DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/7/2023, 1/12/2024, 4/2/2024, 6/4/2024, 8/14/2024, 8/28/2024, 11/24/2024, 3/20/2025, & 5/1/2025 was filed before the first office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges that Akuzawa does not disclose or suggest that the behaviour of menu items corresponding to the same function, are different on different menu screens. However, the Figures show that the left and right menus are in fact displayed differently, no matter the function. This means that if a function is displayed on the list of the left side, it will be displayed differently, as an icon or large button, on the right side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Akuzawa (US 20170085731 A1, published: 3/23/2017).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Akuzawa teaches a control apparatus comprising at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit (the computer may comprise one or more processors [Akuzawa, 0167]) which function as:
a display control unit that performs control to display at least any one of a plurality of menu screens including a first type menu screen on which a predetermined number of menu items, including a first menu item corresponding to a predetermined function, are arranged and a second type menu screen on which a plurality of menu items, including a second menu item corresponding to the predetermined function, are arranged (the display-operation control module 201 displays a full screen 300, including the main screen area 301, a function selection area 302, and a status area 320, on the display unit 119 via the display control I/F 115 [Akuzawa, 0056 FIGs. 3A-3B]; Examiner's Note: on the left side of the window 302 is the first type menu screen, and 301 is the second type menu),
wherein the first type menu screen is different from the second type menu screen and the number of the menu items arranged on the second type menu screen is greater than the predetermined number ([Akuzawa, FIG. 3B]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated, menu type 301 and 302 have different number of menu items, 301 being greater than 302 items); and
a control unit that performs control such that, even in a case where the predetermined function corresponding to the first menu item arranged on the first type menu screen is in an unavailable situation when the first menu item is selected, the first menu item is not automatically removed from the first type menu screen, and based on that if the predetermined function corresponding to the second menu item arranged on the second type menu screen is in an unavailable situation when the second menu it selected, the second menu item is deleted from the second type menu screen (buttons 303 and 304 are arranged in the function selection area 302 for the purpose of activating the main menu screen and a custom menu screen that is generated by the custom menu control module 212 [Akuzawa, 0056, FIGs. 3A-3B, FIG. 4A]; When Button 303 "Main Menu" is selected under pane 302, then the Main Menu submenu on pane 301 is populated as in FIG. 3A. When Button 304 "Custom Menu" is selected under pane 302 {FIG. 3B}, then the "Custom Menu" submenu on pane 401 is populated as in FIG. 4A. In either case, pane 302, first type menu is always displayed on the left pane, and the right pane changes according to what is selected on the left. Thus when Copy is presented, FIG. 3B, but Main Menu is selected, then the right pane will delete the Copy to present the Main menu).
Claims 17 and 18, sharing similar deficiencies of claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 5: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the second type menu screen is a screen on which a specific display item to receive an instruction to switch a plurality of menu items displayed out of all the menu items included in the second type is displayed, and the specific display item is not displayed on the first type menu screen ([Akuzawa, FIGs. 3A-3B]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated in FIG 3A, the specific display item of "Copy" or "Scan and Send", presented on the Main Menu screen 301, are not presented on 302).
Claim 6: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the first type menu screen is a screen on which the arranged predetermined number of menu items are menu items selected by a user, and the second type menu screen is a screen on which the arranged plurality of menu items are menu items determined in advance and not based on the selection by the user.
Claim 7: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the first menu item and the second menu item are menu items to execute the same specific function ([Akuzawa, FIGs. 3A-3B]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated Main Menu of pane 301, presents specific functions of the Main Menu of pane 302).
Claim 8: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 7. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the specific function is a function to execute printing in cooperation with a cloud (various apparatuses, such as a PC, another MFP, a printer, and a server, are connected to the network 102 in such a manner that they can communicate with the MFP 10 [Akuzawa, 0048]. Under control by the CPU 111, the printer 122 prints image data stored in the external memory 120 [Akuzawa, 0049]. The copy control module 210 controls the copy function of reading an original and printing a copy of the original [Akuzawa, 0058]; [Akuzawa, FIG. 4A]; Examiner's Note: FIG. 4A has a Sharing Button 411).
Claim 19, sharing similar deficiencies to claim 8, is likewise rejected.
