Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/02/2026 was entered. Claims 1-20 were previously pending in this application. By the instant amendment, applicant canceled claim 16 without prejudice or disclaimer. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17, and 19-20 were amended. New claim 21 was added. As a result, claims 1-15 and 17- 21 are pending for examination with claims 1, 8, and 14 being independent. No new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 17- 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument
Applicant also argues Sugiyama fails to disclose the emphasized amended language because Sugiyama determines light-incident position from charge/current associated with resistive-wire distance, not from different amounts of excitation light received at respective first and second pixels and as such Sugiyama would not be modified to result in what is claimed.
The examiner disagrees.
Sugiyama does not tie current to received light amount and Sugiyama expressly teaches first and second photosensitive portions output electric currents corresponding to incident-light intensity and the first and second integrating circuits convert those currents so that luminous profiles int eh first and second direction are obtained [0024] –[00326,[0133]-[0139]. Sugiyama further states that electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained form the end of the resistance wire and a light-incident position is obtained based on electric current output from the wire ends [0175]. Sugiyama broadly does teach the correlation of current to received light amount.
The combination below adds on new references to cover the amendment, see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-14 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama et al. (US Pub. No. 2004/0195490 A1) in view of Hassibi et al. (US Pub. No.2020/0292457 A1)
With regards to claim 1, Sugiyama discloses a method (para [0001]- a photodetector which detects two-dimensional positions where light is incident, an imaging device using the photodetector, and a range image capture device using the imaging device) comprising: determining an illumination position on an integrated photodetector (1) based, at least in part, on a measurement of an amount of current output from a pixel (11) of the integrated photodetector (1) (FIG. 1, para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown.
Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire.), wherein the amount of current corresponds to an amount of excitation light received at the pixel (11) (para [0127]- the electric currents outputted from the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side are transmitted in the second direction. In this way, the electric currents outputted from the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side are transmitted in the first direction, and the electric currents outputted from the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side are transmitted in the second direction.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire.).
Sugiyama fails to expressly disclose a first measurement of a first amount of current output from a first pixel of the integrated photodetector and further based on a second measurement of a second amount of current output from a second pixel of the integrated photodetector, wherein: the first amount of current corresponds to a first amount of excitation light received at the first pixel, the second amount of current corresponds to a second amount of excitation light received at the second pixel, the first amount of current is different from the second amount of current, and the first amount of excitation light is different from the second amount of excitation light.
Hassibi teaches a sensor array with individually addressable first and second locations, each with its own sensor/electronic shutter in addition to sensor integration of chare and chip-level sensor architecture [0019] [0022] [0112] [0133].
In view of the utility, to improve the sensitivity, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sugiyama to include the teachings such as that taught by Hassibi.
With regards to claim 3, Sugiyama discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the illumination position on the integrated photodetector is determined for illuminating the integrated photodetector with excitation light substantially in a first direction (FIG. 1, para [0094]- The photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn respectively output electric currents in accordance with intensities of light that is incident to each of the photosensitive portions.
Accordingly, in the photosensitive region 10, the photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn are arrayed to be two dimensionally mixed within the same plane; para [0095]- Across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 111N, 1121 to 112N, ..., and 11M1 to 11MN that are arrayed in a first direction in the two-dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side (for example, photosensitive portions on one side 1211 to 121N) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other); and the illumination position on the integrated photodetector is determined from among a plurality of illumination positions on the integrated photodetector that are offset from one another in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 1, para [0094]- The photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn respectively output electric currents in accordance with intensities of light that is incident to each of the photosensitive portions. Accordingly, in the photosensitive region 10, the photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn are arrayed to be two-dimensionally mixed within the same plane.; para [0095]- across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 11M1, 1112 to 11M2, ..., and 111N to 11MN that are arrayed in a second direction in the two dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side (e.g., photosensitive portions on the other side 1311 to 13M1) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other).
