Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14: the phrase “calculating the friction factor uses the measured torque” is grammatically unclear. Applicant is requested to amend the claim to clarify the language, for example, by reciting “calculation of the friction factor is done using the measured torque”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea as discussed below. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons discussed below.
Step 1 of the 2019 Guidance requires the examiner to determine if the claims are to one of the statutory categories of invention. Applied to the present application, claims 1-20 are directed to methods, and a system for modifying drilling operations which fall within one of the statutory categories of invention (Claims 1-19, process) and (claim 20, machine) under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Step 2A prong 1: Claim 1 is reproduced below with the abstract idea underlined.
Claim 1: a method for modifying drilling operations, comprising: obtaining first measured drillstring data associated with a drillstring; generating first calculated drillstring data based on the first measured drillstring data; and performing a first drilling modification procedure based on the first calculated drillstring data.
Claim 1 recites steps including obtaining measured drillstring data, performing calculations and making a determination or decision based on the results. Such limitations fall within the categories of mathematical concepts and mental processes, which are recognized as abstract idea.
Claims 11 and 20 are substantially similar in scope to claim 1. Claim 20 merely presents this concept in system form, and claim 11 recites a similar method with slightly different calculated parameters (heat generation). These claims embody the same abstract idea as claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 recite limitations such as calculating specific parameters including friction factors (claims 2, 5, 9, 13-14) and heat generation (claims 5-6, 9-10, 12-13, 17-19), using measured torque as an input (claims 2, 5, 9, 14, 16), comparing calculated values to thresholds (claims 3, 6-7, 10), and making determinations based on those comparisons (claims 3, 6-7, 10, 18-19). The claims further recite repeating measurements and calculations across multiple iterations (claims 4, 8) and associating values with a plurality of borehole sections (claims 15-17). These limitations involve additional mathematical calculations and evaluative determinations, which fall within the categories of mathematical concepts and mental processes.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong 1.
In Step 2A Prong 2 examiner needs to determine if the claim(s) recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The additional elements in the claim 1 have been left in normal font. Claims 1-20 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because of the following reasons:
Claim 1 recites modifying drilling operations but does not specify the nature of the modification or require that it be implemented as a concrete physical action affecting the drilling operation. As such, the recited modification could encompass merely planning, scheduling, or recommending an action based on the calculated results. Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 11 and 20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for reasons similar to those discussed with respect to claim 1. Claim 20 includes a drillstring and an information handling system operatively connected to the drillstring and configured to perform the recited steps. However, these elements are recited at a high level of generality and merely provide a generic environment for implementing the abstract idea.
In the dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19, the only additional element beyond the abstract idea is the recited drilling modification procedure. However, for the reasons discussed with respect to Claim 1, this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: claims 1-20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements in claims 1-20, individually and in combination, amount to no more than well understood, routine, and normal activities in the field and therefore do not provide an inventive concept under step 2B. Accordingly, claims 1-20 also fail Step 2B analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16: the claim recites “a plurality of measured torques is calculated”, which is unclear from the claim language, in light of the specification, what constitutes a measured torque. This renders the scope of the claim unclear. Applicant is required to amend the claim to clarify the language, for example, by reciting “a plurality of measured torques is obtained”.
Claim 18: the phrase “stopping the drilling modification procedure based on a second heat generation based on a second friction factor” is unclear due to the repeated use of “based on”, which creates ambiguity regarding the relationship between the second heat generation and the second friction factor. Applicant is required to amend the claim to clarify the relationship, for example, by reciting “stopping the drilling modification procedure based on a second heat generation determined using a second friction factor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Parry et al. (US20130132050) hereinafter Parry.
