DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 claims “An electronic device comprising: a chassis; a receptacle coupled to the chassis; and a riser cage assembly of claim 1” However, “an electronic device” and “a riser cage assembly” were previously introduced in claim 1, upon which claim 12 is dependent.
Claims 13-17 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Publication No. 2011/0317342) in view of Zhou (CN Publication No. 104533913).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a riser cage assembly for an electronic device, comprising: a riser cage bracket (mounting bracket 21) configured to support a riser card (converter card 23); and a fastener assembly (securing element 30) coupled to the riser cage bracket (21) and configured to removably fasten the riser cage bracket (21) to the electronic device (chassis 10, including circuit board 40) in an installed state of the riser cage assembly in the electronic device (see Figure 3).
Li does not disclose the fastener assembly comprising: an enclosure comprising a bore extending along a vertical axis, guide teeth within the bore, and bays defined between the guide teeth, wherein each of the guide teeth comprises a first vertical surface, a second vertical surface, and a ramped surface extending between the first and second vertical surfaces; an actuator comprising drivers, wherein the actuator is movably coupled to a first end of the enclosure with the drivers disposed within the bore; a shaft comprising blades and a locking arm, wherein the blades are disposed within the bore and the locking arm protrudes out of the bore beyond a second end of the enclosure, wherein the shaft is translatable along and rotatable about the vertical axis relative to the enclosure; and a biasing element configured to generate a biasing force urging the shaft towards the first end of the enclosure, wherein in a first state of the fastener assembly, the shaft is at a first rotational orientation and the blades are disposed within a first subset of the bays and abutting the first vertical surfaces of a first subset of the guide teeth; wherein in a second state of the fastener assembly, the shaft is at a second rotational orientation and the blades are disposed within a second subset of the bays and abutting the first vertical surfaces of a second subset of the guide teeth; wherein the fastener assembly can be transitioned from the first state to the second state by: the actuator being pushed along a first direction such that the drivers push the blades in the first direction and compress the biasing element until the blades pass below the first vertical surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth, whereupon the drivers and the biasing force cause the blades to move into the second subset of the bays; and after the blades enter the second subset of the bays, the biasing element pushing the shaft along a second direction opposite to the first direction such that the blades slide along the ramped surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth until the blades abut the first vertical surfaces of the second subset of the guide teeth.
However, Zhou teaches the fastener assembly (see Figures 1-10) comprising: an enclosure (tooth guide rail sleeve 2) comprising a bore (shell of 2) extending along a vertical axis (see Figures 1 and 3), guide teeth (teeth of 2; see Figure 3) within the bore (shell of 2), and bays (space between teeth of 2) defined between the guide teeth (teeth of 2), wherein each of the guide teeth (teeth of 2) comprises a first vertical surface (first vertical surface of teeth of 2), a second vertical surface (second vertical surface of teeth of 2), and a ramped surface (slanted surface at end of teeth of 2) extending between the first and second vertical surfaces (see Figure 3); an actuator (pressing head 1) comprising drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves; see Figures 2 and 10, protrusions engaged with blades of 3 in position shown in Figure 10), wherein the actuator (1) is movably coupled to a first end of the enclosure (top end of 2) with the drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves) disposed within the bore (shell of 2); a shaft (telescopic lock tongue 3) comprising blades (blades of 3; see Figure 4) and a locking arm (tip of 3), wherein the blades (blades of 3) are disposed within the bore (shell of 2) and the locking arm (tip of 3) protrudes out of the bore (shell of 2) beyond a second end of the enclosure (bottom end of 2), wherein the shaft (3) is translatable along and rotatable about the vertical axis relative to the enclosure (2; see Figures 6-10); and a biasing element (spring 4) configured to generate a biasing force urging the shaft (3) towards the first end of the enclosure (top end of 2), wherein in a first state of the fastener assembly (see Figure 10), the shaft (3) is at a first rotational orientation and the blades (blades of 3) are disposed within a first subset of the bays (first space between teeth of 2) and abutting the first vertical surfaces (first vertical portion of teeth of 2) of a first subset of the guide teeth (first teeth of 2); wherein in a second state of the fastener assembly (see Figure 7), the shaft (3) is at a second rotational orientation and the blades (blades of 3) are disposed within a second subset of the bays (second space between teeth of 2) and abutting the first vertical surfaces (first vertical portions of teeth of 2) of a second subset of the guide teeth (second teeth 2); wherein the fastener assembly (see Figures 6-10) can be transitioned from the first state to the second state by: the actuator (1) being pushed along a first direction (downward) such that the drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves) push the blades (blades of 3) in the first direction (downward) and compress the biasing element (4) until the blades (blades of 3) pass below the