With regards to claim 4, Sugiyama discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses wherein: the pixel is a first pixel and the measurement is a first measurement (FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para (0175]- a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire); determining the illumination position is further based on a difference between the first measurement and a second measurement of an amount of current output from a second pixel of the integrated photodetector, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the second pixel (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094)- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane; para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel; para [0175}- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire.).
With regards to claim 5, SUGIYAMA discloses the method of claim 4, and further discloses wherein: the first amount of current is generated in the first pixel in response to the excitation light received at the first pixel from a first portion of an optical component of the integrated photodetector (FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0170}- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301. When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301); the second amount of current is generated in the second pixel in response to the excitation light received at the second pixel from a second portion of the optical component (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane.; para [0127]- fast detection of two- dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel; para [0175}- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown.
Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire); the first portion and the second portion of the optical component receive the excitation light substantially in the first direction (FIG. 1, para [0094]- The photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn respectively output electric currents in accordance with intensities of light that is incident to each of the photosensitive portions.
Accordingly, in the photosensitive region 10, the photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn are arrayed to be two-dimensionally mixed within the same plane.; para [0095]- Across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 111N, 1121 to 112N, ..., and 11M1 to 11MN that are arrayed in a first direction in the two- dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side (for example, photosensitive portions on one side 1211 to 121N) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other.); and the first portion of the optical component is offset from the second portion of the optical component in the second direction (FIG. 1, para [0094]- photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn respectively output electric currents in accordance with intensities of light that is incident to each of the photosensitive portions.
Accordingly, in the photosensitive region 10, the photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn are arrayed to be two-dimensionally mixed within the same plane; para [0095]- across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 11M1, 1112 to 11M2, ..., and 111N to 11MN that are arrayed in a second direction in the two-dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side (e.g., photosensitive portions on the other side 1311 to 13M1) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other; para [0170]- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301. When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301).
With regards to claim 6, Sugiyama discloses the method of claim 5, and further discloses wherein: the first measurement corresponds to an amount of current output from a first plurality of pixels that comprises the first pixel, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the first plurality of pixels, and the first amount of current being generated in the first plurality of pixels in response to the excitation light received at the first plurality of pixels from the first portion of the optical component (FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0170]- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301. When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301); and
the second measurement corresponds to an amount of current output from a second plurality of pixels that comprises the second pixel, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the second plurality of pixels, and the second amount of current being generated in the second plurality of pixels in response to the excitation light received at the second plurality of pixels from the second portion of the optical component (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane.; para (0127]- fast detection of two- dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown.
Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire).
With regards to claim 7, Sugiyama discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the pixel comprises: a photodetection region (FIG. 1, para [0093]- As shown in FIG. 1, the photodetector 1 of this embodiment includes a photosensitive region 10); a charge storage region configured to receive first charge carriers from the photodetection region, the first charge carriers generated in response to receiving the light (para [0138]- Each of the switch SW22 and SW21 acts as switches for accumulating the electric charges in the integrating capacitor C22. When the switch SW22 is closed, each of the first CDS circuits 120 discharges electricity and resets the integrating capacitor C22, When the switch SW22 is opened and the switch SW21 is closed, each of the first CDS circuits 120 accumulates the electric charges inputted from the input terminal via the coupling capacitor C21, in the integrating capacitor C22. Then, voltages corresponding to the accumulated electric charges are outputted from the output terminal. The switch SW21 is opened or closed based on a CSW211 signal outputted from a control circuit. The switch SW22 is opened or closed based on a Clamp1 signal outputted from the control circuit); and a drain region configured to receive second charge carriers from the photodetection region, the second charge carriers generated in response to receiving the excitation light (para [0140]- The first maximum value detecting circuit 140 detects maximum value of the voltages outputted from each of the first S/H circuits 130.
