DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “a first power line formed in a buried interconnect layer, the first power line extending in a first direction and supplying the first power supply voltage; a second power line formed in a first interconnect layer, the second power line extending in the first direction and supplying the first power supply voltage" , and the claim also recites " the second power line overlaps the first power line in planar view, and is connected to the first power line through a via" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Ohtou et al. ( US 10,170,413 B2; hereinafter Ohtou )
Regarding claim 1, Ohtou teaches an output circuit ( Fig. 1 #105 ) for outputting a signal from a semiconductor integrated circuit ( Fig. 1 #100 ), comprising: a first transistor ( Fig. 1: T2 ) of a first conductivity type ( Col. 3 lines 21-23 the transistor T2 is an NMOS transistor) connected between a first power supply supplying a first power supply voltage ( Fig. 1: VSS ) and an output terminal ( Fig. 1: VOUT ); a first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) formed in a buried interconnect layer ( Fig. 2C: BML3 ), the first power line extending in a first direction ( as shown in Fig. 2C ) and supplying the first power supply voltage ( Col. 7 lines 3-7 the buried metal line BML3 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VSS illustrated in FIG. 1 ); a second power line ( Fig. 2C #244 ) formed in a first interconnect layer ( Col. 8 Lines 13-14 The local interconnections 243 and 244 are formed on the shallow trench isolation structure ) located above the buried interconnect layer ( Fig. 2C: BML3 ), the second power line ( Fig. 2C #244 ) extending in the first direction ( as shown in Fig. 2C ) and supplying the first power supply voltage ( Col. 8 lines 19-21 A portion of the local interconnection 244 extends to the trench 315 to be electrically coupled to the buried metal line BML3.); a third power line ( Fig. 2B: ML3 ) formed in a second interconnect layer ( Col. 8 lines 37-40 a portion of the top metal line ML3 extends through the dielectric layer 360 to be electrically coupled to the local interconnection 244 ) located above the first interconnect layer ( Col. 6 lines 25-28 In a top-down sequence, the top metal lines ML1-ML4 are formed above, for example, the transistors T1-T8, while the buried metal lines BML1-BML3 are formed under the transistors T1-T8 ), the third power line ( Fig. 2B: ML3 ) extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction ( as shown in Fig. 2 ) and being connected to the second power line ( as discussed above ); a first output interconnect ( Fig. 2C: C6; Col. 6 lines 50-56 The output signal Vout illustrated in FIG. 1 can be generated from the second sources/drains of the transistors T1, T3, T5 and T7 and the first sources/drains of the transistor T2, T4, T6 and T8, when, in view of FIG. 2B, the output signal Vout is transmitted through any one of the contacts C6 and C7 to the top metal line ML3 ) formed in the first interconnect layer ( Fig. 2B: ML3), the first output interconnect extending in the first direction and being connected to the output terminal ( as shown in Fig. 2B ); and a second output interconnect ( Fig. 2C: C7; as discussed above ) formed in the second interconnect layer ( Col. 8 lines 37-40 a portion of the top metal line ML3 extends through the dielectric layer 360 to be electrically coupled to the local interconnection 244 ), the second output interconnect extending in the second direction ( Fig. 2B C7 extends in the X and Y direction ) and being connected to the first output interconnect ( Fig. 2B C7 is connected to ML3 ).
Regarding claim 2, Ohtou teaches the output circuit of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein the second power line ( Fig. 2C #244 ) overlaps the first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) in planar view ( as shown in Fig. 3 ), and is connected to the first power line through a via ( Col. 6 line 66 – Col. 7 line 1 the buried metal line BML3 is electrically coupled to the local interconnections 241, 244 and 247 )
Regarding claim 3, Ohtou teaches the output circuit of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein the first transistor includes a plurality of FETs arranged in the second direction ( Fig. 2B: T2, T4, T6, and T8 ), the output circuit further comprises a first local interconnect ( Col. 7 lines 1-3 the second sources/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 are electrically coupled together.) formed in a local interconnect layer ( Col. 7 lines 3-7 the buried metal line BML3 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VSS illustrated in FIG. 1, such that the second source/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 receive the power supply VSS), the first local interconnect extending in the second direction ( as shown in Fig. 2C ) and being connected in common to sources of the plurality of FETs ( as discussed above ), and the first local interconnect ( as discussed above ) is connected to the first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) and the second power line ( Fig. 2C: BLM2; Col 6 lines 61-65 the buried metal line BML2 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VDD illustrated in FIG. 1, such that the first sources/drains of the transistors T1, T3, T5 and T7 receive the power supply VDD).