first vertical surfaces (first vertical portions of teeth of 2) of the first subset of the guide teeth (first teeth of 2), whereupon the drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves) and the biasing force cause the blades (blades of 3) to move into the second subset of the bays (second space between teeth of 2); and after the blades (blades of 3) enter the second subset of the bays (second space between teeth of 2), the biasing element (4) pushing the shaft (3) along a second direction (upward) opposite to the first direction (downward) such that the blades (blades of 3) slide along the ramped surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth (slanted surface of teeth of 2) until the blades (blades of 3) abut the first vertical surfaces (vertical surface of teeth of 2) of the second subset of the guide teeth (second teeth of 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the fastener assembly of Li for the fastener assembly of Zhou according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a plunger actuated device as a fastener. Doing so would have also improved assembly time by providing a convenient, quick push fastener (see page 2 in Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 1, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein each of the bays (space between teeth of 2) comprises a vertical groove defined between the first vertical surface of one of the guide teeth (first vertical surface of teeth of 2; see Figures 3 and 5-10) and the second vertical surface of another of the guide teeth (second vertical surface of teeth of 2; see Figures 3 and 5-10), and wherein the first vertical surface (first vertical surface of 2) has a first height (see Figures 3 and 5-10), and the second vertical surface (second vertical surface of 2) has a second height smaller than the first height (see Figures 3 and 5-10).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 2, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein, in the first state (see Figure 10), the blades (blades of 3) are positioned within the vertical grooves of the first subset of the bays (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 3, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein, in the first state (see Figure 10), rotation of the shaft (3) in any direction is prevented by the blades (blades of 3) being within the vertical grooves of the first subset of the bays (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 2, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein the actuator (1) comprises guides (protrusions of 1 within blocking grooves), each disposed within and movable along the vertical groove of one of the bays (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 5, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein the enclosure comprises blockers (blockers between teeth of 2; see Figures 3 and 7, where blade of 3 is contacting blocker of 2 in Figure 7) disposed within the vertical grooves (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2) of the second subset of the bays (space between teeth of 2), and wherein the blockers (blockers between teeth of 2) are configured to block motion of the blades (blades of 3) within the vertical grooves (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2) of the second subset of the bays (space between teeth of 2) while not blocking motion of the guides (protrusions of 1 within blocking grooves) within the vertical grooves (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 1, and further teaches wherein in the installed state of the riser cage assembly and the second state of the fastener assembly (Figure 7 in Zhou, corresponding to Figure 5 in Li), the locking arm (tip of 3 in Zhou) is engaged with a receptacle of the electronic device (hole 112 of securing portion 111 in Li) to removably fasten the riser cage bracket (21 in Li) to the electronic device (10 in Li); and wherein in the installed state of the riser cage assembly and the first state of the fastener assembly (Figure 10 in Zhou, corresponding to Figure 4 in Li), the locking arm does not fasten the riser cage bracket (21 in Li) to the electronic device (10 in Li).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 7, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein the fastener assembly further comprises a cover (locking sleeve 5) having an opening (opening in 5 accommodating tip of 3), coupled to the second end of the enclosure (bottom end of 2), wherein the shaft (3; see Figure 4) comprises a flange (step of 3) disposed above the locking arm (tip of 3), and wherein the biasing element (4) is disposed around the shaft (3) contacting the cover (5) and the flange (step of 3; middle of page 3, “one end of the compression spring 4 against the circular column body of step 3.1 is 3.3, and the other end supports the tail locking sleeve 5”).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a method comprising: disposing a riser cage bracket (mounting bracket 21) supporting a riser card (converter card 23), on a chassis (chassis 10) of an electronic device (comprised of chassis 10 and circuit board 40) such that a mounting hole (hole 2134) of the riser cage bracket (21) is aligned with a receptacle (hole 112 of securing portion 111) of the electronic device (10, 40); disposing a fastener assembly (securing element 30) on the riser cage bracket (21) such that an opening (bottom opening in 31) in the fastener assembly (30) is aligned with the mounting hole (hole 2134) of the riser cage bracket (21) and a locking arm (tip of mounting member 33) of the fastener assembly (30) protrudes into the receptacle (112 of 111) via the opening (bottom opening in 31) and the mounting hole (2134), and driving the fastener assembly (30) to transition from a first state (see Figure 4) to a second state (see Figure 5) to removably fasten the riser cage bracket (21) to the electronic device (10, 40).
