DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/19/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The foreign patent documents have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 109703541 B) in view of Gerber-Papin et al. (US 2016/0167684 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, Wang discloses an electromechanical brake actuator (note the electric braking device in figs. 1-2), comprising:
a service-brake unit (1-5 and 15) including:
a service-brake rod (4, 15), for applying a variable braking force to an external caliper (12-14);
a service-actuation unit (1-3) that receives receive a service-brake signal (note the vehicle needs to brake in the driving process, driven by the output torque of the servo motor 1, the transmission variable torque gear set 2 and the transmission gear 3 pushes the brake rack top rod 4 to move, so as to realize the driving brake of the vehicle by the brake mechanism of the brake wheel connected with the brake rack top rod 4; in the servo motor 1 drives the brake rack top rod 4 reciprocating movement process, can realize different brake torque, adjusting the brake speed, realizing different driving brake mode, etc.) and, in dependence thereof, moves the service-brake rod (4) to a position between a full braking position, at which a maximum braking force is applied to the caliper (13), and a drive position (note fig. 2), at which no braking force is applied to the caliper (13);
wherein the electromechanical brake actuator further comprises:
a parking-brake unit (6-11), including:
a parking-brake rod (7) operatively coupled to the service-brake rod (4) and movable between a first position (note when the spring 6 is fully extended), in which the parking-brake rod (7) is arranged to lock the service-brake rod (4) in a braking position, and a second position (note when the spring 6 is fully compressed) in which the service-brake rod (4) is released from the braking position and free to be moved by the service-actuation unit (1-3); and
a parking-actuation unit (6, 8-10) comprising a spring element (6) operatively coupled to the parking-brake rod (7) and arranged so that in a fully-compressed state of the spring element (6) the parking-brake rod (7) is in the second position, and in a fully-released state of the spring element (6) the parking-brake rod (7) is in the first position.
Wang discloses all claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to disclose the parking-actuation unit further comprising a hydraulic unit that is operatively coupled to the parking-brake rod and that receives a parking-brake signal and, in dependence thereof, locks the parking-brake rod at a given position, and further allows a release of the spring element to the fully-released state as recited in the claim. However, Gerber-Papin et al. discloses a brake system comprising: a service brake unit and a parking brake unit, wherein the parking unit comprising: a parking brake pressure chamber 25 including a piston 23 configured to act on a spring member 24, wherein the parking unit 7 is operated by a hydraulic unit (note the valve 55, the reservoir 51, the pressure regulator 52, the parking brake line 58, and the control signal line 67 in fig. 1) that is operatively coupled to a parking-brake rod 20 and that receives a parking-brake signal and, in dependence thereof, locks the parking-brake rod at a given position, and further allows a release of the spring element to the fully-released state (note [0122]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the parking unit of Wang to include a hydraulic unit as taught by Gerber-Papin et al. to provide a customizable parking control over the parking operation using hydraulics rather than only the spring or in case of spring failure.
Re-claim 4, the modified system of Wang in view of Gerber-Papin et al. discloses the hydraulic cylinder (2) is a single-acting cylinder, wherein the first chamber (25) is located inside the hydraulic cylinder (2) and the second chamber (51) is a reservoir arranged outside the hydraulic cylinder (2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the parking unit of Wang to include a hydraulic unit as taught by Gerber-Papin et al. will further support a reliable parking operation.
Re-claim 10, the modified system of Wang discloses the service-actuation unit (1-4 of Wang) is further arranged and configured to compress the spring element (6) and to drive the parking-brake rod (7) to the second position.
Re-claim 14, the modified system of Wang discloses the braking position parking-brake rod (7) is arranged to lock the service-brake rod (4) in a braking position corresponding to the full braking position.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 109703541 B) in view of Stefan (DE 10327185 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, Wang discloses an electromechanical brake actuator (note the electric braking device in figs. 1-2), comprising:
a service-brake unit (1-5 and 15) including:
a service-brake rod (4, 15), for applying a variable braking force to an external caliper (12-14);
a service-actuation unit (1-3) that receives receive a service-brake signal (note the vehicle needs to brake in the driving process, driven by the output torque of the servo motor 1, the transmission variable torque gear set 2 and the transmission gear 3 pushes the brake rack top rod 4 to move, so as to realize the driving brake of the vehicle by the brake mechanism of the brake wheel connected with the brake rack top rod 4; in the servo motor 1 drives the brake rack top rod 4 reciprocating movement process, can realize different brake torque, adjusting the brake speed, realizing different driving brake mode, etc.) and, in dependence thereof, moves the service-brake rod (4) to a position between a full braking position, at which a maximum braking force is applied to the caliper (13), and a drive position (note fig. 2), at which no braking force is applied to the caliper (13);
wherein the electromechanical brake actuator further comprises:
a parking-brake unit (6-11), including:
a parking-brake rod (7) operatively coupled to the service-brake rod (4) and movable between a first position (note when the spring 6 is fully extended), in which the parking-brake rod (7) is arranged to lock the service-brake rod (4) in a braking position, and a second position (note when the spring 6 is fully compressed) in which the service-brake rod (4) is released from the braking position and free to be moved by the service-actuation unit (1-3); and
a parking-actuation unit (6, 8-10) comprising a spring element (6) operatively coupled to the parking-brake rod (7) and arranged so that in a fully-compressed state of the spring element (6) the parking-brake rod (7) is in the second position, and in a fully-released state of the spring element (6) the parking-brake rod (7) is in the first position.
