DETAILED ACTION
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specifications state “or ultraviolet (UV) lamps 126, 128 mounted on optical racks 126, 128”. Reference numbers 126 and 128 are used to denote both the UV lamps and the optical racks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “opening to the second interior region” in claim 1, the “interior shelf” in claim 1, the weatherproof seal in claim 5, and the blower or fan in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim references an “interior shelf that separates a first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and a second interior region.” However, the specifications, claims, and drawings do not provide context for this “interior shelf”, including where it is. Without this context it is not clear which portions of the present disclosure make up the first interior region and which portions make up the second interior region. Claim 1 later introduces a “slidable ballast shelf”. For the purposes of examination, the first interior region will be everything downstream of the “slidable ballast shelf” and the second interior region will be everything above the “slidable ballast shelf”.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “a plurality of electrical components disposed on the third cabinet side to provide access from a single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet for each of i) the plurality of electrical components, ii) a removal of the slidable ballast shelf, and iii) a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks.” The way the claim is written makes it unclear as to whether the electrical components provide access to i) ii) and iii), or the third cabinet side provides access to i) ii) and iii). For the purposes of examination, the be interpreted to mean the third side provides access to i) ii) and iii).
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “wherein the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps overlap of the two or more UV lamps each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions.” It is not clear what is meant by “UV lamps overlap of the two or more UV lamps each other.” Patent document US 8257649 B2 cited in the specification discloses “and if more than one UV-lamp is present, the coronas of adjacent UV-lamps overlap each other by a maximum amount of between 5% and 25% of the radius of the corona.” For the purposes of examination, “wherein the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps overlap of the two or more UV lamps each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions” will be taken to mean that the coronas of two or more adjacent UV lamps overlap each other by less than 25%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi-liang et al. (CN 208809795), hereinafter referred to as Zi-liang, and in further view of Yuhe et al. (CN 104104015), hereinafter referred to as Yuhe, Morneault (US 8257649), hereinafter referred to as Morneault, and Kurtz et al. (US 5660719), hereinafter referred to as Kurtz.
Regarding claim 1, Zi-liang teaches a hydroxyl generator housing with modular components comprising: a cuboidal-shaped cabinet formed with six cabinet sides (fig. 3 as annotated below) and an interior shelf that separates a first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and a second interior region (fig. 3 as annotated below), the cuboidal-shaped cabinet including two cabinet sides of the six cabinet sides, the two cabinet sides are parallel and opposite of each other, and each of the two cabinet sides includes at least one opening to provide fluid communication between each of the two cabinet sides and the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment (fig. 3 as annotated below);
a third cabinet side of the six cabinet sides, the third cabinet side is perpendicular to the two cabinet sides (fig. 2 as annotated below).
Zi-liang does not teach, the third cabinet side includes a plurality of openings into the first interior region, and at least one opening to the second interior region for accepting a slidable ballast shelf with electrical ballast disposed thereon for ramping up input voltage high enough to spark two or more ultraviolet (UV) lamps; a set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks, each of the cuboidal-shaped optics racks formed with six rack sides defining an optics rack interior space and slidable into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side so that each of the cuboidal-shaped optics racks is position perpendicular to the slidable ballast shelf, each of the cuboidal-shaped optics racks including the two or more UV lamps arranged within the optics rack interior space for allowing air to pass between the openings in each of the two cabinet sides to the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and through the optics rack interior space; and an electrical connector disposed on an exterior side of one of the six rack sides that is external to the first interior region, the electrical connector provides electrical communication with the set of two or more UV lamps.
However, Yuhe teaches the third cabinet side includes a plurality of openings into the first interior region, and at least one opening to the second interior region for accepting a slidable ballast shelf with electrical ballast disposed thereon (fig. 2 as annotated below) for ramping up input voltage high enough to spark two or more ultraviolet (UV) lamps (the present invention also provides a kind of ultraviolet disinfection equipment that comprises above-mentioned arbitrary ultraviolet disinfection equipment power distribution cabinet (para. 0014));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teaching of Yuhe by replacing the third cabinet side of Zi-liang with the third cabinet side of Yuhe, and including the second interior region of Yuhe (fig. 2 as annotated above), with the ballast slide rail assembly such that the first segment 100 and second segment 101 of Zi-liang lie in the first interior region of Yuhe shown in figure 2 above. Doing provides the advantage of “when a ballast on the ballast mounting plate is damaged, the ballast can be easily replaced simply by pulling the slide rail assembly to move it out of the cabinet” via access through the door front door 8.
Morneault teaches a set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks, each of the cuboidal-shaped optics racks formed with six rack sides defining an optics rack interior space (fig. 4 as annotated below) and slidable into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side so that each of the cuboidal-shaped optics racks is position perpendicular to the slidable ballast shelf (figures 2 and 4 as annotated below), each of the cuboidal-shaped optics racks including the two or more UV lamps arranged within the optics rack interior space (fig. 4 as annotated below) for allowing air to pass between the openings in each of the two cabinet sides to the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment ( This invention provides an improved hydroxyl generator, comprising (A) a housing having an interior surface and an exterior surface, the interior surface defining an interior space having one or more apertures to permit the entrance and exit of air into the interior space (para. [0017])) and through the optics rack interior space (The UV-lamps are positioned such that when air is passed through the generator in which the UV-lamps are operating, superior hydroxyls are generated (para. [0018]));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teachings of Morneault by replacing the first segment 100 of Zi-liang with the entirety of fig 4 of Morneault, such that the optics racks are perpendicular to the slidable ballast shelf (Yuhe; ballast mounting plate mounted on the slide rail assembly, and a ballast mounted on the ballast mounting plate (para. [0009])) (figures 2 and 4 as annotated below). Along with the modifications discussed above, doing so means placing figure 4 of Morneault through the opening into the first interior region of Yuhe such that the lamps are accessible via the third cabinet side. This modification allows for easy access to the UV lamps for repair or replacement without having to disassemble the device.
Zi-liang also does not explicitly teach an electrical connector disposed on an exterior side of one of the six rack sides that is external to the first interior region, the electrical connector provides electrical communication with the set of two or more UV lamps.
However, Kurtz teaches an electrical connector disposed on an exterior side of one of the six rack sides that is external to the first interior region, the electrical connector provides electrical communication with the set of two or more UV lamps (At least one enclosure is provided for containing electrical means that serve to operate the lamps by furnishing communication between the ballast and lamps. The enclosure is disposed intermediate the housing and plurality of UV lamps (col 2, lines 19-21)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teachings of Kurtz by placing the electrical connector on an exterior side of one of the six rack sides. The benefit of doing so is “this modular arrangement of…the electrical means within its corresponding enclosure permits either one of the components and the UV lamps to be separately addressed or removed while in its operating environments during maintenance operations without materially disturbing the unaffected members of the apparatus (col. 2, lines 57-63).” Further, this allows the electrical means to be accessed by simply pulling out one of the removable racks (14) disclosed in Morneault.
Regarding claim 2, Zi-liang does not teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, further comprises: a plurality of electrical components disposed on the third cabinet side to provide access from a single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet for each of i) the plurality of electrical components, ii) a removal of the slidable ballast shelf, and iii) a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks.
However, Kurtz teaches a plurality of electrical components disposed on the third cabinet side (fig. 8 as annotated below).
Further, Yuhe teaches the third cabinet side to provide access from a single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet for each of ii) a removal of the slidable ballast shelf (fig. 2 as annotated below).
Finally, Morneault teaches iii) a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teaching of Kurtz by placing the programmable logic controller 108 and local operator interface screen 122, disclosed in Kurtz, on the third cabinet side of Yuhe. With the inclusion of the obvious modifications discussed in claim 1, doing so provides a third cabinet side with access to i) the plurality of electrical components, ii) a removal of the slidable ballast shelf, and iii) a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks. To be clear, through the third side of Yuhe one can access the electrical components, the slidable ballast shelf and a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks. The modification allows a user to easily access electrical components and replace UV lights and ballasts, and achieves the desired result of making the device more compact for simpler integration into HVAC and air handling systems.
Regarding claim 3, Zi-liang does not teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 2, wherein the electrical components include a programmable logic controller, a computer, or both.
However, Kurtz teaches wherein the electrical components include a programmable logic controller, a computer, or both (fig. 8 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Kurtz such that the electrical components include a programmable logic controller to facilitate the transmission of serial data signals such as signals disclosing the intensity of the ultraviolet light (col. 9, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 4, Zi-liang does not teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, further comprises: a door mechanically attached to the third cabinet side to close over the slidable ballast shelf and the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks.
However, Kurtz teaches a door mechanically attached to the third cabinet side to close over the slidable ballast shelf and the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks (fig. 2 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the front door 8 of Yuhe so “[w]hen the photoelectric system 3 needs to be repaired or replaced, the front door 8 can be opened and the photoelectric system 3 can be moved out of the cabinet 1 for easy disassembly and assembly. This is more convenient and labor-saving than the traditional photoelectric system repair.” Further, the modifications in claim 1 above allow the door to access two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks.
Regarding claim 6, Zi-liang does not explicitly teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, wherein the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and the second interior region are formed to prevent air from a hydroxyl treatment in the first interior region from passing to the second interior region.
However, Yuhe teaches wherein the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and the second interior region are formed to prevent air from a hydroxyl treatment in the first interior region from passing to the second interior region (The power distribution cabinet of the present invention moves the photoelectric system 3, which is traditionally placed above the ultraviolet disinfection module, to the inside of cabinet body 1 of the power distribution cabinet. This keeps the photoelectric system 3 away from the liquid to be disinfected (para. [0015])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Yuhe such that the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and the second interior region are formed to prevent air from a hydroxyl treatment in the first interior region from passing to the second interior region. Doing so, “can prevent the ballast of the photoelectric system 3 from being damaged by the water vapor generated by the liquid to be disinfected due to the deterioration of its waterproof performance during operation (para. [0024]).”