As shown in FIG. 18, the first maximum value detecting circuit 140 includes NMOS transistors T1 to TM, resistors R1 to R3, and a differential amplifier A4. Source terminals of the respective transistors Tm are grounded, and drain terminals of the respective transistors Tm are connected to a supply voltage Vdd through the register R3 and to an inverted input terminal of the differential amplifier A4 through the register R1.... In this first maximum value detecting circuit 140, the voltages outputted from the first S/H circuits 130 are inputted to the gate terminals of the transistors Tm, and electric potentials corresponding to maximum values out of the respective voltages appear at the drain terminals of the transistors Tm (See Figure 18).
Thereafter, the electric potentials in the drain terminals are amplified by the differential amplifier A4, and amplified voltage values are outputted as maximum voltage values Vmax to the first A/D converting circuit 170 from the output terminal); and the amount of current output further corresponds to a number of the second charge carriers received in the drain region of the pixel (FIG. 15, para [0137]- The first integrating circuits 110 convert electric currents from the corresponding groups of the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side into voltages, and output the voltages.; para [0147]- The second integrating circuits 210 convert electric currents from the corresponding groups of photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side into voltages, and output the voltages. The second integrating circuit 210 has the same configuration as that of the first integrating circuit 110 shown in FIG. 15), but fails to disclose a photodetection region configured to receive the excitation light and fluorescent light emitted by a sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light.
However, Hassibi, drawn to light detection systems, does disclose a photodetection region to receive the excitation light and fluorescent light emitted by a sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light (para [0070]- TGF photo-sensor array comprising a plurality of detectors in a 2D array format. The individual detectors (e.g., a “biosensing element” or “pixel”) can measure the emitted photon flux from the fluorophores (Fe) at their addressable location, in parallel, simultaneously, and independently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method, as disclosed by Sugiyama, as to receive the excitation light and fluorescent light emitted by a sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light, as disclosed by Hassibi, in order to enable the study of biochemical assays with the photodetector, as disclosed by Hassibi (see abstract).
With regards to claim 8, Sugiyama discloses a system (para [0001]- a photodetector which detects two-dimensional positions where light is incident, an imaging device using the photodetector, and a range image capture device using the imaging device) comprising a processor (20, 30) (FIG. 1, para [0093)- a first signal processing circuit 20, and a second signal processing circuit 30) configured to: determine an illumination position on an integrated photodetector (1) based, at least in part, on a measurement of an amount of current output from a pixel (11) of the integrated photodetector (1) (FIG. 1, para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown.
Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire), wherein the amount of current corresponds to an amount of excitation light received at the pixel (11) (para [0127]- electric currents outputted from the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side are transmitted in the second direction. In this way, the electric currents outputted from the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side are transmitted in the first direction, and the electric currents outputted from the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side are transmitted in the second direction; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire.
Sugiyama fails to expressly disclose a first measurement of a first amount of current output from a first pixel of the integrated photodetector and further based on a second measurement of a second amount of current output from a second pixel of the integrated photodetector, wherein: the first amount of current corresponds to a first amount of excitation light received at the first pixel, the second amount of current corresponds to a second amount of excitation light received at the second pixel, the first amount of current is different from the second amount of current, and the first amount of excitation light is different from the second amount of excitation light.
Hassibi teaches a sensor array with individually addressable first and second locations, each with its own sensor/electronic shutter in addition to sensor integration of chare and chip-level sensor architecture [0019] [0022] [0112] [0133].
In view of the utility, to improve the sensitivity, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sugiyama to include the teachings such as that taught by Hassibi.
With regards to claim 9, Sugiyama discloses the system of claim 8, and further discloses wherein: the processor is configured to determine the illumination position on the integrated photodetector for illuminating the integrated photodetector with excitation light substantially in a first direction (FIG. 1, para [(0094]- The photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn respectively output electric currents in accordance with intensities of light that is incident to each of the photosensitive portions.
