DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
(a) reference character “1” has been used to designate both at least one radiation detector module and computed tomography system; and
(b) reference character “6” has been used to designate both pixel electronics and carrier unit.
The drawings are also objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 18. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
(a) in claim 5, “etching” on line the last line should probably be --etching.-- (i.e., each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period; see MPEP § 608.01(m)); and
(b) in claim 7, “fil” on the last line should probably be --film--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim 8 recites the limitation “group comprising” which is indefinite because it is unclear what is intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Claim(s) dependent on the claim(s) discussed above is/are also indefinite for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
(a) a combination thereof to other recited elements; and
(b) a heat sink or a carrier unit to other recited elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-12, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattson et al. (US 2011/0210256) in view of Sauciuc et al. (US 2009/0096087).
In regard to claims 1-3 and claim 4 (which is dependent on claim 1 in so far as understood), Mattson et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a radiation detector module comprising a sensor component and a heat dissipation component, wherein the heat dissipation component is a heat sink, and the sensor component comprises a carrier unit, and wherein the carrier unit has a number of solid material cores, the method comprising:
(a) arranging a layer between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, wherein the layer is arranged between the heat sink and the carrier unit (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85, and copper sheet can be labeled as carrier unit);
(b) bringing together the sensor component and the heat dissipation component (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85); and
(c) affixing the layer for creating a connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, so that, after the affixing, the heat sink and the carrier unit are connected to one another by the connection, wherein the layer is attached as an alternating arrangement of lateral layers to a heat sink or a carrier unit (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85).
The method of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as affixing the layer comprises activating reactive multilayer system. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly … step 340 of method 300 is to place a solder material above the anti-adhesion layer, place a heat sink above the solder material, and place the die on a substrate in order to form a stack … solder material is a reactive multilayer solder foil … One solder that is suitable for this embodiment is proprietary to the Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company of Hunt Valley, Md., USA. An advantage of the local melting process is that it takes just milliseconds to melt the solder-a short enough time that the other board/die components will not be significantly heated …” in paragraphs 29, 32, and 33 of Sauciuc et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer solder foil” from “Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company”, “in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as arranging a reactive multilayer system (RMS) between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, wherein the reactive multilayer system is arranged between the heat sink and the carrier unit, activating the reactive multilayer system for creating an RMS connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, so that, after the activating, the heat sink and the carrier unit are connected to one another by the RMS connection, wherein the reactive multilayer system is attached as an alternating arrangement of lateral layers to a heat sink or a carrier unit) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
In regard to claim 10, Mattson et al. disclose a radiation detector module comprising:
(a) a sensor component (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85); and
(b) a heat dissipation component, the sensor component and the heat dissipation component being connected to one another by a connection (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85),
wherein a layer is arranged between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the layer is configured to be affixed for creating the connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85).
The module of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as affixing the layer comprises activating reactive multilayer system. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly … step 340 of method 300 is to place a solder material above the anti-adhesion layer, place a heat sink above the solder material, and place the die on a substrate in order to form a stack … solder material is a reactive multilayer solder foil … One solder that is suitable for this embodiment is proprietary to the Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company of Hunt Valley, Md., USA. An advantage of the local melting process is that it takes just milliseconds to melt the solder-a short enough time that the other board/die components will not be significantly heated …” in paragraphs 29, 32, and 33 of Sauciuc et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer solder foil” from “Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company”, “in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as a reactive multilayer system is arranged between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the reactive multilayer system is configured to be activated for creating the RMS connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
In regard to claim 11 which is dependent on claim 10, Mattson et al. also disclose that the sensor component comprises a stack arrangement, the stack arrangement comprising: a detection layer with a number of converter units configured to convert radiation arriving at the number of converter units into electrical signals; and a number of evaluation units configured to evaluate the electrical signals fed in from the detection layer, wherein the radiation detector module is configured for detection of x-ray radiation (e.g., “… detector array 114 includes a plurality of detector modules 116 stacked along a transverse or x-axis. As shown, a detector module 116 includes a plurality of slice-modules 118 … slice module 118 extends along the z-axis direction and includes at least one one-dimensional multi-element photo detector 120 … one-dimensional multi-element photo detector 120 is configured so as to include both the photodiode array 122 and the readout electronics 124 … conventional CT measurements can be made by summing the outputs of the elements of the multielement photodiode array 122 …” in paragraphs 36, 37, and 39).
