DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, arguments are persuasive and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding claim 2, arguments are persuasive and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding claim 7, arguments are persuasive and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that “Zi-liang is silent as to whether this shelf is slidable, and the mounting plate 15 does not have an electrical ballast mounted thereon.” Applicant’s arguments, see page 15, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to Zi-Liangs failure to teach an “interior slidable ballast shelf” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the claim rejection under 35 USC 103 of claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, the art relied upon for the Non-Final Rejection filed on 12/29/2025 still applies and a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Zi-liang, Yuhe, Morneault and Kurtz. See rejections below.
Applicant also argues Zi-liang in view of Yuhe is silent on the claimed feature of serviceability through a single door because Yuhe teaches two doors for maintenance in the power districution cabinet, e.g., back door 4 FIG. 1 and “Qianmen 8.” Claim 1 has been amended to disclose “access from a single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet”. As shown in Figures 2 of Yuhe, 8 points to a door that permits single side access to the ballast shelf: “When the photoelectric system 3 needs to be repaired or replaced, the front door 8 can be opened and the photoelectric system 3 can be moved out of the cabinet 1 for easy disassembly and assembly (para. [0026])).” Further there is no language in claim 1 that precludes two doors. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive and rejections regarding the use of Yuhe to teach of claim 1 regarding the door are maintained as detailed in the rejections below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/26/2026. These drawings are acceptable and the objections of record are withdrawn.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 10 recites “each removable module is withdrawable from the housing without removing the housing from its installed position”. While the specification discloses a device capable of each removable module being withdrawable from the housing without removing the housing from its installed position, the specification lacks antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter given there is no reference to an installed position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
MPEP 2163 (I) (B) "The claims as filed in the original specification are part of the disclosure and, therefore, if an application as originally filed contains a claim disclosing material not found in the remainder of the specification, the applicant may amend the specification to include the claimed subject matter. In re Benno, 768 F.2d 1340, 226 USPQ 683 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, the written description requirement prevents an applicant from claiming subject matter that was not adequately described in the specification as filed. New or amended claims which introduce elements or limitations that are not supported by the as-filed disclosure violate the written description requirement. See, e.g., In re Lukach, 442 F.2d 967, 169 USPQ 795 (CCPA 1971)"
Regarding claim 10, element (e) of the claim recites “e) each of the first and second removable modules includes one or more releasable electrical connectors configured to permit removal and replacement of the respective module exclusively from a common service side of the housing, whereby servicing is performed without disconnecting ducting or removing the housing from installation.” The specification of the present disclosure teaches the electrical connectors 426, 428, 466, 476 connect to one of the ballast shelves and the optical racks via cables. There is no mention in the specification of the electrical connectors being “releasable” or any disclosure concerning the electrical connectors function to permit removal and replacement of a module.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “wherein each removable module is supported by telescoping slide rails allowing extension of the module outwardly from the housing while remaining supported”. The specification and drawings of the present disclosure provide support for removable modules (optical racks) which slide in and out of the first interior region while remaining supported. However, there is no mention or drawing of the type of rails which promote this sliding or support. Therefore, “telescoping slide rails” lacks written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi-liang et al. (CN 208809795), hereinafter referred to as Zi-liang, and in further view of Yuhe et al. (CN 104104015), hereinafter referred to as Yuhe, Morneault (US 8257649), hereinafter referred to as Morneault, and Kurtz et al. (US 5660719), hereinafter referred to as Kurtz.
Regarding claim 1, Zi-Liang teaches a hydroxyl generator housing with modular components comprising: a cuboidal-shaped cabinet formed with six cabinet sides (Fig. 3 as annotated below)
the cuboidal-shaped cabinet including:
two cabinet sides of the six cabinet sides, the two cabinet sides being parallel and opposite each other, each of the two cabinet sides including at least one opening providing fluid communication between the respective cabinet side and the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment (Fig. 3 as annotated below);
Zi-liang fails to teach and an interior slidable ballast shelf disposed within the cabinet and separating a first interior region for hydroxyl treatment from a second interior region,
a third cabinet side of the six cabinet sides, the third cabinet side being perpendicular to the two cabinet sides and including a plurality of openings into the first interior region and at least one opening into the second interior region configured to receive the interior slidable ballast shelf having electrical ballast disposed thereon for powering two or more ultraviolet (UV) lamps;
and a door mechanically attached to the third cabinet side to close over the slidable ballast shelf
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (and a door mechanically attached to the third cabinet side to close over the slidable ballast shelf)][AltContent: textbox (an interior slidable ballast shelf disposed within the cabinet and separating a first interior region for hydroxyl treatment from a second interior region)][AltContent: arrow]
However, Yuhe teaches an interior slidable ballast shelf disposed within the cabinet and separating a first interior region for hydroxyl treatment from a second interior region,
a third cabinet side of the six cabinet sides, the third cabinet side being perpendicular to the two cabinet sides and including a plurality of openings into the first interior region and at least one opening into the second interior region configured to receive the interior slidable ballast shelf having electrical ballast disposed thereon for powering two or more ultraviolet (UV) lamps (Fig. 2 as annotated above);
and a door mechanically attached to the third cabinet side to close over the slidable ballast shelf (Fig. 2 as annotated above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teaching of Yuhe by replacing the third cabinet side of Zi-liang with the third cabinet side of Yuhe, and replacing the second interior region of Zi-liang (fig. 2 as annotated above), with the second interior region Yuhe, such that the slidable ballast shelf is incorporated into Zi-liang, as well as the door mechanically attached to the third cabinet side of Yuhe that closes over the slidable ballast shelf. Doing provides the advantage of “when a ballast on the ballast mounting plate is damaged, the ballast can be easily replaced simply by pulling the slide rail assembly to move it out of the cabinet” via access through the door front door 8.
Zi-liang also fails to teach a set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks, each of the cuboidal-shaped optics rack being formed with six rack sides defining an optics rack interior space
and being slidably insertable into the first interior region through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side so that each optics rack is positioned perpendicular to the slidable ballast shelf,
each optics rack including: two or more UV lamps arranged within the optics rack interior space to-permit for allowing air to pass between the openings in the two cabinet sides, through the first interior region, and through the optics rack interior space;
and the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks, thereby permitting removal of each optics rack independently of the cabinet and independently of the slidable ballast shelf through the third cabinet side,
However, Morneault teaches a set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks, each of the cuboidal-shaped optics rack being formed with six rack sides defining an optics rack interior space (Fig. 3 as annotated below)
and being slidably insertable into the first interior region through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side so that each optics rack is positioned perpendicular to the slidable ballast shelf,
each optics rack including: two or more UV lamps arranged within the optics rack interior space to-permit for allowing air to pass between the openings in the two cabinet sides, through the first interior region, and through the optics rack interior space (Fig. 3 as annotated below);
and the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks, thereby permitting removal of each optics rack independently of the cabinet and independently of the slidable ballast shelf through the third cabinet side (Fig. 4 as annotated below), thereby providing service access from a single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teachings of Morneault by replacing the first segment 100 of Zi-liang with the entirety of Fig. 4 of Morneault, such that the optics racks are perpendicular to the slidable ballast shelf (Yuhe; ballast mounting plate mounted on the slide rail assembly, and a ballast mounted on the ballast mounting plate (para. [0009])) (figures 2 and 4 as annotated below). Along with the modifications discussed above, doing so means placing figure 4 of Morneault through the opening into the first interior region of Yuhe such that the lamps are accessible via the third cabinet side thereby permitting removal of each optics rack independently of the cabinet and independently of the slidable ballast shelf through the third cabinet side, and in turn providing service access from a single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet. This modification allows for easy access to the UV lamps for repair or replacement without having to disassemble the device.
