DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tabatake (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0217735).
Regarding Claim 1, Tabatake discloses, at least in figure 3, A display device (title), comprising: a base layer (11, ¶ [0039]) comprising: a light-emitting region (between the 2 banks (6); and a non-light-emitting region (beyond the banks); a first lower electrode (LE3,¶ [0040]) disposed on the base layer (11); an insulating film (5, ¶ [0040]) disposed on the base layer (11) and including a first light-emitting opening (between the banks) and exposing at least a portion of an upper surface of the first lower electrode (LE3); a conductive (¶ [0049]) barrier rib (6, ¶ [0032]) disposed on the insulating film (5) and having a first opening defined therein and corresponding to the light-emitting region (see fig. 3); a first light-emitting pattern (OR3, ¶ [0034]) disposed on the first lower electrode (LE3) and disposed inside the first opening; a first upper electrode (UE3, ¶ [0034]) disposed on the first light-emitting pattern (OR3) and contacting an inner side surface of the conductive barrier rib (6) defining the first opening; and a first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73, ¶ [0048]) covering the first upper electrode (UE3), disposed in the first opening, and contacting the inner side surface of the conductive barrier rib (6) defining the first opening, wherein a central portion of an upper surface of the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73) and a peripheral portion surrounding the central portion of the upper surface of the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73) form a step difference.(SP3 points to it).
Regarding Claim 2, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: wherein the central portion is recessed toward the base layer (11).
Regarding Claim 3, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: wherein the central portion protrudes toward an outside of the display device (the bottom).
Regarding Claim 7, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: further comprising: an organic pattern (OR3b, ¶ [0044]) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73), overlapping the central portion in a plan view, and non-overlapping the peripheral portion in a plan view (see fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: further comprising: an organic encapsulation film (13, ¶ [0048]) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73) and the organic pattern (OR3b), wherein the organic encapsulation film (13) comprises a material different from a material of the organic pattern (13 is resin, OR3b (¶ [0051])
Regarding Claim 9, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: further comprising: a second lower electrode disposed on a same layer as a layer on which the first lower electrode (LE3) is disposed and spaced apart from the first lower electrode (LE3); a second light-emitting pattern disposed on the second lower electrode and spaced apart from the first light-emitting pattern; a second upper electrode disposed on the second light-emitting pattern and spaced apart from the first upper electrode (UE3); and a second inorganic encapsulation pattern (72,¶ [0045]) covering the second upper electrode and spaced apart from the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73), wherein a second light-emitting opening exposing a portion of an upper surface of the second lower electrode is defined in the insulating film; a second opening spaced apart from the first opening is defined in the conductive barrier rib (6); the second light-emitting pattern is disposed in the second opening; the second upper electrode is disposed in the second opening and contacts an inner side surface of the conductive barrier rib (6) defining the second opening; and the second inorganic encapsulation pattern (72) is disposed in the second opening and contacts the inner side surface of the conductive barrier rib (6) defining the second opening.
Regarding Claim 11. Tabatake A method for manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: providing a preliminary display panel comprising a base layer (11) comprising a light-emitting region (in the 3 sub-pixels SP1-3) and a non-light-emitting region (above 62) an insulating film (5), and a conductive barrier rib (6) including a first opening; forming a first light-emitting pattern (OR3) disposed on the first lower electrode (LE3) inside the first opening and a dummy first light-emitting pattern (OR3b) disposed on an upper surface (on 62) of the conductive barrier rib (6); forming a first upper electrode (UE3) disposed on the first light-emitting pattern (OR3) and disposed inside the first opening and contacting an inner side surface of the conductive barrier rib (6) defining the first opening and a dummy first upper electrode (UE3b) disposed on the dummy first light-emitting pattern(OR3b); forming a first inorganic encapsulation layer (73) covering the first upper electrode (UE3) and the dummy first upper electrode (UE3b), overlapping the light-emitting region (SP1-3) and the non-light-emitting region (above 62) in a plan view, and defining a first cavity in the light-emitting region;
forming a first organic layer (13) comprising a first filling portion disposed in the first cavity (in 73) and a first flat portion disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer (73);
removing the first flat portion; forming a first inorganic encapsulation pattern (in 73) in the first opening by removing at least a portion of the first filling portion and at least a portion of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (73); and removing the dummy first light-emitting pattern (OR3b) and the dummy first upper electrode (UE3b)(this is disclosed in paragraph [0075] for the first sub-pixel (71), the same would be done to 72 and 73. Also, see figures 6-8).