Regarding claim 4, Ohtou teaches the output circuit of claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the first transistor includes a plurality of FETs arranged in the first direction (Col. 7 lines 1-3 the second sources/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 are electrically coupled together), the output circuit further comprises a first local interconnect ( Col. 7 lines 1-3 the second sources/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 are electrically coupled together ) formed in a local interconnect layer ( Col. 7 lines 3-7 the buried metal line BML3 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VSS illustrated in FIG. 1, such that the second source/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 receive the power supply VSS ), the first local interconnect ( as discussed above ) extending in the first direction ( as shown in Fig. 2C ) and being connected in common to sources of the plurality of FETs ( as discussed above ), and the first local interconnect ( as discussed above ) is connected to the first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) and the second power line ( Fig. 2C: BLM2; Col 6 lines 61-65 the buried metal line BML2 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VDD illustrated in FIG. 1, such that the first sources/drains of the transistors T1, T3, T5 and T7 receive the power supply VDD).
Regarding claim 5, Ohtou discloses the output circuit of claim 1 ( as discussed above), further comprising: a second transistor ( Fig. 2C: T4 ) of the first conductivity type ( Col. 3 lines 49-51 each one of the transistors T4, T6 and T8 is an NMOS transistor ) connected in series with the first transistor ( Fig. 2C: T2 ) between the first power supply and the output terminal ( Col. 3 line 66 – Col. 4 line 2 The second sources/drains of the transistors T1, T3, T5 and T7 and the first sources/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 are further electrically coupled together to generate an output signal Vout ), wherein structures of the first transistor ( Fig. 2C: T2 ) and the second transistor ( Fig. 2C: T4 ), each constituting a channel, a gate, a source, and a drain, are separated from each other ( as shown in Fig 1 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtou et al.; US 10,170,413 B2; 03/2017 in view of Yamagami; US 2020/0350305 A1; 07/2020
Claim 6: Ohtou teaches an output circuit ( Fig. 1 #105 ) for outputting a signal from a semiconductor integrated circuit ( Fig. 1 #100 ), comprising: a first transistor ( Fig. 1: T2 ) of a first conductivity type ( Col. 3 lines 21-23 the transistor T2 is an NMOS transistor) connected between a first power supply supplying a first power supply voltage ( Fig. 1: VSS ) and an output terminal ( Fig. 1: VOUT ); a first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) formed in a buried interconnect layer ( Fig. 2C: BML3 ), the first power line extending in a first direction ( as shown in Fig. 2C ) and supplying the first power supply voltage ( Col. 7 lines 3-7 the buried metal line BML3 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VSS illustrated in FIG. 1 ); a second power line ( Fig. 2C #244 ) formed in a first interconnect layer ( Col. 8 Lines 13-14 The local interconnections 243 and 244 are formed on the shallow trench isolation structure ) located above the buried interconnect layer ( Fig. 2C: BML3 ),
Ohtou does not appear to disclose the second power line extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and supplying the first power supply voltage; a third power line formed in a second interconnect layer located above the first interconnect layer, the third power line extending in the first direction and being connected to the second power line; a first output interconnect formed in the first interconnect layer, the first output interconnect extending in the second direction and being connected to the output terminal; and a second output interconnect formed in the second interconnect layer, the second output interconnect extending in the first direction and being connected to the first output interconnect.
Yamagami teaches the second power line ( Fig. 2: M2 ) extending in the second direction ( [0063] The M2 interconnect 61 is connected to the gate lines 31 and 33 with an M1 interconnect 55 extending in the Y-direction ) perpendicular to the first direction ( Y is perpendicular to X ) and supplying the first power supply voltage ( [0067] an M2 interconnect 66 that supplies a power supply voltage VDD extend in the X-direction); a third power line ( Fig. 5: M3 ) formed in a second interconnect layer ( Fig. 5 #72 ) located above the first interconnect layer ( [0069] The M3 interconnect 72 serving as the inverted bit line/BL is located on the first grid on the right of the M3 interconnect 71, above the M1 interconnect 51 that supplies the power supply voltage VSS ), the third power line ( Fig. 5: M3 ) extending in a first direction ( Fig. 5: M3 interconnects extend in the Y direction ) and being connected to the second power line ( as stated above ); a first output interconnect ( Fig. 7A: node A ) formed in the first interconnect layer ( [0061] The local interconnect 41, the M1 interconnect 53, and the gate line 34 are associated with the storage node A ), the first output interconnect ( Fig. 7A: node A ) extending in the second direction and being connected to the output terminal ( [0052] The transistor PG1 is connected between the storage node A and a bit line BL ); and a second output interconnect ( Fig. 7A: node B ) formed in the second interconnect layer ( [0060] The bottom regions 14 and 15, the interconnect 21 between bottom regions, and the gate line 32 are associated with the storage node B ), the second output interconnect extending in the first direction ( Fig. 3 connections 21 and 32 are shown; 21 extends in the Y direction ) and being connected to the first output interconnect ( [0052] the transistor PG2 is connected between the storage node B and an inverted bit line/BL ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Yamagami with Ohtou to implement the second power line extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and supplying the first power supply voltage; a third power line formed in a second interconnect layer located above the first interconnect layer, the third power line extending in the first direction and being connected to the second power line; a first output interconnect formed in the first interconnect layer, the first output interconnect extending in the second direction and being connected to the output terminal; and a second output interconnect formed in the second interconnect layer, the second output interconnect extending in the first direction and being connected to the first output interconnect because this minimizes electrical resistance, reduces parasitic capacitance, and maximizes power efficiency.