Finally, Zi-liang fails to teach and an electrical connector disposed on an exterior side of one of the six rack sides and-positioned that is external to the first interior region, the electrical connector provides detachable electrical communication with the two or more UV lamps;
However, Kurtz teaches and an electrical connector disposed on an exterior side of one of the six rack sides and-positioned that is external to the first interior region, the electrical connector provides detachable electrical communication with the two or more UV lamps; (At least one enclosure is provided for containing electrical means that serve to operate the lamps by furnishing communication between the ballast and lamps. The enclosure is disposed intermediate the housing and plurality of UV lamps (col 2, lines 19-21)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teachings of Kurtz by placing the electrical connector on an exterior side of one of the six rack sides. The benefit of doing so is “this modular arrangement of…the electrical means within its corresponding enclosure permits either one of the components and the UV lamps to be separately addressed or removed while in its operating environments during maintenance operations without materially disturbing the unaffected members of the apparatus (col. 2, lines 57-63).” Further, this allows the electrical means to be accessed by simply pulling out one of the removable racks (14) disclosed in Morneault.
Regarding claim 2, Zi-liang does not teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, further comprises: a plurality of electrical components disposed on the third cabinet side such that to-provide access from a]]the single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet is provided for each and every one of i) the plurality of electrical components, ii) a removal of the slidable ballast shelf, and iii) a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks.
However, Kurtz teaches the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, further comprises: a plurality of electrical components disposed on the third cabinet side (fig. 8 as annotated below).
such that access from the single side of the cuboidal-shaped cabinet is provided for each and every one of i) the plurality of electrical components, ii) a removal of the slidable ballast shelf (fig. 2 as annotated below),
and iii) a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks (Fig. 4 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang, to include the teaching of Kurtz by placing the programmable logic controller 108 and local operator interface screen 122, disclosed in Kurtz, on the third cabinet side of Yuhe. With the inclusion of the obvious modifications discussed in claim 1, doing so provides a third cabinet side with access to i) the plurality of electrical components, ii) a removal of the slidable ballast shelf, and iii) a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks. To be clear, through the third side of Yuhe one can access the electrical components, the slidable ballast shelf and a removal of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks. The modification allows a user to easily access electrical components and replace UV lights and ballasts, and achieves the desired result of making the device more compact for simpler integration into HVAC and air handling systems.
Regarding claim 3, Zi-liang fails to teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 2, wherein the electrical components include a programmable logic controller, a computer, or both.
However, Kurtz teaches wherein the electrical components include a programmable logic controller, a computer, or both (fig. 8 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Kurtz such that the electrical components include a programmable logic controller to facilitate the transmission of serial data signals such as signals disclosing the intensity of the ultraviolet light (col. 9, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 6, Zi-liang fails to teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, wherein the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and the second interior region are formed to prevent air from a hydroxyl treatment in the first interior region from passing to the second interior region.
However, Yuhe teaches wherein the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and the second interior region are formed to prevent air from a hydroxyl treatment in the first interior region from passing to the second interior region (The power distribution cabinet of the present invention moves the photoelectric system 3, which is traditionally placed above the ultraviolet disinfection module, to the inside of cabinet body 1 of the power distribution cabinet. This keeps the photoelectric system 3 away from the liquid to be disinfected (para. [0015])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Yuhe such that the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment and the second interior region are formed to prevent air from a hydroxyl treatment in the first interior region from passing to the second interior region. Doing so, “can prevent the ballast of the photoelectric system 3 from being damaged by the water vapor generated by the liquid to be disinfected due to the deterioration of its waterproof performance during operation (para. [0024]).”
Regarding claim 7, Zi-liang fails to teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1, wherein the two or more UV lamps are in a parallel arrangement to each other and arranged within the optics rack interior space, the two or more UV lamps, when generating UV radiation, create in proximity to a surface of each of the two or more UV lamps a near-infrared (NIR) region, wherein the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps overlap of the two or more UV lamps adjacent to each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions.
