DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diancin et al. (U.S. 2017/0310590), hereinafter Diancin, in view of Gao et al. (U.S. 2020/0389369), hereinafter Gao.
With respect to Claim 1, Diancin teaches a method comprising:
generating, by a processor (¶ 0028, “Tool 400 generally includes processor 402 that, in one embodiment, may comprise a microprocessor.”)
a graphical user interface (GUI) of a network design application having a drag and drop canvas (¶ 0022, “The graphical user interface allows a user to place each wireless field device and wireless gateway on a graphical representation of the process installation and automatically analyze the wireless process mesh network(s) in order to generate network configurations that improve an overall compliance of the various wireless process mesh networks with user-provided design constraints.”)
the network design application including template objects representing computer infrastructure components (¶ 0022, “The graphical user interface allows a user to place each wireless field device and wireless gateway on a graphical representation of the process installation and automatically analyze the wireless process mesh network(s) in order to generate network configurations that improve an overall compliance of the various wireless process mesh networks with user-provided design constraints.”)
each template object comprising a configuration for a corresponding computer infrastructure component and being individually positionable on the drag and drop canvas (¶ 0022, “The graphical user interface allows a user to place each wireless field device and wireless gateway on a graphical representation of the process installation and automatically analyze the wireless process mesh network(s) in order to generate network configurations that improve an overall compliance of the various wireless process mesh networks with user-provided design constraints.”);
receiving, by the processor and via the GUI, input from a user for spatially positioning the template objects on the drag and drop canvas in a particular arrangement to form a computer network architecture (¶ 0022, “The graphical user interface allows a user to place each wireless field device and wireless gateway on a graphical representation of the process installation and automatically analyze the wireless process mesh network(s) in order to generate network configurations that improve an overall compliance of the various wireless process mesh networks with user-provided design constraints.”);
Diancin fails to explicitly teach subsequent to receiving the input from the user: outputting, by the processor and in the GUI, a default parameter value for a template object forming the computer network architecture; receiving, by the processor and via the GUI, an adjusted parameter value from the user for the template object in the computer network architecture, the adjusted parameter value being different from the default parameter value for the template object; and based on receiving the adjusted parameter value: modifying, by the processor, a parameter value for the template object from the default parameter value to the adjusted parameter value; and updating, by the processor, the GUI to indicate the adjusted parameter value for the template object.
Gao teaches subsequent to receiving the input from the user:
outputting, by the processor and in the GUI, a default parameter value for a template object forming the computer network architecture (¶ 0132, “The built-in templates 1002 may be default templates”) and ¶ 0008, “a data view template editor for creating a data view template based on qualifications or variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces, and a data view template manager for displaying the qualifications or the variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces.”)
receiving, by the processor and via the GUI, an adjusted parameter value from the user for the template object in the computer network architecture, the adjusted parameter value being different from the default parameter value for the template object (¶ 0008, “a data view template editor for creating a data view template based on qualifications or variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces, and a data view template manager for displaying the qualifications or the variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces.”)
and based on receiving the adjusted parameter value (¶ 0008, “a data view template editor for creating a data view template based on qualifications or variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces, and a data view template manager for displaying the qualifications or the variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces.”)
modifying, by the processor, a parameter value for the template object from the default parameter value to the adjusted parameter value (¶ 0008, “a data view template editor for creating a data view template based on qualifications or variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces, and a data view template manager for displaying the qualifications or the variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces.”); and
updating, by the processor, the GUI to indicate the adjusted parameter value for the template object (¶ 0008, “a data view template editor for creating a data view template based on qualifications or variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces, and a data view template manager for displaying the qualifications or the variables for modifying at least some of the network devices and the interfaces.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Gao in view of Diancin in order to allow the system of Diancin to better model the network by adjusting parameters from a default.
With respect to Claim 2, Diancin in view of Gao teaches the method of claim 1, Diancin fails to explicitly teach wherein the template object comprises a selectable indicator displaying the default parameter value, and wherein receiving the adjusted parameter value comprises a user interaction with the selectable indicator.
Gao teaches wherein the template object comprises a selectable indicator displaying the default parameter value, and wherein receiving the adjusted parameter value comprises a user interaction with the selectable indicator. (¶ 0156, “The user can define the variables that are displayed in the Data View for each device and/or connection (i.e. interface). Those variables may be listed adjacent that device or connection.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Gao in view of Diancin in order to allow the system of Diancin to better model the network by adjusting parameters from a default.
With respect to Claim 3, Diancin in view of Gao teaches the method of claim 1, Diancin fails to explicitly teach wherein the template object comprises a selectable drop-down menu displaying the default parameter value, and wherein receiving the adjusted parameter value comprises a user selection of the adjusted parameter value from the drop-down menu (figure 36, and ¶ 0161,” FIG. 36 is an example of how the drill-down actions are dynamic by providing conditions under which a user can control how/when drill-down actions are be displayed”) .