Accordingly, in the photosensitive region 10, the photosensitive portion 12mn and-13mn are arrayed to be two-dimensionally mixed within the same plane.; para [0095}- Across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 111N, 1121 to 112N,..., and 11M1 to 11MN that are arrayed in a first direction in the two-dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side (for example, photosensitive portions on one side 1211 to 121N) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other.), and the processor is configured to determine the illumination position on the integrated photodetector from among a plurality of illumination positions on the integrated photodetector that are offset from one another in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 1, para (0094]- The photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn respectively output electric currents in accordance with intensities of light that is incident to each of the photosensitive portions. Accordingly, in the photosensitive region 10, the photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn are arrayed to be two-dimensionally mixed within the same plane.; para [0095]- across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 11M1, 1112 to 11M2,..., and 111N to 11MN that are arrayed in a second direction in the two-dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side (e.g., photosensitive portions on the other side 1311 to 13M1) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other.).
With regards to claim 10, Sugiyama discloses the system of claim 9, and further discloses wherein: the pixel is a first pixel and the measurement is a first measurement (FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0175]- a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire); and the processor is configured to deter zone the illumination position further based on a difference between the first measurement and a second measurement of an amount of current output from a second pixel of the integrated photodetector, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the second pixel (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified, para [0175];
FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane.; para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire.).
With regards to claim 11, Sugiyama discloses the system of claim 10, and discloses further comprising: the integrated photodetector, wherein: the integrated photodetector comprises an optical component configured to receive the excitation light substantially in the first direction and the optical component comprises a first portion and a second portion that is offset from the first portion in the second direction; the first pixel is configured to generate the first amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the first pixel from the first portion of the optical component (FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0095]- across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 11M1, 1112 to 11M2, ..., and 111N to 11MN that are arrayed in a second direction in the two-dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side (e.g., photosensitive portions on the other side 1311 to 13M1) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other.; para [0170]- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301.
When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301); the second pixel is configured to generate the second amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the second pixel from the second portion of the optical component (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane.; para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire).
With regards to claim 12, Sugiyama discloses the system of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the integrated photodetector comprises: a first plurality of pixels that comprises the first pixel, the first measurement corresponding to an amount of current output from the first plurality of pixels, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the first plurality of pixels, and the _ [first plurality of pixels configured to generate the first amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the first plurality of pixels from the first portion of the optical component FIG. 1, para [(0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0170]- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301.
When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301); and a second plurality of pixels that comprises the second pixel, the second measurement corresponding to an amount of current output from the second plurality of pixels, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the second plurality of pixels, and the second plurality of pixels configured to generate the second amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the second plurality of pixels from the second portion of the optical component (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane; para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown.
Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire).
With regards to claim 13, Sugiyama discloses the system of claim 8, and discloses further comprising: the integrated circuit, wherein: the pixel comprises: a photodetection region (FIG. 1, para [0093]- As shown in FIG. 1, the photodetector 1 of this embodiment includes a photosensitive region 10); a charge storage region configured to receive first charge carriers from the photodetection region, the first charge carriers generated in response to receiving the light (para [0138]- Each of the switch SW22 and SW21 acts as switches for accumulating the electric charges in the integrating capacitor C22. When the switch SW22 is closed, each of the first CDS circuits 120 discharges electricity and resets the integrating capacitor C22. When the switch SW22 is opened and the switch SW21 is closed, each of the first CDS circuits 120 accumulates the electric charges inputted from the input terminal via the coupling capacitor C21, in the integrating capacitor C22.
Notice that the voltages corresponding to the accumulated electric charges are outputted from the output terminal. The switch SW21 is opened or closed based on a CSW211 signal outputted from a control circuit. The switch SW22 is opened or closed based on a Clamp1 signal outputted from the control circuit); and a drain region configured to receive second charge carriers from the photodetection region, the second charge carriers generated in response to receiving the excitation light (para [0140]- The first maximum value detecting circuit 140 detects maximum value of the voltages outputted from each of the first S/H circuits 130.
