DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The reference numerals in all figures are too small, and thus do not meet the requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3).
The specification defines a position “Pa” as being “a corner R of the center pillar outer 33” (see Page 11, lines 25-26). However, the indicator “Pa” in Figs. 2, 6A, and 7A does not appear to point to a corner of the center pillar outer. See Figure below.
The Section view indicator “A-A” in Fig. 3 should be changed to Roman or Arabic numerals, as required by 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3). Examiner suggests using “IV-IV” since Fig. 4 contains the section view.
Figures 5B, 7A, and 7B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Note that the brief description of the drawings on Pages 5 and 6 of the specification states that these figures show “conventional” subject matter.
Element “R,” mentioned on Page 11, line 25 appears to be missing from the drawings.
The drawings have poor line quality, and do not meet the requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(L). Note that the drawings must be viewed in the USPTO Patent Center in order to see this problem. See examples below, as well. The drawings likely contain grayscale elements, which cause image degradation in the USPTO electronic filing system. Drawings must be entirely bi-tonal, containing only black or white color values.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the implied phrase “are provided” in line 2. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Examiner suggests the following amendments:
An upper end portion of [[the]] a center pillar reinforcement is fixed to a roof rail. The roof rail comprises a protrusion portion protruding in a vehicle width direction and extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction. The protrusion portion comprises a fixation portion where the upper end portion is fixed and a terminal end portion separate, in the vehicle longitudinal direction, from the center pillar reinforcement.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 13, line 15, “disperse” should be changed to --dispersing--.
Page 13, line 19, “disperse” should be changed to --dispersing--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims frequently use the passive voice phrases “is provided” and “is formed,” for example. It is suggested that, instead of utilizing a “wherein” clause with the passive voice, the claims be amended using “comprising” or “further comprising.” See example below, from claim 6. (Note: The element “said part of said center pillar reinforcement” lacks antecedent basis and has been corrected below) Appropriate correction is required.
6. (currently amended) The upper vehicle-body structure of the vehicle of claim 1, further comprising:
a roof reinforcement extending inward, in the vehicle width direction, from said roof railsaid roof reinforcement positioned on the rearward side of and closest to the center pillar reinforcement;
a door opening portion with a front edge side constituted by ;
wherein
a corner portion of said door opening portion between the center pillar reinforcement and the roof rail is configured in an arc shape in a side view[[,]]; and
said terminal end portion positioned on a rearward side of said fixation portion is positioned on the rearward side of a rear end of said corner portion and on a forward side of a front end of the roof reinforcement
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “said protrusion portion extending rearward from said center pillar reinforcement” in lines 1-2 lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “said terminal end portion which is positioned at a rear end of said first protrusion portion” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, the phrase “where said upper end portion is fixed” is vague and ambiguous. The term “separate from” is also vague, as elements can be “separate” from each other in many different ways. It is suggested that the following amendments be made, in order to reflect the assumed intended meaning of these limitations.
1. (currently amended) An upper vehicle-body structure of a vehicle, comprising:
a roof rail; and
a center pillar reinforcementcomprising an upper end portion to said roof rail, wherein said roof rail comprises a protrusion portion protruding in a vehicle width direction and extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction, and said protrusion portion comprises a fixation portion, said upper end portion [[is]] fixed to said fixation portion, and a terminal end portion spaced apart from said center pillar reinforcement in the vehicle longitudinal direction.
With regard to claim 3, the phrase “rearward adjacent” is unclear. The following amendment is suggested, and the claim is being examined as if this amendment has been made:
“…which is and rearward of said terminal end portion of the first protrusion portion in the vehicle longitudinal direction.”
With regard to claims 5 and 9, it is unclear whether both the upper-face and lower-face bead portions are required, because no “and” or “or” operator is provided.
The following amendment is suggested, and the claim is being examined as if this amendment has been made:
5. (currently amended) The upper vehicle-body structure of the vehicle of claim 4, wherein said bead portion is defined as an upper-face bead portion protruding upward from the upper face portion of said roof rail[[,]] and a pair of lower-face bead portions extending in the vehicle width direction and protruding downward from the lower face portion of the roof rail, wherein said pair of lower-face bead portions are located at respective positions, in the vehicle longitudinal direction, adjacent to said first protrusion portion and said second protrusion portion.
A similar amendment should be made to claim 9.
With regard to claim 10, the phrase “separate rearward from” is ambiguous, and should be changed to --spaced apart rearwardly in the vehicle longitudinal direction from-- or similar.
With regard to claim 11, the phrase “an elongated circular shape” does not make sense, as a “circle” must be a perfect circle. It is suggested that the phrase “an elongated circular shape with arc-shaped both side ends thereof” be changed to --an obround shape--.
With regard to claim 13, the phrase “extend…over” is confusing. Examiner suggests the following amendment:
13. (currently amended) The upper vehicle-body structure of the vehicle of claim 3, wherein said second protrusion portion is configured to extend in the vehicle longitudinal direction rearwardly past a front end of a roof reinforcement extending inward, in the vehicle width direction, from said roof rail.
Claims 2, 4, 6-8, and 12 are rejected based on their dependence upon rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurokawa (US 2013/0300155).
With regard to claim 1, Kurokawa discloses an upper vehicle-body structure of a vehicle, comprising:
a center pillar reinforcement (32); and
a roof rail (22), to which an upper end portion (42) of the center pillar reinforcement is fixed (via welding), wherein said roof rail comprises a protrusion portion (see annotated Fig. provided below—note that the “protrusion” is considered to be the portion of the roof rail that protrudes in the outward direction beyond the upper and lower flanges of the roof rail) protruding in a vehicle width direction and extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction (the protrusion extends beyond the edges of the illustration in the vehicle longitudinal direction), and said protrusion portion comprises a fixation portion where said upper end portion is fixed (see annotated Fig. below) and a terminal end portion separate, in the vehicle longitudinal direction, from said center pillar reinforcement (the terminal end portion is not shown, but is simply considered to be the end of the roof rail. In other words, the protrusion has to terminate somewhere, and wherever the termination occurs is considered the “terminal end”).
With regard to claim 2, Kurokawa teaches that said protrusion portion is provided at a side face portion of said roof rail (see Fig. above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regard to claims 3 and 7, the terminal end portion of Kurokawa’s first protrusion portion is considered to be the end of the roof rail itself (given that Kurokawa does not actually illustrate the terminal end of the protrusion). Therefore, Kurokawa cannot teach a second protrusion portion rearward and adjacent to the first protrusion portion.
With regard to claim 6, given that Kurokawa does not actually show the terminal end of the protrusion, then Kurokawa cannot teach that the terminal end is positioned forward of a front end of a roof reinforcement as specifically called for in the claimed combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references are further examples of connections between central pillars and roof rails, but which do not disclose the claimed protrusion structure.
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676