DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on October 18, 2023 for application number 18/489,467. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 18, 2023 was submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-175187 filed on November 01, 2022.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending in this application.
Claims 6-7 and 11-12 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“Air conditioning operating state information acquisition unit”, “vehicle state information acquisition unit”, “outside temperature acquisition unit” and “valve control unit” in claims 7 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (MERTENS – FR 2722834 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MERTENS (Figs. 1-2) discloses:
A tank (cooling system module 3: Fig. 2) that is used in a temperature control system and that accommodates coolant used for temperature control, the tank (cooling system module 3: Fig. 2) comprising:
a container body (first chamber 4, a second chamber 5 subdivided into two compartments 5-1 and -2 and a third chamber 6: Fig. 2) having an opening (filling opening 50: Fig. 2) and configured to accommodate the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract);
a lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) covering the opening (filling opening 50: Fig. 2), the lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) including a pump housing portion (Wall 114: Fig. 2) recessed toward an inner side of the container body (first chamber 4, a second chamber 5 subdivided into two compartments 5-1 and -2 and a third chamber 6: Fig. 2) and including a through hole (Through hole accommodating inlet 112: Fig. 2) extending through an inside of the container body (first chamber 4, a second chamber 5 subdivided into two compartments 5-1 and -2 and a third chamber 6: Fig. 2), and at least one inflow port into which the coolant flows from a coolant circuit of the temperature control system; and
a pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) housed in the pump housing portion (Wall 114: Fig. 2) and configured to draw the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract) accommodated in the container body (first chamber 4, a second chamber 5 subdivided into two compartments 5-1 and -2 and a third chamber 6: Fig. 2) through the through hole (Through hole accommodating inlet 112: Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, MERTENS disclose the tank according to claim 1, and further on MERTENS also discloses:
wherein the pump housing portion (Wall 114: Fig. 2) includes a threaded portion (screw 134: Fig. 2) configured to screw with a screw thread (thread portion on fixing lug 129: Fig. 2) formed in an outer surface of the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2), and the screw thread (thread portion on fixing lug 129: Fig. 2) is screwed with the threaded portion (screw 134: Fig. 2) to engage the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) with the pump housing portion (Wall 114: Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, MERTENS disclose the tank according to claim 1, and further on MERTENS also discloses:
a coolant heating device (fluid outlet 14 of the engine: Fig. 1) mounted (mounted thru inlet 48: Fig. 2) to the lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) and configured to heat the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract) drawn by the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) and send the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract) to the coolant circuit.
Regarding claim 4, MERTENS disclose the tank according to claim 3, and further on MERTENS also discloses:
wherein the lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) further includes
a first tank flow path (inlet 48: Fig. 2) on a front surface on the container body (first chamber 4, a second chamber 5 subdivided into two compartments 5-1 and -2 and a third chamber 6: Fig. 2) side, and the first tank flow path (inlet 48: Fig. 2) connects the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) and the coolant heating device (fluid outlet 14 of the engine: Fig. 1) and supplies the coolant drawn by the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) to the coolant heating device (fluid outlet 14 of the engine: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, MERTENS disclose the tank according to claim 4, and further on MERTENS also discloses:
wherein the coolant circuit includes
a first flow path (section 8-3: Fig. 1) connecting the coolant heating device (fluid outlet 14 of the engine: Fig. 1) and a heating target device (oil exchanger 13.1: Fig. 1) configured to be heated by the coolant heated by the coolant heating device (fluid outlet 14 of the engine: Fig. 1), and
a second flow path connecting the tank (cooling system module 3: Fig. 2) and a first coolant cooling device configured to cool the coolant and supply the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract) to a cooling target device (radiator 12: Fig. 1),
the lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) further includes
a second tank flow path on the front surface on the container body (first chamber 4, a second chamber 5 subdivided into two compartments 5-1 and -2 and a third chamber 6: Fig. 2) side, the second tank flow path connects the first tank flow path and the second flow path and supplies the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract) drawn by the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) to the second flow path, and
the tank (cooling system module 3: Fig. 2) includes
a first valve mounted to the lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) and configured to cause the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract) drawn from the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) and to be supplied to the first tank flow path to flow to at least one of the coolant heating devices or the second tank flow path.
Regarding claim 8, MERTENS disclose the tank according to claim 2, and further on MERTENS also discloses:
a coolant heating device (fluid outlet 14 of the engine: Fig. 1) mounted to the lid portion and configured to heat the coolant drawn by the pump (circulation pump 7: Fig. 2) and send the coolant (coolant fluid: Abstract) to the coolant circuit.
Please see similar limitations already annotated above in claims 2-5.
Regarding claim 9, MERTENS disclose the tank according to claim 8, and further on MERTENS also discloses:
wherein the lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) further includes a first tank flow path on a front surface on the container body side, and the first tank flow path connects the pump and the coolant heating device and supplies the coolant drawn by the pump to the coolant heating device.
Please see similar limitations already annotated above in claims 2-5.
Regarding claim 10, MERTENS disclose the tank according to claim 9, and further on MERTENS also discloses:
wherein the coolant circuit includes
a first flow path connecting the coolant heating device and a heating target device configured to be heated by the coolant heated by the coolant heating device, and
a second flow path connecting the tank and a first coolant cooling device configured to cool the coolant and supply the coolant to a cooling target device,
the lid portion (upper wall 115 and plug 61 comprising a tubular body 62 and a cover 63: Fig. 2) further includes
a second tank flow path on the front surface on the container body side, the second tank flow path connects the first tank flow path and the second flow path and supplies the coolant drawn by the pump to the second flow path, and
the tank (cooling system module 3: Fig. 2) includes
a first valve mounted to the lid portion and configured to cause the coolant drawn from the pump and to be supplied to the first tank flow path to flow to at least one of
the coolant heating device or
the second tank flow path.
Please see similar limitations already annotated above in claims 2-5.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2024/0017605 A1 – HE [Wingdings font/0xE8] Figures 5 and 10
US 2021/0180505 A1 – Jeong [Wingdings font/0xE8] Figures 6A and 7
US 10,665,908 B2 – Krull [Wingdings font/0xE8] Figures 9-10
KR 102115927 B1 – CHO [Wingdings font/0xE8] Figures 1-2
DE 4103523 A1 – MAINZ [Wingdings font/0xE8] Figure 2
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747