As shown in FIG. 18, the first maximum value detecting circuit 140 includes NMOS transistors T1 to TM, resistors R1 to R3, and a differential amplifier A4. Source terminals of the respective transistors Tm are grounded, and drain terminals of the respective transistors Tm are connected to a supply voltage Vdd through the register R3 and to an inverted input terminal of the differential amplifier Asub.4 through the register R1.... In this first maximum value detecting circuit 140, the voltages outputted from the first S/H circuits 130 are inputted to the gate terminals of the transistors Tm, and electric potentials corresponding to maximum values out of the respective voltages appear at the drain terminals of the transistors Tm. Thereafter, the electric potentials in the drain terminals are amplified by the differential amplifier A4, and amplified voltage values are outputted as maximum voltage values Vmax to the first A/D converting circuit 170 from the output terminal.); and the amount of current output further corresponds to a number of the second charge carriers received in the drain region of the pixel (FIG. 15, para [0137]- The first integrating circuits 110 convert electric currents from the corresponding groups of the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side into voltages, and output the voltages.; para [0147]- The second integrating circuits 210 convert electric currents from the corresponding groups of photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side into voltages, and output the voltages.
The second integrating circuit 210 has the same configuration as that of the first integrating circuit 110 shown in FIG, 15), Sugiyama fails to disclose a photodetection region configured to receive the excitation light and fluorescent light emitted by a sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light.
However, HASSIBI, drawn to light detection systems, does disclose a photodetection region to receive the excitation light and fluorescent light emitted by a sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light (para [0070]- TGF photo-sensor array comprising a plurality of detectors in a 2D array format. The individual detectors (e.g., a “biosensing element’ or pixel”) can measure the emitted photon flux from the fluorophores (Fe) at their addressable location, in parallel, simultaneously, and independently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method, as disclosed by Sugiyama, as to receive the excitation light and fluorescent light emitted by a sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light, as disclosed by Hassibi, in order to enable the study of biochemical assays with the photodetector, as disclosed by Hassibi (see abstract).
With regards to claim 14, Sugiyama discloses an integrated photodetector (para [0001]- The present invention relates to a photodetector which detects two-dimensional positions where light is incident, an imaging device using the photodetector, and a range image capture device using the imaging device) comprising: a pixel (11) configured to receive excitation light (FIG. 1, para [0094]- In the photosensitive region 10, pixels 11mn are two-dimensionally arrayed in M rows and N columns), wherein the integrated photodetector (1) is configured to provide a measurement of an amount of current output from the pixel (11), and the amount of current output corresponds to an amount of the excitation light received at the pixel (11) (FIG. 1, para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown.
Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire).
Sugiyama fails to expressly disclose a first measurement of a first amount of current output from a first pixel of the integrated photodetector and further based on a second measurement of a second amount of current output from a second pixel of the integrated photodetector, wherein: the first amount of current corresponds to a first amount of excitation light received at the first pixel, the second amount of current corresponds to a second amount of excitation light received at the second pixel, the first amount of current is different from the second amount of current, and the first amount of excitation light is different from the second amount of excitation light.
Hassibi teaches a sensor array with individually addressable first and second locations, each with its own sensor/electronic shutter in addition to sensor integration of chare and chip-level sensor architecture [0019] [0022] [0112] [0133].
In view of the utility, to improve the sensitivity, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sugiyama to include the teachings such as that taught by Hassibi.
With regards to claim 17, Sugiyama discloses the integrated photodetector of claim 16, and discloses further comprising: an optical component configured to receive the excitation light along a first direction and having a first portion and a second portion that is offset from the first portion in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 1, para [0094]).
Notice that the photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn respectively output electric currents in accordance with intensities of light that is incident to each of the photosensitive portions. Accordingly, in the photosensitive region 10, the photosensitive portion 12mn and 13mn are arrayed to be two-dimensionally mixed within the same plane.; para [0095]- across the plurality of pixels 1111 to 11M1, 1112 to 11M2, ..., and 111N to 11MN that are arrayed in a second direction in the two-dimensional array, the photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side (e.g., photosensitive portions on the other side 1311 to 13M1) among the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are electrically connected to each other; para [0170]- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301. When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301), wherein: the first pixel is configured to generate the first amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the first pixel from the first portion of the optical component (FIG. 1, para [0094]).