Claim 9: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 8. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the specific function is a function to print a problem of Number Place (when a print job linked to a custom button is cancelled during the execution of the print job to change a setting related to the number of copies to be printed, the cancellation is not followed by a return to the custom menu screen).
Claim 10: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the display control unit performs control to display a plurality of display elements corresponding to the plurality of menu screens, respectively, and in accordance with that any one of the plurality of display elements is selected by the user, the display control unit performs control to display a menu screen corresponding to the selected display element (buttons 303 and 304 are arranged in the function selection area 302 for the purpose of activating the main menu screen and a custom menu screen that is generated by the custom menu control module 212 [Akuzawa, 0056, FIGs. 3A-3B, FIG. 4A]; When Button 303 "Main Menu" is selected under pane 302, then the Main Menu submenu on pane 301 is populated as in FIG. 3A. When Button 304 "Custom Menu" is selected under pane 302 {FIG. 3B}, then the "Custom Menu" submenu on pane 401 is populated as in FIG. 4A. In either case, pane 302, first type menu is always displayed on the left pane, and the right pane changes according to what is selected on the left. Thus when Copy is presented, FIG. 3B, but Main Menu is selected, then the right pane will delete the Copy to present the Main menu).
Claim 11: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 10. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the plurality of display elements are a plurality of tabs ([Akuzawa, FIG. 3A]; Examiner's Note: FIG. 3A pane 302, has 2 selectable icons that function identically to tabs. Whether redesigned to look like tabs, or buttons, selection of the same will yield a result of populating the relevant function menu in FIG. 3A. This examiner works with Utility NOT Design patents).
Claim 13: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein both the first menu item and the second menu item are items corresponding to a function to operate in cooperation with a server (various apparatuses, such as a PC, another MFP, a printer, and a server, are connected to the network 102 in such a manner that they can communicate with the MFP 10 [Akuzawa, 0048]).
Claim 16: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a printer that prints an image on a sheet (upon receiving image data stored in the external memory 120, the printer 122 converts the image data into a printable data format, and prints the resultant image data on a sheet [Akuzawa, 0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 14, and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akuzawa (US 20170085731 A1, published: 3/23/2017), in view of Chou et al. (US 20140171154 A1, published: 6/19/2014).
Claim 2. (Currently Amended): Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1. Akuzawa does not teach wherein the control unit performs control such that error displaying to indicate that the predetermined function is unavailable is performed based on a user operation for selecting the first menu item on the first type menu screen being performed in case where the predetermined function is in the unavailable situation, and error displaying to indicate that the predetermined function is unavailable is performed based on another user operation for selecting the second menu item on the second type menu screen being performed in a case where the predetermined function is in the unavailable situation, and the second menu item is deleted from the second type menu screen.
However, Chou teaches wherein the control unit performs control such that error displaying to indicate that the predetermined function is unavailable is performed based on a user operation for selecting the first menu item on the first type menu screen being performed in case where the predetermined function is in the unavailable situation, and error displaying to indicate that the predetermined function is unavailable is performed based on another user operation for selecting the second menu item on the second type menu screen being performed in a case where the predetermined function is in the unavailable situation, and the second menu item is deleted from the second type menu screen (as shown in FIG. 7, a user may touch and click on the message sending control key K4 with use of an input tool, so that the touch display screen 102 displays a drop-down menu which shows the default messages, such as "Unavailable.", "Call you back later.", "Meeting.", and so on [Chou, 0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display with two menu screen types, one informing the other, invention of Akuzawa to include the Unavailable Notification feature of Chou.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to make users aware if certain functions are not available, such that they might have to do with offline printer or a service from a disconnected server. Such notify users of these instances so that the user is not confused by the lack of functioning upon non-availability.
Claim 14: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 13, in which a corresponding service is shut down on a server side (various apparatuses, such as a PC, another MFP, a printer, and a server, are connected to the network 102 in such a manner that they can communicate with the MFP 10 [Akuzawa, 0048]). Akuzawa does not teach wherein a situation in which the first menu item is unavailable and a situation in which the second menu item is unavailable are both a state.