Claim 7: Ohtou and Yamagami disclose the output circuit of claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Ohtou teaches the first transistor includes a plurality of FETs ( Col. 3 lines 49-51 each one of the transistors T4, T6 and T8 is an NMOS transistor ) arranged in the second direction ( Fig. 2B: T2, T4, T6, and T8 ), and the second power line is connected in common to sources of the plurality of FETs ( Col. 7 lines 3-7 the buried metal line BML3 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VSS illustrated in FIG. 1, such that the second source/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 receive the power supply VSS ).
Claim 8: Ohtou and Yamagami disclose the output circuit of claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Ohtou teaches a second transistor of a second conductivity type ( Fig. 2B: T1, T3, T5 and T7 ) connected between a second power supply supplying a second power supply voltage ( Col. 6 lines 59-61 the first sources/drains of the transistors T1, T3, T5 and T7 receive the power supply VDD ) and the output terminal ( Col. 6 lines 47-50 The output signal Vout illustrated in FIG. 1 can be generated from the second sources/drains of the transistors T1, T3, T5 and T7 ), wherein the first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) is placed between the first transistor and the second transistor in planar view ( Fig. 2C #241 is between T1 and T2 ).
Claim 9: Ohtou and Yamagami disclose the output circuit of claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Ohtou teaches the first transistor includes a plurality of FETs arranged in the first direction ( Fig. 2B: T2, T4, T6, and T8 ), and the second power line ( Fig. 2C #244 ) is connected in common to sources of the plurality of FETs ( Col. 6 line 66 – Col. 7 line 3 For illustration of FIG. 2C, the buried metal line BML3 is electrically coupled to the local interconnections 241, 244 and 247. Correspondingly in FIG. 1, the second sources/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 are electrically coupled together ).
Claim 10: Ohtou and Yamagami disclose the output circuit of claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Ohtou teaches a second transistor ( Fig. 2C: T4 ) of the first conductivity type connected in series with the first transistor ( Fig. 2C: T2 ) between the first power supply ( Fig. 1: VSS ) and the output terminal ( Fig. 1: Vout ), wherein structures of the first transistor and the second transistor, each constituting a channel, a gate, a source, and a drain, are separated from each other ( as shown in Fig. 1 ).
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The amendment filed 04/22/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
Claim 1 amendment "a first power line formed in a first interconnect layer," in the specification it only lists "a first power line formed in a buried interconnect layer", the next amendment in the same claim "a low edge of the first interconnect layer being lower than a low edge of the first transistor in a cross-sectional structure," is not
Claim 5 amendment lists “a source of the first transistor being connected with the first power supply,” while the specification only lists “a first transistor of a first conductivity type connected between a first power supply supplying a first power supply voltage,” with no specific mention of a source, the next amendment is “ a drain of the first transistor being connected with a drain of the second transistor; and a source of the second transistor being connected with the output terminal” while a second transistor is not mentioned in the specification.
Claim 6 amendment lists “a first power line formed in a first interconnect layer," in the specification it only lists "a first power line formed in a buried interconnect layer," the next amendment in the same claim "a low edge of the first interconnect layer being lower than a low edge of the first transistor in a cross-sectional structure," is not mentioned in the specification, further the amendment "a second power line formed in a second interconnect layer located above the first interconnect layer" is not supported in the specification which lists "a second power line formed in a first interconnect layer located above the buried interconnect layer," the next amendment "a third power line formed in a third interconnect layer located above the second interconnect layer," is not listed in the specification which lists "a third power line formed in a second interconnect layer located above the first interconnect layer, "a first output interconnect formed in the second interconnect layer," while the specification only lists " a first output interconnect formed in the first interconnect layer," the next amendment states "a second output interconnect formed in the third interconnect layer," while the specification lists "a second output interconnect formed in the second interconnect layer.”