Regarding Claim 12, Tabatake discloses in figure 3 and 6-8, wherein the forming of the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (in 73) and the removing of the dummy first light-emitting pattern (OR3b) and the dummy first upper electrode (UE3b) are performed through a same etching step (¶ [0075]).
Regarding Claim 16, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: wherein the providing of the preliminary display panel comprises: preparing the base layer (11), a first lower electrode (LE3) disposed on the base layer (11), an insulating layer (5) covering the first lower electrode (LE3), and a conductive barrier rib (6) layer disposed on the insulating layer; forming a preliminary first opening corresponding to the light-emitting region (SP3) in the conductive barrier rib (6) layer; forming a first light-emitting opening exposing at least a portion of the upper surface of the first lower electrode (LE3) in the insulating film(5)(shown completed) and forming a first opening from the preliminary first opening of the conductive barrier rib (6) layer so that a conductive barrier rib (6) is formed from the conductive barrier rib (6) layer.(shown completed in figure 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: wherein a central portion of an upper surface of the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73) and a peripheral portion surrounding the central portion of the upper surface of the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (73) form a step difference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabatake (735).
Regarding Claim 5, Tabatake discloses: wherein the conductive barrier rib (6) comprises: a first conductive layer (61) having a first conductivity (¶ [0049]); and a second conductive layer (62, ¶ [0049])) disposed on the first conductive layer (61) and a thickness of the first conductive layer (61) (61) is greater than a thickness of the second conductive layer (62) (shown in figure 3).
Tabatake fails to disclose: (62) having a second conductivity lower than the first conductivity (of 61).
In the device of Tabatake, the lower portion (61) of the bank (6) provides an electrical connection between common second electrodes and needs to be conductive. There is no need for the upper portion to be conductive.
Furthermore, applicant has not established the criticality of this in the specification by experimentation or otherwise and has not shown how it produces any novel or unexpected result or solves any known problem.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a higher conductivity on the lower portion (61) of the bank (6) of Tabatake, to insure a uniform electrical path through adjacent sub-pixels for the common second electrode while realizing an economy of materials by not requiring conductivity for the upper portion (62).
Regarding Claim 6, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: wherein an inner side surface of the first conductive layer (61) defines a first region of the first opening; an inner side surface of the second conductive layer (62) defines a second region of the first opening, in a cross-sectional view, the inner side surface of the second conductive layer (62) defining the second region is closer to a center of the first lower electrode (LE3) than the inner side surface of the first conductive layer (61) defining the first region. (it protrudes toward the center)
Regarding Claim 10, Tabatake fails to disclose: wherein a minimum thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (in 73) is greater than a minimum thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation pattern (in 72).
However, application has not shown in the specification how this variation in thickness produces any novel or unexpected result or solves any known problem. Furthermore, no criticality of this variation is provided by experimentation in the specification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a variation in the thickness oof the first and second inorganic encapsulation patterns, in the device of Tabatake, as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding Claim 15, Tabatake fails to disclose: wherein an etch rate of the first organic layer (13) is higher than an etch rate of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (73).
However, in general, organic materials etch faster than inorganic materials.
Furthermore, the organic layer (13) is on top of the inorganic layer (73), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that an etch rate of the organic layer is faster to protect the inorganic layer below.
Regarding Claim 20, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: wherein the preliminary display panel further comprises a second lower electrode (LE2, ¶ [0034]) spaced apart from the first lower electrode (LE3); a second opening (SP2 points to it) is defined in the conductive barrier rib (6); and the method further comprises: forming a second light-emitting pattern (OR2a, ¶ [0043]) disposed on the second lower electrode (LE2) inside the second opening and a dummy second light-emitting pattern (OR2b) disposed on an upper surface (on 62) of the conductive barrier rib (6) inside the first opening; forming a second upper electrode (UE2a,¶ [0043]) disposed on the second light-emitting pattern (OR2a) inside the second opening and contacting the inner side surface of the conductive barrier rib (6) defining the second opening and a dummy second upper electrode (UE2b, ¶ [0043]) disposed on the dummy second light-emitting pattern(OR2b); forming a second inorganic encapsulation layer (72, ¶ [0048]) covering the second upper electrode (UE2a) and the dummy second upper electrode(UE2b), overlapping the light-emitting region and the non-light-emitting region in a plan view, and defining a second cavity in the light-emitting region (SP2 points to it); forming a second organic layer (13, ¶ [0048]) comprising a second filling portion disposed in the second cavity and a second flat portion (partly shown) disposed on the second inorganic encapsulation layer; removing the second flat portion; forming a second inorganic encapsulation pattern ( in 72) in the second opening by removing at least a portion of the second filling portion and a portion of the second inorganic encapsulation layer (shown completed in figure 3);
Tabatake fails to disclose: and removing the dummy second light-emitting pattern and the dummy second upper electrode.