However, Chou teaches wherein a situation in which the first menu item is unavailable and a situation in which the second menu item is unavailable are both a state (as shown in FIG. 7, a user may touch and click on the message sending control key K4 with use of an input tool, so that the touch display screen 102 displays a drop-down menu which shows the default messages, such as "Unavailable.", "Call you back later.", "Meeting.", and so on [Chou, 0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display with two menu screen types, one informing the other, invention of Akuzawa to include the Unavailable Notification feature of Chou.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to make users aware if certain functions are not available, such that they might have to do with offline printer or a service from a disconnected server. Such notify users of these instances so that the user is not confused by the lack of functioning upon non-availability.
Claim 15: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 13, are both a state in which usage of a corresponding service is stopped by a user (various apparatuses, such as a PC, another MFP, a printer, and a server, are connected to the network 102 in such a manner that they can communicate with the MFP 10 [Akuzawa, 0048]; Examiner's Note: if the Server is stopped it is inherently unable to send any data anywhere). Akuzawa does not teach wherein the situation in which the first menu item is unavailable and the situation in which the second menu item is unavailable.
However, Chou teaches wherein the situation in which the first menu item is unavailable and the situation in which the second menu item is unavailable (as shown in FIG. 7, a user may touch and click on the message sending control key K4 with use of an input tool, so that the touch display screen 102 displays a drop-down menu which shows the default messages, such as "Unavailable.", "Call you back later.", "Meeting.", and so on [Chou, 0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display with two menu screen types, one informing the other, invention of Akuzawa to include the Unavailable Notification feature of Chou.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to make users aware if certain functions are not available, such that they might have to do with offline printer or a service from a disconnected server. Such notify users of these instances so that the user is not confused by the lack of functioning upon non-availability.
Claim(s) 12, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akuzawa (US 20170085731 A1, published: 3/23/2017), in view of McFarland (US 20030121517 A1, published: 7/3/2003).
Claim 12: Akuzawa teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1. Akuzawa does not teach further comprising the at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit further function as a locking unit that controls at least one of the plurality of menu screens corresponding to a plurality of tabs to a locked state, wherein based on lock setting individually set in each tab in advance, the locking unit performs control to set the locked state, and based on that a backlight of the display unit is turned off, the locking unit performs control to set all the menu screens of the tabs that are displayed on the display screen and in which the lock setting is effective to the locked state, in a case where a screen displayed in a case where the backlight of the display unit is turned off is displayed because the menu item arranged on the menu screen corresponding to the tab in which the lock setting is effective is selected, a locked screen of the menu screen corresponding to the tab in which the lock setting is effective is displayed in a case where the backlight is turned on, and in a case where a screen displayed in a case where the backlight of the display unit is turned off is displayed because the menu item arranged on the menu screen corresponding to the tab in which the lock setting is ineffective is selected, the screen that is displayed while the backlight of the display unit is turned off is displayed without displaying the locked screen in a case where the backlight is turned on.
However, McFarland teaches further comprising the at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit further function as a locking unit that controls at least one of the plurality of menu screens corresponding to a plurality of tabs to a locked state, wherein based on lock setting individually set in each tab in advance, the locking unit performs control to set the locked state, and based on that a backlight of the display unit is turned off, the locking unit performs control to set all the menu screens of the tabs that are displayed on the display screen and in which the lock setting is effective to the locked state, in a case where a screen displayed in a case where the backlight of the display unit is turned off is displayed because the menu item arranged on the menu screen corresponding to the tab in which the lock setting is effective is selected, a locked screen of the menu screen corresponding to the tab in which the lock setting is effective is displayed in a case where the backlight is turned on, and in a case where a screen displayed in a case where the backlight of the display unit is turned off is displayed because the menu item arranged on the menu screen corresponding to the tab in which the lock setting is ineffective is selected, the screen that is displayed while the backlight of the display unit is turned off is displayed without displaying the locked screen in a case where the backlight is turned on (the electronic control device may offer a liquid crystal display with a soft glow backlight showing features such as a multi-segment battery status, mode of dispensing indicator, temperature display in Fahrenheit/Centigrade, vibration treatment timer with stealth vibrator indicator, dosage cycle counter, electronic safety and sleep indicator, treatment locked menu selection with real status indicators, processing power for multiple modes of dispensing, preset pulsating and automatic run dispensing features [McFarland, 0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display with two menu screen types, one informing the other, invention of Akuzawa to include the backlight lock feature of McFarland.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a locked state for each tab or function presented via a Backlit display.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172