Regarding claim 1, Parry teaches a method (computer-implemented methods for predicting downhole conditions, abstract) for modifying drilling operations (where the resulting calculations can be used to adjust the real-time drilling process, ¶ [90]), comprising: obtaining first measured drillstring data (the processor 416 reads real-time parameter values such as temperature and pressure from a well-site operating environment 412, ¶ [82]) associated with a drillstring (measurement-while-drilling (MWD) modules contain devices for measuring characteristics of the drill string 12 and drill bit 32 such as downhole temperature and pressure, ¶ [22]); generating first calculated drillstring data based on the first measured drillstring data (the system uses these inputs to calculate heat-source terms including distributed heat generation due to torque losses when the drill string is rotated and friction generated by the cutting action of the drill string, ¶ [42-43]); and performing a first drilling modification procedure based on the first calculated drillstring data (the method can include a staging strategy that can include a staging trigger and an action. Upon detection of a staging trigger (e.g., predicted temperature exceeds a limit), selected operating conditions can be suspended, ¶ [122] ) .
Regrading claim 11, Parry teaches a method (computer-implemented methods for predicting downhole conditions, abstract) for modifying drilling operations (where the resulting calculations can be used to adjust the real-time drilling process, ¶ [90]), comprising: obtaining measured drillstring data (the processor 416 reads real-time parameter values such as temperature and pressure from a well-site operating environment 412, ¶ [82]) associated with a drillstring (measurement-while-drilling (MWD) modules contain devices for measuring characteristics of the drill string 12 and drill bit 32 such as downhole temperature and pressure, ¶ [22]); calculating a heat generation using the measured drillstring data (the system uses these inputs to calculate heat-source terms including distributed heat generation due to torque losses when the drill string is rotated and friction generated by the cutting action of the drill string, ¶ [42-43]); and performing a drilling modification procedure based on the heat generation (the method can include a staging strategy that can include a staging trigger and an action. Upon detection of a staging trigger (e.g., predicted temperature exceeds a limit), selected operating conditions can be suspended, ¶ [122] ).
Regarding claim 12, Parry teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the heat generation is caused by a rotation of the drillstring in a borehole (distributed heat generation due to torque losses when the drill string is rotated ¶ [43]. Parry further teaches that the information handling system receives real-time parameter values associated with the drilling process, including drill-bit revolution-per-minute (RPM), to compute the predicated temperature distribution (heat generation) ¶ [90]).
Regarding claim 20, As discussed with respect to claim 11, Parry teaches a method for modifying drilling operations, comprising: obtaining measured drillstring data associated with the drillstring; and calculating a heat generation using the measured drillstring data, wherein, based on the heat generation, a drilling modification procedure is performed.
Parry further discloses a system including a drillstring (drillstring 106, ¶ [29]), in a drilling environment (disposed within a borehole, ¶ [29]) , operatively connected to an information handling system (the system includes a computing device 410 featuring a processor 416 and memory 418, ¶ [79-80]), wherein the information handling system is configured to (the processor 416 is configured to read well data from the operating environment, ¶ [82]) perform such methods as discussed in claim 11.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Maus et al. (US20210381361) hereinafter Maus.
Regarding claim 1, Maus teaches a method for modifying drilling operations ( a method and a system that can perform one or more actions resulting in modified drilling operation, abstract), comprising: obtaining first measured drillstring data associated with a drillstring (measuring a torque applied to the drill string and an angular position, ¶ [7]); generating first calculated drillstring data based on the first measured drillstring data ( based on the measured torque … the drilling system computes a friction between borehole and the drill string ¶ [7]. This friction coefficient constitutes calculated drillstring data); and performing a first drilling modification procedure based on the first calculated drillstring data (based on the computed friction, performing an action resulting in modified operation of the drilling system, ¶ [7]).
Regarding claim 2, Maus teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the first measured drillstring data comprises a first measured torque (measures a torque applied to the drill string, ¶ [7]), and the first calculated drillstring data comprises a first friction factor (determining a corresponding friction coefficient, ¶ [2] & ¶ [90]), wherein the first friction factor is calculated using the first measured torque (Based on the measured torque and the measured angular position, the drilling system computes a friction between the borehole and the drill string, abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Maus teaches the method of claim 2, wherein after generating the first calculated drillstring data (¶ [7]) , the method further comprises: making a first determination to perform the first drilling modification procedure (Based on the computed friction, the drilling system can perform one or more actions resulting in modified drilling operation, ¶ [12]) based on the first friction factor exceeding a friction threshold (friction exceeds a threshold … adjust one or more drilling parameters to adjust drilling operations, ¶ [117] also claim 9 ).
