DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the REMARKS, “Without acquiescing to such characterization of the features disclosed by Hayashi, the disclosure of Hayashi at [0030] - [0038] or [0059], as alleged in the Office Action, lacks any teaching of the presently claimed arrangement in which pad portions are provided between adjacent semiconductor elements electrically connected to each other in parallel”. The Office respectfully disagrees. As seen in the previous Office Action, the Office relies on Figures 1-8 of Hayashi (US 2019/0295990) to teach the claimed subject matter. As seen in Hayashi’s annotated Figure 1 below, Hayashi teaches of elements being electrically connected to each other in parallel.
Annotated Fig 1 from Hayashi (US 2019/0295990 A1)
Applicant argues on page 9 of the REMARKS, “Hayashi also does not teach the further recitation in Claim 1 that "each of the plurality of first connecting members is bonded to one of the first pad portions and one of the plurality of first semiconductor elements that is adjacent to the first pad portion as viewed in the thickness direction." “. Applicant also argues on page 9 of the REMARKS, “On the other hand, the portions of the Hayashi reference cited in the Office Action pertain to a source- sense wire that is positioned between semiconductor elements of upper and lower arms of a half- bridge structure. That structure does not teach the presently claimed configuration nor does the structure disclosed by Hayashi produce the effect of the claimed configuration, i.e., to reduce inductance among parallel-connected semiconductor elements”. The Office respectfully disagrees. As seen in the previous Office Action, the Office relies on Figures 1-8 of Hayashi (US 2019/0295990) to teach the claimed subject matter. As seen in Hayashi’s Figure 6 below selectively copied below, Hayashi shows pad portions at 21 are located between element 5 and element 6. As already seen in Fig 1, elements are connected in parallel. Hayashi also shows in Fig 6, connecting member 106 is bonded to one of pad portions at 21 and element 6, and that the pad portion about 21 is between elements 5 and 6. Figures 5 – 7 show a thickness of the assembly and so figures 5 – 7 can be viewed as a thickness direction. Note that the “thickness direction” is not established with a datum of reference. Therefore, Hayashi teaches each of the plurality of first connecting members is bonded to one of the first pad portions and one of the plurality of first semiconductor elements that is adjacent to the first pad portion as viewed in the thickness direction. Note that Applicant argues “to reduce inductance among parallel-connected semiconductor elements”, however this pertains to functional aspects of the invention, not structural limitations, and also the language of “to reduce inductance among parallel-connected semiconductor elements” is not in the claim language.
Annotated Fig 6 from Hayashi (US 2019/0295990 A1)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 9 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 6 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi (US 2019/0295990 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hayashi (US 2019/0295990 A1) discloses a semiconductor device (Fig 1-8) comprising: a plurality of first semiconductor elements (5,6) that each have a first electrode (10,16), a second electrode (10,16), and a third electrode (12,18), a switching operation ([0031,0033]) of each of the plurality of first semiconductor elements (5,6) being controlled according to a first drive signal inputted to the third electrode (12,18); a plurality of first connecting members (102,105,106; [0131,0138]) respectively bonded ([0131,0138]) to the second electrodes (10,16) of the plurality of first semiconductor elements; a first detection terminal (end of 21; see callout 21 in Fig 1; [0036]) electrically connected ([0138]) to the second electrodes (10,16) of the plurality of first semiconductor elements; and a first signal wiring section (section of 21 extending in up-down direction of Fig 5; [0122]; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed section) electrically interposed between the first detection terminal (end of 21 as seen in Fig 1) and the plurality of first connecting members (106), wherein the plurality of first semiconductor elements (5,6) are aligned (see Fig 5) in a first direction (e.g. 6 is aligned in up-down direction and in the left-right direction) perpendicular to a thickness direction of each of the plurality of first semiconductor elements, and are electrically connected ([0030-0038,0059]; see Fig 5) to each other in parallel ([0030-0038,0059]), the first signal wiring section includes a plurality of first pad portions (portion or region or part of 21 where 106 interfaces 21; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed portion) each located between a different pair of first semiconductor elements (5,6) adjacent to each other in the first direction as viewed in the thickness direction, and each of the plurality of first connecting members (106) is bonded to one of the first pad portions (portion or region of 21) and one of the plurality of first semiconductor elements (6) that is adjacent to the first pad portion as viewed (see Fig 5-7) in the thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 2, Hayashi further discloses the semiconductor device (Fig 1-8) according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first semiconductor elements (5,6) has a first-element obverse surface (surface seen in Fig 5) and a first-element reverse surface (surface not seen in Fig 5 and opposite in the Z-direction to the surface seen in Fig 5) that are spaced apart from each other in the thickness direction (see Fig 8), and the second electrode (10,16) is arranged on the first-element obverse surface (surface seen in Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Hayashi further discloses the semiconductor device (Fig 1-8) according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of first semiconductor elements (5,6) include a pair of first outer elements (6,6 located furthest +Y and located furthest -Y in Fig 5) located at opposite ends (+Y and -Y) in the first direction, and a first inner element (6 located closer to 2) sandwiched between the pair of first outer elements in the first direction, and the first inner element (6) is sandwiched between two of the first pad portions (portion or region or part of 21 where 106 interfaces 21; see Fig 5 showing centrally located 6 is sandwiched by two 106 or two regions at the interface of 106 and 21; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed portion) as viewed in the thickness direction, and has two of the plurality of first connecting members (106) bonded thereto.
Regarding Claim 6, Hayashi further discloses the semiconductor device (Fig 1-8) according to claim 2, wherein the first signal wiring section (section of 21 extending in up-down direction of Fig 5; [0122]; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed section) includes a first strip portion (portion or region of 21 that extends in Y-direction in Fig 5; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed portion) that extends in the first direction (Y-direction) as viewed in the thickness direction, the first strip portion is located in a first sense of a second direction (X-direction) from the plurality of first semiconductor elements, the second direction being perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction, and the first pad portions (portion or region or part of 21 where 106 interfaces 21; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed portion) overlap with the first strip portion as viewed in the second direction.
Regarding Claim 7, Hayashi further discloses the semiconductor device (Fig 1-8) according to claim 6, wherein the first pad portions (portion or region or part of 21 where 106 interfaces 21; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed portion) are integrally formed (21 is shown as an integral structure in Fig 5) with the first strip portion (portion or region of 21 that extends in Y-direction in Fig 5; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined the periphery of this claimed portion).
Regarding Claim 8 Hayashi further discloses the semiconductor device (Fig 1-8) according to claim 6, wherein the first detection terminal (end of 21; see callout 21 in Fig 1; [0036]) is located in a first sense (see Fig 5 showing end of 21 is above 5,6 in Y-direction) of the first direction (Y-direction) from the plurality of first semiconductor elements (5,6), the first signal wiring section further includes a first bonding portion to which the first detection terminal is bonded, and the first strip portion is electrically connected to the first bonding portion.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847