In regard to claim 12 which is dependent on claim 11, Mattson et al. also disclose that the sensor component further comprises: a carrier unit, wherein the number of evaluation units is arranged in the stack arrangement between the detection layer and the carrier unit, wherein the carrier unit includes, in a surface area that corresponds to a projection of a respective evaluation unit of the number of evaluation units in a stack direction, a solid material core made of a thermally conducting material, wherein the solid material core extends over a part of the respective surface area, and the solid material core is in contact for heat conduction via a thermally conducting filler material with the respective evaluation unit of the number of evaluation units (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … For improved heat transfer, the contacts 1502 can be plated with copper. The solder joints holding the contacts 1502 to the readout electronics 124 generally conducts heat better than a thermal epoxy … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85, and copper sheet can be labeled as carrier unit).
In regard to claim 15, Mattson et al. disclose a radiation detector comprising: a plurality of radiation detector modules arranged next to one another (e.g., “… detector array 114 includes a plurality of detector modules 116 stacked along a transverse or x-axis. As shown, a detector module 116 includes a plurality of slice-modules 118 … slice module 118 extends along the z-axis direction and includes at least one one-dimensional multi-element photo detector 120 … one-dimensional multi-element photo detector 120 is configured so as to include both the photodiode array 122 and the readout electronics 124 …” in paragraphs 36 and 37), a radiation detector module of the plurality of radiation detector modules comprising:
(a) a sensor component (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85); and
(b) a heat dissipation component, the sensor component and the heat dissipation component being connected to one another by a connection, wherein a layer is arranged between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the layer is configured to be affixed for creating the connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component.
The detector of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as affixing the layer comprises activating reactive multilayer system. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly … step 340 of method 300 is to place a solder material above the anti-adhesion layer, place a heat sink above the solder material, and place the die on a substrate in order to form a stack … solder material is a reactive multilayer solder foil … One solder that is suitable for this embodiment is proprietary to the Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company of Hunt Valley, Md., USA. An advantage of the local melting process is that it takes just milliseconds to melt the solder-a short enough time that the other board/die components will not be significantly heated …” in paragraphs 29, 32, and 33 of Sauciuc et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer solder foil” from “Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company”, “in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as the sensor component and the heat dissipation component being connected to one another by a reactive multilayer system (RMS) connection, wherein the reactive multilayer system is arranged between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the reactive multilayer system is configured to be activated for creating the RMS connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
In regard to claim 16, Mattson et al. disclose an imaging system comprising:
(a) a radiation detector comprising: a plurality of radiation detector modules arranged next to one another (e.g., “… detector array 114 includes a plurality of detector modules 116 stacked along a transverse or x-axis. As shown, a detector module 116 includes a plurality of slice-modules 118 … slice module 118 extends along the z-axis direction and includes at least one one-dimensional multi-element photo detector 120 … one-dimensional multi-element photo detector 120 is configured so as to include both the photodiode array 122 and the readout electronics 124 …” in paragraphs 36 and 37), a radiation detector module of the plurality of radiation detector modules comprising: a sensor component; and a heat dissipation component, the sensor component and the heat dissipation component being connected to one another by a connection, wherein a layer is arranged between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the layer is configured to be affixed for creating the connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component; and
(b) a radiation source opposite the radiation detector, the radiation source being configured to irradiate the radiation detector (e.g., “… detector array 114 detects photons emitted by the radiation source 110 that traverse the examination region 106 …” in paragraph 39).
The system of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as affixing the layer comprises activating reactive multilayer system. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly … step 340 of method 300 is to place a solder material above the anti-adhesion layer, place a heat sink above the solder material, and place the die on a substrate in order to form a stack … solder material is a reactive multilayer solder foil … One solder that is suitable for this embodiment is proprietary to the Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company of Hunt Valley, Md., USA. An advantage of the local melting process is that it takes just milliseconds to melt the solder-a short enough time that the other board/die components will not be significantly heated …” in paragraphs 29, 32, and 33 of Sauciuc et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer solder foil” from “Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company”, “in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as the sensor component and the heat dissipation component being connected to one another by a reactive multilayer system (RMS) connection, wherein the reactive multilayer system is arranged between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the reactive multilayer system is configured to be activated for creating the RMS connection between the sensor component and the heat dissipation component) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
