DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
With regards to claim 2, it is noted that the use of “such that” in line 2 is interpreted as being akin to “so that.” Claim 2 recites “wherein the noise source and the functional component are arranged such that the protection region includes a position of a holding member carried by an occupant in the cabin.” Examiner notes that “such that” as used in claim language is usually tied to functional limitations or steps occurring in sequence, i.e. one step/operation happens, which in turn (i.e. “such that”) causes a following step/operation to happen.
In this case of claim 2, the use of “such that” doesn’t appear to be used in the same context as what’s being claimed is 1) the arrangement (position) of a noise source and a functional component, relative to a protection region that has a holding member. This interpretation is consistent with at least what Figure 6 of the Applicant’s Drawings show. There is a noise source (204), a functional component (16, 18), protection region (G1, G2), and a holding member (51/52).
This is how claim 2 will be construed.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “functional component” in claims 1-2 & 4-5.
The corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function is a heater core identified as element number 18 as at least illustrated in Figure 3, and at least described in paragraph ¶0068 of the 10/18/2023 Specifications; and/or an evaporator 16 as described in para. 0034.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “holding member” in claims 2-4 & 7.
The corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function is an article holder identified as element number 8 as at least illustrated in Figure 2, and at least described in paragraph ¶0022 of the 10/18/2023 Specifications. The holding member could also be a cup holder 44, and/or an article holder 51/52.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito et al (US 7,527,091), hereinafter referred to as Ito.
Regarding claim 1, Ito (US 7,527,091) shows an air-conditioning unit installed in a vehicle, comprising:
an air-conditioning case (12, Fig. 1);
a blower (12a, Fig. 1) to send air from the air-conditioning case into a cabin of the vehicle (Fig. 1 – air blown out of element 24 is blown into the passenger compartment, or the cabin);
a blower motor (12b, Fig. 1) to drive the blower (Fig. 1); and
a functional component (15/16, Fig. 1) to realize a part of an air-conditioning function in the air-conditioning case (Fig. 1 – elements 15/16 are cooling/heat exchangers), wherein
the functional component is disposed between a noise source of the blower motor that generates electromagnetic noise (Fig. 1 - as the Applicant states that it is known that a motor generates electromagnetic noise at the time of operation, as does the blower motor of Ito) and a protection region that is at least a part of the cabin (Col. 6, Lines 22-29 – air blown out of element 24 goes to a protection region, of which comprises of elements such as the windshield, the passenger, and the passengers feet located within, of which the protection region is at least part of the cabin), and
the functional component includes a substance that shields the electromagnetic noise (Fig. 5A-B – elements 31-44 of the heat exchanger 16 are made out of aluminum, of which the Applicant states a conductive metal such as aluminum meets this limitation as per para. 0034 or 0047 of the as-filed specification).
Regarding claim 5, Ito shows wherein the functional component is a heat exchanger (15/16, Fig. 1) in which heat is exchanged between air in the air-conditioning case and another medium (Col. 6, Lines 34-54 – the heat exchanger 16 exchanges heat with the air in the air-conditioning case and another medium, which is a refrigerant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al (US 7,527,091), hereinafter referred to as Ito, in view of Terai et al (JP2019061365), hereinafter referred to as Terai (US 2022/0185059 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 2, Ito shows wherein the noise source (12b) and the functional component (15/16) are arranged (Fig. 1) relative to the protection region and the cabin (Col. 6, Lines 22-29 – air blown out of element 24 goes to a protection region, of which comprises of elements such as the windshield, the passenger, and the passengers feet located within, of which the protection region is at least part of the cabin).
However, Ito lacks showing such that the protection region includes a position of a holding member provided to hold an object carried by an occupant in the cabin.
Terai (JP2019061365), a vehicle air conditioning system, is in the same field of endeavor as Ito which is a vehicle air conditioning system.
Terai teaches the protection region (Fig. 1) includes a position of a holding member (6, Fig. 1) provided to hold an object carried by an occupant in the cabin (Fig. 1 – element 6 is a drink holder, to hold a drink carried by an occupant in the cabin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protection region of Ito to incorporate the teachings of the protection region of Terai, which would provide an air conditioner that can cool the cabin and its objects with greater efficiency and energy savings (¶0020).
Regarding claim 3, Ito shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 2 including the position of the noise source and the vehicle.
However, Ito lacks showing wherein a position of the noise source in a width direction of the vehicle is between a driver seat and a front passenger seat, and a position of the holding member in the width direction of the vehicle is between the driver seat and the front passenger seat.
