences that titanium (Ti) has a work function of 4.33 eV and tungsten (W) has a work function of 4.32-4.55 eV.
Gotoh evidences wherein niobium nitride (NbN) has a work function of 4.7-4.9 eV (e.g. page 1609 left column and FIG. 1(b)).
Wikipedia and Gotoh together evidence that the work function of the second material (niobium nitride (NbN)) is greater than a work function of the first material (titanium (Ti) or tungsten (W)).
Regarding claim 4, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Kang further anticipates wherein the work function of the second material (e.g. niobium nitride (NbN) ¶ [0065]) ranges from 4.5 eV to 5.5 eV (as evidenced by Gotoh wherein niobium nitride (NbN) has a work function of 4.7-4.9 eV (e.g. page 1609 left column and FIG. 1(b)).
Regarding claim 5, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Kang further anticipates wherein the second material (174A) includes niobium nitride (¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 5, and Kang further anticipates wherein the first material (172A) includes titanium (¶ [0063]).
Regarding clam 7, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Kang further anticipates wherein a cross-sectional thickness of the second bottom electrode (174A) is smaller (substantially smaller as pictured) than half of a cross-sectional thickness of the first bottom electrode (172A).
Regarding claim 8, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Kang further anticipates (FIG. 4) wherein the capacitor (e.g. CS1A) further includes a dielectric layer (180, ¶ [0055]), which is on at least a portion of the first bottom electrode (172A) and at least a portion of the second bottom electrode (174A).
Regarding claim 9, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 8, and Kang further anticipates wherein the capacitor further includes a top electrode (185, ¶ [0056],[0057]) on a surface of the dielectric layer (180), and the top electrode is spaced apart from the first (172A) and second (174A) bottom electrodes with the dielectric layer (180) interposed therebetween.
Regarding claim 10, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Kang further anticipates wherein the bottom supporting pattern (192) includes a same material (¶ [0052]) as the top supporting pattern (194).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0215910 A1 to Song et al., “Song”, as evidenced by Wikipedia’s table on Work function of elements and “Measurement of work function of transition metal nitride and carbide thin films” Y. Gotoh, H. Tsuji, J. Ishikawa in J. Vac. Sci. Technol. B Microelectron. Nanometer Struct. Process. Meas. Phenom., 21 (2003), pp. 1607-1611, “Gotoh”.
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a semiconductor device (FIG. 2), comprising:
a lower structure (103, ¶ [0046]);
a capacitor on the lower structure, the capacitor including a first bottom electrode (105, ¶ [0049]), which is extended in a direction perpendicular to a bottom surface of the lower structure (103), and
a second bottom electrode (108 may be niobium nitride (NbN) ¶ [0054]) on the first bottom electrode (105);
a bottom supporting pattern (106S, ¶ [0048]) configured to support the first bottom electrode (105); and
a top supporting pattern (107S) on the bottom supporting pattern (106S) configured to support the first bottom electrode (105),
wherein the first bottom electrode (105) includes a first material (e.g. titanium or tungsten ¶ [0049]),
the second bottom electrode (108) includes a second material (e.g. niobium nitride (NbN) ¶ [0054]).
Wikipedia evidences that titanium (Ti) has a work function of 4.33 eV and tungsten (W) has a work function of 4.32-4.55 eV.
Gotoh evidences wherein niobium nitride (NbN) has a work function of 4.7-4.9 eV (e.g. page 1609 left column and FIG. 1(b)).
Wikipedia and Gotoh together evidence that the work function of the second material (niobium nitride (NbN)) is greater than a work function of the first material (titanium (Ti) or tungsten (W)).
Regarding claim 3, Song anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Song further anticipates wherein the second bottom electrode (108) has a width, in a direction parallel to the bottom surface of the lower structure (i.e. laterally), that is larger at a top surface thereof than at a bottom surface thereof (see Examiner-annotated figure below):
Claims 11,12,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0151439 A1 to Choi et al., “Choi”.
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses a semiconductor device (e.g. FIG. 1A-1D), comprising:
a substrate (10) including active patterns (“AR”, ¶ [0022]);
word lines (“WL”) disposed on the substrate to traverse the active patterns;
bit lines (“BL”) disposed on the substrate to traverse the word lines;
a bit line contact (21, ¶ [0029],[0030]) disposed on a center portion of one of the active patterns and connected to one of the bit lines;
storage node contacts (“BC”, ¶ [0022]) disposed on opposite ends of each of the active patterns;
a landing pad (“53(LP)”, ¶ [0022],[0034]) on one of the storage node contacts;
a capacitor (90, ¶ [0036]) on the landing pad, the capacitor including (FIG. 1D) a first bottom electrode (91b, or 91b and 86b together) connected to the landing pad and a second bottom electrode (91d, ¶ [0053]) disposed on the first bottom electrode;
a bottom supporting pattern (81, ¶ [0024]) configured to support the first bottom electrode (91b, or 91b and 86b together); and
a top supporting pattern (83) on the bottom supporting pattern and configured to support the first bottom electrode (91b, or 91b and 86b together), wherein the second bottom electrode (91d) is connected to the first bottom electrode (91b, or 91b and 86b together), and the second bottom electrode (91d) is configured such that an upper width thereof, in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, is larger than a lower width thereof (see Examiner-annotated figure below):
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11, and Choi further discloses wherein a portion (sidewalls) of the second bottom electrode (91d) has a rounded side surface (as pictured).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11, and Choi further discloses wherein an interface (between 86b and 91d) is present between the second bottom electrode (91d) and the first bottom electrode (91b, or 91b and 86b together).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0395438 A1 to Kang et al., “Kang”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0077102 A1 to Kim et al., “Kim”.