Li does not disclose wherein the fastener assembly comprises: an enclosure comprising a bore extending along a vertical axis, guide teeth within the bore, and bays defined between the guide teeth, wherein each of the guide teeth comprises a first vertical surface, a second vertical surface, and a ramped surface extending between the first and second vertical surfaces; an actuator comprising drivers, wherein the actuator is movably coupled to a first end of the enclosure with the drivers disposed within the bore; a shaft comprising blades and the locking arm, wherein the blades are disposed within the bore and the locking arm protrudes out of the bore beyond a second end of the enclosure, wherein the shaft is translatable along and rotatable about the vertical axis relative to the enclosure; and a biasing element configured to generate a biasing force urging the shaft towards the first end of the enclosure; wherein driving the fastener assembly comprises: pushing the actuator along a first direction such that the drivers push the blades in the first direction and compress the biasing element until the blades pass below the first vertical surfaces of a first subset of the guide teeth, whereupon the drivers and the biasing force cause the blades to move into a second subset of the bays; and after the blades enter the second subset of the bays, the biasing element pushing the shaft along a second direction opposite to the first direction such that the blades slide along the ramped surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth until the blades abut the first vertical surfaces of the second subset of the guide teeth.
However, Zhou teaches a fastener assembly (see Figures 1-10) comprising: an enclosure (tooth guide rail sleeve 2) comprising a bore (shell of 2) extending along a vertical axis (see Figures 1 and 3), guide teeth (teeth of 2; see Figure 3) within the bore (shell of 2), and bays (between teeth of 2) defined between the guide teeth (teeth of 2), wherein each of the guide teeth (teeth of 2) comprises a first vertical surface (first vertical portions of teeth of 2), a second vertical surface (second vertical portions of teeth of 2), and a ramped surface (slanted surface at end of teeth of 2) extending between the first and second vertical surfaces (see Figure 3); an actuator (pressing head 1) comprising drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves; see Figure 2), wherein the actuator (1) is movably coupled to a first end of the enclosure (top end of 2) with the drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves; see Figures 2 and 10, protrusions engaged with blades of 3 in position shown in Figure 10) disposed within the bore (shell of 2); a shaft (telescopic lock tongue 3) comprising blades (blades of 3; see Figure 4) and the locking arm (tip of 3, corresponding to tip of 33 in Li), wherein the blades (blades of 3) are disposed within the bore (shell of 2) and the locking arm (tip of 3) protrudes out of the bore (shell of 2) beyond a second end of the enclosure (bottom end of 2), wherein the shaft (3) is translatable along and rotatable about the vertical axis relative to the enclosure (2; see Figures 6-10); and a biasing element (spring 4) configured to generate a biasing force urging the shaft (3) towards the first end of the enclosure (top end of 2), driving the fastener assembly to transition from a first state (see Figure 10) to a second state (see Figure 7), wherein driving the fastener assembly comprises: pushing the actuator (1) along a first direction such that the drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves) push the blades (blades of 3) in the first direction (downward) and compress the biasing element (4) until the blades (blades of 3) pass below the first vertical surfaces (first vertical portions of teeth of 2) of a first subset of the guide teeth (first space between teeth of 2), whereupon the drivers (protrusions of 1 in non-blocking grooves) and the biasing force (from 4) cause the blades (blades of 3) to move into a second subset of the bays (second space between teeth of 2); and after the blades (blades of 3) enter the second subset of the bays (second space between teeth of 2), the biasing element (4) pushing the shaft (3) along a second direction (upward) opposite to the first direction (downward) such that the blades (blades of 3) slide along the ramped surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth (slanted surface at end of teeth of 2) until the blades (blades of 3) abut the first vertical surfaces (first vertical portions of teeth of 2) of the second subset of the guide teeth (second teeth 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the fastener assembly of Li for the fastener assembly of Zhou according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a plunger actuated device as a fastener. Doing so would have also improved assembly time by providing a convenient, quick push fastener (see page 2 in Zhou).