Regarding claim 4, Maus teaches the method of claim 3, wherein after the first drilling modification procedure is performed (the friction depth sounding is repeated pr performed at regular intervals to monitor changes in the wellbore¶ [111] and ¶ [117]. Because the system is designed to perform an action (modification) when friction is high, the subsequent repeated sounding measurements naturally occur after that modification.), the method further comprises: obtaining second measured drillstring data associated with the drillstring, including a second measured torque (steps 802 and 804 (fig 8) are repeated at a series of different times ¶ [89] & ¶ [109]. These repeated measurements provide the second measured torque.); and generating second calculated drillstring data based on the second measured drillstring data (for each instance of these repeated measurements, the system computes a corresponding plurality of friction values, ¶ [109]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maus (US 2021/0381361 A1) hereinafter Maus in view of Parry (US 2013/0132050 A1) hereinafter Parry, and Robert Lynn Williams (AU2015406995 B2) hereinafter Williams ‘995.
Regarding Claim 5, Maus teaches the method of claim 4, wherein generating the second calculated drillstring data comprises calculating: a second friction factor using the second measured torque (repeating measurements "at a series of different times" and computing a "friction between the wellbore and the drill string" based on those measured torques fig.8 and ¶ [89]);
Maus does not teach calculating a heat generation based on the second measured torque; and a hypothetical heat generation based on the first friction factor and the second friction factor.
Parry recites distributed heat generation due to torque losses when the drill string is rotated as a parameter accounted for within its partitioned calculation domain (¶ [43]). To support this calculation, Parry describes a measuring-while-drilling (MWD) module that includes a torque measuring device to measure characteristics of the drill string (¶ [22]). Parry establishes that mechanical energy losses—including those from torque, friction generated by the cutting action, and viscous dissipation—are converted to heat generated and added to the heat source terms of the mathematical model to predict downhole temperature distributions (¶ [43]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Parry’s teaching of heat generation due to torque losses into the system of Maus in order to account for thermal effects during drilling operations. Such a modification would have predictably improved the system by enabling protection of downhole components, improving borehole stability, and allowing real-time adjustment of drilling procedures based on thermal conditions.
Therefore, Maus in view of Parry further teaches calculating a heat generation based on the second measured torque;
Maus in view of Parry does not teach calculating a hypothetical heat generation based on the first friction factor and the second friction factor.
Williams ‘995 teaches the diagnostic logic of using a hypothetical or tuned baseline to trigger operational changes. Williams ‘995 teaches generating a predicted value (Abstract), measuring a real value, and using the difference (Δp) to make a determination for future operations (¶ [27]). Hypothetical heat is a theoretical value calculated by applying a prior friction factor to current conditions. This is the functional equivalent of Williams ‘995's tuned predicted value, which adjusts a prediction based on historical performance data to create a reliable baseline for making operational decisions (¶ [16 & 38-39]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to integrate the tuning logic of Williams ‘995 into the automated friction loop of Maus in view of thermal framework of Parry to evaluate the effectiveness of drilling modifications under changing downhole conditions. In particular, because drilling environments are dynamic and parameters such as depth and formation conditions affect torque and heat generation, it would have been desirable to distinguish between changes caused by environmental factors and those resulting from applied modifications.
Therefore, Maus in view of Parry and Williams ‘995 teaches calculating a hypothetical heat generation (Williams ‘995, an initial value generated by a model to forecast an environment or operation, Abstract) based on the first friction factor (Maus, initial computed friction 806, fig. 8 (Williams ‘995, original predicted value, ¶ [49])) and the second friction factor (Maus, Repeated friction value, ¶ [89-90], (Williams ‘995, current measured value ¶ [49]).
Claims 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maus (US 2021/0381361 A1) hereinafter Maus in view of Parry (US 2013/0132050 A1) hereinafter Parry, Robert Lynn Williams (AU2015406995 B2) hereinafter Williams ‘995, and Robert Lynn Williams (AU2015406996 B2) hereinafter Williams ‘996.
Regarding claim 6, Maus in view of Parry and Williams ‘995 teaches the method of claim 5, wherein after generating the second calculated drillstring data, the method further comprises: calculating a reduction in heat generation using a difference between the heat generation and the hypothetical heat generation (Williams ‘995 explicitly teaches determining a difference (Δp) by comparing a measured parameter to an associated predicted parameter, ¶ [49]) ;
While Maus in view of Parry and Williams ‘995 establishes the automated modification loop and provides the motivation to use heat generation as the safety metric (the thermal limit from Parry ¶ [1 & 122] and predetermined thresholds for triggering warnings, Parry ¶ 86]) and discloses the specific logic (William, ¶ [49] ) required to determine if a reduction in that heat is sufficient to validate the success of a drilling modification,
Maus in view of Parry and Williams ‘995 does not explicitly teaches making a second determination that the reduction in heat generation surpasses a heat reduction threshold.
Williams ‘996 discloses the diagnostic step of making a determination in response to the difference exceeding a threshold (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to Incorporate this threshold-based evaluation into the combined system to determine whether the reduction in heat generation is sufficient to meet operational or safety requirements. The combination would have predictably improved the system by enabling reliable validation of drilling modifications under dynamically changing downhole conditions, thereby improving operational control and safety.
Therefore, Maus in view of Parry, Williams ‘995 and Williams ‘996 teaches making a second determination that the reduction in heat generation surpasses a heat reduction threshold.
Regarding claim 7, As discussed with respect to claim 5 and claim 6, Maus in view of Parry, Williams ‘995 and Williams ‘996 teaches the method of claim 5, wherein after generating the second calculated drillstring data, the method further comprises: calculating a reduction in heat generation using a difference between the heat generation and the hypothetical heat generation; making a second determination that the reduction in heat generation does not surpass a heat reduction threshold (Maus in view of Parry, Williams ‘995 and Williams ‘996 teaches determination that the reduction in heat generation surpasses a heat reduction threshold. Making the logical determination that a reduction fails to hit a target is the routine binary counterpart to the threshold monitoring teaching of claim 6 ); and performing a second drilling modification procedure based on the second determination (Maus, Friction sounding is repeated at regular time or depth intervals ¶ [109] and that this repetition is used for remedial action ¶[111]. Maus also teaches the look back logic by specifying that upon computing the friction at step 806, the drilling system compares the computed friction to the threshold ¶ [117]. If the threshold is still exceeded in a subsequent cycle (the second determination), the system executes step 808 (fig. 8) again ¶ [50]).
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reasoning set forth for claim 7.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to continue the iterative process to obtain additional (third) measured drillstring data (third measured torque) and generate corresponding calculated data following a subsequent drilling modification. Such repetition represents a predictable and routine use of Maus’s disclosed high-frequency measurement and calculation loop to monitor system performance over successive iterations.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected for the same reasoning set forth for claim 8. These claims represent an iterative repetition of the diagnostic and operational logic established in the previous claims (claims 5-8).
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parry (US 2013/0132050) hereinafter Parry in view of Maus (US 2021/0381361 A1) hereinafter Maus.
Regarding claim 13, Parry teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed in rejection of claim 11 and claim 12,
Parry teaches calculating heat generation due to torque losses but does not recite calculating a friction factor as an intermediate parameter for determining heat generation.
Parry does not teach wherein calculating heat generation comprises: calculating a friction factor between the drillstring and the borehole.
Maus explicitly teaches computing a friction factor (e.g., a coefficient of static friction) between the borehole and the drillstring (¶ [2]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the friction factor calculated from measured torque as taught by Maus as an input to the thermal modeling of Parry in order to more accurately determine heat generation, thereby enhancing system reliability and safety in drilling operations.