Since they are non-functional, there is no reason for having them there as they could come loose and cause malfunctions in the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to remove the non-functions patterns, to prevent potential malfunctions in the device.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabatake (735) in view of Arai et al (US PG Pub. No. 2002/0179901).
Regarding Claim 13, Tabatake fails to disclose: wherein the removing of the first flat portion is performed by an ashing method.
Arai teaches in paragraph [0046]) using the ashing method to remove organic material (the first organic (13 above) leaving the inorganic material below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try the ashing method, as taught by Arai, in the device of Tabatake to remove the flat portion of the organic layer of Tabatake without removing the inorganic material below, because it as a known technique, applied to a known device, ready for improvement, to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143 lC).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabatake (735) in view of Dai et al (US PG Pub. No. 2015/0028310).
Regarding Claim 14, Tabatake wherein the forming of the first inorganic encapsulation pattern (in 73) is performed by a dry etching method.
Dai teaches that dry etching is a preferred method for removing stacked inorganic materials (73 is inorganic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try use dry etching, as taught by Arai, in the device of Tabatake to remove the flat portion of the organic layer of Dai, to form a pattern in the first inorganic encapsulation layer, because it as a known technique, applied to a known device, for removing stacked inorganic methods, to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143 lC).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabatake (735) in view of Yang et al (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0179951).
Regarding Claim 17, Tabatake discloses in figure 3: wherein the conductive barrier rib (6) layer comprises: a first conductive layer (61) having a first conductivity; and a second conductive layer (62) disposed on the first conductive layer (61) and having a second conductivity lower than the first conductivity, the first conductive layer (61) and the second conductive layer (62) are dry-etched in the forming of the preliminary first opening; the first conductive layer (61) and the second conductive layer (62) are wet-etched in the forming of the first opening; and in a cross sectional view, the inner side surface of the second conductive layer (62) defining a second region of the first opening is closer to center of the first lower electrode (LE3) than the inner side surface of the first conductive layer (61) defining a first region of the first opening.
Tabatake discloses in paragraph [0075] using etching but fails to disclose whether it is dry or wet.
Yang teaches in paragraph [0162] that wet etching has lower precision than dry etching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Tabatake to use dry etching when precision is required, as taught by Yang and wet etching otherwise.
Tabatake also fails to disclose that the conductivity of (61) is higher than that of (62). In the device of Tabatake, the lower portion (61) of the bank (6) provides an electrical connection between common second electrodes and needs to be conductive. There is no need for the upper portion to be conductive.
Furthermore, applicant has not established the criticality of this in the specification by experimentation or otherwise and has not shown how it produces any novel or unexpected result or solves any known problem.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a higher conductivity on the lower portion (61) of the bank (6) of Tabatake, to insure a uniform electrical path through adjacent sub-pixels for the common second electrodes while realizing an economy of materials by not requiring conductivity for the upper portion (62).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabatake (735) in view of Yamaguchi (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0131125).
Regarding Claim 18, Tabatake fails to disclose: wherein the preliminary display panel further comprises a sacrificial pattern disposed on the first lower electrode (LE3) in the providing of the preliminary display panel; and a lower opening exposing a portion of the upper surface of the first lower electrode (LE3) is formed in the sacrificial pattern in the forming of the first opening.
The opening exposing the upper surface of the first lower electrode is shown completed in figure 3. The sacrificial pattern is used to protect the electrode from the etching. (see Yamaguchi, paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tabatake to place a sacrificial pattern on the first electrode, as suggested by Yamaguchi, to protect the first electrode from damage.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 4, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 4, and specifically comprising the limitation of “further comprising: a sacrificial pattern disposed on an outer side region of the first lower electrode and disposed between the first lower electrode and the insulating film” including the remaining limitations.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CONTACT INFORMATION
/DONALD L RALEIGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875