However, Morneault teaches wherein the two or more UV lamps are in a parallel arrangement to each other and arranged within the optics rack interior space (Fig. 4 as annotated below), the two or more UV lamps, when generating UV radiation, create in proximity to a surface of each of the two or more UV lamps a near-infrared (NIR) region, wherein the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps overlap of the two or more UV lamps adjacent to each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions (a plurality of UV-lamps, each of which creates a corona when generating UV-radiation, the corona having a radius, wherein the coronas from the plurality of lamps fill substantially all of the interior space of the housing, and further wherein the coronas of adjacent UV-generating lamps overlap each other by an amount sufficient to generate superior hydroxyls. Preferably, the overlap is a maximum amount of between 5% and 25% of the radius of the corona (col. 2, lines 12-22))
.
Regarding claim 8, Zi-liang fails to teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 7, wherein a first of the cuboidal-shaped optics rack of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks is positioned 180 degrees relative to a second of cuboidal-shaped optics rack in the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks when slidably inserted into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side, the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps on each of the set of two or more cuboidal shaped optics rack overlap each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions.
However Morneault teaches the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 7, wherein a first of the cuboidal-shaped optics rack of the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks is positioned 180 degrees relative to a second of cuboidal-shaped optics rack in the set of two or more cuboidal-shaped optics racks when slidably inserted into the first interior region for hydroxyl treatment treatment (fig. 4 as annotated below) through one of the plurality of openings in the third cabinet side, the NIR regions of adjacent UV lamps on each of the set of two or more cuboidal shaped optics rack overlap each other by less than 25% of a radius of the NIR regions (a plurality of UV-lamps, each of which creates a corona when generating UV-radiation, the corona having a radius, wherein the coronas from the plurality of lamps fill substantially all of the interior space of the housing, and further wherein the coronas of adjacent UV-generating lamps overlap each other by an amount sufficient to generate superior hydroxyls. Preferably, the overlap is a maximum amount of between 5% and 25% of the radius of the corona (col. 2, lines 12-22)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Morneault by replacing the first segment 100 of Zi-Liang with the hydroxyl generator of Morneault’s figure 4 above. Doing so allows for the generation of “super hydroxyls (col. 4, line 23)”.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi-liang, Yuhe, Morneault, and Kurtz, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kellogg et al. (US 11000613 B1), hereinafter referred to as Kellogg.
Regarding claim 5, Zi-liang fails to teach the hydroxyl generator housing of claim 1 wherein the door is formed with a weatherproof seal to provide ingress protection from dust and liquids into the third cabinet side.
However, Kellogg teaches wherein the door is formed with a weatherproof seal to provide ingress protection from dust and liquids into the third cabinet side (The chamber (100) will also typically comprise at least one door (112) or door system. This door system will typically be configured to hermetically seal when shut (col. 13, lines 29-31)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Zi-liang to include the teachings of Kellogg such that the door is formed with a weatherproof seal (hermetic seal) to “to help ensure that when the door is closed, any sterilizing agents remain inside the chamber (col. 32, lines 51-54).”
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morneault, and in further view of Yuhe, and Kurtz.
Regarding claim 10, Morneault teaches a hydroxyl generator apparatus comprising: a housing defining an interior treatment region configured to receive airflow for hydroxyl generation (Fig. 4 as annotated below);
at least one ultraviolet (UV) lamp assembly disposed within the treatment region (Fig. 4 as annotated below);
wherein:(a) the UV lamp assembly is mounted on a first removable module configured as a slidable rack or tray movable between an operating position within the housing and a service position extending outwardly from the housing (Fig. 4 as annotated below);
[AltContent: arrow]
Morneault fails to teach an electrical power system configured to operate the UV lamp assembly;
(b) the electrical power system is mounted on a second removable module configured as a slidable rack or tray movable independently of the first removable module;
However, Yuhe teaches an electrical power system configured to operate the UV lamp assembly (the power distribution cabinet of the invention comprises cabinet body and is in the electric system of the cabinet body, said cabinet further comprises a photovoltaic system in the cabinet body (para. [0005])); (b) the electrical power system is mounted on a second removable module configured as a slidable rack or tray movable independently of the first removable module (Fig. 2 as annotated below);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Morneault to include the teachings of Yuhe by placing Figure 4 of Morneault above the second removable module, as detailed in Figure 2 above. By including the second removable module of Yuhe in Morneault “When the photoelectric system 3 needs to be repaired or replaced, … the photoelectric system 3 can be moved out of the cabinet 1 for easy disassembly and assembly (para. [0026])).”
