DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subrack must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 6, 9 and 12 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yen (US 2021/0296278 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yen (US 2021/0296278 A1) discloses a filtering structure (Fig 6), comprising: a chip (1031,1032; [0022]), a circuit board (102; [0029]), a filtering assembly (assembly of 1042,1043; [0030-0035,0039,0046] “filter”), and an intermediate assembly (201; [0045]) located between the chip (1031,1032) and the circuit board (102), wherein the filtering assembly comprises a first filtering assembly (assembly of 1042,1043A in 201) and a second filtering assembly (assembly of 1043B at 1022), the first filtering assembly is located in the intermediate assembly (assembly of 1042,1043A in 201; [0045-0046]), and at least a part of the second filtering assembly (assembly of 1043B at 1022) is located on a surface (1022) of the circuit board (102) that is away from the intermediate assembly (201).
Regarding Claim 2, Yen further discloses the filtering structure (Fig 6) according to claim 1, wherein the first filtering assembly (assembly of 1043A in 201) comprises a plurality of first filtering components (1043A,1043A), and the plurality of first filtering components (1043A) are evenly spaced (see Fig 6 showing a plurality of 1043A in 201 have an even space between) in the intermediate assembly (201).
Regarding Claim 3, Yen further discloses the filtering structure (Fig 6) according to claim 2, wherein the first filtering (assembly of 1043A in 201) component is a capacitor ([0030-0035,0039,0046] “filter”, “capacitors”).
Regarding Claim 7, Yen further discloses the filtering structure (Fig 6) according to claim 1, wherein the second filtering assembly (assembly of 1043B at 1022) comprises at least one third filtering component (1043B; [0030-0035,0039,0046] “filter”, “capacitors”), and the at least one third filtering component (1043B) is located on a surface (1022) of the circuit board that is away from the intermediate assembly (201).
Regarding Claim 8, Yen further discloses the filtering structure (Fig 6) according to claim 7, wherein the third filtering component is a capacitor ([0030-0035,0039,0046] “filter”, “capacitors”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen (US 2021/0296278 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamgaing (US 20200219861 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Yen further discloses the filtering structure (Fig 6) according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate assembly (201) comprises at least two conductive layers ([0054] “conductive trace at the surface 1021” “conductive trace at the surface 1012 of the substrate 101”) disposed in a laminated manner, and a layer (layer of 201 at 201 callout) disposed between two adjacent conductive layers ([0054]); wherein the first filtering assembly is located in the layer, and both ends of the first filtering assembly (1042) are electrically connected ([0054]) to the conductive layers located on two sides of the layer.
Yen does not explicitly disclose a dielectric layer disposed between two adjacent conductive layers; wherein the first filtering assembly is located in the dielectric layer, and both ends of the first filtering assembly are electrically connected to the conductive layers located on two sides of the dielectric layer.
Kamgaing (US 20200219861 A1) teaches of a structure (Fig 1) wherein an assembly (108) comprises at least two conductive layers (168,170,177) disposed in a laminated manner, and a dielectric layer (176; [0026]) disposed between two adjacent conductive layers (168,170,177); wherein a filtering assembly (180,182; [0002,0013]) is located in the dielectric layer (176), and both ends of the filtering assembly (180,182) are electrically connected ([0016,0018,0020,0025-0028]) to the conductive layers located on two sides of the dielectric layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as disclosed by Yen, comprising a dielectric layer disposed between two adjacent conductive layers; wherein the first filtering assembly is located in the dielectric layer, and both ends of the first filtering assembly are electrically connected to the conductive layers located on two sides of the dielectric layer as taught by Kamgaing, in order to provide an inorganic structure, in order to provide an organic structure, in order to provide separation between metallization layers (Kamgaing, [0016,0018,0026]). Furthermore a structure as taught by Yen in view of Kamgaing comprising a dielectric layer would prevent unwanted electrical shorting between electrically conductive layers within the intermediate assembly.
Regarding Claim 11, Yen in view of Kamgaing teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Kamgaing further teaches the filtering structure (Fig 1) according to claim 10, wherein the at least two conductive layers (168 ,177) comprise a first conductive layer (168,170,177) and a second conductive layer (170,177), a first dielectric layer (176) is disposed between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, and the first filtering assembly (180,182) is located in the first dielectric layer (176); and one of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer is electrically connected ([0020-0025]) to the chip (102), and the other of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer is electrically connected ([0025]) to the circuit board ([0020-0025]).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen (US 2021/0296278 A1) in view of Malmberg (US 2011/0286176 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Yen discloses an electronic device (Fig 6), comprising a filtering structure (assembly as seen in Fig 6), comprising: a chip (1031,1032; [0022]), a circuit board (102; [0029]), a filtering assembly (assembly of 1042,1043; [0030-0035,0039,0046] “filter”), and an intermediate assembly (201; [0045]) located between the chip (1031,1032) and the circuit board (102), wherein the filtering assembly comprises a first filtering assembly (assembly of 1042,1043A in 201) and a second filtering assembly (assembly of 1043B at 1022), the first filtering assembly is located in the intermediate assembly (assembly of 1042,1043A in 201; [0045-0046]), and at least a part of the second filtering assembly (assembly of 1043B at 1022) is located on a surface (1022) of the circuit board (102) that is away from the intermediate assembly (201).
Yen does not disclose a subrack, wherein the filtering structure is disposed in the subrack. Note that the claim has not structurally defined nor described the subrack.
Malmberg (US 2011/0286176 A1) teaches of an electronic device (Fig 1-2) comprising a subrack (10), wherein a filtering structure ([0024]) is disposed in the subrack.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as disclosed by Yen, comprising a subrack, wherein the filtering structure is disposed in the subrack as taught by Malmberg, in order to provide a telecommunications device, provide space, provide power filtering, secure power feed, and filter noise (Malmberg, Abstract, [0006-0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Cho (US 2020/0058569 A1) teaches of a structure (Fig 12), comprising a plurality of first filtering components (115a-115c) and a plurality of second filtering components (115d-115f); and along a thickness direction of a circuit board (100D), the plurality of first filtering components (115a-115c) and the plurality of second filtering components (115d-115f). This prior art could be used in a 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896