Claims 9 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Publication No. 2011/0317342), Zhou (CN Publication No. 104533913), and in further view of Tseng (US Publication No. 2014/0105707).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 8, and further teaches wherein, in the installed state (Figure 7 in Zhou, corresponding to Figure 5 in Li) of the riser cage assembly (21 in Li) in the electronic device (10), the opening (opening in 5 of Zhou) is aligned with a mounting hole (hole 2134) of the riser cage bracket (21) to allow the locking arm (tip of 3 in Zhou, corresponding to tip of 33 in Li) to protrude into the receptacle (hole 112 of 111 in Li) via the opening (opening in 5 of Zhou) and the mounting hole (2134 in Li).
Li in view of Zhou does not teach wherein the locking arm comprises a first set of protrusions, wherein the first set of protrusions to engage with a second set of protrusions of the receptacle in the second state of the fastener assembly, to removably fasten the riser cage bracket to the electronic device.
However, Tseng teaches a shaft (fastening member 2) comprising a locking arm (shank 22), wherein the locking arm (2) comprises a first set of protrusions (locking protrusions 233), the first set of protrusions (233) to engage with a second set of protrusions (edges of hole 51, see Figure 7) of the receptacle (hole 51) in the second state of the fastener assembly (locked state), to removably fasten the riser cage bracket (21 in Li, corresponding to panel 4 in Tseng) to the electronic device (10 in Li, corresponding to 5 in Tseng).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking arm and receptacle of Li as modified by Zhou to include the first and second protrusions of Tseng, respectively. Doing so would have further secured the mounting bracket to the electronic device by preventing the bracket from being capable of being lifted from the mounted position in a secured state (see Paragraphs [0003]-[0011] in Tseng).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Zhou discloses the electronic device (chassis 10, including circuit board 40 in Li) comprising: a chassis (chassis 10 in Li); a receptacle (hole 112 of securing portion 111 in Li) coupled to the chassis (10 in Li); and a riser cage assembly of claim 1, disposed on the electronic device (10 in Li) such that a mounting hole (hole 2134 in Li) of the riser cage bracket (21 in Li) and an opening (opening in 5 of Zhou) in a cover (sleeve 5 in Zhou) coupled to the fastener assembly (see Figure 1 in Zhou) are aligned with the receptacle (112 of 111 in Li) to allow the locking arm (tip of 3 in Zhou; corresponding to tip of 33 in Li) to protrude into the receptacle (112 of 111 in Li) via the opening (opening in 5 of Zhou) and the mounting hole (hole 2134 in Li).
Li in view of Zhou does not teach a first set of protrusions of the locking arm to engage with a second set of protrusions of the receptacle in the second state of the fastener assembly, to removably fasten the riser cage bracket to the electronic device.
However, Tseng teaches a shaft (fastening member 2) comprising a locking arm (shank 22), wherein the locking arm (2) comprises a first set of protrusions (locking protrusions 233), the first set of protrusions (233) of the locking arm (2) to engage with a second set of protrusions (edges of hole 51, see Figure 7) of the receptacle (hole 51, corresponding to hole 112 in Li) in the second state of the fastener assembly (locked state), to removably fasten the riser cage bracket (21 in Li, corresponding to panel 4 in Tseng) to the electronic device (10 in Li, corresponding to 5 in Tseng).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking arm and receptacle of Li as modified by Zhou to include the first and second protrusions of Tseng, respectively. Doing so would have further secured the mounting bracket to the electronic device by preventing the bracket from being capable of being lifted from the mounted position in a secured state (see Paragraphs [0003]-[0011] in Tseng).