Notice that one of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0170]- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301. When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301); and the second pixel is configured to generate the second amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the second pixel from the second portion of the optical component (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane; para [0127]- fast detection of two dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire).
With regards to claim 18, Sugiyama discloses the integrated photodetector of claim 17, and discloses further comprising: a first plurality of pixels that comprises the first pixel, the first measurement corresponding to an amount of current output from the first plurality of pixels, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the first plurality of pixels, and the first plurality of pixels configured to generate the first amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the first plurality of pixels from the first portion of the optical component (FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0170]- A pair of optical lenses 405 is arranged in the front of two imaging devices 301.
When the object 403 is placed on a reference plane 407, optical axes 1 intersect at the center of the reference plane 407 so that the image of the object 403 is reflected at the same position in each of the imaging regions 301a of the imaging devices 301); and a second plurality of pixels that comprises the second pixel, the second measurement corresponding to an amount of current output from the second plurality of pixels, the amount of current corresponding to an amount of the excitation light received at the second plurality of pixels, and the second plurality of pixels configured to generate the second amount of current in response to the excitation light received at the second plurality of pixels from the second portion of the optical component (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094]- One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane.; para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire).
With regards to claim 19, Sugiyama discloses the integrated photodetector of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the pixel comprises a reaction chamber configured to support the sample and a photodetection region positioned to receive fluorescent light emitted by the sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light.
However, Hassibi, drawn to light detection systems, does disclose wherein the pixel comprises a reaction chamber configured to support the sample and a photodetection region positioned to receive fluorescent light emitted by the sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light (para [0070]- TGF photo-sensor array comprising a plurality of detectors in a 2D array format. The individual detectors (e.g., a “biosensing element” or “pixel") can measure the emitted photon flux from the fluorophores (Fe) at their addressable location, in parallel, simultaneously, and independently.; para [0072]- Each pixel can comprise a plurality of identical or different probes molecules that can specifically bind to or interact with a specific target/analyte or reagents in the reaction chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the photodetector, as disclosed by Sugiyama , as to include wherein the pixel comprises a reaction chamber configured to support the sample and a photodetection region positioned to receive fluorescent light emitted by the sample in response to the sample being excited by the excitation light, as disclosed by Hassibi, in order to enable the study of biochemical assays with the photodetector, as disclosed by Hassibi (see abstract).
With regards to claim 20, Sugiyama discloses the integrated photodetector of claim 19, and further discloses wherein the pixel further comprises: a charge storage region configured to receive first charge carriers from the photodetection region, the photodetection region being configured to generate the first charge carriers in response to receiving the fluorescent light (para [0138]- Each of the switch SW22 and SW21 acts as switches for accumulating the electric charges in the integrating capacitor C22. When the switch SW22 is closed, each of the first CDS circuits 120 discharges electricity and resets the integrating capacitor C22.
When the switch SW22 is opened and the switch SW21 is closed, each of the first CDS circuits 120 accumulates the electric charges inputted from the input terminal via the coupling capacitor C21, in the integrating capacitor C22. Then, voltages corresponding to the accumulated electric charges are outputted from the output terminal. The switch SW21 is opened or closed based on a CSW211 signal outputted from a control circuit. The switch SW22 is opened or closed based on a Clamp1 signal outputted from the control circuit); and a drain region configured to receive second charge carriers from the photodetection region, the photodetection region being configured to generate the second charge carriers in response to receiving the excitation light (para [0140]- The first maximum value detecting circuit 140 detects maximum value of the voltages outputted from each of the first S/H circuits 130. As shown in FIG. 18, the first maximum value detecting circuit 140 includes NMOS transistors T1 to TM, resistors R1 to R3, and a differential amplifier A4.
