DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuister et al. [US 2011/0068510 A1] in view of Peroz et al. [US 20230266594 A1].
Regarding claims 1, 8-10, 17 and 18, Wuister et al. discloses a method (as shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
performing a series of step lithography processes (as shown in Fig. 1) using a series of master stamps (10) so as to form a working stamp having a first surface including a plurality of regions (paragraph [0083] teaches wherein a plurality of imprint templates is used to pattern the same substrate), each step lithography process including:
pressing a master stamp of the series of master stamps into a material layer of a working stamp workpiece at a corresponding region of the material layer (as shown in Fig. 1), the master stamp having a plurality of surface patterns formed thereon (as shown in Fig. 1);
applying ultraviolet light to the corresponding region to locally cure the material layer at the corresponding region (paragraphs [0076] and [0083] and teaches curing the imprintable medium using ultraviolet light); and
detaching the master stamp (10) from the material layer of the working stamp workpiece after applying the ultraviolet light (as shown in Fig. 1).
Wuister et al. does not teach wherein the master stamps have a first surface including a plurality of regions, each region of the plurality of regions including a plurality of surface gratings, at least two regions of the plurality of regions including different patterns of surface gratings.
However, Peroz et al. discloses templates for producing diffraction grating, wherein the master stamps have a first surface including a plurality of regions, each region of the plurality of regions including a plurality of surface gratings, at least two regions of the plurality of regions including different patterns of surface gratings (as shown in Figs. 2 and 3, see also paragraphs [0029]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide master stamps having a plurality of regions including at least two regions of the plurality of regions including different patterns of surface gratings, as taught by Peroz et al. in the method of Wuister et al. because such a modification provides a cost-effective ways for producing waveguides with SRGs to provide improved image quality (brightness, resolution, uniformity, etc.) and/or increase the optical performance of the waveguide (paragraph [0098] of Peroz et al.).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Wuister et al. discloses wherein: the master stamp is at least partially transparent to the ultraviolet light; and applying ultraviolet light to the corresponding region comprises applying ultraviolet light to the corresponding region through the master stamp, further comprising: applying ultraviolet light to the material layer subsequent to performing the series of step lithography processes (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 11, Peroz et al. discloses wherein each master stamp of the series of master stamps is configured to form a different pattern of surface gratings, wherein each pattern of surface gratings differs by at least one of a size, a type, or an orientation (as shown in Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Wuister et al. in view of Peroz et al. discloses wherein each working stamp is aligned to the corresponding region using at least one alignment mark on the working stamp and at least one alignment mark on the working stamp workpiece (paragraph [0083] of Wuister et al. and paragraphs [0029]-[0030] of Peroz et al.).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Wuister et al. in view of Peroz et al. discloses wherein the material that is at least partially transparent to ultraviolet light is composed of a polymer (paragraph [0022] of Wuister et al. and paragraphs [0029]-[0030] of Peroz et al.).
Regarding claims 13-15, Wuister et al. in view of Peroz et al. discloses further comprising: pressing a first side of a second master stamp into the material layer of a working stamp workpiece following detaching the first master stamp, the first side of the second master stamp having a second plurality of surface grating patterns formed thereon and the second master stamp having an opposing second side with a patterned metal layer formed thereon, and a body of the second master stamp composed of a material that is at least partially transparent to ultraviolet light; applying ultraviolet light to the second side of the second master stamp to selectively cure the material layer of the working stamp; and detaching the second master stamp from the material of the working stamp workpiece after applying the ultraviolet light, wherein pressing the first side of the first master stamp into the material layer includes aligning the first master stamp to the working stamp workpiece using at least one alignment mark on the first master stamp and at least one alignment mark on the working stamp workpiece, wherein the patterned metal layer on the second side of the second master stamp includes a metal coating in regions in locations corresponding to regions of the first master stamp in which the first plurality of surface grating patterns is formed and is absent of a metal coating in regions of the second master stamp in which the second plurality of surface grating patterns is formed (paragraph [0083] and Fig. 1 of Wuister et al. and paragraphs [0029]-[0030] and Figs. 2 and 3 of Peroz et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882