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Zhou and Tseng teaches the electronic device of claim 12, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein each of the bays (space between teeth of 2) comprises a vertical groove (groove between teeth of 2; see Figure 3) defined between the first vertical surface of one of the guide teeth (first vertical surface of teeth of 2; see Figures 3 and 5-10) and the second vertical surface of another of the guide teeth (second vertical surface of teeth of 2; see Figures 3 and 5-10), and wherein the first vertical surface (first vertical surface of 2) has a first height (see Figures 3 and 5-10), and the second vertical surface (second vertical surface of 2) has a second height smaller than the first height (see Figures 3 and 5-10).
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Zhou and Tseng teaches the electronic device of claim 13, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein, in the first state (see Figure 10), the blades (blades of 3) are positioned within the vertical grooves of the first subset of the bays (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2) to prevent rotation of the shaft (3) in any direction.
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Zhou and Tseng teaches the electronic device of claim 13, and further teaches (in Zhou) wherein the actuator (1) comprises guides (protrusions of 1 withing blocking grooves), each disposed within and movable along the vertical groove of one of the bays (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2), wherein the enclosure comprises blockers (blockers between teeth of 2; see Figures 3 and 7, where blade of 3 is contacting blocker of 2 in Figure 7) disposed within the vertical grooves (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2) of the second subset of the bays (space between teeth of 2), and wherein the blockers (blockers between teeth of 2) are configured to block motion of the blades (blades of 3) within the vertical grooves (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2) of the second subset of the bays (space between teeth of 2) while not blocking motion of the guides (protrusions of 1 within blocking grooves) within the vertical grooves (vertical grooves defining space between teeth of 2).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Zhou and Tseng teaches the electronic device of claim 12, and further teaches wherein in the installed state of the riser cage assembly and the second state of the fastener assembly (Figure 7 in Zhou, corresponding to Figure 5 in Li), the locking arm (tip of 3 in Zhou) is engaged with the receptacle (hole 112 of securing portion 111 in Li) to removably fasten the riser cage bracket (21 in Li) to the electronic device (10 in Li); and wherein in the installed state of the riser cage assembly and the first state of the fastener assembly (Figure 10 in Zhou, corresponding to Figure 4 in Li), the locking arm does not fasten the riser cage bracket (21 in Li) to the electronic device (10 in Li).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Publication No. 2011/0317342), Zhou (CN Publication No. 104533913), and in further view of Carper (US Publication No. 2023/0193938).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the shaft rotates about 90 degrees to transition the fastener assembly between the first state and the second state.
However, Carper teaches a fastening assembly comprising shaft (Figures 6a-6b, rotatable shaft 618), wherein the shaft (618) rotates about 90 degrees (see Paragraph [0039]) to transition the fastener assembly between the first state and the second state (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0018]-[0020]).
Because Zhou and Carper teach similar rotating assemblies, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the teeth of Li as modified by Zhou to rotate the shaft of the assembly 90 degrees between the first and second states, as taught in Carper, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of extending and rotating a shaft via actuating a plunger, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, but does not explicitly teach wherein the shaft rotates about 90 degrees to transition the fastener assembly between the first state and the second state.
However, Carper teaches a fastening assembly comprising shaft (Figures 6a-6b, rotatable shaft 618), wherein the shaft (618) rotates about 90 degrees (see Paragraph [0039]) to transition the fastener assembly between the first state and the second state (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0018]-[0020]).
Because Zhou and Carper teach similar rotating assemblies, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the teeth of Li as modified by Zhou to rotate the shaft of the assembly 90 degrees between the first and second states, as taught in Carper, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of extending and rotating a shaft via actuating a plunger, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Publication No. 2011/0317342), Zhou (CN Publication No. 104533913), and in further view of Wang (CN Publication No. 203879881, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Zhou teaches the riser cage assembly of claim 1, but does not teach wherein each driver comprises a first sloped surface and each blade comprises a second sloped surface, where the first sloped surface, the second sloped surface, and the ramped surface of each guide tooth are complementary surfaces, and wherein, when the fastener assembly is transitioning from the first state to the second state: the drivers push the blades along the first direction until the blades pass below the first vertical surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth; the first sloped surfaces and the second sloped surfaces engage with each other in a manner that urges the shaft to rotate about the vertical axis; and the biasing force pushes the drivers along the second direction to retract the blades from the drivers and allow the second sloped surfaces and the ramped surfaces to engage in a manner that further urges the shaft to rotate about the vertical axis until the blades abut the first vertical surfaces of the second subset of the guide teeth.