Regarding claim 2, Kang anticipates the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Kang further anticipates a top surface of the second bottom electrode (upper 174A) is located at a level, relative to the bottom surface of the lower structure, which is higher than the top surface of the top supporting pattern (194).
Kang fails to clearly teach wherein a top surface of the first bottom electrode (172A) is at a level, relative to the bottom surface of the lower structure, which is equal to or lower than a top surface of the top supporting pattern (194).
Kim teaches (FIG. 1A) three supporting pattern (71, 73, 75, ¶ [0081]) such that the top surface of a first bottom electrode (81, ¶ [0080]) is at a level, relative to a bottom surface of a lower structure (53), lower than a top surface of a top supporting pattern (73).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Kang with three supporting patterns as taught by Kim with the middle support structure identified as the top supporting pattern (under the doctrine of broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), MPEP 2111) in order to add additional support to prevent bending or collapse of the storage nodes (Kim ¶ [0007]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0215910 A1 to Song et al., “Song”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0151439 A1 to Choi et al., “Choi”.
Regarding claim 11, Song discloses a semiconductor device (FIG. 2), comprising:
a substrate (101, ¶ [0047]);
a landing pad (103, ¶ [0046],[0048]) on the substrate;
a capacitor on the landing pad, the capacitor including a first bottom electrode (105, ¶ [0049]) connected to the landing pad and a second bottom electrode (108 may be niobium nitride (NbN) ¶ [0054]) disposed on the first bottom electrode;
a bottom supporting pattern (106S, ¶ [0048]) configured to support the first bottom electrode (105); and
a top supporting pattern (107S) on the bottom supporting pattern and configured to support the first bottom electrode (105), wherein the second bottom electrode (108) is connected (as pictured) to the first bottom electrode (103), and the second bottom electrode (108) is configured such that an upper width thereof, in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, is larger than a lower width thereof (see Examiner-annotated figure below):
Song fails to clearly teach in sufficient detail the substrate including active patterns; word lines disposed on the substrate to traverse the active patterns; bit lines disposed on the substrate to traverse the word lines; a bit line contact disposed on a center portion of one of the active patterns and connected to one of the bit lines; storage node contacts disposed on opposite ends of each of the active patterns; a landing pad on one of the storage node contacts.
Choi teaches a semiconductor device (e.g. FIG. 1A-1D), comprising: a substrate (10) including active patterns (“AR”, ¶ [0022]); word lines (“WL”) disposed on the substrate to traverse the active patterns; bit lines (“BL”) disposed on the substrate to traverse the word lines; a bit line contact (21, ¶ [0029],[0030]) disposed on a center portion of one of the active patterns and connected to one of the bit lines; storage node contacts (“BC”, ¶ [0022]) disposed on opposite ends of each of the active patterns; a landing pad (“53(LP)”, ¶ [0022],[0034]) on one of the storage node contacts; and a capacitor (90, ¶ [0036]) on the landing pad.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Song with the underlying addressing circuitry as exemplified by Choi in order to achieve the benefits of the improved capacitor structures of Song such as improved sensing margin by reducing traps (Song ¶ [0011],[0025]) and improved capacitance (Song ¶ [0012],[0025]) in a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) configuration (Choi FIG. 1A,1B, ¶ [0003]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0215910 A1 to Song et al., “Song”, as evidenced by Wikipedia’s table on Work function of elements. and “Measurement of work function of transition metal nitride and carbide thin films” Y. Gotoh, H. Tsuji, J. Ishikawa in J. Vac. Sci. Technol. B Microelectron. Nanometer Struct. Process. Meas. Phenom., 21 (2003), pp. 1607-1611, “Gotoh”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0151439 A1 to Choi et al., “Choi”.
Regarding claim 13, Song in view of Choi yields the semiconductor device of claim 11, and Song further teaches wherein the first bottom electrode (105) comprises a first material (e.g. titanium or tungsten ¶ [0049]) and the second bottom electrode (108) comprises a second material (e.g. niobium nitride (NbN) ¶ [0054]).
Wikipedia evidences that titanium (Ti) has a work function of 4.33 eV and tungsten (W) has a work function of 4.32-4.55 eV.
Gotoh evidences wherein niobium nitride (NbN) has a work function of 4.7-4.9 eV (e.g. page 1609 left column and FIG. 1(b)).
Wikipedia and Gotoh together evidence that the work function of the second material (niobium nitride (NbN)) is greater than a work function of the first material (titanium (Ti) or tungsten (W)) by a range of 0.1 eV to 1 eV.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0384194 A1 to Woo et al. teaches (e.g. FIG. 2) wherein conductive pillars 43 may include a first material, and the capping conductive pattern 53 may include a second material that has a work function greater than that of the first material (¶ [0037]);
U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0165088 A1 to Cho et al. teaches (e.g. FIG. 1) a crystallization inducing layer 26 may include a material having a work function that is greater in magnitude than a work function of the first electrode and a work function of the second electrode 24 (¶ [0037]).
/Eric A. Ward/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891