In regard to claim 17, Mattson et al. disclose a radiation detector module comprising a first sensor component and a heat dissipation component connected to one another by a connection, wherein a first layer is arranged between the first sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the first layer is configured to be affixed for creating the connection between the first sensor component and the heat dissipation component (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85). The module of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as affixing the layer comprises activating reactive multilayer systema radiation and a detector module’s replacement part comprising a second sensor component’s side on a second reactive multilayer system that is configured to be connected to the radiation detector module’s heat dissipation component. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly … step 340 of method 300 is to place a solder material above the anti-adhesion layer, place a heat sink above the solder material, and place the die on a substrate in order to form a stack … solder material is a reactive multilayer solder foil … One solder that is suitable for this embodiment is proprietary to the Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company of Hunt Valley, Md., USA. An advantage of the local melting process is that it takes just milliseconds to melt the solder-a short enough time that the other board/die components will not be significantly heated …” in paragraphs 29, 32, and 33 of Sauciuc et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer solder foil” from “Reactive Nanotechnologies (RNT) company”, “in order to maximize thermal performance and ease of assembly”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Sauciuc et al. also teach (paragraph 22) that “… Another non-illustrated embodiment comprises two anti-adhesion layers, one of which is between thermally conductive layer 130 and die 110 and the other of which is between thermally conductive layer 13 0 and heat sink 120. All of these embodiments achieve a purpose of embodiments of the invention: the enablement of an ability to remove die 110 from heat sink 120 without damaging either component …”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as a first sensor component and a heat dissipation component connected to one another by a reactive multilayer system (RMS) connection, wherein a first reactive multilayer system is arranged between the first sensor component and the heat dissipation component, and wherein the first reactive multilayer system is configured to be activated for creating the RMS connection between the first sensor component and the heat dissipation component) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al. and to provide a detector module’s replacement part comprising a second sensor component’s side on a second reactive multilayer system that is configured to be connected to the heat dissipation component of Mattson et al., in order to “without damaging” when component replacement is desired.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattson et al. in view of Sauciuc et al. as applied to claim(s) 4 above, and further in view of Heerden et al. (US 2005/0121499).
In regard to claim 5 which is dependent on claim 4, the method of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as the reactive multilayer system is attached as the alternating arrangement of lateral layers to the heat sink or the carrier unit by sputtering, electrochemical deposition, or etching. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… reactive multilayer foils used in reactive joining are typically fabricated by vapor depositing hundreds of nanoscale layers that alternate between elements with large, negative heats of mixing such as Ni and Al … layers of the fusible material may adhere to one or more of foil 101 and/or component(s) 102, 103, and/or may be used as free-standing sheets. One or more surfaces of reactive multilayer foil 101 may be coated with one or more adhesion layers, such as Incusil …” in paragraphs 10 and 46 of Heerden et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer foils used in reactive joining are typically fabricated by vapor depositing”, in order to “adhere to one or more of foil 101 and/or component(s) 102, 103”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as the reactive multilayer system is attached as the alternating arrangement of lateral layers to the heat sink or the carrier unit by sputtering, electrochemical deposition, or etching) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
In regard to claim 6 which is dependent on claim 1, the method of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as reactive multilayer film pre-fixed to one or more of the sensor and heat dissipation components. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… reactive multilayer foils used in reactive joining are typically fabricated by vapor depositing hundreds of nanoscale layers that alternate between elements with large, negative heats of mixing such as Ni and Al … layers of the fusible material may adhere to one or more of foil 101 and/or component(s) 102, 103, and/or may be used as free-standing sheets. One or more surfaces of reactive multilayer foil 101 may be coated with one or more adhesion layers, such as Incusil …” in paragraphs 10 and 46 of Heerden et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer foils used in reactive joining are typically fabricated by vapor depositing”, in order to “adhere to one or more of foil 101 and/or component(s) 102, 103”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as the reactive multilayer system is taken from a film made of reactive multilayer material, and wherein the reactive multilayer system is pre-fixed to the sensor component, the heat dissipation component, or the sensor component and the heat dissipation component) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
In regard to claim 8 which is dependent on claim 1 in so far as understood, the method of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as alternating reactive nickel layers and aluminum solder layers. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… reactive multilayer foils used in reactive joining are typically fabricated by vapor depositing hundreds of nanoscale layers that alternate between elements with large, negative heats of mixing such as Ni and Al … layers of the fusible material may adhere to one or more of foil 101 and/or component(s) 102, 103, and/or may be used as free-standing sheets. One or more surfaces of reactive multilayer foil 101 may be coated with one or more adhesion layers, such as Incusil …” in paragraphs 10 and 46 of Heerden et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “reactive multilayer foils used in reactive joining are typically fabricated by vapor depositing hundreds of nanoscale layers that alternate between elements with large, negative heats of mixing such as Ni and Al”, in order to “adhere to one or more of foil 101 and/or component(s) 102, 103”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as the reactive multilayer system is constructed from alternating solder layers and reactive layers, of which materials differ, and wherein: the solder layers include a number of materials of a group consisting of gold, copper, aluminum, titanium, and metallic glass; the reactive layers include a material of a group consisting of aluminum, titanium, nickel, a-silicon, and cobalt) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattson et al. in view of Sauciuc et al. and Heerden et al. as applied to claim(s) 6 above, and further in view of Xun et al. (US 20110027547).