However, Wang teaches a fastening assembly (see Figures 6-10) comprising: an enclosure (cylinder 52) comprising guiding teeth (surfaces 523 defining slots 522, 5231) having a first vertical surface (vertical surfaces of 522, 523) and a ramped surface (slanted surfaces of 523); an actuator (42) comprising drivers (guiding teeth 422); a shaft (latch 43) comprising blades (prisms 431); and a biasing element (spring 6); wherein each driver (422) comprises a first sloped surface (slope surface of 422) and each blade (prisms 431) comprises a second sloped surface (sloped surface of 431), where the first sloped surface (slope surface of 422), the second sloped surface (sloped surface of 431), and the ramped surface (slanted surfaces of 523) of each guide tooth (surfaces 523 defining slots 522, 5231) are complementary surfaces (see Figures 8-9), and wherein, when the fastener assembly is transitioning from the first state (see Figure 9a) to the second state (see Figure 9c): the drivers (422) push the blades (431) along the first direction (downward) until the blades (431) pass below the first vertical surfaces (vertical surfaces of 522, 523) of the first subset of the guide teeth (first teeth of 52); the first sloped surfaces (slope surface of 422) and the second sloped surfaces (sloped surface of 431) engage with each other in a manner that urges the shaft (43) to rotate about the vertical axis (see pages 7-8 and Figures 8-9); and the biasing force (from 6) pushes the drivers (422) along the second direction (upward) to retract the blades (431) from the drivers (422) and allow the second sloped surfaces (sloped surface of 431) and the ramped surfaces (slanted surfaces of 523) to engage in a manner that further urges the shaft (43) to rotate about the vertical axis (see pages 7-8 and Figures 8-9) until the blades (431) abut the first vertical surfaces (vertical surfaces of 522, 523) of the second subset of the guide teeth (teeth of 52).
Because Wang and Zhou teach similar fastening assemblies, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the actuator of Li as modified by Zhou for the actuator of Wang according to known methods to yield the predictable results of extending and rotating a shaft via an actuator. Doing so would have also provided the fastening assembly with an actuator having sloped, driving surfaces to help urge the shaft to travel/rotate between the first and second positions (see pages 7-8 and Figures 8-9 in Wang).
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, but does not teach wherein each driver comprises a first sloped surface and each blade comprises a second sloped surface, where the first sloped surface, the second sloped surface, and the ramped surface of each guide tooth are complementary surfaces, and wherein, when the fastener assembly is transitioning from the first state to the second state: the drivers push the blades along the first direction until the blades pass below the first vertical surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth; the first sloped surfaces and the second sloped surfaces engage with each other in a manner that urges the shaft to rotate about the vertical axis; and the biasing force pushes the drivers along the second direction to retract the blades from the drivers and allow the second sloped surfaces and the ramped surfaces to engage in a manner that further urges the shaft to rotate about the vertical axis until the blades abut the first vertical surfaces of the second subset of the guide teeth.
However, Wang teaches a fastening assembly (see Figures 6-10) comprising: an enclosure (cylinder 52) comprising guiding teeth (surfaces 523 defining slots 522, 5231) having a first vertical surface (vertical surfaces of 522, 523) and a ramped surface (slanted surfaces of 523); an actuator (42) comprising drivers (guiding teeth 422); a shaft (latch 43) comprising blades (prisms 431); and a biasing element (spring 6); wherein each driver (422) comprises a first sloped surface (slope surface of 422) and each blade (prisms 431) comprises a second sloped surface (sloped surface of 431), where the first sloped surface (slope surface of 422), the second sloped surface (sloped surface of 431), and the ramped surface (slanted surfaces of 523) of each guide tooth (surfaces 523 defining slots 522, 5231) are complementary surfaces (see Figures 8-9), and wherein, when the fastener assembly is transitioning from the first state (see Figure 9a) to the second state (see Figure 9c): the drivers (422) push the blades (431) along the first direction (downward) until the blades (431) pass below the first vertical surfaces (vertical surfaces of 522, 523) of the first subset of the guide teeth (first teeth of 52); the first sloped surfaces (slope surface of 422) and the second sloped surfaces (sloped surface of 431) engage with each other in a manner that urges the shaft (43) to rotate about the vertical axis (see pages 7-8 and Figures 8-9); and the biasing force (from 6) pushes the drivers (422) along the second direction (upward) to retract the blades (431) from the drivers (422) and allow the second sloped surfaces (sloped surface of 431) and the ramped surfaces (slanted surfaces of 523) to engage in a manner that further urges the shaft (43) to rotate about the vertical axis (see pages 7-8 and Figures 8-9) until the blades (431) abut the first vertical surfaces (vertical surfaces of 522, 523) of the second subset of the guide teeth (teeth of 52).