Therefore, Parry in view of Maus teaches wherein calculating heat generation comprises: calculating a friction factor between the drillstring and the borehole (Maus, ¶ [2]).
Regarding claim 14, Parry in view of Maus teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed in rejection of claim 13,
Parry teaches calculating heat generation due to torque losses to evaluate downhole condition ¶ [43] but does not explicitly disclose calculating a friction factor using measured torque applied to the drillstring.
Parry does not teach wherein: the measured drillstring data comprises a measured torque applied to the drillstring, and calculating the friction factor using the measured torque.
Maus teaches that top drive torque T(t) (a torque applied to drillstring) is measured and used as an input parameter for the model to compute the friction coefficient ¶ [87 & 91].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use measured top drive torque, as taught by Maus, as an input for calculating a friction factor within the thermal framework modeling of Parry, because this allows the system to calculate the friction factor dynamically rather than relying on theoretical constants and this improves the accuracy of real-time heat generation predictions.
Therefore, Parry in view of Maus teaches wherein: the measured drillstring data comprises a measured torque applied to the drillstring (Parry, ¶ 87& 91]), and calculating the friction factor using the measured torque.
Regarding claim 15, Parry in view of Maus teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed in rejection of claim 13, wherein the borehole comprises a plurality of borehole sections (Parry, partitioning the calculation domain into axial sub-domain and mesh cells representing different segments (sections) of the borehole ¶ [36]).
It should be noted that while Parry provides the mathematical framework for partitioning the borehole, Maus provides the mechanical basis for identifying these sections. Maus describes different trajectory-based segments of the borehole, including vertical, build-up, and horizontal sections (Maus, ¶ [59]), and further teaches analyzing drilling parameters over discrete intervals, such as stand-by-stand portions of the wellbore and at regular depth intervals to generate friction profiles (Maus, ¶ [86]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to represent the borehole as a plurality of sections, as taught by Parry and Maus, in order to enable localized analysis of mechanical and thermal parameters along the wellbore. Aligning discrete measurement intervals (as in Maus) with modeled segments (as in Parry) represents a routine and predictable approach to improving the resolution and accuracy of drilling condition monitoring.
Regarding claim 16, Parry in view of Maus teaches the method of claim 15 as discussed in rejection of claim 15,
Parry teaches partitioning of the borehole into multiple sections for analysis.
Parry does not teach wherein a plurality of measured torques is obtained for each of the plurality of borehole sections, respectively.
Maus teaches obtaining torque measurements at multiple intervals along the borehole, including repeating measurements at regular time or depth intervals (e.g., stand-by-stand), thereby generating a plurality of torque values corresponding to different portions of the wellbore (¶ [11]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to associate the plurality of torque measurements obtained at different intervals, as taught by Maus, with the plurality of borehole sections, as taught by Parry, such that torque values are determined for each section of the borehole in order to enable section-specific evaluation of drilling condition. Such alignment ensures that mechanical inputs (torque) correspond directly to the spatial regions used for thermal and operational analysis, thereby improving the accuracy of the combined system.
Therefore, Parry in view of Maus teaches wherein a plurality of measured torques is obtained for each of the plurality of borehole sections, respectively.
Regarding claim 17, Parry in view of Maus teaches the method of claim 16 as discussed in rejection of claim 16,
Parry teaches that heat is generated by torque losses when the drill string is rotated (¶ [43]) and it incorporates these losses into mathematical model via local heat source terms within the mesh cells (¶ [97]). It further teaches defining modeling equations to predict temperature distributions for each of the sub-domains (¶ [118]).
Parry does not teach calculating the heat generation based on the measured torques.
Parry does not teach wherein a plurality of heat generations is calculated for each of the plurality of borehole sections based on the plurality of measured torques, respectively.
Maus teaches measuring a plurality of torque values at a high rate and repeating this at regular time or depth intervals such as at each stand (¶ [89]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the sectional torque data from Maus to the corresponding mesh cells in Parry to calculate heat generation for each section respectively to identify exactly which borehole section is producing excessive heat, enabling more precise and localized intervention.