Morneault also fails to teach (c) the first removable module and the second removable module are physically separated within the housing so that removal of one module does not require removal of the other;
(d) each removable module is withdrawable from the housing without removing the housing from its installed position;
However, given the modifications described above, Morneault in view of Yuhe teaches c) the first removable module and the second removable module are physically separated within the housing so that removal of one module does not require removal of the other and (d) each removable module is withdrawable from the housing without removing the housing from its installed position because both Morneault and Yuhe teach separate slidable modules. When put together as outlined above the modules are capable of sliding independently, such that the modules can be removable without moving the housing.
Finally, Morneault fails to teach and (e) each of the first and second removable modules includes one or more releasable electrical connectors configured to permit removal and replacement of the respective module exclusively from a common service side of the housing, whereby servicing is performed without disconnecting ducting or removing the housing for installation.
However Kurtz teaches (e) each of the first and second removable modules includes one or more releasable electrical connectors (detaching coupler 95) configured to permit removal and replacement of the respective module exclusively from a common service side of the housing, whereby servicing is performed without disconnecting ducting or removing the housing for installation (The servicing of each UV lamp 20 within module 10 can therefore be accomplished without the prerequisite of removing ballasts 32 or other electrical components, which are described in greater detail below, or for that matter, without removing module 10 from the body of fluid under treatment. (col. 7, lines 56-61)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Morneault to include the teachings of Kurtz by including releasable electrical connectors on the first and second moveable modules. Doing so achieves “Greater efficiency and economy for maintaining and servicing the module (col. 7, lines 61-62))”
Regarding claim 11, Morneault fails to teach the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second removable module contains ballasts, drivers, or power control circuitry, and is positioned in a compartment separated from the treatment region to reduce exposure of electrical components to treatment airflow or contaminants.
However, Yuhe teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second removable module contains ballasts, drivers, or power control circuitry (ballast 33), and is positioned in a compartment separated from the treatment region (Fig. 2 as annotated below). to reduce exposure of electrical components to treatment airflow or contaminants (The power distribution cabinet of the present invention moves the photoelectric system 3, which is traditionally placed above the ultraviolet disinfection module, to the inside of cabinet body 1 of the power distribution cabinet. This keeps the photoelectric system 3 away from the liquid to be disinfected (para. [0015])).
Regarding claim 12, Morneault teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein each removable module is supported by telescoping slide rails allowing extension of the module outwardly from the housing while remaining supported (Fig. 4 as annotated below).
However, Morneault does not teach telescoping slide rails.
Yuhe teaches telescoping slide rails (three-section slide rail 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Morneault by including the telescoping slide rails for supporting and allowing extension of each removable module. Doing so allows the modules to slide with minimal friction and therefore requiring minimal force.
Regarding claim 13, Morneault teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the UV lamp assembly can be removed and replaced independently of ballast or electrical components (Fig. 4 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 14, Morneault teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first removable module comprises a rack supporting a plurality of UV lamps arranged in parallel airflow paths, the rack being removable as a unit for maintenance or replacement (Fig. 4 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 15, Morneault teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the housing includes internal partitions forming separate compartments for UV generation components (housing 11).
However, Morneault fails to teach wherein the housing includes internal partitions forming separate compartments for UV generation components and electrical components.
However, Yuhe teaches wherein the housing includes internal partitions forming separate compartments for UV generation components and electrical components (The power distribution cabinet of the present invention moves the photoelectric system 3, which is traditionally placed above the ultraviolet disinfection module, to the inside of the cabinet body 1 of the power distribution cabinet. This keeps the photoelectric system 3 away from the liquid to be disinfected (para. [0024])) (photoelectric system 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Morneault to include the teachings of Yuhe such that the UV generation components and electrical components are in separate compartments for UV generation. Doing so, “can prevent the ballast of photoelectric system 3 from being damaged (para. [0024]).”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881