Because Wang and Zhou teach similar fastening assemblies, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the actuator of Li as modified by Zhou for the actuator of Wang according to known methods to yield the predictable results of extending and rotating a shaft via an actuator. Doing so would have also provided the fastening assembly with an actuator having sloped, driving surfaces to help urge the shaft to travel/rotate between the first and second positions (see pages 7-8 and Figures 8-9 in Wang).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Publication No. 2011/0317342), Zhou (CN Publication No. 104533913), Tseng (US Publication No. 2014/0105707), and in further view of Carper (US Publication No. 2023/0193938).
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Zhou and Tseng teaches the electronic device of claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein the shaft rotates about 90 degrees to transition the fastener assembly between the first state and the second state.
However, Carper teaches a fastening assembly comprising shaft (Figures 6a-6b, rotatable shaft 618), wherein the shaft (618) rotates about 90 degrees (see Paragraph [0039]) to transition the fastener assembly between the first state and the second state (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0018]-[0020]).
Because Zhou and Carper teach similar rotating assemblies, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the teeth of Li as modified by Zhou and Tseng to rotate the shaft of the assembly 90 degrees between the first and second states, as taught in Carper, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of extending and rotating a shaft via actuating a plunger, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Alternatively, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Publication No. 2011/0317342) in view of Wang (CN Publication No. 203879881, cited in IDS) and Emil (US Patent No. 3288115).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a riser cage assembly for an electronic device, comprising: a riser cage bracket (mounting bracket 21) configured to support a riser card (converter card 23); and a fastener assembly (securing element 30) coupled to the riser cage bracket (21) and configured to removably fasten the riser cage bracket (21) to the electronic device (chassis 10, including circuit board 40) in an installed state of the riser cage assembly in the electronic device (see Figure 3).
Li does not disclose the fastener assembly comprising: an enclosure comprising a bore extending along a vertical axis, guide teeth within the bore, and bays defined between the guide teeth, wherein each of the guide teeth comprises a first vertical surface, a second vertical surface, and a ramped surface extending between the first and second vertical surfaces; an actuator comprising drivers, wherein the actuator is movably coupled to a first end of the enclosure with the drivers disposed within the bore; a shaft comprising blades and a locking arm, wherein the blades are disposed within the bore and the locking arm protrudes out of the bore beyond a second end of the enclosure, wherein the shaft is translatable along and rotatable about the vertical axis relative to the enclosure; and a biasing element configured to generate a biasing force urging the shaft towards the first end of the enclosure, wherein in a first state of the fastener assembly, the shaft is at a first rotational orientation and the blades are disposed within a first subset of the bays and abutting the first vertical surfaces of a first subset of the guide teeth; wherein in a second state of the fastener assembly, the shaft is at a second rotational orientation and the blades are disposed within a second subset of the bays and abutting the first vertical surfaces of a second subset of the guide teeth; wherein the fastener assembly can be transitioned from the first state to the second state by: the actuator being pushed along a first direction such that the drivers push the blades in the first direction and compress the biasing element until the blades pass below the first vertical surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth, whereupon the drivers and the biasing force cause the blades to move into the second subset of the bays; and after the blades enter the second subset of the bays, the biasing element pushing the shaft along a second direction opposite to the first direction such that the blades slide along the ramped surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth until the blades abut the first vertical surfaces of the second subset of the guide teeth.