Terai teaches a position of the noise source (31, Fig. 3) in a width direction of the vehicle (Fig. 3) is between a driver seat (91, Fig. 1) and a front passenger seat (92, Fig. 1), and a position of the holding member (6, Fig. 1) in the width direction of the vehicle is between the driver seat and the front passenger seat (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the noise source of Ito to incorporate the teachings of the noise source of Terai, which would provide a proximity air conditioner closer to the passengers for vehicles which is capable of efficiently performing air-conditioning to realize energy savings (¶0012).
Regarding claim 4, Ito shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 2 including wherein an outer shape of the functional component (15, Fig. 1) is a plate shape (Fig. 1 – element 15 has two opposing plate surfaces and a side surface connecting between the two plate surfaces, or a plate shape), one plate surface of the functional component faces the noise source (Fig. 1 – the noise source of the blower motor 12b), and the other plate surface of the functional component faces the cabin.
However, Ito lacks showing the other plate surface of the functional component faces the cabin holding member.
Terai teaches the other plate surface of the functional component (30, Fig. 3) faces the cabin holding member (6, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protection region and the other plate surface of Ito to incorporate the teachings of the protection region and other plate surface of Terai, which would provide an air conditioner that can cool the cabin and its objects with greater efficiency and energy savings (¶0020).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al (US 7,527,091), hereinafter referred to as Ito, in view of Yonezu et al (JP2019028527), hereinafter referred to as Yonezu (US 2021/0362559 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 6, Ito shows wherein the heat exchanger (15/16, Fig. 1) is a heating heat exchanger (16, Fig. 1, Col. 5, Lines 4-9) to heat air in the air-conditioning case, and further comprising: a cooling heat exchanger (15, Fig. 1, Col. 6, Lines 4-9) to cool air in the air-conditioning case (Fig. 1),
However, Ito lacks showing wherein the blower is located downstream of the cooling heat exchanger and upstream of the heating heat exchanger in an air flow in the air-conditioning case.
Youezu (JP2019028527), an air conditioning unit for a vehicle, is in the same field of endeavor as Ito which is an air conditioning unit for a vehicle.
Youezu teaches wherein the blower (20, Fig. 1) is located downstream of the cooling heat exchanger (16, Fig. 1) and upstream of the heating heat exchanger (18, Fig. 1) in an air flow in the air-conditioning case (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower of Ito to incorporate the teachings of the blower of Youezu, which would provide an air conditioning unit for a vehicle that is configured to cool a blower motor by air without regard to ram air pressure (¶0020).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al (US 7,527,091), hereinafter referred to as Ito, in view of Terai et al (JP2019061365), hereinafter referred to as Terai (US 2022/0185059 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 7, Ito (US 7,527,091) shows an air-conditioning unit installed in a vehicle, comprising:
an air-conditioning case (12, Fig. 1);
a blower (12a, Fig. 1) to send air from the air-conditioning case into a cabin of the vehicle (Fig. 1 – air blown out of element 24 is blown into the passenger compartment, or the cabin);
a blower motor (12b, Fig. 1) to drive the blower (Fig. 1); and a heat exchanger (16, Fig. 1) in which heat is exchanged between air in the air-conditioning case and another medium (Col. 6, Lines 34-54 – the heat exchanger 16 exchanges heat with the air in the air-conditioning case and another medium, which is a refrigerant),
wherein the heat exchanger is disposed between a noise source of the blower motor that generates electromagnetic noise (Fig. 1 - as the Applicant states that it is known that a motor generates electromagnetic noise at the time of operation, as does the blower motor 12b of Ito) and the cabin (Fig. 1 – air blown out of element 24 is blown into the passenger compartment, or the cabin),
and the heat exchanger includes a substance that shields the electromagnetic noise (Fig. 5A-B – elements 31-44 of the heat exchanger 16 are made out of aluminum, of which the Applicant states a conductive metal such as aluminum meets this limitation).
However, Ito lacks showing a holding member provided to hold an object carried by an occupant in the cabin.
Terai (JP2019061365), a vehicle air conditioning system, is in the same field of endeavor as Ito which is a vehicle air conditioning system.
Terai teaches the protection region (Fig. 1) includes a holding member (6, Fig. 1) provided to hold an object carried by an occupant in the cabin (Fig. 1 – element 6 is a drink holder, to hold a drink carried by an occupant in the cabin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protection region of Ito to incorporate the teachings of the protection region of Terai, which would provide an air conditioner that can cool the cabin and its objects with greater efficiency and energy savings (¶0020).
Conclusion
/RYAN L FAULKNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762