DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Duffy-Protentis (11,618,542).
Regarding independent claims 1, 8, and 15, Duffy-Protentis teaches a power system for a work machine and method, the power system (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a connection arrangement (between 144 and 136; Col. 8, lines 1-14) connected to a frame of the work machine (watercraft, 104; inside battery housing 204), the connection arrangement configured to be moved (i.e. inserted and removed), relative to the frame, between a mated state and an unmated state to facilitate replacement of one or more electrical power sources (battery packs, 124) of the work machine configured to enable travel of the work machine from a first location to a second location (Col. 7, lines 1-7), wherein in the mated state, the connection arrangement facilitates an operative engagement of each of:
a first terminal set (136 or 324 of Fig. 3B) with a second terminal set (part of 144; Col. 8, lines 6-14) to provide passage to an electrical connection therethrough and route electrical power supply from the one or more electrical power sources (battery packs) to one or more electrical devices of the work machine through the connection arrangement (Col. 7, lines 31-34), the electrical power supply enabling controlled movement of the one or more electrical devices (mechanical systems aka impeller; Col. 7, lines 1-7) relative to the frame, and
a first connector set (332 of Fig. 3B) with a second connector set (part of 144; Col. 8, lines 15-16) to provide passage to one or more communication links therethrough and route data transmission through the connection arrangement (to the computing device 116; Col. 5, lines 23-31); and
a system for determining a state of the electrical connection between the first terminal set and the second terminal set, the system including:
a controller (116; Col. 5, lines 14-16) configured to:
detect the data transmission through the one or more communication links (Col. 7, line 66 – Col. 8, line 2);
determine the state of the electrical connection between the first terminal set and the second terminal set at the connection arrangement as connected when the data transmission is active (Col. 8, lines 24-40; Col. 12, lines 32-47; Col. 13, lines 1-6); and
determine the state of the electrical connection between the first terminal set and the second terminal set at the connection arrangement as disconnected when the data transmission is inactive (Col. 8, lines 1-23, specifically lines 20-23).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Duffy-Protentis teaches when the first connector set (332) is operatively engaged with the second connector set (part of 144) by the connection arrangement, the one or more communication links are configured to be passed between the one or more electrical power sources and the one or more electrical devices through the connection arrangement and the data transmission therebetween is configured to be routed through the connection arrangement (Col.. 5, lines 23-31; Col. 12, line 57-Col. 13, line 6).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Duffy-Protentis teaches the controller includes a first controller (Col. 5, lines 12-16; 328 of Fig. 3B) configured to be associated with the one or more electrical power sources (battery packs), wherein to detect the data transmission through the one or more communication links, the first controller is configured to:
monitor receipt of data to a first receiver (332/328) associated with the one or more electrical power sources (Col. 12, lines 57-65)
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Duffy-Protentis teaches the controller includes a second controller (116 of watercraft) configured to be associated with the one or more electrical devices (inside the watercraft; Col. 7, lines 1-7), wherein to detect the data transmission through the one or more communication links, the second controller is configured to:
monitor receipt of data to a second receiver (inside 116) associated with the one or more electrical devices of the work machine. (Col. 5, lines 23-52)
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Duffy-Protentis teaches one or more electrical-contactors (140 and 320), the controller configured to:
move the one or more electrical-contactors to an open position when the data transmission is inactive (i.e. unresponsive to signals) to break the operative engagement between the first terminal set and the second terminal set and to set a voltage transfer value between the first terminal set and the second terminal set to zero (0) volt at the connection arrangement (Col. 8, lines 18-23), and
move the one or more electrical-contactors from the open position to a closed position when the data transmission is active (upon receiving connected indication; Col. 13, lines 1-6), wherein:
transitioning the one or more electrical-contactors from the open position to the closed position electrically connects and bridges the operative engagement between the first terminal set and the second terminal set (Col. 8, lines 37-40), and
upon transitioning the one or more electrical-contactors from the open position to the closed position, an initial transmission through the one or more communication links comprises a data transmission that is active (sending the lock signal) prior to the electrical connection providing power via the one or more electrical contactors (Col. 8, lines 37-40).
Regarding claims 6, Duffy-Protentis teaches the one or more communication links are configured to halt the data transmission (signals being unresponsive) prior to halting of the electrical power supply via the electrical connection (Col. 8, lines 20-23).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Duffy-Protentis teaches the connection arrangement includes:
a first piece (battery pack) carrying the first terminal set and the first connector set, and
a second piece (battery housing) complementary to the first piece and carrying the second terminal set and the second connector set, the first piece switchable between a connected condition and a disconnected condition with respect to the second piece (Col. 7, lines 31-34; Col. 8, lines 1-46), wherein
the connected condition of the first piece with the second piece relates to the mated state of the connection arrangement (when battery packs are inserted/installed in battery housing) and corresponds to:
the operative engagement of the first terminal set with the second terminal set and the operative engagement of the first connector set with the second connector set (to facilitate energy transfer and communication between 136/324/332 and 144), and
the disconnected condition of the first piece with the second piece relates to the unmated state of the connection arrangement (when battery packs are removed from the battery housing) and corresponds to:
a disengagement between the first terminal set and the second terminal set to restrict the electrical power supply through the electrical connection, and a disengagement between the first connector set and the second connector set to restrict the data transmission through the one or more communication links (Col. 10, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 13, Duffy-Protentis teaches data transmissible through the one or more communication links (via 332) corresponds to one or more of digital data, analog signal data, optical data, and fluid based signal data capable of facilitating a handshake type function with various devices of the work machine, or a combination of these. (Col. 5, lines 12-31, 42-52)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy-Protentis (11,618,542) and Kinzer (2021/0317972).
Duffy-Protentis teaches the power system as described above with respect to claims 1 and 9. Duffy-Protentis also teaches the connection arrangement including:
a first piece (the battery pack) carrying the first terminal set and the first connector set, and
a second piece (the battery housing) carrying the second terminal set and the second connector set.
Duffy-Protentis fails to explicitly teach the use of a fluid actuator. Kinzer teaches a similar connection arrangement (including a plug 30 and a recess 16) to that of Duffy-Protentis, wherein a fluid actuator is configured to move at least one of the first piece or the second pied, relative to the frame, to transition the connection arrangement between the mated state and the unmated state ([0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a fluid actuator into Duffy-Protentis’ connection arrangement to more securely mate the first and second pieces together.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 17, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Duffy-Protentis and Kinzer.
Conclusion
DMP
12/23/2025
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836