Claim 10 amendment lists “a source of the first transistor being connected with the first power supply,” while the specification only lists “a first transistor of a first conductivity type connected between a first power supply supplying a first power supply voltage,” with no specific mention of a source, the next amendment is “ a drain of the first transistor being connected with a drain of the second transistor; and a source of the second transistor being connected with the output terminal” while a second transistor is not mentioned in the specification.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to the Drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 02/18/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to c have been fully considered. However, they do not address the issues raised in the 112b rejection since the claim is not amended.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-12 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First argument is that in claim 1 that Ohtou is not consistent first power line ( Fig. 2C: 241 ) and buried interconnect layer ( Fig. 2C: BML3 ) which is amended to first power line to be formed in the first interconnect layer ( amendment is not entered because it is not supported by the specification ). Second argument is that in claim 1 the first output interconnect of amended claim (Fig. 2C: C6, …) formed in the first interconnect layer (Fig. 2B: ML3 ) while the amended claim 1 requires the first output interconnect to be formed in the second interconnect layer ( this amendment is not entered because it is not supported in the specification).
Applicant's arguments, see page 12 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim 2 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Ohtou does not disclose second power line 244 overlaps the first power line 241 in planar view. However, Fig. 2C shows both 241 and 244 then in Fig. 3 is a cross section of Fig. 2C length wise through 244 that shows how 241 overlaps 244 in planar view.
Applicant's arguments, see page 12 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim 3 and 4 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Ohtou does not specify the first local interconnect in claim 3. However, Ohtou shows in Fig. 2B the FET T2 and further specifies in Col. 7 lines 1-3 that the FETs are connected so the first FET Fig. 2B T2 is connected to T4 through the source/drain which represents the first local interconnect. Applicant further argues that Ohtou lists T2, T4, T6, and T8 arranged in the X direction but then elements 241 and 244 extend in the Y direction which does not agree to the arrangement required by claim 4. However, in the rejection of claim 4, the first local interconnect ( as discussed above ) is connected to the first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) which does extend in the Y direction so the directional relationship is maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12-14 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim 6 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Office Action appears to treat the Y direction as the first direction and the X direction as the second direction. Applicant further argues that element 241 which also extends in the Y direction, would not coherently correspond to the claimed first power line because element 241 is a local interconnect and is not formed in in the buried interconnect layer. However, the rejection of claim 6 states “a first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) formed in a buried interconnect layer ( Fig. 2C: BML3 ),” where Ohtou reveals that the buried metal line BML3 is electrically connected to the local interconnections 241, 244, and 247 in Col. 6 line 66 – Col. 7 line 1. Applicant further argues that Yamagami does not teach the third power line instead M3 interconnect layers with 71 and 72 are bit lines not power lines. However, in the rejection of claim 6 Yamagami teaches “a third power line ( Fig. 5: M3 ),” as shown in Fig. 5 there is a via connection between M2 and M3 and M2 is connected to VDD as shown in Fig. 8.
Applicant's arguments, see page 14 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim 7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the office action relies on BML3 in Ohtou as the second power line for claim 7 which is inconsistent with the construction applied in claim 6. In the rejection of claim 6, “a second power line ( Fig. 2C #244 ) formed in a first interconnect layer ( Col. 8 Lines 13-14 The local interconnections 243 and 244 are formed on the shallow trench isolation structure ) located above the buried interconnect layer ( Fig. 2C: BML3 ),” then in claim 7 “ the second power line is connected in common to sources of the plurality of FETs ( Col. 7 lines 3-7 the buried metal line BML3 is further electrically coupled to the power supply VSS illustrated in FIG. 1, such that the second source/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 receive the power supply VSS ).” The statement in the rejection is focused on the connections not remapping the second power line and the contact in Fig. 2C #244 is fulfilling the same function as in claim 6.
Applicant's arguments, see page 14 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim 8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that in Fig. 2C of Ohtou that element 241 does not appear to be located between T1 and T2 in planar view. In the rejection of claim 8, it is stated “the first power line ( Fig. 2C #241 ) is placed between the first transistor and the second transistor in planar view ( Fig. 2C #241 is between T1 and T2 ).” The top part of #241 is between the labels for T1 and T2 as shown in Fig. 2C.
Applicant's arguments, see page 14 of remarks, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that element 244 is not connected in common to T2, T4, T6, and T8 as required by claim 9. However, as stated in the rejection, “the first transistor includes a plurality of FETs arranged in the first direction ( Fig. 2B: T2, T4, T6, and T8 ), and the second power line ( Fig. 2C #244 ) is connected in common to sources of the plurality of FETs ( Col. 6 line 66 – Col. 7 line 3 For illustration of FIG. 2C, the buried metal line BML3 is electrically coupled to the local interconnections 241, 244 and 247. Correspondingly in FIG. 1, the second sources/drains of the transistors T2, T4, T6 and T8 are electrically coupled together ).” Ohtou does teach that the transistors are electrically coupled to the second power line 244.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817