DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on February 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 16, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 19, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second electronic component” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 4 and 15 recite a “second electronic component.” However, the originally filed specification and the drawings do not mention or show a second electronic component. Thus, the claims do not convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the applicants had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al (US Pub 2022/0020659).
In re claim 1, Zheng et al discloses an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (i.e. 10) comprising a dielectric structure and a conductive structure (i.e. it is inherent and well known in the art that the substrate would have a dielectric structure and a conductive structure for use in a packaged chip in order for the chip to function; in addition, at least Figures 2 and 9f shows solder balls on the backside of the substrate, making at least conductive structure a necessity in the substrate); a first electronic component (i.e. 20) over a top side of the substrate and coupled with the conductive structure (i.e. see at least Figure 1: through solder ball 50); a lid (i.e. 301) over the first electronic component and coupled with a top side of the substrate (i.e. see at least Figure 1: through 302, 303), wherein the lid comprises a top plate having a plurality of holes (i.e. 3011); and a covering material (i.e. 40) covering a lateral side of the first electronic component and extending between the top side of the substrate and a bottom side of the top plate of the lid (i.e. see at least Figure 9e; paragraph 0071).
In re claim 2, Zheng et al discloses wherein: the covering material comprises: a thermal interface material (i.e. 40) between the first electronic component and the top plate; and infilling material (i.e. 70) surrounding thermal interface material (i.e. see at least Figure 9e; paragraph 0071).
In re claim 3, Zheng et al discloses wherein the covering material comprises a liquid thermal interface material (i.e. see at least paragraph 0079).
In re claim 8, Zheng et al discloses an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (i.e. 10) comprising a dielectric structure and a conductive structure (i.e. it is inherent and well known in the art that the substrate would have a dielectric structure and a conductive structure for use in a packaged chip in order for the chip to function; in addition, at least Figures 2 and 9f shows solder balls on the backside of the substrate, making at least conductive structure a necessity in the substrate); a first electronic component (i.e. 20) over a top side of the substrate and coupled with the conductive structure (i.e. see at least Figure 1: through solder ball 50); a lid (i.e. 301) over the first electronic component and coupled with a top side of the substrate (i.e. see at least Figure 1: through 302, 303), wherein the lid comprises a top plate having a plurality of holes (i.e. 3011); and a covering material (i.e. 40) covering a lateral side of the first electronic component (i.e. see at least Figure 9e; paragraph 0071).
In re claim 9, Zheng et al discloses wherein: the covering material (i.e. 40) is between a top side of the first electronic component and a bottom side of the top plate of the lid; and a bottom side of the first electronic component is free of the covering material (i.e. see at least Figure 1).
In re claim 10, Zheng et al discloses comprising hole plugs in the plurality of holes (i.e. see at least paragraph 0084).
In re claim 11, Zheng et al discloses wherein the covering material comprises a liquid metal (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0074, 0079).
In re claim 12, Zheng et al discloses wherein the covering material contacts a sidewall of the lid (i.e. see at least Figures 9e, 9f; paragraph 0084).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817