Wang discloses all claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to disclose the parking-actuation unit further comprising a hydraulic unit that is operatively coupled to the parking-brake rod and that receives a parking-brake signal and, in dependence thereof, locks the parking-brake rod at a given position, and further allows a release of the spring element to the fully-released state as recited in the claim. However, Stefan discloses a brake system comprising: at least a parking brake unit (10), wherein the parking unit comprising: a parking brake pressure chambers 18 and 28 including a piston 22 configured to act on a spring member 38, wherein the parking unit is operated by a hydraulic unit (note the valve 26, and the reservoir 36, that is operatively coupled to a parking-brake rod 24 and that receives a parking-brake signal and, in dependence thereof, locks the parking-brake rod at a given position, and further allows a release of the spring member 38 to the fully-released state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the parking unit of Wang to include a hydraulic unit as taught by Stefan to provide a customizable parking control over the parking operation using hydraulics rather than only the spring or in case of spring failure.
Re-claim 3, the modified system of Wang in view of Stefan discloses the hydraulic cylinder (20) is a double acting cylinder, wherein the first chamber (30) and the second chamber (28) are located inside the double acting cylinder (20) and separated by the piston (22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the parking unit of Wang to include a hydraulic unit and the double acting parking cylinder as taught by Stefan will further support a reliable parking operation.
Re-claims 5-6, the modified system of Wang in view of Stefan discloses the electrically controlled valve unit includes a manifold valve (26), in particular a 2/2-way solenoid valve being operable in a first state of the manifold valve in fluid communication with the first chamber (18) is connected to a second port of the manifold valve in fluid communication with the second chamber (28) and therefore a movement of the piston (22) inside the hydraulic cylinder (20) is enabled, and a second state in which the first port is disconnected from the second port and therefore a movement of the piston inside the hydraulic cylinder is hindered (note that Stefan discloses a 2/2-way solenoid valve that is open in its normally open position 26 arranged, which has two chambers 28, 30 of the cylinder 20 connects with each other, wherein, in its open basic position causes the solenoid valve 26 a pressure equalization on both sides of the piston 22, to actuate the piston cylinder unit 20, the solenoid valve 26 closed and thereby the two chambers 28, 30 of the cylinder 20 hydraulically separated from each other, wherein, a hydraulic pump 32 that with an electric motor 34 is driven, promotes hydraulic fluid (brake fluid) in a piston rod side chamber 28 of the cylinder 20 and thereby moves the piston 22 and the piston rod 24 so that a pull on the cables 14 is exercised, the two wheel brakes 16 actuated, wherein, by the piston movement from the piston rod 24 remote chamber 30 of the cylinder 20 displaced hydraulic fluid flows through a brake line 35 in the wheel brakes 16 and acts on these in addition to the mechanical operation with the actuator 12 hydraulically, wherein, one in the cylinder 20 used piston return spring 38 moves the piston 22 after a pressure equalization in the two chambers 28, 30 of the cylinder 20 by opening the valve 26 back to its original position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the parking unit of Wang to include a hydraulic unit as taught by Stefan will further support a reliable parking operation.
Re-claim 10, the modified system of Wang discloses the service-actuation unit (1-4 of Wang) is further arranged and configured to compress the spring element (6) and to drive the parking-brake rod (7) to the second position.
Re-claim 14, the modified system of Wang discloses the braking position parking-brake rod (7) is arranged to lock the service-brake rod (4) in a braking position corresponding to the full braking position.
Re-claim 15, the modified system of Wang discloses the hydraulic unit (118) locks the parking-brake rod (112) at a given position when a hydraulic valve (132) of the hydraulic unit (118) is switched to a “close” state, and the hydraulic unit (118) allows a release of the spring element (116) when a hydraulic valve (132) of the hydraulic unit (118) is in an “open” state.
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses an electromechanical brake arrangement (note figs. 1-2), comprising: an electromechanical brake actuator (1) according to claim 1, a caliper (13) connected to the service-brake rod (15) and configured to apply a braking force to a brake disc (12) but fails to disclose the amount of the braking force being dependent on a position of the service-brake rod, and a brake control unit in signal communication with the service-actuation unit and the parking-actuation unit and configured to generate and electrically provide the service-brake signal and the parking-brake signal. However, Stefan discloses a displacement sensor 63 arranged, with which a way or a position of the piston 22 the actuator 12 the parking brake system 10 is detectable, wherein, the displacement sensor 63 allows control of an operating force of the actuator 12 and a statement of their respective position and thus of their condition (resolved or actuated), wherein, the displacement sensor 63 can measure incrementally or absolutely. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the parking unit of Wang to include a displacement sensor as taught by Stefan will further support further support a customizable parking control over the parking operation via only the spring.
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a commercial vehicle, in particular an electric commercial vehicle, comprising an electromechanical brake arrangement according to claim 19, wherein a respective brake disc (12) is connected to a corresponding wheel of the vehicle (note Wang discloses a vehicle braking system, comprising the following system scheme: system scheme one, comprising a controller and a brake mechanism corresponding to each wheel; the brake mechanism is driven by the electric brake device to brake the wheel and also note fig. 3 for a commercial vehicle).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 109703541 B) in view of Stefan (DE 10327185 A1) or Gerber-Papin et al. (US 2016/0167684 A1) as set forth above, and further in view of Peter (DE 102019108403 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, the modified system of Wang in view of Stefan or Gerber-Papin et al. as set forth above discloses all claimed limitations fails to discloses a flow-control unit arranged between the electrically controlled valve unit and the hydraulic cylinder for controlling a flow amount between the first chamber and the second chamber. However, Peter discloses a parking system comprising: a hydraulic unit including a valve (33), a parking brake chamber (28) and a flow control valve (52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the parking unit of Wang to include a flow control valve as taught by Peter will further support a reliable parking operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11-13 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616