DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on October 20th, 2023
Claims 1-20 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koontz, US PG PUB# 2020/0143384 A1 (hereinafter Koontz) in view of Natarajan et al., US PG PUB# 2019/0327330 A1 (hereinafter Natarajan).
As for independent claim 1:
Koontz discloses a system for generating a graphical user interface for prompting transformative data article compression at least in part by artificial intelligence (AI), the system comprising (see smart summarizer and artificial intelligence in 0041):
a computing system of a first entity including one or more processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions, at least one of a memory device and a non-transitory storage device, and a communication interface for operatively connecting the one or more processor to a user device via a communication network (0015 and 0021, see computer system and processor);
wherein, upon execution of the computer-readable instructions, the one or more processor operates the computing system to (0015):
access a first data article (see accessing terms and conditions as taught by Koontz in 0043);
transmit the first data article via the communication network with instructions to generate a graphical user interface that displays at least a portion of the first data article and an operable compression request selector at the user device (0043 and 0044, Koontz discloses transmit data for displaying terms and conditions and a summarize function performed by the user, a GUI compression selector);
receive a selector signal indicative of user action on the operable compression request selector (0043, Koontz disclose a summarize button to transmit a summary request);
generate a second data article by, at least in part, compressing the first data article using a first AI algorithm trained by a machine-learning technique (0046-0048, Koontz discloses summarizer and artificial intelligence trained using machine learning and customer feedback to generate summary);
Koontz does not disclose send the second data article via the communication network with instructions to display at least a portion of the second data article at the user device. Natarajan discloses
send the second data article via the communication network with instructions to display at least a portion of the second data article at the user device in 0029-0030. Natarajan discloses the assistant system may send the generated responses to the assistant application and then the assistant application may then present the response to the user at the client system 130. Natarajan further discloses the system retrieve user profile and analyzing requests. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the system of Koontz to incorporate the teaching of Natarajan’s user profile system to Koontz summarization system, thus would improve relevant and quality of the summaries provided to the users (Natarajan, 0030).
As for dependent claim 2:
Koontz – Natarajan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein compressing the first data article using a first AI algorithm trained by a machine-learning technique comprises translating content of the first data article according at least in part to a stored user profile associated with the user device (see user profile, collecting conversational data, generating and maintaining of stored user profile in Natarajan in 0063).
As for dependent claim 3:
Koontz – Natarajan discloses the system of claim 2, wherein translating content comprises at least one of: translating from a first language of the first data article to a second language of the second data article; shortening the content; summarizing the content; simplifying the content for comprehension by a user of the user device (Natarajan, 0062-0064, discloses generating adaptive text responses using multiple AI modules).
As for dependent claim 4:
Koontz – Natarajan discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the content of the first data article comprises at least one of: information about an offering by the first entity; and, terms and conditions for an offering by the first entity (Koontz, 0002, 0043, see terms and conditions as shown).
As for dependent claim 5:
Koontz – Natarajan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processor further operates the computing system to conduct an interrogation session of multiple query exchanges, in succession, in each of which query exchanges the one or more processor operates the computing system to:
send an exchange unique query prompt to the user device; and receive a reply signal from the user device; and store at least a portion of the reply signal in a user profile (see user profile in Natarajan, 0062-0063).
As for dependent claim 6:
Koontz – Natarajan discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processor further operates the computing system to procure, for any second or subsequent query exchange in an interrogation session, the exchange unique query prompt based at least in part on the user profile (see user profile in Natarajan, 0062-0063, discloses generating dialog prompts that depends on stored user profile information).
As for dependent claim 7:
Koontz – Natarajan discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the one or more processor further operates the computing system to procure, for the second or subsequent query exchange, the exchange unique query prompt by generating the exchange unique query prompt using a second AI algorithm (Natarajan, 0062-0064, adapting prompts based on user profile and context, generating prompts that vary by query, using multiple AI/ML and models).
As for independent claim 8:Claim 8 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for dependent claims 9-14:Claims 9-14 contain substantial subject matter as claimed in claims 2-7 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 15:Claim 15 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for dependent claims 16-20:Claims 16-20 contain substantial subject matter as claimed in claims 2-6 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172