In regard to claim 7 which is dependent on claim 6, the method of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as cutting or punching out the reactive multilayer film. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… mechanically-rolled multilayers are fairly ductile and may be readily punched, sectioned, cut, sheared or stamped with little risk of brittle fracture or unwanted ignition. For example, washer shape components with excellent edge quality can be punched from rolled Ni/Al reactive foils (see FIG. 12). In addition, due to the fact that mechanically-rolled foils can deform plastically at room temperature, it is also possible to clad them with other materials like solder or braze by mechanical rolling. The resulting composite structures may thus be effectively used in a variety of applications, including reactive multilayer soldering and brazing …” in paragraph 107 of Xun et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “punched from rolled Ni/Al reactive foils”, in order to achieve “washer shape components with excellent edge quality”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as cutting out or punching out the reactive multilayer system from the film made of reactive multilayer material) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattson et al. in view of Sauciuc et al. as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Van Heerden et al. (US 2005/0142495).
In regard to claim 9 which is dependent on claim 1, the method of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as applying a voltage to the reactive multilayer system via conductor tracks for activation, and disconnecting the conductor tracks’ parts that project beyond one or more of the sensor and the heat dissipation components after the activation. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… providing a component to be joined to another component by the chemical transformation of the reactive multilayer foil; the component may include the electrical lead; the electrical energy source may include one or more of a voltage source …” in paragraph 47 of Van Heerden et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “component may include the electrical lead; the electrical energy source may include one or more of a voltage source”, in order to achieve “a component to be joined to another component”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as conductor tracks are present in the sensor component, the heat dissipation component, or the sensor component and the heat dissipation component, or on the reactive multilayer system, which reach at least up to the sensor component, the heat dissipation component, or the sensor component and the heat dissipation component and by which a voltage is applied for activation of the reactive multilayer system, wherein parts of the conductor tracks that project beyond the sensor component, the heat dissipation component, or the sensor component and the heat dissipation component are disconnected after the activating) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattson et al. in view of Sauciuc et al. as applied to claim(s) 12 above, and further in view of Van Heerden et al. (US 2011/0089462).
In regard to claim 13 which is dependent on claim 12, Mattson et al. also disclose that the solid material core extends from an upper side of the carrier unit that faces towards the number of evaluation units in the stack arrangement, through to a lower side of the carrier unit that faces away from the number of evaluation units (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85). The module of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as evaluation unit is attached to the solid material core by the RMS connection. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… thermally coupling slug 32, commonly formed from copper, is disposed at the base of the LED package 31 and is coated with a wetting layer 33 to facilitate bonding to a substrate which incorporates a heat sink … center slug 32 serves to convey heat … substrate containing a heat-sink, which utilizes layers of reactive multilayer foil disposed between the LED assembly connecting leads, center slug, and the associated contact pads on the supporting substrate …” in paragraphs 4, 7, and 10 of Van Heerden et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “utilizes layers of reactive multilayer foil disposed between the LED assembly connecting leads, center slug, and the associated contact pads on the supporting substrate”, in order to “convey heat”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as an evaluation unit of the number of evaluation units is attached to the solid material core by the RMS connection) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
In regard to claim 14 which is dependent on claim 12, Mattson et al. also disclose a heat sink that is attached to the carrier unit by the connection (e.g., see “… photo detector 120 mounted to a printed circuit board (PCB) 2500 … contacts 1502 routing data from and/or to the readout electronics 124 is soldered to an etched copper sheet 2600, which is affixed to a heat sink 2602 …” in Fig. 26 and paragraph 85). The module of Mattson et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… affixed …” such as the carrier unit’s solid material core is contacted by the heat sink’s RMS connection. However, “… affixed …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… thermally coupling slug 32, commonly formed from copper, is disposed at the base of the LED package 31 and is coated with a wetting layer 33 to facilitate bonding to a substrate which incorporates a heat sink … center slug 32 serves to convey heat … substrate containing a heat-sink, which utilizes layers of reactive multilayer foil disposed between the LED assembly connecting leads, center slug, and the associated contact pads on the supporting substrate …” in paragraphs 4, 7, and 10 of Van Heerden et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as “utilizes layers of reactive multilayer foil disposed between the LED assembly connecting leads, center slug, and the associated contact pads on the supporting substrate”, in order to “convey heat”) for the unspecified affixed of Mattson et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional affixed (e.g., comprising details such as the solid material core of the carrier unit is contacted by the RMS connection on the heat sink) as the unspecified “… affixed …” of Mattson et al.
Conclusion
/SL/
Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID P PORTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884