Notice the source terminals of the respective transistors Tm are grounded, and drain terminals of the respective transistors Tm are connected to a supply voltage Vdd through the register R3 and to an inverted input terminal of the differential amplifier A4 through the register R1.... In this first maximum value detecting circuit 140, the voltages outputted from the first S/H circuits 130 are inputted to the gate terminals of the transistors Tm, and electric potentials corresponding to maximum values out of the respective voltages appear at the drain terminals of the transistors Tm.
Thereafter, the electric potentials in the drain terminals are amplified by the differential amplifier Assub.4, and amplified voltage values are outputted as maximum voltage values Vmax to the first A/D converting circuit 170 from the output terminal), and wherein the amount of current output further corresponds to a number of the second charge carriers received in the drain region (FIG. 15, para [0137]- The first integrating circuits 110 convert electric currents from the corresponding groups of the photosensitive portions 12mn on one side into voltages, and output the voltages.; para [0147]- The second integrating circuits 210 convert electric currents from the corresponding groups of photosensitive portions 13mn on the other side into voltages, and output the voltages. The second integrating circuit 210 has the same configuration as that of the first integrating circuit 110 shown in FIG. 15.).
With regards to claim 21, Sugiyama discloses the integrated photodetector of claim 19, and further teaches illumination /light-incident position from current-derived first/second direction luminous profiles and current outputs [0024]-[0026];[0175]-[0176] but fails to expressly disclose wherein a difference between the first measurement and the second measurement is indicative of an illumination position of the integrated photodetector.
Hassibi teaches a sensor array with individually addressable first and second locations, each with its own sensor/electronic shutter in addition to sensor integration of chare and chip-level sensor architecture [0019] [0022] [0112] [0133].
In view of the utility, to improve the sensitivity, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sugiyama to include the teachings such as that taught by Hassibi.
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama et al. (US Pub. No. 2004/0195490 A1) and Hassibi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0292457 A1) in view of Hynecek (US 2005/0051808 A1).
With regards to claim 2, Sugiyama modified discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the measurement is obtained, at least in part, by applying, via a bias path, a bias voltage to a drain region of the pixel to draw the current output from a photodetection region of the pixel.
However, Hynecek, drawn to pixels and image sensor arrays, does disclose wherein the measurement is obtained, at least in part, by applying, via a bias path, a bias voltage to a drain region of the pixel to draw the current output from a photodetection region of the pixel (FIG. 5), para [0019]-[0021]. Depending on the level of signal received from the selected row of pixels, the logic circuits determine if the particular pixel in the selected row needs to be reset or not. The resulting reset signal is then applied to the corresponding column via wiring 413, and some of the pixels are reset (FIG. 5), para [0019]-[0021].
Notice that a conventional wiring with all pixels reset simultaneously by rows is also possible for the DGBCMD pixels. In this case the straps 410 are connecting gates 404 in horizontal direction and corresponding reset circuits are incorporated into vertical scanner 416. Horizontal circuit block 420 also includes circuits for biasing of vertical column lines 409 that provide bias - source regions 402 of each pixel. This block can also contain more complex circuits such as A/D converters or CDS circuits for elimination of transistor threshold non-uniformities as is well known to all those skilled in the art. The necessary logic and clocking pulses are applied to circuit block 420 via bus 421, and the output is available for further processing, or applying to the chip output terminals through bus 422. The detail of one simple example of biasing and sensing circuits used in block 420 is shown in FIG. 5 [0019]-[0021].
One important feature to note in drawing 400, however, is the location of n+ drain regions 406 and p+ drain regions 405. The drains are evenly dispersed around the outside periphery of each pixel gate 404. All n+ drain regions 406 are bussed together by metal wiring 407 that makes contact with the drains through contact holes 408. The bias voltage to each n+ drain is supplied from Vdd terminal 417. The p+ drain regions are biased vertically through the connection to chip substrate) (FIG. 5), para [0019]-[0021].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method, as disclosed by Sugiyama, as to include wherein the measurement is obtained, at least in part, by applying, via a bias path, a bias voltage to a drain region of the pixel to draw the current output from a photodetection region of the pixel, as disclosed by Hynecek, to improve the performance and size of the device, as disclosed by Hynecek (see Hynecek para [0004]-[0005)).
