DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. [US 2022/0326611 A1] in view of Park et al. [US 2020/0271836 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Jiang et al. discloses a method (Figs. 2 and 4) comprising:
performing a series of step lithography processes using a series of master stamps so as to form a working stamp having a first surface having a plurality of surface gratings formed therein (as shown in Figs. 2-5, there is a plurality of imprint steps), each step lithography process including:
pressing a master stamp of the series of master stamps into a material layer of a working stamp workpiece at a corresponding region of the material layer, the master stamp having a plurality of surface grating patterns formed thereon (as shown in Figs. 2-5, there is a plurality of imprint steps, see also paragraphs [0023]-[0041]).
Jiang et al. does not teach applying ultraviolet light to the corresponding region to locally cure the material layer at the corresponding region; and detaching the master stamp from the material layer of the working stamp workpiece after applying the ultraviolet light.
However, Park et al. discloses the manufacturing of a waveguide comprising multiple different grating designs wherein the patterns are imprinted and ultraviolet light is applied to cure the material and detach the mold (paragraphs [0094], [0103]-[0105], see also Figs. 4 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide curing using ultraviolet light, as taught by Park et al. in the system of Jiang et al. because such a modification provides a suitable alternative method of manufacturing an optical module wherein it is possible to easily modulate and manufacture a module formed with a plurality of patterns for each area (paragraph [0020] of Park et al.).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Jiang et al. in view of Park et al. discloses wherein: the master stamp is at least partially transparent to the ultraviolet light (paragraph [0017] of Jiang et al.); and applying ultraviolet light to the corresponding region comprises applying ultraviolet light to the corresponding region through the master stamp, further comprising: applying ultraviolet light to the material layer subsequent to performing the series of step lithography processes (paragraph [0094], [0103]-[0105] of Park et al., as modified above).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 11, Jiang et al. in view of Park et al. discloses wherein each master stamp of the series of master stamps is configured to form a different pattern of surface gratings, wherein each pattern of surface gratings differs by at least one of a size, a type, or an orientation (paragraphs [0008]-[0012] and Fig. 2 of Park et al. teaches different grating patterns, as modified above).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Jiang et al. in view of Park et al. discloses wherein each working stamp is aligned to the corresponding region using at least one alignment mark on the working stamp and at least one alignment mark on the working stamp workpiece (paragraphs [0008]-[0012] and Fig. 2 of Park et al. teaches aligning the different grating patterns, as modified above).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Jiang et al. in view of Park et al. discloses wherein the material that is at least partially transparent to ultraviolet light is composed of a polymer (paragraph [0017] of Jiang et al. and paragraph [0059] of Park et al., as modified above).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 17 and 18, Jiang et al. in view of Park et al. discloses a waveguide fabricated and a set of augmented reality glasses utilizing a waveguide formed from the waveguide (paragraphs [0017] of Jiang et al. and paragraph [0034] of Park et al., as modified above).
Regarding claims 13-15, Jiang et al. in view of Park et al. discloses further comprising: pressing a first side of a second master stamp into the material layer of a working stamp workpiece following detaching the first master stamp, the first side of the second master stamp having a second plurality of surface grating patterns formed thereon and the second master stamp having an opposing second side with a patterned metal layer formed thereon, and a body of the second master stamp composed of a material that is at least partially transparent to ultraviolet light; applying ultraviolet light to the second side of the second master stamp to selectively cure the material layer of the working stamp; and detaching the second master stamp from the material of the working stamp workpiece after applying the ultraviolet light, wherein pressing the first side of the first master stamp into the material layer includes aligning the first master stamp to the working stamp workpiece using at least one alignment mark on the first master stamp and at least one alignment mark on the working stamp workpiece, wherein the patterned metal layer on the second side of the second master stamp includes a metal coating in regions in locations corresponding to regions of the first master stamp in which the first plurality of surface grating patterns is formed and is absent of a metal coating in regions of the second master stamp in which the second plurality of surface grating patterns is formed (as shown in Figs. 2-5, there is a plurality of imprint steps, see also paragraphs [0023]-[0041] of Jiang et al. and paragraphs [0094], [0103]-[0105], see also Figs. 4 and 5 of Park et al., as modified above).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882