Therefore, Parry in view of Maus teaches wherein a plurality of heat generations is calculated for each of the plurality of borehole sections based on the plurality of measured torques, respectively.
Regarding claim 18, Parry in view of Maus teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed in rejection of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: stopping the drilling modification procedure (Parry, A staging strategy used to manage drilling operations. The staging strategy includes a staging trigger and an action such that upon detection of a staging trigger, selected operating conditions can be suspended ¶ [122])
Parry teaches triggering an action if for example a tool temperature exceeds a certain value and it suspend the operation until a predicted temperature of a predicted temperature distribution has decreased to a certain value (¶ [122]). Parry also accounts for heat generation due to torque losses when the drill string is rotated as well as heat generation due to friction generated by the cutting action of the drill string (¶ [43]). Parry further discloses a stagging strategy that includes conditions for determining repetition of operations (¶ [122]).
However, Parry does not explicitly recite that the accounted heat generation is based on a friction factor. Parry does not teach based on a second heat generation based on a second friction factor.
Maus teaches that the system computes a friction (coefficient of static friction) (¶ [2]) and it further teaches that these measurements and computations are repeated during drilling… to determine multiple friction values (Abstract); obtaining a subsequent or second friction factor is the literal outcome of this repeated loop. Maus specifies that the system compares the computed friction to the threshold to determine if actions should be performed (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to calculate a subsequent (second) heat generation based on a subsequent (second) friction factor in order to accurately evaluate whether drilling modifications should be continued or stopped in a dynamic drilling environment. Parry teaches that heat generation due to torque losses is a critical safety metric used to trigger operational actions, including suspending drilling conditions when temperature limits are reached. However, because drilling conditions continuously change, a single calculation of heat generation would not reliably reflect the current state of the system. Using updated friction factors, as taught by Maus, to recalculate heat generation within Parry’s thermal framework, ensures that the system’s staging triggers are based on current and accurate conditions to maintain reliable thermal safety monitoring and to determine whether a drilling modification procedure should be stopped or continued.
Therefore, Parry in view of Maus teaches based on a second heat generation based on a second friction factor.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parry (US 2013/0132050) hereinafter Parry in view of Maus (A1US 2021/0381361 A1) hereinafter Maus, and, Williams (AU2015406995 B2) hereinafter Williams ‘995.
Regarding claim 19, As discussed with respect to Claim 18, Parry teaches stopping (suspending) drilling operations based on a staging trigger, and Maus teaches repeatedly determining friction factors based on measured torque.
However, Parry and Maus do not explicitly teach evaluating the stopping condition based on a hypothetical heat generation.
Williams ‘995 teaches determining a difference between a predicted parameter and a measured parameter to evaluate system performance and validate operational decisions.
Williams ‘995 teaches the diagnostic logic of using a hypothetical or tuned baseline to trigger operational changes. Williams ‘995 teaches generating a predicted value (Abstract), measuring a real value, and using the difference (Δp) to make a determination for future operations (¶ [27]). Hypothetical heat is a theoretical value calculated by applying a prior friction factor to current conditions. This is the functional equivalent of Williams ‘995's tuned predicted value, which adjusts a prediction based on historical performance data to create a reliable baseline for making operational decisions (¶ [16 & 38-39]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply Williams ‘995’s comparison logic to the thermal framework of Parry, such that a hypothetical heat generation (representing an expected or baseline condition) is compared with an actual heat generation derived from updated friction factors, in order to more accurately determine whether the drilling modification procedure should be stopped. Such an approach represents a predictable use of known analytical techniques to improve decision-making accuracy in dynamic drilling operations.
Therefore, Parry in view of Maus and Williams ‘995 teaches the method of claim 18, wherein stopping the drilling modification procedure is further based on a hypothetical heat generation based on the friction factor.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marx et al. (US 2014/0116776 A1) provides a real-time modeling architecture that uses friction coefficients and mechanical sensor data to automate drilling adjustments and ensure downhole safety.
Conclusion
/SAEEDE NAFOOSHE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857