DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim recites structural relationships involving a second dielectric pattern on the second region, each of the second dielectric patterns including
a first sub-dielectric pattern; and a second sub-dielectric pattern having a vertical interface facing in a second direction to the first sub-dielectric pattern and a dielectric constant of the first sub-dielectric patterns being greater than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric patterns and a dielectric constant of the second sub-dielectric patterns. Examiner notes that these limitations, which include the currently amended limitations conflict with the written description. The specification states [0076] that the second sub-dielectric patterns ILD1b may be dielectric layers located between electrodes of capacitors provided on the second region R2 of the stack structure ST. The second sub-dielectric patterns ILD1b may have a second dielectric constant greater than a first dielectric constant of the first sub-dielectric patterns ILD1a and the second dielectric patterns ILD2. When the claim is read in light of the newly introduced limitations, it is unclear which structural region possesses which dielectric characteristic. Appropriate correction is required.
With regards to claim 2, the limitation of wherein the first dielectric
patterns and the second sub-dielectric patterns include a same material is unclear. The specification state [0076. that The first sub-dielectric patterns ILD1a and the second dielectric patterns ILD2 may include SiO. The second sub-dielectric patterns ILD1b may include Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2, ZrO.sub.2, or HfO.sub.2. The claim language contradicts the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 ,13, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub no. 2017/0062330 A1) in view of Lim (US Pub no. 20190164991 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et a discloses a semiconductor device comprising a substrate (10)including a cell array region(CAR) and a connection region(CTR) in a first direction from
the cell array region(CAR) [0136], the first direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, the cell array region(CAR) having a first region(CSR) and a second region (PAD region connected to VS)in a second
direction from the first region(CSR) fig. 19, the second direction being orthogonal to the first direction fig. 19 and parallel to the top surface of the substrate(10); a stack structure (ST) including electrode patterns (EL)vertically stacked on the substrate(10)[0174], first dielectric patterns(ILD-DIL2)[0099]) between the electrode patterns(EL) on the first region(CSR), and second dielectric patterns(ILD-DIL1)[0099]) between the electrode patterns (EL)on the second region(PAD region connected to VS)fig. 19/fig. 5d, an end in the first direction of the stack
structure (ST)having a stepwise structure fig. 19; a plurality of channels (CSP)vertically penetrating the stack structure (ST)on the first region(CSR)[0179]; a plurality of vertical structures(VS) vertically penetrating the stack structure on the second region(PAD region connected to VS)[0176]; a planarized dielectric layer (120)covering the stack structure(ST); a plurality of through plugs(PLG) on the connection region[0181], the through plugs (PLG)penetrating the planarized dielectric layer (120)and being connected to the electrode patterns(EL)[0181]; and a plurality of wiring patterns(CL) on the planarized dielectric layer(120)[0181], the first dielectric patterns (DIL2)including a material different from a material of the second dielectric patterns(DIL1) [0099]
but fails to teach each of the wiring patterns connecting two of the through plugs to each other.
However, Lim et al discloses a memory system wherein wiring patterns (UPM11/UPM12)connects two of the through plugs(edge contacts) to each other fig. 11[01109]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim et al with the teachings of Lim et al to achieve a capacitive structure.
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al discloses wherein the stack structure (ST)further includes third dielectric patterns(DIL2in CTR) between the electrode patterns (EL)
on the connection region(CTR), the third dielectric patterns(DIL2) include a material the same as the material of the first dielectric patterns (DIL2 in CAR)and different from the material of the second dielectric patterns(DIL1) [0099][0136].
Regarding claim 19,Kim et al discloses wherein a dielectric constant of the second dielectric patterns (DIL2)is greater than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric patterns(DIL1) [0099].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub no. 2017/0062330 A1) in view of Lim (US Pub no. 20190164991 A1) as applied to claim 19 and further in view of Kim (US Pub no. 2020/0321351 A1)
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al(‘330) as modified by Lim et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 19 but fails teach wherein the first dielectric patterns include silicon oxide (SiO), and the second dielectric patterns include aluminum oxide (Al₂O₃), titanium oxide (TiO₂), zirconium oxide (ZrO₂), or hafnium oxide (HfO₂).
However, Kim et al (351) discloses insulative levels alternated with wordline levels in a vertical stack [0024]wherein the insulative levels comprises insulative materials 18 and 32 comprising silicon oxide and aluminum oxide (Al₂O₃), zirconium oxide (ZrO₂), or hafnium oxide (HfO₂)[0038][0065]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim et al (‘330) & Lim et al with the teachings of Kim et al (‘351) because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007)).)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitations of clam 22 including: the second dielectric patterns including a material different from a material of the first dielectric patterns and different from a material of the third dielectric patterns, each of the second dielectric patterns horizontally connected to one of the third dielectric patterns, and interfaces between the second dielectric patterns and the third dielectric patterns become farther away in a direction as the interfaces approach closer to the substrate, the direction being directed from the connection region toward the cell array region was not found in prior art.
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The limitations of claim 14 including: wherein, on a boundary between the cell array region and the connection region, one of the second dielectric patterns is horizontally in contact with one of the third dielectric patterns was not found in prior art. Claims 15-17 are objected to since the claims depends from claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claim 12, applicant argues that As noted above and seen in FIGS. 5A-5L of Kim '330, DIL1 and DIL2 extend together across the structure of Kim '330, and therefore cannot disclose dielectric patterns in different regions of a stack structure having different material from one another as generally required by claim 12.
With regards to claim 12, Examiner notes that Kim(‘330) discloses a repeating multilayer stack(ILD-DIL1/DIL2/DIL1) structure within the first (region of CSR)and second regions(region of PAD region connected to VS). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim limitation does not structurally exclude a configuration where different material layers from within the repeating stack sequence are selected across respective first and second regions. Because the stack structure provides distinct material layers , the reference teaches the structural arrangement required by the claim . Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813