Gao teaches the template object comprises a selectable drop-down menu displaying the default parameter value, and wherein receiving the adjusted parameter value comprises a user selection of the adjusted parameter value from the drop-down menu (figure 36, and ¶ 0161,” FIG. 36 is an example of how the drill-down actions are dynamic by providing conditions under which a user can control how/when drill-down actions are be displayed”) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Gao in view of Diancin in order to allow the system of Diancin to better model the network by adjusting parameters from a default.
With respect to Claim 6, Diancin in view of Gao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the adjusted parameter value for the template object comprises receiving a user selection of a size of the computer infrastructure component corresponding to the template object, the size corresponding to a collection of parameter values comprising the adjusted parameter value and an additional adjusted parameter, and further comprising: based on receiving the user selection of the size of the corresponding computer infrastructure:
modifying, by the processor, an additional parameter value for the template object to the additional adjusted parameter value; and updating, by the processor, the GUI to indicate the additional adjusted parameter value for the template object.
Gao teaches the adjusted parameter value for the template object comprises receiving a user selection of a size of the computer infrastructure component corresponding to the template object, the size corresponding to a collection of parameter values comprising the adjusted parameter value and an additional adjusted parameter, and further comprising: based on receiving the user selection of the size of the corresponding computer infrastructure: (¶ 0010, “The display of the pre-defined drill-down actions is displayed as a recommended action for troubleshooting. The method includes receiving one or more input parameters for usage with the data view template application and for the pre-defined drill-down action.” Note: size is defined by the claim as multiple parameter values.)
modifying, by the processor, an additional parameter value for the template object to the additional adjusted parameter value; and updating, by the processor, the GUI to indicate the additional adjusted parameter value for the template object (¶ 0010, “The display of the pre-defined drill-down actions is displayed as a recommended action for troubleshooting. The method includes receiving one or more input parameters for usage with the data view template application and for the pre-defined drill-down action.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Gao in view of Diancin in order to allow the system of Diancin to better model the network by adjusting parameters from a default.
With respect to claims 8-10 and 13, Claims 8-10 and 13 are the computer system that corresponds to the method of Claim 1-3 and 6, and are rejected accordingly.
With respect to claims 15-17 and 20, Claims 15-17 and 20 are the computer readable storage medium that corresponds to the method of Claim 1-3 and 6, and are rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diancin et al. (U.S. 2017/0310590), hereinafter Diancin, in view of Gao et al. (U.S. 2020/0389369), hereinafter Gao, in view of Nguyen (U.S. 2010/0074141)
With respect to Claim 4, Diancin in view of Gao teaches the method of claim 1, however fails to explicitly teach further comprising receiving additional user input for creating a connection between the template object and another template object positioned on the drag and drop canvas
Nguyen teaches further comprising receiving additional user input for creating a connection between the template object and another template object positioned on the drag and drop canvas (¶ 0092 – 0097, “Step 1: Selecting an icon representing a unidirectional/asymmetric link or a bidirectional/symmetric link. Step 2: dragging the mouse cursor between two nodes. The dragging is performed by pressing and holding the left mouse button, moving the cursor from one node to the other node, and then releasing the left mouse button to complete the dragging.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Gao in view of Diancin with the invention of Nguyen in order to better allow the user to control the network and its topology.
With respect to Claim 5, Diancin in view of Gao in view of Nguyen teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising determining, by the processor and based at least in part on the connection, the default parameter value for the template object
Chow teaches further comprising determining, by the processor and based at least in part on the connection, the default parameter value for the template object (¶ 0216, “If the selected RF signal propagation model requires a set of radio parameter values to compute the maximum transmission range; e.g., the free-space-loss model, then the invention provides the user a pop-up menu to change the attributes of the target node.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Gao in view of Diancin with the invention of Nguyen in order to better allow the user to control the network and its topology.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Claims 11 and 12 are the computer system that corresponds to the method of Claims 4 and 5, and are rejected accordingly.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Claims 18 and 19 are the computer readable storage medium that corresponds to the method of Claims 4 and 5, and are rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diancin et al. (U.S. 2017/0310590), hereinafter Diancin, in view of Gao et al. (U.S. 2020/0389369), hereinafter Gao, in view of Chow (U.S. 6,771,966)
With respect to Claim 7, Diancin in view of Gao teaches the method of claim 1, Diancin in view of Gao fails to explicitly teach further comprising: generating, by the processor, a score for the computer network architecture based on the parameter values for the template objects and the particular arrangement of the template objects on the drag and drop canvas; and updating, by the processor, the GUI to indicate the score of the computer network architecture.
further comprising: generating, by the processor, a score for the computer network architecture based on the parameter values for the template objects and the particular arrangement of the template objects on the drag and drop canvas; and updating, by the processor, the GUI to indicate the score of the computer network architecture (column 12, line 35-45, “These factors may be assigned weights and a weighted score use to determine if a particular topology is acceptable, better than a previously considered topology, or less desirable and subject to elimination from further consideration. Differential pathloss due to rainfall can also be considered in this calculation.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Gao in view of Diancin with the invention of Chow in order to use a score to better create topologies.
With respect to claims 14, Claims 14 is the computer system that corresponds to the method of Claims 7, and are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/ANGELA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446