However, Wang teaches the fastener assembly (see Figures 6-9) comprising: an enclosure (52) comprising a bore (shell of 52) extending along a vertical axis (see Figures 7-8), guide teeth (comprised of guiding faces 523 and joints 5232; see Figures 6-8) within the bore (shell of 52), and bays (comprised of slots 522 and 5231) defined between the guide teeth (523), wherein each of the guide teeth (523, 5232) comprises a first vertical surface (vertical portions of 532 and defining slot 522 adjacent 5232), and a ramped surface (slanted surface of 532); an actuator (42) comprising drivers (422), wherein the actuator (42) is movably coupled to a first end of the enclosure (top end of 52) with the drivers (422) disposed within the bore (shell of 52); a shaft (latch 43) comprising blades (prims 431) and a locking arm (tip of 43), wherein the blades (431) are disposed within the bore (shell of 52) and the locking arm (tip of 43) protrudes out of the bore (shell of 52) beyond a second end of the enclosure (bottom end of 52), wherein the shaft (43) is translatable along and rotatable about the vertical axis relative to the enclosure (52; see Figure 9); and a biasing element (spring 6) configured to generate a biasing force urging the shaft (43) towards the first end of the enclosure (top end of 52), wherein in a first state of the fastener assembly (see Figure 9a), the shaft (43) is at a first rotational orientation and the blades (431) are disposed within a first subset (522) of the bays (522, 5231) and abutting the first vertical surfaces (vertical portions of 532 and defining slot 522 adjacent 5232) of a first subset of the guide teeth (523, 5232); wherein in a second state of the fastener assembly (see Figure 9d), the shaft (43) is at a second rotational orientation and the blades (431) are disposed within a second subset (5231) of the bays (522, 5231) and abutting the first vertical surfaces (vertical portions of 532 and defining slot 522 adjacent 5232) of a second subset of the guide teeth (523, 5232); wherein the fastener assembly (see Figures 6-9) can be transitioned from the first state to the second state by: the actuator (42) being pushed along a first direction (downward) such that the drivers (422) push the blades (431) in the first direction (downward) and compress the biasing element (6) until the blades (431) pass below the first vertical surfaces (wall of 521) of the first subset of the guide teeth (523), whereupon the drivers (422) and the biasing force cause the blades (431) to move into the second subset (5231) of the bays (522, 5231); and after the blades (431) enter the second subset of the bays (5231), the biasing element (6) pushing the shaft (43) along a second direction (upward) opposite to the first direction (downward) such that the blades (431) slide along the ramped surfaces of the first subset of the guide teeth (slanted surface of 532) until the blades (431) abut the first vertical surfaces (vertical surface of 523, 5232) of the second subset of the guide teeth (523, 5232).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the fastener assembly of Li for the fastener assembly of Wang according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a plunger actuated device as a fastener. Doing so would have also improved assembly time by providing a convenient, quick push fastener (see page 2 in Wang).
Li in view of Wang does not teach wherein each of the guide teeth comprises a second vertical surface, such that the ramped surface extending between the first and second vertical surfaces.
However, Emil teaches an enclosure (cap 10) comprising guide teeth (rails 48), wherein each of the guide teeth (48) comprises a first vertical surface (first vertical surface 48), a second vertical surface (second vertical surface of 48), and a ramped surface (taper 50) extending between the first and second vertical surfaces (see Figures 3 and 5).
Because Wang and Emil teach similar fastening assemblies and because Emil teach slots 44 and 44a being different depths, as taught in Wang, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the teeth shape of Wang for the teeth shape of Emil according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using an actuated plunger to rotate blades to a plurality of bay positions guided by the shape of enclosure teeth. Doing so would have also provided a more secure/sturdy position for the blades within the bays between actuated positions (see col. 1, ln. 56-67 in Emil).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang (US Publication No. 11269385), Wu (US Patent No. 10791635), Sauer (US Publication No. 2013/0343830), and Chang (US Publication No. 2008/0198564) teach riser bracket mounting assemblies similar to the claimed device.
Peng (US Publication No. 2024/0011518), Gin (US Publication No. 2021/0301570), Wang (US Publication No. 2021/0003153), Wang (US Publication No. 2020/0332942), Wu (US Publication No. 2018/0202481), Watanabe (US Publication No. 2016/0326780), Lin (US Publication No. 2015/0078813), Wang (US Publication No. 2013/0183086), Rome (US Publication No. 2012/0068013), Cabatan (US Patent No. 8434956), and Bross (US Patent No. 3653777) teach fastening assemblies similar to the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc