DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1-15 are original.
Claim 16 is new.
Claims 1-16 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant’s amendment to the title filed 06/09/2026, the objection to the title in the prior Office Action dated 03/09/2026 is withdrawn.
Otherwise, Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In particular, with respect to claim 1, Applicant argues that “the prior art does not teach or render obvious ‘wherein the metal electrode layer has a through-portion between the first signal terminal and the second signal terminal in the plan view in the thickness direction of the mounting substrate’ as recited therein.” Remarks, pages 7-8. This argument is not well taken. Accordingly, the rejection(s) of claim 1-15 is/are maintained.
Notably, EC1 (e.g., element 31 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2A of Nakajima) fairly reads on the claimed first electronic component and EC2 (e.g., element 32 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2A of Nakajima) fairly reads on the claimed second electronic component. Moreover, as shown in FIG. 1 of Nakajima, element 31 comprises an input and an output, one of which fairly reads on the claimed first signal terminal, and element 32 comprises an input and an output, one of which fairly reads on the claimed second signal terminal. Additionally, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, at least one of elements 610 and 620 fairly reads on the claimed through-portion. Notably, both elements 610 and 620, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, are between elements 31 and 32 of Nakajima, and hence both elements 610 and 620 are also between the first signal terminal which is included in element 31 and the second signal terminal which is included in element 32.
More specifically, consider annotated FIG. 2A herein. That portion of the electrical connection to element 31, which is in and/or immediately adjacent to element 31 (e.g., indicated as T1) is taken as the claimed first signal terminal; and that portion of the electrical connection to element 32 which is in and/or immediately adjacent to element 32 (e.g., indicated as T2) is taken as the claimed second signal terminal. Additionally, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, at least one of elements 610 and 620 fairly reads on the claimed through-portion. Notably, both elements 610 and 620, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, are between elements 31 and 32 of Nakajima, and hence both elements 610 and 620 are also between the first signal terminal T1 which is included in and/or immediately adjacent to element 31 and the second signal terminal T2 which is included in and/or immediately adjacent to element 32.
That is to say, regardless of which side of and/or where on the respect elements 31 and 32, the respective electrical connections shown in FIG. 1 are made, those portions of the connections in and/or immediately adjacent to the respective elements 31 and 32 fairly read on the claimed first and second signal terminals, e.g., T1 and T2 as shown in annotated FIG. 2A herein.
[AltContent: textbox (’’)][AltContent: textbox (’)][AltContent: textbox (T2)][AltContent: textbox (T1)]
ANNOTATED FIG. 2A OF NAKAJIMA
New claim 16 has also been rejected as more fully detailed below herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 20200020645 A1) in view of Otsubo (WO 2020017582 A1).
Note, the rejections herein referring to “Otsubo” are based on WO 2020017582 A1, published 01/23/2020. However, the citations herein relating to Otsubo are made with respect to US 20210136917 A1, which is a corresponding English language document that is being used solely for translation purposes.
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima discloses (see generally, e.g., FIGS. 1 and 2A-2B):
A high-frequency module (100) comprising:
a mounting substrate (20) that has a first main surface (211) and a second main surface (bottom surface) facing each other;
a first electronic component (generally referred to herein by “EC1”) and a second electronic component (generally referred to herein as by “EC2”) on the first main surface (211) of the mounting substrate (20);
a resin layer (50) that is on the first main surface (211) of the mounting substrate (20), and that covers at least a part of an outer peripheral surface (side surface) of the first electronic component (EC1) and at least a part of an outer peripheral surface (side surface) of the second electronic component (EC2); and
a metal electrode layer (60) that covers at least a part of the resin layer (50), and that overlaps at least a part of the first electronic component (EC1) and at least a part of the second electronic component (EC2) in a plan view (FIG. 2A) in a thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20),
wherein the first electronic component (EC1) comprises a first signal terminal (see, e.g., FIG. 1),
wherein the second electronic component (EC2) comprises a second signal terminal (see, e.g., FIG. 1), and
wherein the metal electrode layer (60) has a through-portion (600) between the first signal terminal and the second signal terminal in the plan view (FIG. 2A) in the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20).
Note, EC1 and EC2 are taken as any combination of two electronic components (i.e., identified by reference characters 30-39) on opposite sides of one of the slits (610, 620, 630), e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A.
Note also, as shown in FIG. 1, the first and second electronic components (EC1 and EC2) are electrically connected to various other components for transmitting and/or receiving electrical signals. Hence, as claimed, the first and second electronic components (EC1 and EC2) necessarily comprise first and second signal terminals, respectively, e.g., to make such electrical connections. Moreover, insomuch as the through-portion (600) is between the first and second electronic components (EC1 and EC2) as shown, e.g., in FIG. 2A, the through portion (600) is also necessarily between the first and second signal terminals as claimed.
Nakajima does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of a main surface of the first electronic component opposite to a mounting substrate side is in contact with the metal electrode layer.
However, in analogous art, Otsubo (see generally, e.g., FIG. 2) discloses wherein at least a part of a main surface (top surface) of the first electronic component (41) opposite to a mounting substrate side (bottom side) is in contact with the metal electrode layer (6).
It would have been obvious to and within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made at least a part of a main surface (top surface) of the first electronic component (EC1) of Nakajima opposite to a mounting substrate side (bottom side) be in contact with the metal electrode layer (60) of Nakajima as taught by Otsubo according to known methods to yield predictable results, for example, to aid in the efficient release and/or dissipation of heat (see, e.g., paragraphs [0031]-[0032] of Otsubo).
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of a main surface of the second electronic component opposite to the mounting substrate side is in contact with the metal electrode layer.
However, in analogous art, Otsubo (see generally, e.g., FIG. 2) discloses wherein at least a part of a main surface (top surface) of the second electronic component (42) opposite to a mounting substrate side (bottom side) is in contact with the metal electrode layer (6).
It would have been obvious to and within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made at least a part of a main surface (top surface) of the second electronic component (EC2) of Nakajima opposite to a mounting substrate side (bottom side) be in contact with the metal electrode layer (60) of Nakajima as taught by Otsubo according to known methods to yield predictable results, for example, to aid in the efficient release and/or dissipation of heat (see, e.g., paragraphs [0031]-[0032] of Otsubo).
Regarding claim 4, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses wherein each of the first electronic component (EC1 – see, e.g., the electronic component 31) and the second electronic component (EC2 – see, e.g., the electronic component 33) is a high-frequency component in a signal path through which a transmission signal passes (see, e.g., paragraphs [0021]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 4 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 4.
Nakajima further discloses wherein the high-frequency component is a transmission filter (see, e.g., the electronic component 33 and paragraph [0026]), a transmission and reception filter (see, e.g., the electronic component 33 and paragraph [0026]), or a power amplifier (see, e.g., the electronic component 31).
Regarding claim 6, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses:
wherein the first electronic component (EC1) is a first inductor (see, e.g., a first electronic component 39) in a signal path through which a transmission signal passes, and
wherein the second electronic component (EC2) is a second inductor (see, e.g., a second electronic component 39) in a signal path through which a reception signal passes.
Regarding claim 7, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses wherein a length of the through-portion (600 – see, e.g., slit 610 in particular) in one direction (Y-direction) intersecting with the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20) is longer than a length of the first electronic component (EC1) in the one direction (Y-direction). See, e.g., FIG. 2A.
Regarding claim 8, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses wherein a length of the through-portion (600 – see, e.g., slit 610 in particular) in one direction (Y-direction) intersecting with the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20) is longer than a length of the second electronic component (EC2) in the one direction (Y-direction). See, e.g., FIG. 2A.
Regarding claim 9, Nakajima discloses (see generally, e.g., FIGS. 1, 2A-2B, 7 and 8):
A high-frequency module (100) comprising:
a mounting substrate (20) that has a first main surface (211) and a second main surface (bottom surface) facing each other;
an electronic component (38 – see, e.g., FIGS. 7 and 8) on the first main surface (211) of the mounting substrate (20);
a resin layer (50) that is on the first main surface (211) of the mounting substrate (20), and that covers at least a part of an outer peripheral surface (side surface) of the electronic component (50); and
a metal electrode layer (60) that covers at least a part of the resin layer (50), and that overlaps at least a part of the electronic component (38) in a plan view in a thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20),
wherein the electronic component (38) comprises:
a first signal terminal, and
a second signal terminal, and
wherein the metal electrode layer (600) has a through-portion (600) between the first signal terminal and the second signal terminal in the plan view in the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20).
Note, the electronic component (38) is disclosed as a capacitor, which inherently comprises at least two terminals, i.e., a first signal terminal and a second signal terminal, as claimed. Moreover, insomuch as FIGS. 7 and 8 alternately show the through-portion (600 – i.e., including the slit 610) extending laterally and longitudinally, respectively, over the electronic component (38), the through-portion (600) is necessarily between the first and second signal terminals in at least one disclosed embodiment regardless of whether the terminals of the electronic component (38) are on the ends or the sides of the electronic component (38).
Nakajima does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of a main surface of the electronic component opposite to a mounting substrate side is in contact with the metal electrode layer.
However, in analogous art, Otsubo (see generally, e.g., FIG. 2) discloses wherein at least a part of a main surface (top surface) of the electronic component (41) opposite to a mounting substrate side (bottom side) is in contact with the metal electrode layer (6).
It would have been obvious to and within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made at least a part of a main surface (top surface) of the electronic component (38) of Nakajima opposite to a mounting substrate side (bottom side) be in contact with the metal electrode layer (60) of Nakajima as taught by Otsubo according to known methods to yield predictable results, for example, to aid in the efficient release and/or dissipation of heat (see, e.g., paragraphs [0031]-[0032] of Otsubo).
Regarding claim 10, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses wherein the through-portion (600) is formed over a total length of the mounting substrate (20) in one direction (Y-direction) intersecting with the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20). See, e.g., slit (610) in FIG. 2A, which is part of the claimed through-portion (600).
Regarding claim 11, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses wherein the through-portion (600) is L-shaped in the plan view in the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20). See, e.g., slits 620 and 630) in FIG. 2A, which are part of the claimed through-portion (600).
Regarding claim 14, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses:
a metal electrode (40) on the first main surface (211) of the mounting substrate (20), and connected to ground (see, e.g., paragraph [0039] and FIG. 2B),
wherein the metal electrode (40) does not overlap the through-portion (600) in the plan view in the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20).
Regarding claim 16, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses:
wherein the first electronic component (EC1) and the second electronic component (EC2) are each filters.
In particular, as applied to claim 16, EC1 is taken as 33’ as shown in annotated FIG. 2A herein (i.e., 33’ reads on the claimed first electronic component), EC2 is taken as 33’’ as shown in annotated FIG. 2A herein (i.e., 33’’ reads on the claimed second electronic component) and 620 is taken as and/or otherwise reads on the claimed through portion.
Nakajima explicitly disclose elements 33 as including filters (paragraph [0026]). Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 1 of Nakajima, each of elements 33 comprises an input and an output, one of which fairly reads on the claimed first signal terminal of element 33’, and one of which fairly reads on the claimed second signal terminal of element 33’’. Additionally, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, element 620 fairly reads on the claimed through-portion. Notably, element 620, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, is between elements 33’ and 33’’ of Nakajima, and hence element 620 is also between the first signal terminal which is included in and/or immediately adjacent to element 33’ and the second signal terminal which is included in and/or immediately adjacent to element 33’’.
More specifically, that portion of the electrical connection to element 33’, which is in and/or immediately adjacent to element 33’ is taken as the claimed first signal terminal; and that portion of the electrical connection to element 33’’ which is in and/or immediately adjacent to element 33’’ is taken as the claimed second signal terminal. Additionally, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, element 620 fairly reads on the claimed through-portion. Notably, element 620, as shown in FIG. 2A of Nakajima, is between elements 33’ and 33’’ of Nakajima, and hence element 620 is also between the first signal terminal which is included in and/or immediately adjacent to element 33’ and the second signal terminal which is included in and/or immediately adjacent to element 33’’.
That is to say, regardless of which side of and/or where on the respect elements 33’ and 33’’, the respective electrical connections shown in FIG. 1 are made, those portions of the connections in and/or immediately adjacent to the respective elements 33’ and 33’’ fairly read on the claimed first and second signal terminals, e.g., as shown in annotated FIG. 2A herein, and element 620 (which fairly reads on the claimed through-portion) is therebetween.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 20200020645 A1) in view of Morikita (US 20110013349 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima discloses (see generally, e.g., FIGS. 1 and 2A-2B):
A high-frequency module (100) comprising:
a mounting substrate (20) that has a first main surface (211) and a second main surface (bottom surface) facing each other;
a first electronic component (38) and a second electronic component (39) on the first main surface (211) of the mounting substrate (20);
a resin layer (50) that is on the first main surface (211) of the mounting substrate (20), and that covers at least a part of an outer peripheral surface (side surface) of the first electronic component (38), at least a part of an outer peripheral surface (side surface) of the second electronic component (39); and
a metal electrode layer (60) that covers at least a part of the resin layer (50),
wherein the first electronic component (38) comprises a first signal terminal,
wherein the second electronic component (39) comprises a second signal terminal, and
the metal electrode layer (60) has a through-portion (600) between the first signal terminal and the second signal terminal in the plan view (FIG. 2A) in the thickness direction (Z-direction) of the mounting substrate (20).
Note, the first electronic component (38) is disclosed as a capacitor and the second electronic component (39) is disclosed as an inductor (see, e.g., paragraph [0037]). A capacitor (e.g., such as the first electronic component 38) inherently includes at least one terminal, which reads on the claimed first signal terminal; and an inductor (e.g., such as the second electronic component 39) inherently includes at least one terminal, which read on the claimed second signal terminal.
Moreover, insomuch as the through-portion (600) is between the first and second electronic components (38 and 39) as shown, e.g., in FIG. 2A, the through portion (600) is also necessarily between the first and second signal terminals as claimed.
Nakajima does not explicitly disclose:
a first metal member on a main surface of the first electronic component opposite to a mounting substrate side; or
a second metal member on a main surface of the second electronic component opposite to the mounting substrate side;
arranged such that:
the resin layer is on at least a part of an outer peripheral surface of the first metal member, and at least a part of an outer peripheral surface of the second metal member;
the metal electrode layer overlaps at least a part of the first metal member and at least a part of the second metal member in a plan view in a thickness direction of the mounting substrate;
at least a part of a main surface of the first metal member opposite to the mounting substrate side is in contact with the metal electrode layer; and
at least a part of a main surface of the second metal member opposite to the mounting substrate side is in contact with the metal electrode layer.
However, in analogous art, Morikita discloses (see, e.g., FIG. 1):
a first metal member (i.e., the metal member 6 on the left) on a main surface (upper surface) of the first electronic component (i.e., the electronic component 3 on the left) opposite to a mounting substrate side (bottom side); and
a second metal member (i.e., the metal member 6 on the right) on a main surface (upper surface) of the second electronic component (i.e., the electronic component 3 on the right) opposite to the mounting substrate side (bottom side);
arranged such that:
the resin layer (4) is on at least a part of an outer peripheral surface (side surface) of the first metal member (6), and at least a part of an outer peripheral surface (side surface) of the second metal member (6);
the metal electrode layer (5) overlaps at least a part of the first metal member (6) and at least a part of the second metal member (6) in a plan view in a thickness direction (vertical direction) of the mounting substrate (1);
at least a part of a main surface (upper surface) of the first metal member (6) opposite to the mounting substrate side (bottom side) is in contact with the metal electrode layer (5); and
at least a part of a main surface (upper surface) of the second metal member (6) opposite to the mounting substrate side (bottom side) is in contact with the metal electrode layer (5).
It would have been obvious to and within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the first and second metal members (6) as disclosed by Morikita in the high-frequency module (100) of Nakajima according to known methods to yield predictable results, for example, to provide electrical connections between the first and second electronic components (38 and 39) of Nakajima and the metal electrode layer (60) of Nakajima. See, e.g., paragraph [0028] of Morikita.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nomura (WO 2019216299 A1).
Note, the rejections herein referring to “Nomura” are based on WO 2019216299 A1, published 11/14/2019. However, the citations herein relating to Nomura are made with respect to US 20210043583 A1, which is a corresponding English language document that is being used solely for translation purposes.
Regarding claim 12, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima does not explicitly disclose:
a metal electrode on the first main surface of the mounting substrate, and connected to a ground,
wherein the metal electrode overlaps the through-portion in the plan view in the thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, in analogous art, Nomura discloses (see, e.g., FIG. 2B):
a metal electrode (8) on the first main surface (upper surface) of the mounting substrate (2), and connected to a ground (paragraph [0033]),
wherein the metal electrode (8) overlaps the through-portion (5a) in the plan view in the thickness direction (vertical direction) of the mounting substrate (2).
It would have been obvious to and within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a metal electrode as taught by Nomura in the high-frequency module (100) of Nakajima according to known methods to yield predictable results, for example, to provide for and access to a ground electrode.
Regarding claim 13, Nakajima in view of Otsubo and Nomura as applied to claim 12 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 12.
Nomura further discloses wherein the metal electrode (8) is exposed from the metal electrode layer (6) in the thickness direction (vertical direction) of the mounting substrate (2).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi (WO 2020184613 A1).
Note, the rejections herein referring to “Yamaguchi” are based on WO 2020184613 A1, published 09/17/2020. However, the citations herein relating to Yamaguchi are made with respect to US 20210409046 A1, which is a corresponding English language document that is being used solely for translation purposes.
Regarding claim 15, Nakajima in view of Otsubo as applied to claim 1 discloses the high-frequency module according to claim 1.
Nakajima further discloses a communication device (paragraph [0021]) comprising the high-frequency module (i.e., the high-frequency module 100 of Nakajima as modified in accordance with the teachings of Otsubo as described herein); and
an external device connected to the high-frequency module (e.g., via terminals 101 and 104).
Nakajima does not explicitly disclose that the external device is a signal processing circuit.
However, in analogous art, Yamaguchi discloses (see, e.g., FIG. 1) a communication device (5) comprising a high-frequency module (1) and a signal processing circuit (3, 4) connected to the high-frequency module (1).
It would have been obvious to and within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a signal processing circuit as taught by Yamaguchi for the external device of Nakajima according to known methods to yield predictable results, for example, to provide suitable inputs and/or processed signals to the terminals (101 and 104) of Nakajima.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOHN P. CORNELY
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/J.P.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812