Regarding claim 7, Zi-liang does not explicitly teach wherein the two or more UV lamps are in a parallel arrangement to each other and arranged within the optics rack interior space, the two or more UV lamps, when generating UV radiation, create in proximity to a surface of each of the two or more UV lamps a near-infrared (NIR) region, wherein the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps overlap of the two or more UV lamps each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions.
However, Morneault teaches wherein the two or more UV lamps are in a parallel arrangement to each other and arranged within the optics rack interior space (fig. 4 as annotated below), the two or more UV lamps, when generating UV radiation, create in proximity to a surface of each of the two or more UV lamps a near-infrared (NIR) region, wherein the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps overlap of the two or more UV lamps each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions (a plurality of UV-lamps, each of which creates a corona when generating UV-radiation, the corona having a radius, wherein the coronas from the plurality of lamps fill substantially all of the interior space of the housing, and further wherein the coronas of adjacent UV-generating lamps overlap each other by an amount sufficient to generate superior hydroxyls. Preferably, the overlap is a maximum amount of between 5% and 25% of the radius of the corona (col. 2, lines 12-22)).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Optics rack interior space)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Morneault by replacing the first segment 100 of Ziliang with the hydroxyl generator of Morneault’s figure 4 above. Doing so allows for the generation of “super hydroxyls (col. 4, line 23)”.
Regarding claim 8, Ziliang does not explicitly teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 7, wherein a first of the cuboidal-shaped optics rack of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks is positioned 180 degrees relative to a second of cuboidal-shaped optics rack in the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks when slidably inserted into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side, the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps on each of the set of two or more cuboidal shaped optics rack overlap each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions.
However, Morneault teaches the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 7, wherein a first of the cuboidal-shaped optics rack of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks is positioned 180 degrees relative to a second of cuboidal-shaped optics rack in the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks when slidably inserted into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment (fig. 4 as annotated below) through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side, the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps on each of the set of two or more cuboidal shaped optics rack overlap each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions (a plurality of UV-lamps, each of which creates a corona when generating UV-radiation, the corona having a radius, wherein the coronas from the plurality of lamps fill substantially all of the interior space of the housing, and further wherein the coronas of adjacent UV-generating lamps overlap each other by an amount sufficient to generate superior hydroxyls. Preferably, the overlap is a maximum amount of between 5% and 25% of the radius of the corona (col. 2, lines 12-22)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Morneault by replacing the first segment 100 of Ziliang with the hydroxyl generator of Morneault’s figure 4 above. Doing so allows for the generation of “super hydroxyls (col. 4, line 23)”.
Regarding claim 9, Zi-liang does not teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, further comprising: a blower or fan for moving air from outside the interior region through the at least one opening in one of the two cabinet sides into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and ejecting air which has been treated out through the at least one opening in another of the two cabinet sides to outside the interior region.
However, Morneault teaches a blower or fan for moving air from outside the interior region through the at least one opening in one of the two cabinet sides into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and ejecting air which has been treated out through the at least one opening in another of the two cabinet sides to outside the interior region (Air can be fed through the hydroxyl generator by conventional air moving devices (not shown in the drawings), such as, for example, but not limited to, fans, pumps, blowers, etc (col. 4, lines 55-57)) (Air is directed into the interior of the housing through side A by any conventional air moving means (not shown) when the UV-lamps are activated. Preferably, at least the first row 13 of UV-lamps generates UV-radiation having a wavelength of 185 nm. This provides for the generation of large amounts of hydroxyls, which are carried in the airstream towards side B of the generator (col 4. lines 38-45)) (hydroxyls exit the generator at side B (col. 4, lines 46-49)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Morneault such that air is fed through the gas feed 11 that is connected to the inner cavity of Zi-liang into the hydroxyl generator, and flows out through the hydroxyl ion outlet 12 being connected to the inner cavity 10 of Zi-liang to outside the interior region. The benefit of doing so is “as the hydroxyls pass through the hydroxyl generator from side A to side B, they gain more and more energy; when the hydroxyls exit the generator at side B, they have become "superior hydroxyls (col. 4, lines 46-49)."
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi-liang, Yuhe, Morneault, and Kurtz, as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and in further view of Kellogg et al. (US 11000613 B1), hereinafter referred to as Kellogg.
Regarding claim 5, Zi-liang does not teach wherein the door is formed with a weatherproof seal to provide ingress protection from dust and liquids into the third cabinet side.
However, Kellogg teaches wherein the door is formed with a weatherproof seal to provide ingress protection from dust and liquids into the third cabinet side (The chamber (100) will also typically comprise at least one door (112) or door system. This door system will typically be configured to hermetically seal when shut (col. 13, lines 29-31)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Kellogg such that the door is formed with a weatherproof seal (hermetic seal) to “to help ensure that when the door is closed, any sterilizing agents remain inside the chamber (col. 32, lines 51-54).”
Conclusion
should be directed to Mica Einhorn whose telephone number is (571) 272-4641. The examiner can
normally be reached on Monday-Friday from Mon-Fri. 7:30am-5pm. If attempts to reach the
examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached on
(571) 272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications
may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881