With regards to claim 15, Sugiyama modified discloses the integrated photodetector of claim 14, and further discloses wherein: the pixel comprises a photodetection region (para [0127}- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel), but fails to disclose the integrated photodetector is configured to obtain the measurement, at least in part, by applying, via a bias path, a bias voltage to a drain region of the pixel to draw the current output from the photodetection region.
However, Hynecek, drawn to pixels and image sensor arrays, does disclose the integrated photodetector is configured to obtain the measurement, at least in part, by applying, via a bias path, a bias voltage to a drain region of the pixel to draw the current output from the photodetection region (FIG. 5, para [0019]- Depending on the level of signal received from the selected row of pixels, the logic circuits determine if the particular pixel in the selected row needs to be reset or not. The resulting reset signal is then applied to the corresponding column via wiring 413, and some of the pixels are reset (FIG. 5), para [0019]-[0021].
Notice that a conventional wiring with all pixels reset simultaneously by rows is also possible for the DGBCMD pixels. In this case the straps 410 are connecting gates 404 in horizontal direction and corresponding reset circuits are incorporated into vertical scanner 416. Horizontal circuit block 420 also includes circuits for biasing of vertical column lines 409 that provide bias for the source regions 402 of each pixel. This block can also contain more complex circuits such as A/D converters or CDS circuits for elimination of transistor threshold non-uniformities as is well known to all those skilled in the art. The necessary logic and clocking pulses are applied to circuit block 420 via bus 421, and the output is available for further processing, or applying to the chip output terminals through bus 422. The detail of one simple example of biasing and sensing circuits used in block 420 is shown in FIG. 5 [0019]-[0021].
One important feature to note in drawing 400, however, is the location of n+ drain regions 406 and p+ drain regions 405. The drains are evenly dispersed around the outside periphery of each pixel gate 404. All n+ drain regions 406 are bussed together by metal wiring 407 that makes contact with the drains through contact holes 408. The bias voltage to each n+ drain is supplied from Vdd terminal 417. The p+ drain regions are biased vertically through the connection to chip substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the photodetector, as disclosed by Sugiyama, as to include the integrated photodetector is configured to obtain the measurement, at least in part, by applying, via a bias path, a bias voltage to a drain region of the pixel to draw the current output from the photodetection region, as disclosed by Hynecek, to improve the performance and size of the device, as disclosed by Hynecek, see Hynecek para [0004]-[0005];[019]-[0021].
With regards to claim 16, Sugiyama discloses the integrated photodetector of claim 14, and discloses further comprising: a second pixel, wherein the pixel is a first pixel and the measurement is a first measurement (FIG. 1, para [(0094}- One of the pixels is configured by disposing a photosensitive portion 12mn (first photosensitive portion); para [0175]- a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire), wherein the integrated photodetector is configured to provide a second measurement of an amount of current output from the second pixel, and the amount of current output corresponds to an amount of the excitation light received at the second pixel (note: the plurality of pixels will have a second pixel which can be identified; FIG. 1, para [0094] - One of the pixels is configured by disposing... a photosensitive portion 13mn (second photosensitive portion) adjacent to each other within the same plane.; para [0127]- fast detection of two-dimensional positions of the incident light becomes viable with an extremely simple structure in which the plurality of photosensitive portions 12mn and 13mn are arrayed in one pixel.; para [0175]- electric charges generated owing to incident light are obtained from an end of the resistance wire after resistive division of the electric charges is carried out so that the electric charges are inversely proportional to a distance between the end of each resistance wire and the position in the resistance wire into which the electric charges have been flown. Subsequently, a light incident position is obtained based on an electric current output from the end of each resistance wire).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Information With regards to the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DJURA MALEVIC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884